Book 5,344 campground, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout Australia, Europe, the UK and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Alvingham Lakes

9.5
View prices & book
From £20/€23.50/A$35.52/US$25.19/CA$32.17/CHF24.17/SEK248.51/DKK174.82/NOK240.54/ISK3,246/ARS3,008.01/CLP20,768/PEN92.33/$38.92/ZAR396.08/PLN108.10/R$119.71/CZK580.62/RSD2,761/HUF9,253.27/RUB1,532.08/CN¥169.74 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Alvingham Lakes: Static caravans

General

  • Day ticket fishery on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds
  • Two fishing lakes in a wildlife haven
  • A short walk from the village social club

Fisherfolk unite, for this is a splendid angling site. Tiny and scenic Alvingham Lakes is a day ticket fishery, just outside the Georgian market town of Louth on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds. It has two fishing lakes crammed to the brim with common, mirror, grass and Crucian carp as well as roach, rudd, bream and tench – plus what the owners say are a few little surprises.

Folks flock here from all over for the fishing and peacefully scenic surrounds, on a friendly and calm site full of feathered inhabitants like heron, moorhens and doves. It's a basic but well-maintained site, with a toilet, handwashing facilities and barbecues (and dogs) allowed; there's also a self-service café for drinks and snacks in between angling or just wandering placidly around the scenic surrounds.

Louth is three miles away and a big supermarket within 15 minutes. And for drinks after a long day's fishing, the village social club is a short walk away.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Tents are not accepted at this park.

Guests under the age of 14 are not allowed on site.

Group bookings of 4 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the campground/park are unlit.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 15+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 56 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

  91% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Needs time and rethinking to cater for the elderly05/14/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomnobby b.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • #2 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The fishing

    Disliked: 

    Low wattage kettle, took a while to boil, no heating (asked not to use gas fire, incase gas ran out, so small two bar electric fire, was used, also small greenhouse heater for bedroom, again no more use than an ornament,, oven door broken, cooker rings, were either on or off, no control, smoke alarm too close to cooker, seat fell through resulting in falling backwards and down, in need of regular maintenance, the fishing pegs need resetting, as being unable to walk far, getting to the actual pegs with tackle, was hard work

From the manager...

Thank you for your review of Alvingham Lakes.
Your comments & low score ratings are a disappointment to us - it is always helpful if guests advise us whilst staying here if there is any cause for concern, so we are able to address & rectify any issues. Once you have left site, there is very little we can do to ensure your stay is / was enjoyable.
We do supply low wattage appliances in our caravans - this is quite standard, and has never been an issue for anyone previously.
We do not claim our caravans have heating, and are therefore not obliged to supply any, but we do provide electric heaters & blowers for the comfort of our guests if the weather is forecast to be chilly. Likewise, we provide a cool air fan when the weather is exceptionally hot. Most of our guests prefer the convenience of a small electric heater rather than lighting the gas fire, but we do take on board your comments.
Since your departure, we have inspected the cooker, and can find no fault with the oven door or the hob. We have had other guests stay in the caravan this weekend, and they confirm they used it to cook a full roast dinner with no issues. As legally required, the cooker is inspected & checked annually by an independent certified operative to ensure it is in full working order & safe to use. This check also includes the carbon monoxide & smoke detectors, which have to be sited within a certain distance of the appliance.
On the second day of your stay, you advised that you had 'had an accident' and broken one of the fitted sofas in the caravan. We are unsure of how this happened, as the wood frame & board were quite solid, having only been refurbished a year ago, but we carried out a full repair to the seat base as soon as you let us know. This took less than 20 minutes to fix. The sofa seat could not have fallen down through the base as the cushion pad is much bigger than the frame. The back of the sofa was still in place and undamaged. You advised you were unhurt.
We pride ourselves on the beauty of our lakes, and virtually all of our guests comment on how well maintained our site is. We do not have 'man-made & constructed' fishing pegs, preferring to leave the lake natural and as nature intended. Our static caravans and electric hook-up points are all within 20 metres of Grass Lake - an exact reason why guests come to stay with us. We have elderly & infirm guests coming back time & time again because it is easy for them not having to walk any distance to fish. Watching you trot around our lakes whilst pulling our trolley (which you decided to commandeer for the week instead of leaving it for all guests to use as & when required) heavily laden with all your fishing tackle, did not appear to be hard work for you!
Despite visiting our site to ensure it was to your satisfaction before booking, and seemingly appreciating everything throughout the time you were here, your review implies you did not appear to enjoy your stay with us here at Alvingham Lakes, and for that, we can only apologise. We appreciate that the peace & tranquility which we offer is not for everyone, and clearly our lovely venue is not for you.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything, fantastic little piece of heaven. Hosts Ian and Terri …04/17/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichael I.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • #1 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, fantastic little piece of heaven.
    Hosts Ian and Terri make you feels so welcome. Superb fishing.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Peacefulness and lovely owners03/29/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJanette S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peacefulness and lovely owners

    Disliked: 

    Long bumpy lane to site

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very friendly host Ian and partner Terri. Been here twice …10/25/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLinda J.Confirmed

  • #1 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly host Ian and partner Terri. Been here twice now, once in our caravan now in their hire caravan. Enjoyed both times. Both dog friendly. Louth town has so many dog friendly pubs, so staying here is ideal for people that like there pooch along. Fishing is also fantastic you can even hire equipment if you wanted.

    Disliked: 

    No lights around the site.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A very peaceful site, with lovely static caravans09/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlan T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • #1 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The quietness and serenity, and the friendliness of the owners.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Peaceful, Beautiful picturesque site,09/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCol A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had shower, toilet, drinking water and waste point, the site was level, well looked after and clean, this is a beautiful place, the surrounding scenery with the fishing lakes and wild life is the prettiest we have come across, Ian ( site owner ) is a "genuine " nice guy who is always ready to help with any problem, mobi reception / internet good, Louth is 3 mls away on quiet country
    road, it's absolutely full of individual small shops, full great pubs ( try Cobble's ) cafe's, restaurants, and brilliant market, a proper good old fashioned England town. we will be going back ! Brilliant time

    Disliked: 

    For me the wife's opinion - Not 1 thing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

highly recommend a beautiful quiet spacious pitch overlooking the lake …09/13/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGRAHAM E.Confirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    highly recommend a beautiful quiet spacious pitch overlooking the lake great on site wildlife ,well kept clean site helpful owners great fishing could not ask for more will be back next year 5 stars .

    Disliked: 

    nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Staff made you fell very welcome, great views over the fishing lake.09/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDonna H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Quiet friendly site with welcoming hosts who are available when …09/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomhelen m.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet friendly site with welcoming hosts who are available when needed. Good location for wildlife and peaceful fishing. Will definitely be visiting again

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi

Extremely clean site. Tranquil , great fishing .Owners lovely !!!08/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLorna M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful , peaceful and we were very well looked after.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundry

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Adults only

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump point

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This campground/park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Lock Road, Alvingham, Louth, Lincolnshire, England, LN11 7EU
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.3934°N 0.0476°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 4.3 kilometres
Granby Inn — 11.0 kilometres
Granby Inn — 11.0 kilometres
Train stations
Cleethorpes Rail Station — 19.4 kilometres
Grimsby Town Rail Station — 20.9 kilometres
New Clee Rail Station — 21.4 kilometres
Ferry ports
Hull Ferry Terminal — 44.4 kilometres
Airports
Humberside Airport — 33.7 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The pubs, eateries, independent shops, traditional markets and award-wining butchers and grocers of lovely Louth are three miles away; after eats or shopping, have a wander around this historic town to see its 17th- and 18th-century buildings or take in a show at its Riverhead Theatre. Louth market days are on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

The towpath of the disused canal runs along to Louth if you want to get there via a scenic wander, while if you're up for a longer walk you can follow it from there all the way to Tetney Lock, via the local churches, heaps of wildlife and spectacular views. Strolls around the six acres of Lincolnshire countryside of small and friendly Rushmoor Country Park farm park are also nearby.

A 20-minute drive away is the Donna Nook National Nature Reserve, where seals come to pup each autumn, and 30 minutes away are the beaches of Lincolnshire's eastern coast.

Must see

  • Lincoln Cathedral (42.7 kilometres)
  • Lincoln Medieval Bishops' Palace (42.7 kilometres)
  • Lincoln Castle (42.8 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Gunby Hall (25.8 kilometres)
  • Gunby Hall Estate: Monksthorpe Chapel (26.7 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and caravan
Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Alvingham Lakes cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

The campground/park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Alvingham Lakes will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

No card payments accepted on site. Please bring cash on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Alvingham Lakes have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Alvingham Lakes dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Alvingham Lakes? The pubs, eateries, independent shops, traditional markets and award-wining butchers and grocers of lovely Louth are three miles away; after eats or shopping, have a wander around this historic town to see … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Alvingham Lakes?
    Camping and caravan
    Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Alvingham Lakes? From $39.08 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact alvingham_lakes


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 4 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Safety
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the campground/park are unlit.

Admission
Guests under the age of 14 are not allowed on site.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Hired accommodation
No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Coronavirus
Tents are not accepted at this park.

General
The campground/park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.
The fishing lakes are stocked with common carp, mirror carp, grass carp, crucians, roach, rudd, koi, eels.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

General
This campground/park DOES have a catch-and-return fishing policy in place.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

General
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Hired accommodation
Your unit must be left clean and tidy; a fine of £50.00 ($97.56) will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Additional terms

No card payments accepted on site. Please bring cash on arrival.

Close