Book and review 9,171 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park

6.8

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Well-maintained and quiet country park set in a southern Wales valley
  • Countryside strolls, bike rides and plenty of good dog walking areas
  • Near Pen-Y-fan Country Park for fly fishing, picnics and pond walks

Plonk yourself at Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park for a relaxing family-friendly break in south Wales: among smashing surroundings, Welsh mountain views and easy access to wildlife watching spots.

Set across a whopping 42 acres in the south Wales eastern valleys, this is a large family-friendly site with a big and bright playground and plenty of space for the kids to tire themselves out. Also worth a mention is that Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park is big on safety – the speed bumps and 5mph speed limit enforced throughout the park keeps kids (and adults) well out of harm's way.

Barbecues being a staple of the British camping trip, there are plenty for guests to use close to the accommodation area should you fancy sizzling a sausage or three. For other food there's the on-site pub restaurant, the Traveller's Rest, which is accessible throughout. If you happen to be at the park during a festive season, count on special menus, discos and entertainment galore too.

Open all year

Email site

Visit website


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

6.8

Overall rating based on 20 reviews

 

55% would recommend this site to a friend.

55% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Joy riders racing through lanes at night 27/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Cheryl R. Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Not very busy

    Disliked: 

    Electric hook up - top up card

From the manager...

We are very sorry that you did not like to use the electric card system but this was required on the pitches that your friends chose we did offer alternative pitches that used a different system. We do not think that we should have been rated on the Wifi as we clearly state that this is not available due to the location of the site.

We also feel that we cannot be held responsible for joy riders using public roads if this had been on site we would have dealt with this immediately.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Staff all very friendly, couldn't do more to help! Clean ... 15/04/2018

sue_y259747 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff all very friendly, couldn't do more to help! Clean toilets and showers. Good level pitch.

    Disliked: 

    Site very tired and in need of an update. Don't understand how they can say it's a dog friendly site when they don't allow them in the pub or any facilities. Dog friendly usually means that they are allowed in pubs, was very disappointed as that was the reason we picked the site. Also no wifi!

From the manager...

We are sorry to read the negative comments with regards to your stay and would just like to take this opportunity to clarify a few details. Due to the recent adverse weather conditions that we have had over the past few months we have had little chance to do any major groundwork to improve the site as this obviously cannot be completed in snow. With regards to wifi, it can clearly be seen in the amenities section on the site that there is no wifi available at this time. Dogs are welcome on site and to stay that is why we call ourselves dog friendly but the pub that is on site is not run by pen-y-fan therefore we are not responsible for them not allowing dogs into their restaurant. We appreciate everyone's reviews and will take on board all comments as long as they are valid. Thank you for giving the staff the great comments that they deserve.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

AVOID! DO NOT BOOK HERE!!! 04/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sam_j428776 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    LEAVING! AVOID THIS SITE! TERRIBLE!

    Upon booking, I received a call from the site advising I had booked a grass pitch and would have to pay to upgrade to a hard standing! This was not the case, I had clearly booked a hard standing according to my booking confirmation.

    On arrival down a very narrow lane, I though travellers had set up in the area, but no, it was this site! Complete dump!

    I checked in to reception, provided evidence that I had in fact booked a hard standing and then was requested to pay £30, despite my booking already been paid in full. I was asked for a £10 deposit for entry fob and advised the shower was £1 per token and could be purchased at the bar. Clearly the staff are unable to process any bookings correctly and money is their only motivation.

    Given the narrow lane I came down, suitable for only one way traffic and the width of my camper van with steep drops to one side and no pull in points, I asked if there was an alternative route to site. I was advised this was the only way in. The road (lane) is barely a safe route of travel during the day, let alone the night! If you are towing, this is definitely not a safe route of travel!

    I was directed to my pitch, which was more of an unkept car park then a touring pitch. In fact the whole site was pretty bleak and looked more like a reclamation yard rather than a friendly caravan park. You certainly couldn’t have children running around playing and in fact, if you do allow this, according to the notices, you will be asked to leave by the owners!

    Once semi settled, I went to the bar for shower tokens to be advised they don’t actually keep them and haven’t done since last summer. Luckily I bumped into a member of staff who assisted me. The shower block (and rest of the site) is full of hostile notices on the many ways the owners can ask you to leave. Clearly they prefer the power trip over customer service and this is no way a friendly site. They are still displaying the Camping and Caravan Club sign, despite the club cutting any ties from them some considerable time ago. Clearly more false advertising from the owners.

    The toilets blocks were dirty and the shower token you are paying for entitles you to five minutes of cold water in a filthy shower. The toilet facilities contain illegal CCTV cameras and you are effectively locked in by a metal electric gate, which I’m pretty sure would fail any fire safety check.

    So day 1 did not start well and I was starting to feel like this was going to be a long 4 day stay. As I was a late booking, according to their rude terms and conditions, no refunds would be given! So I had no choice but to hang it out!

    The following day I left site to work in Cardiff! Luckily I took an alternative route out of site, thanks to an owner of a mobile home, who advised me the lane I travelled along wasn’t the only route!

    When I returned in the early hours of the morning after a lengthy 17 hour shift, I was furious to find someone else was occupying my pitch! Given the late hour, I had no option but to pull up on another vacant pitch and spend the rest of cold night in my van without electricity and therefore, no heating! In the morning, I spoke with the people occupying my pitch for the night and they showed me evidence that they had been allocated my pitch for the night!

    With this information and furious with the complete disregard by the owners to my booking, I decided to leave! I asked for an explanation from reception as to why my pitch was given away over night and was lied to! They told me these people had pitched up on the wrong pitch and they should have been on the pitch I was forced to stay on (pitch is probably a bad term, given it was a car park). The fact they lied about this an assumed I would be stupid enough to believe this, is insulting, especially as those occupying my pitch, were in tents on a small piece of grass dividing my pitch to the neighbouring pitch.

    Disliked: 

    There was no way they would have been placed on the pitch behind as it was all tarmac! I rejected this explanation, told them as they failed to ensure pitches were correctly allocated, that I had no intention of staying and requested a full refund!

    Initially they offered me two nights refund and intended to charge for for the night I couldn’t even access my pitch! Complete joke! I demanded the additional night refund on the basis that I was not paying for a pitch someone else was occupying. Reluctantly they agreed, yet tried to refund me less on the basis that pitch up charged booking fees! I clearly advised them, that this was an issue between them and pitch up and that I was entitled to a refund equivalent to what I had paid without deductions!!! Eventually they relented, although they were not happy to depart with any money!! I took the cash and got as far away from this awful site as possible!

    My advice to anyone thinking of booking here, is to avoid this site completely. The owners are rude, unfriendly, have no interested in ensuring your stay is remotely pleasant. Even if you consider your lowest expectation, this site will disappoint! If you do ignore my advice, expect to be treading on egg shells while you tried to avoid the many ways the owners can ask you to leave the site and keep your money! The location is certainly not worth the hassle or discomfort and there are plenty of cheaper, friendlier and cleaner sites around!

From the manager...

wWe were very sorry to see this review however we do think that this customer came onto site with a negative attitude as her Sat Nav had taken her on a very difficult route which obviously we cannot be held responsible for, and we do ask customers to contact us so we can try to give them an alternative route,

We spoke with the customer on the day that she vacated the site and apologised for the difficulties she felt she experienced and we issued her with a full refund, We did however note that when she was leaving the site although she had booked as a single person there was another adult in the vehicle when she left and therefore we had not received the full amount due to us at that time.

We always ask our customers to pay a refundable deposit for the access fobs to ensure that they are returned at the end of their stay (for security reasons so we know who is accessing the site). It is also on your website that shower tokens are used on site and that these are available at the reception during office hours and out of office hours if customers use the courtesy telephone located outside the office door.

We did apologise for other customers setting up on her original pitch and we have since e-mailed these customers to notify them of their error and the problems that this had caused.

We do not believe that the comments regarding the shower facilities and toilets were justified and we had asked staff to do extra hours regarding cleaning due to the volume of customers we had on site during this weekend.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

After getting the tent sorted out on the grass...... The ... 26/03/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jim H. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    After getting the tent sorted out on the grass......

    The electric was a god send.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the fab review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Facilities, view. 13/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lawrence H. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities, view.

    Disliked: 

    Not the fault of the site but some of 'roads' on the way to the site would challenge new motorhome, caravan drivers or those driving larger rigs and I'd advise against using postcode alone in SatNav. having said that there were bigger rigs than mine on site so it would be an idea to call site to get best route before you go.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

It was average was neat and tidy but seemed a ... 02/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gary W. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was average was neat and tidy but seemed a noisy place at night with constant vehicle movements

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

quiet location, nice site 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lynn D. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    quiet location, nice site

    Disliked: 

    the reception, when we arrived, they said that the pitch that we had booked was not available, blamed the site that we had booked with, said that they were overfull, did not feel welcome at all

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fabulous site would highly recommend 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Joy R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good clean site. Showers and tiolet block was kept very clean
    Liked the way that the electric tent pitch had parking spaces right by the tent nice and easy to unpack and pack car

    Shop was very good had most things you needed

    Staff were very friendly

    Pub food was good and value for money

    Disliked: 

    That the bar didn't serve food on the Sunday evening

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

the staff were friendly and were trying to help put ... 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Caroline S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    the staff were friendly and were trying to help put us together with our in laws who were in a motor home. Turned out the motor home sunk a bit on the grass. Anyway they found us another spot.

    Disliked: 

    We unfortunately were sat with a large group of 23 people and they were up all hours playing music drinking and talking. The staff did have words and kept checking on them every now and then.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly staff, 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lucie S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views. Very friendly owners and staff. Lovely, large pitches. Clean.

    Disliked: 

    Lack of bins. Playground was covered in feathers.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Manmoel Road, Blackwood, Monmouthshire, Wales, NP12 0HY
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.7027°N 3.1750°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Ebbw Vale: Inner Bypass Coach Stop — 5.5 miles
Pontypool: Town Hall Coach Stop — 5.8 miles
Tredegar: Lidl Coach Stop — 5.9 miles
Train stations
Llanhilleth Rail Station — 1.7 miles
Brithdir Rail Station — 2.4 miles
Bargoed Rail Station — 2.5 miles
Ferry ports
Newport (S Wales) Ferry Terminal — 12.8 miles
Cardiff Castle Waterbus Stop — 15.3 miles
Taffs Mead Waterbus Stop — 15.7 miles
Airports
Cardiff International Airport — 22.2 miles
Bristol International Airport — 29.6 miles

Directions


From the M4:
Leave the M4 at Junction 28. Take the A467 and follow the signs for Brynmawr; at Crumlin traffic lights turn left. Follow the signs for Penyfan Pond and turn right at the traffic lights. At the roundabout take the third exit and follow the signs to the leisure park.

From the A465 Heads of the Valleys road:
Turn of at Brynmawr and take the A467. Follow the signs to Abertillery and Newport then follow the signs to Penyfan Pond as above.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Outdoor explorers are well catered to in Monmouthshire, which has plenty of hiking, mountain biking and climbing options within easy reach in and around the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains.

Pen-Y-fan Country Park is a 25-minute stroll from the park and is a popular pick with guests for relaxing picnics, walks around the pond and fly fishing – bag angling day passes from the leisure centre or the fishing shop in Pontllanfraith. Other activities within easy reach include clay pigeon shooting six miles south of the site and a nine-hole golf course three miles away.

A little further afield in Caerphilly there's an activity centre for orienteering, archery, abseiling, campcraft and obstacle course adventures, while plenty of woodland walks and cycling routes await over at Sirhowy Valley Country Park; follow the flat route running along a former railway track, or trek down the trail through the Flatwoods Meadows Local Nature Reserve and along the Sirhowy river.

Also accessible from the country park is National Route 47 of the National Cycle Network for two-wheeled trips westward to Parc Penallta, or south down to Newport. Close by is Graig Goch Woodland Local Nature Reserve, an ancient mixed woodland accessible via a steep climb for splendid views over the surrounding Monmouthshire countryside.

Must see

  • Big Pit: National Coal Museum (5.6 miles)
  • Blaenavon World Heritage Centre & Tourist Information Centre (6.1 miles)
  • Blaenavon Ironworks (6.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Skenfrith Castle (20.4 miles)
  • The Kymin (22.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  10 a.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  10 a.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.

Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Pitches: a £10.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Hired accommodation: £50.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Pen Y Fan Caravan and Leisure Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Extras
A charge of £1.00 applies for the use of shower.
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.
Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 9 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £50.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.
Your unit must be left clean and tidy, a fine of £20.00 will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Pitches
Pitches: a £10.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 9 p.m..

Additional terms

The playground will be under construction from mid-September 2017 until April 2018.

The pub serves lunch between 12pm and 3:30pm (Tuesday to Sunday) and dinner between 7pm and 11pm (Tuesday to Saturday).

Close