Book and review 8,793 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Alvingham Lakes

9.1
View prices & book
From £15/€16.84/A$26.18/US$19.94/CA$25.37/CHF19.59/kr165.58/kr125.34/kr162.36/kr2,067/$346.98/$12,667/PEN64.55/NZ$28.99/R277.06/zł70.89/R$64.26/Kč428.29/RSD2,010/Ft5,261.19/₽1,165.91/CN¥131.30 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Day ticket fishery on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds
  • Two fishing lakes in a wildlife haven
  • A short walk from the village social club

Fisherfolk unite, for this is a splendid angling site. Tiny and scenic Alvingham Lakes is a day ticket fishery, just outside the Georgian market town of Louth on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds. It has two fishing lakes crammed to the brim with common, mirror, grass and Crucian carp as well as roach, rudd, bream and tench – plus what the owners say are a few little surprises.

Folks flock here from all over for the fishing and peacefully scenic surrounds, on a friendly and calm site full of feathered inhabitants like heron, moorhens and doves. It's a basic but well-maintained site, with a toilet, handwashing facilities and barbecues (and dogs) allowed; there's also a self-service café for drinks and snacks in between angling or just wandering placidly around the scenic surrounds.

Louth is three miles away and a big supermarket within 15 minutes. And for drinks after a long day's fishing, the village social club is a short walk away.

Please note

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.1

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Great!!! Friendly people. The best time ever!!! Nice fishing :) 29/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kamil M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great!!! Friendly people. The best time ever!!! Nice fishing :)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely peaceful site 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom joanne_a325232 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful scenery. Very peaceful. Will definitely visit again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A great place if you like peace and quiet.A beautiful ... 25/08/2017

chris_e193067 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A great place if you like peace and quiet.A beautiful well kept site the amenities are basic but you are made aware of this when you book personally it's adds to the charm of the place.It is a on going site and so far Ian and Terri are doing a cracking job
    The fishing is excellent never fished monkey lake while I was there but grass lake you had to fish for them but when you found them well worth the wait
    Ian couldn't do enough for you
    Definitely going back in the near future

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Quite and Peaceful 24/08/2017

Rey_V Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very quite place and hardly hear any traffic noise.Well maintained site,and Manicured lawns...so if you wanted a private and peaceful place to unwind this place is good for you.The self service Shop is fantastic, well stock and my kids loves it.The accmodation is well equipt with all you need and that's is a plus if you wanted to travel light.A good value for money and i will recommend with all my friends and family.

    Disliked: 

    Although the caravan is well maintained,we see a lot of cobwebs in all corners where curtains and fringes are.I never see my kids sneeze for England until we stayed on this Caravan.Good thing we carry Homely remedy for this,so we don't spoils our quite and peaceful Holiday.We don't see any rubbish bins on site in order for us to dropped our waste.Theres nothing for kids except a couple of Pigs onsite.It could be nice if theres a playground for them to go outdoors and play.I know this is a fishing lakes ,a simple seesaw and slides would be an added bonus.

From the manager...

We are sorry if you did not find the cleanliness of the caravan up to standard. We try very hard to ensure everyone here has a pleasant stay, and if things aren't quite right, we hope that you tell us so we have the opportunity to put it right. It is difficult for us to rectify any issues once you have gone home.
There are bins on site, and details of where you can leave your rubbish, (amongst a whole host of other things) are contained within the information folder in each caravan.
We know our site is very basic - we think this adds to the charm of the place. We are not a 'holiday camp' and do not claim to offer entertainment or children's recreational activities, but we do provide information, brochures and leaflets of ample places close by that do. We do however offer plenty of green space!
We have never experienced anyone suffering from sneezing whilst staying here previously, but we have to admit, being surrounded by fields in the midst of harvest time, there may well have been a little dust in the air.
We hope these minor issues did not ruin your holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely and quiet Good size fishing lakes Owner was lovely ... 20/08/2017

emma_l435401 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely and quiet Good size fishing lakes
    Owner was lovely . Brilliant for fishing

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful quiet little site but needs elson/waste point 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chris P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is set in beautiful surroundings and is an absolute gem. Very peaceful and quiet. Plenty of beaches near by.

    Disliked: 

    Lack of Elson point and no where to put rubbish. No drain for waste water either.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Alvingham Lakes and we hope you choose to visit us again.

We know our little site is very basic, but we believe this adds to its charm!

We do hope to install new facilities within the next year, which will include showers and a designated 'waste area'. At present however, guests are welcome to use the bins by the house for general rubbish, and all 'wet' waste is emptied into the septic tank. Please accept our apologies if this was not made clear to you upon arrival.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

excellent site with friendly helpful owner 10/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom margaret_f544552 Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I loved this peaceful site set in lovely countryside - an away from it all feel yet near to to Louth for services . Saw amazing range of birds , the old canal nearby with locks and the ancient churches where you could feel history

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good fishing and very helpfull owners 02/10/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Stephen W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very helpfull owners.peacfull sarroundings

    Disliked: 

    Lack of showers and waste disposel

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely Peaceful Location, Teri & Ian are great hosts 04/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alison P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet, Peaceful Location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely peaceful site. Friendly owners...would visit again. 30/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Maria M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Lock Road, Alvingham Louth, Lincolnshire, England, LN11 7EU
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.3934°N 0.0476°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Louth: Bus Station Church Street — 2.7 miles
North Thoresby: The Granby Coach Stop — 6.8 miles
Holton le Clay: Louth Rd Coach Stop — 9.3 miles
Train stations
Cleethorpes Rail Station — 12.1 miles
Grimsby Town Rail Station — 13.0 miles
New Clee Rail Station — 13.3 miles
Ferry ports
Hull Ferry Terminal — 27.6 miles
Airports
Humberside Airport — 21.0 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The pubs, eateries, independent shops, traditional markets and award-wining butchers and grocers of lovely Louth are three miles away; after eats or shopping, have a wander around this historic town to see its 17th- and 18th-century buildings or take in a show at its Riverhead Theatre. Louth market days are on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

The towpath of the disused canal runs along to Louth if you want to get there via a scenic wander, while if you're up for a longer walk you can follow it from there all the way to Tetney Lock, via the local churches, heaps of wildlife and spectacular views. Strolls around the six acres of Lincolnshire countryside of small and friendly Rushmoor Country Park farm park are also nearby.

A 20-minute drive away is the Donna Nook National Nature Reserve, where seals come to pup each autumn, and 30 minutes away are the beaches of Lincolnshire's eastern coast.

Must see

  • Lincoln Cathedral (26.5 miles)
  • Lincoln Medieval Bishops' Palace (26.5 miles)
  • Lincoln Castle (26.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Gunby Hall (16.1 miles)
  • Gunby Hall Estate: Monksthorpe Chapel (16.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  Anytime
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  11 a.m.

Alvingham Lakes cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Alvingham Lakes will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

No card payments accepted on site. Please bring cash on arrival.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Alvingham Lakes


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This site has no on-site shower facilities.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Additional terms

No card payments accepted on site. Please bring cash on arrival.

Close