Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Hever Camping

9.1
View prices & book
From £24/€27.42/A$41.79/US$26.95/CA$36.92/CHF26.63/SEK298.44/DKK203.99/NOK286.35/ISK3,826/ARS4,021.41/CLP25,437/PEN107.15/NZ$47.39/ZAR482.05/PLN133.49/R$140.20/CZK672.52/RSD3,217/HUF11,624.68/RUB1,631.35/CN¥191.80 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Hever Camping: Camper pitch

General

  • Family-run farm campsite 20 minutes' walk from Hever Castle
  • Chiddingstone and Penshurst Place within a 10-minute drive
  • On-site carp and roach fishing available; eggs and firewood for sale

Camping in Kent is a fine option indeed, whether you're after family-friendly breaks in the Garden of England, wine-tasting vineyard voyages or just a quiet rural break within easy reach of London. Hever Camping, a family-run site half a mile from the small village of Markbeech, makes an excellent base for all three – and with a good dose of history thrown in too…

Managed by sisters Sarah and Gina, the farm where Hever Camping is based has been in the hands of the same family for over 100 years, meaning your hosts are very knowledgeable about the local area. Originally a dairy farm attached to the Hever Castle estate, the cows are now long gone – but the grand grounds of the castle and its gardens are easily accessed on foot in around 20 minutes.

Hever Camping is split into two parts – Farm Field, with toilets and washing-up area (with hot water) and the more remote Pond Field, with toilets and cold water. Hot showers are also available. The farm is home to a woodland, a pond, trees that are great for climbing and a Wendy house for the kids. On-site angling is available, with likely catches including carp and roach. Eggs and firewood are sold here too (subject to availability).

Nearby off-site amenities include Markbeech's pub and farm shop (10 minutes' walk from the site gates) and Cowden railway station (20 minutes), where direct trains can take you to London Bridge in as little as 45 minutes.

Please note

No charcoal barbecues allowed.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

No electric barbecues allowed.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Single-sex bookings of 7 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Minimum spacing of 6 metres between pitches.

Owing to government regulations, groups of 7 or more people are not permitted.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Group bookings of 7 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

There are no bins onsite: all rubbish will need to be taken home with you.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Please note that the toilet facilities are unisex.

There is no reception on-site: on arrival please contact the number provided on your booking confirmation.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.1

Overall rating based on 74 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

  78% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Once we found site everything was great, Sarah rescued us …01/10/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBelinda T.Confirmed

  • Farm Field non-electric grass campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Once we found site everything was great, Sarah rescued us more than once ! She was a lovely host. Shower block very clever and nice big cubicles !
    All excellent > Many thanks !

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nightmare for children as some sections are private.26/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Ok location. Far from the main road.

    Disliked: 

    Way overpriced for a camp that has nothing more than a bit of grass.
    Toilet had no lights.
    Rude owner, told us off, and goggled us pack away from her car (that was weird and annoyingly unnecessary)when we stayed a bit longer even though it was Sunday and there were no other people on the camp.

From the manager...

We are so sorry you felt this way. This was not our intention to offend at all. To address your points-
The private sections as mentioned in the title of the review is the, well sign-posted, boundary of our land. I just wanted to warn you that we cannot be held responsible for any problems or accidents, as we do not maintain those woodlands. You seemed satisfied when I pointed you towards our woodland playground for the children.
Also, I'm sorry it seemed as if I was watching from the car, however, I was taking a very important phone call. I then also noticed that your children were very close to my car, so decided to stay put for the duration of the call, to make sure the children stayed safe.
Please be aware that the cost of the pitch is not just for the grass space. It is for the clean toilets, the water, the insurance, site maintainance, having someone available if there are any problems and so much more. The allotted check out time is 11am as per the terms and conditions, we understand situations and issues occur which may inadvertently delay departure and we are on hand to help if needed. I hope you understand.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

I can’t wait to come back next year!! Will definitely be rebooking12/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWilson C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The complete freedom & back to basics camping. The woods has a little Wendy house & play area, the fishing pond was very close. The staff are friendly & pop over to say hello. They have logs to buy & fire pits dotted around for you to borrow. Toilets/showers/wash up areas are all clean (basic but clean)
    I stayed at pond field in August with my partner & instantly re booked for 2 weeks later to bring my children. They loved it & can’t wait to come back.

    Disliked: 

    Unisex toilets aren’t the best at times
    Wash up area could do with some drainage when emptying your dirty water
    Showers are on the other field very far away
    (When on the pond field)
    Maybe some better flooring when filling up drinking water as it gets muddy

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

This is our 3rd visit in 8 weeks. It's brilliant site for every age.05/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGemma M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, friendly staff, freedom, campfires, bbq and pond field has a park.

    Disliked: 

    Toilet block very dark (head torches are essential)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Plenty of room on site good facilities and friendly staff …07/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStuart S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Farm field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plenty of room on site good facilities and friendly staff 👍😬

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful site with clean facilities. Lovely and friendly staff.05/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnette S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Farm field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were really friendly and the cam site quiet and clean, although busy. Lovely walks nearby.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The location was great and drive up was always a …02/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location was great and drive up was always a pleasure! The Pond Field was better than the Farm Field apart for the lack of a play area on the field itself.
    Appreciated toilet paper, soap and shower gel in the toilets and showers, a nice touch. The option of having a campfire was also a pleasure.

    Disliked: 

    Having to drive to the other field for showers.
    Noise of the planes early morning.
    Knowing what you can get for your money in France, where campsites are far superior and far better value for money.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Brilliant! We’ll definitely be back!31/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The foam party for the kids and the general layout and atmosphere was fantastic. The perfect campsite for us!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The location was amazing, easy to find with picturesque views …31/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClare M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pond field non-electric grass campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location was amazing, easy to find with picturesque views and a tranquil sound of only nature. I felt so welcomed when they came around to check if all was okay and if I needed anything. I will definitely be back. The facilities were amazing, clean and powerful shower!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nicely spaced out. Friendly staff. Location30/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Farm field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nicely spaced out. Friendly staff. Location

    Disliked: 

    Awful showers. 10 seconds of hot, followed by 2 nins of cold

From the manager...

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise that you didn't have a successful showering experience.
I can assure you we check the showers regularly, and carry out tests to ensure all is working correctly.
We are currently printing some instructional signs, so that campers know they can adjust the temperature knobs on the unit to their preferred temperature- whilst using the push button on the shower head to turn on and off.
Thank you again for your comments, Sarah.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Hand sanitising stations

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Remote location

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Large (51-200 pitches)

Pop-up campsite

Nearby leisure

Golf nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Wilderness Farm, Hever, Edenbridge, Kent, England, TN8 7LP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.1681°N 0.1177°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Brambletye — 6.0 miles
Brambletye — 6.0 miles
Victoria Hall — 6.2 miles
Train stations
Cowden Rail Station — 0.9 miles
Hever Rail Station — 1.3 miles
Edenbridge Town Rail Station — 3.1 miles
Ferry ports
Gravesend Pier — 22.0 miles
Tilbury Ferry Terminal — 22.3 miles
Greenwich Pier — 22.5 miles
Airports
Biggin Hill Airport — 12.0 miles
London Gatwick Airport — 12.2 miles
London Gatwick Airport South Terminal — 12.3 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

First port of call around these parts simply has to be the excellent Hever Castle (20 minutes' walk or five minutes' drive): the childhood home of Anne Boleyn has plenty of attractions to keep you busy for a full day out, including a water maze, playgrounds and a fab series of summer events including things like jousting tournaments and open-air theatre shows.

For a bit more on the local history front, head to Chartwell (15 minutes' drive), a long-term haunt of Winston Churchill, or to Penshurst Place (10 minutes), where you can tour the medieval manor or trot around the estate's 100 acres, taking in the lakes, adventure playground and woodland trails along the way. More of the past is on display in Chiddingstone (five minutes), a well-preserved Tudor village managed by the National Trust.

Need something to keep the kids entertained? Edenbridge (10 minutes) has a well-maintained public leisure centre nearby if they've got excess energy to burn off, while trips to top local theme parks like Diggerland Kent (55 minutes) or zoos like the UK Owl and Raptor Centre (20 minutes) could also be in the offing.

Must see

  • Hever Castle and Gardens (1.3 miles)
  • Penshurst Place and Gardens (2.9 miles)
  • Groombridge Place and The Enchanted Forest (4.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Chartwell (5.4 miles)
  • Emmetts Garden (6.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  10 a.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Hever Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Hever Camping will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Hever Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Hever Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Hever Camping? First port of call around these parts simply has to be the excellent Hever Castle (20 minutes' walk or five minutes' drive): the childhood home of Anne Boleyn has plenty of attractions … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Hever Camping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  10 a.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Hever Camping? From £24 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact hever-camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Coronavirus

Dogs

Extras

General

Occupancy

Pitches

Reception

Safety

Vehicles

Visitors

Close