Book and review 3,647 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Hendra Holiday Park

9.2

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Award-winning family park with loads to do
  • Pool complex, kids' club, bars, restaurants and takeaways
  • Evening entertainment and award-winning toilets

Big definitely equals better at Hendra Holiday Park, a winner of several awards: excitement is on the cards whatever the weather, thanks to the huge range of things to do; the evening entertainment programme is chock-a-block with live bands, comedians and cabarets; and ablutions are an award-winning affair.

The kids will turn cartwheels when they discover the large indoor and outdoor pool complex, with its flumes, river rapids, geysers and waterfalls (a small fee applies for indoor pool access), and little squirts can splash around without getting flattened in a special toddlers’ area. Once they become too prunelike, the Hippo Kids' Club will take over and entertain them with treasure hunts, nature trails, karaoke, fancy dress and more… or you can take them to the soft play area or one of the three adventure playgrounds on site.

The other facilities are too numerous to list, but take it as read that you’ll find a good number of bars, cafés, restaurants and takeaways; all manner of sports activities and competitions; plus everything you could possibly need for your stay (and anything you’ve forgotten will probably be on sale at the well-stocked supermarket). The pitches are a good size, and the fields are well designed, with proper access roads and lighting.

AA Holiday Centre

Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.2

Overall rating based on 208 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  53% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Our stay was during covid so not full amenities05/11/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (pet friendly)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Space, cleanliness, well spaced out, staff were fantastic and really helpful as due to traffic we were extremely late. The washrooms were very clean and well managed, we can highly recommend the fish and chip shop on site too... yummy 🤤

    Disliked: 

    The little train running round the touring pitch, anyone on the train looking in the van took away any privacy for us and became a little annoying, no hard standing pitches so the amount of mud was horrendous during wet weather

From the manager...

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you found the Park clean, and the staff fantastic. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Fish and Chips too.

We do have some hardstanding pitches available throughout the year, so perhaps you would like to book one of these next year.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Really good family run site with super helpful and friendly staff.25/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Field A electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Super clean and tidy - well kept facilities. Absolutely tons of stuff to do for kids. In fact most everything was excellent.

    Disliked: 

    Just one sour grape made for a hard couple of days.. Whoever it was who was wandering around the site - first told me that i had put the van in the wrong direction on the 5m by 5m spot.. also decided to hassle us off the site on the last day, telling us folks were coming right away to replace us. given the same high handed individual told us the spot should have been closed down due to being a mud pit (not that we minded) then to be hassled off despite almost every other spot in the oak field being free - just soured the start and end of a lovely few days.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review; we are pleased that you found most things to be excellent.

We are sorry for the problems that you had and we will speak to the Wardens regarding this.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly staff , cleanliness brilliant25/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCHRISTOPHER C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field A non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Entertainment ,bar , Newquay and how friendly staff was

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your 10 rating, and nice photos; that burger is making us hungry!

We are pleased that you liked it.

We hope to see you again soon!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Very well laid out site with everything you need & super clean18/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field B electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Wide variety of activities available, good food, drinks and entertainment.
    The facilities were spotlessly clean and all within a short distance from the pitch.
    The site is very well located for visiting a number of beautiful beaches and small towns.

    Disliked: 

    Booking time slots to enter the Venue however this may have been due to COVID regulations so not permanent

From the manager...

Thank you for your 10 rating.

We are pleased that you liked the facilities on Park and the local area.

Yes, the sessions are due to Covid regulations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

The campsite was very nice and the facilities were always …06/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristopher M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field A electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was very nice and the facilities were always kept clean, I also liked the fact that people were going around cleaning all of the bins and taps etc due to COVID.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for giving us a ten out of ten.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the campsite and found it to be clean.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

very spacious pitches not far from the club house and …05/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPHILIP M.Confirmed

  • Field A electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    very spacious pitches not far from the club house and facilities, did what it said on the tin.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for giving us a 10.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Sadly won't be returning for several reasons.02/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHeather-Grace H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field B electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site itself was set out beautifully. Lots of lovely evergreen bushes and plants, as well as hydrangea plants which were coming to the end of season. It appeared to be well maintained and there were lots of bins and recycling points throughout the park, as well as water points. Those camping or staying in camper vans were well spaced apart. The toilets and showers were extremely clean, and were cleaned regularly throughout the day.

    Disliked: 

    On arrival, initially very disappointed in the check in process. When we arrived, a security guard at the gate gave us an envelope with park information, and told us to drive round and park behind the swimming pool, text a number given on the pack with your details and confirm that you did not have any covid symptoms. He then said, we may have to wait until 16.00 or later before we could set up - it was 12.45 at this point. A bit bemused as to why it would take so long for a camping pitch to be available, when check in on our email said anytime from midday - we parked up and sent the text as requested. A hour went by and nothing. We eventually decided to go and time waste at the beach and returned at 16.40. We explained we weren't happy, the weather was detiorating and it was getting darker. He was very apologetic and said he couldn't understand why we hadn't heard anything. When we asked reception and they did not apologise, only expressed that they didn't know what had gone wrong.
    The pitch itself was sheltered by 2 hedges and was adequate. Although there was a large black oil spill from a vehicle, which was unavoidable, when laying my bathtub groundsheet for the front of my tent.
    Can't comment on the other facilities on site ad we had other plans for our trip and therefore did not use them. However, I really wanted to use their indoor pool, but their changing rooms remain closed. I did not want to get changed poolside or walk back in poor weather with my towel wrapped around me.
    We also paid for wifi, which was quite pricey, but it was slow and often dropped out.
    Our biggest issue was the radio in the toilet block. Unfortunately, it was left on for the first 2 nights - all night, at quite a loud volume, which thumped like a base party. The 3rd night, it was even louder and sounded like a rave. I text the 24hr number to ask if it could be turned down or off, and had no reply. An hour an half later, we rang. Security answered and when we explained, he said he didn't have access to deal with it. Eventually, he agreed to 'try and wake a manager', more than an hour later, someone pulled up and shut the toilet block windows. Which helped but was still thumping loudly. When I got up the next morning, I saw a male cleaner at the shower block, and he apologised profusely, that the music was so loud. He explained that someone else had turned it up unnecessarily. We didn't have any further issue with this after that morning, thankfully.
    With storm Alex bearing down on Cornwall, we decided that perhaps we should extend our stay, in the hope to find a small break in the weather for the tent to dry and pack away. So I rang the reception to book 2 more nights, only to be told that they could only accomodate us for 1 night not 2....despite having dozens of pitches free! We packed away over lunchtime today, despite paying the extra for another night.
    Overall, we were both very disappointed in Hendra. The older groundsmen we saw and a cleaner called Mike, were absolutely lovely, well humoured and couldn't do enough for us. The office side of the business, were not very helpful and slow to respond when we needed them. Very disappointing when their reviews have been so good. Sadly, as a result...we won't be returning.

From the manager...

We are very sorry to read that you won't be returning to Hendra.

Check-in time for the touring and camping pitches is indeed 12pm; we apologise that the Warden didn't realise that you were staying in a tent, and therefore gave you the wrong information. We are pleased that this was met with an apology by the Warden and 2 of them checked that you were okay. We are sorry that the Reception Team did not apologise; this is unusual, and we have passed this review on to them to improve the service for future guests.

We could have moved you from the oil spill if you had asked. We aren't aware of any drain problems, as this hasn't been reported or picked up by our cleaning team, but we will look into it after reading this.

We are pleased that you liked the way that the Park was set out and that you found the pitches well-distanced from each other; we have deliberately let out less pitches to allow for full social distancing.

We are very sorry about the music; it was turned up in error and it isn't usually on at a high volume. We apologise that it wasn't rectified sooner, and it disturbed your holiday.

We should have still had pitches free or have been able to free up something in the Booking Office; it has been busier than usual this autumn on Park and we are trying let less pitches so that we can adhere to social distancing.

We appreciate your kind comments about Mike and the Wardens; this will be passed on. All staff, including the Bookings and Reception staff, will always do their upmost to help and accommodate guests. We are sorry that you didn't have this experience and can only apologise. We understand that it is disappointing as the other reviews about the Park and staff are very complimentary; we didn't meet our usual standards this time but through you highlighting these issues we can look to improve for next time. Thank you.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Really good camp site, plenty to do on site and off site nearby01/10/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJennifer A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field B electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Indoor pool
    Arcade
    Cleanliness everywhere
    Maintenance of grounds

    Disliked: 

    Showers don’t stay on for long enough but the facilities were good besides that and glad it had a hair dryer.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked the Pool and arcade, plus the cleanliness of the facilities.

We will review your comments amongst the Management Team.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities helpful friendly staff29/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClark A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field B electric grass tent or campervan pitch (four man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything great site 👍🏻👌🏻

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for giving Hendra 10 out 10.

We are really pleased that you liked the Park.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Good Stay28/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSam T.Confirmed

  • Field B electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was a nice greeting as a guy in a golf buggy was there at our pitch to ensure we were happy with everything and didn't have any questions.

    The pitches are big enough so you are easily metres away from the other tents.

    The park itself was very good, had everything we needed and had all COVID related issues all under control i.e. being seated in clubhouse with table service etc.

    You can book everything on line which is an added benefit while still having the choice to pay when you get there with an actual colleague

    The lady who worked in the shop was very friendly also.

    Disliked: 

    The only bad thing is the toilet at the top of the park was closed so we had to walk a few minutes if we wanted a shower or toilet (and that is being picky!!)

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are pleased that you found the greeting friendly and the pitches large.

We are glad that you found the Covid measures good.

We hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Hand sanitising stations

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Jumbo tent pitches

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Very large (over 200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Lane, Newquay, Cornwall, England, TR8 4NY
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.4009°N 5.0493°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
St Columb Minor (Cornwall): Church St Coach Stop — 1.1 miles
Newquay: Porthfour Turn Coach Stop — 1.3 miles
Newquay Bus Station — 1.8 miles
Train stations
Quintrell Downs Rail Station — 0.9 miles
Newquay Rail Station — 1.5 miles
St Columb Road Rail Station — 4.8 miles
Ferry ports
Padstow Ferry Landing — 11.0 miles
Rock Padstow Ferry Landing — 11.3 miles
Tolverne Ferry Landing — 12.4 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 3.8 miles
Penzance Airport — 28.0 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

With so much to do on site, you may find it hard to prise yourself out of Hendra’s landscaped country setting, but busy Newquay is only minutes away. Aside from its renowned beaches and surf, the town has a zoo and aquarium, great golf courses, horse riding, sailing and watersports, plus eateries of every flavour, and plenty of retail therapy if needed.

On the outskirts of Newquay, Dairyland Farm World and the Lappa Valley Steam Railway are perfect for kids and big kids alike; and if you travel a bit further, you’ll find some of Cornwall’s most popular tourist haunts, such as the Eden Project, the Tate Gallery at St. Ives, St Michael’s Mount, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Land's End and the National Maritime Museum.

Must see

  • Newquay Zoo (1.2 miles)
  • Blue Reef Aquarium (1.8 miles)
  • Lappa Valley Steam Railway (2.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Trerice (1.1 miles)
  • Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps (5.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

  • Does Hendra Holiday Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
  • Is Hendra Holiday Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Hendra Holiday Park? With so much to do on site, you may find it hard to prise yourself out of Hendra’s landscaped country setting, but busy Newquay is only minutes away. Aside from its renowned … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Hendra Holiday Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  8 a.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.

    You may check in on site from 8am although you may not be able to go to your allocated pitch until 12 noon.

    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact hendra-holiday-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Modifications are subject to a £20.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Extras
Entertainment passes are included in the rate.
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.
Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £20.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Occupancy
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pool
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 25/05 and 30/08 (subject to weather conditions).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

In the event that the park is required to assist in pulling guests' vehicles, units, or equipment off their pitches, this will be done at the owner's risk and a fee may be payable.

The indoor Oasis pool is open all season to the public and a small session fee applies at £3 per Hendra guest for an hour-and-a-half session; children under three are free.

Discounted advance-purchase pool passes are available but these must be selected and added as an extra when booking. The outdoor pool is free of charge.

The site does not accept bookings for single occupancy (one person only).

Close