Blackland Lakes

View prices & book 9.1 457 reviews
Lake (added by manager 29 Jul 2022)
Pitches (added by manager 29 jul 2022)
Pitches (added by manager 08 jun 2017)
A great view of the sky morning and night (added by adam_w122071 06 jul 2019)

  • Scenic and peaceful site surrounded by gorgeous villages such as Calne
  • A five-minute drive from Cherhill White Horse
  • Fishing lakes, shop, bar and nature trail with goat feeding
Ever seen the famed Westbury White Horse, high up above an Iron Age hill fort on Salisbury Plain? You can get to it within a 35-minute drive with a stay at Blackland Lakes. But there's more of that even closer by: this peaceful rural place is a mere five-minute drive from the famed equine etching of Cherhill White Horse. For those planning to spend days lazing around at base (after a trip to see one of the two horses, of course), Blackland has two coarse fishing lakes filled with carp, tench, perch, roach, bream and gudgeon, with mirror carp up to 25lbs in Heron Lake and bream to 11lb in both. Another lake is set aside as a habitat for wildfowl for those who'd rather laze about this green and scenic setting. The park covers 17 acres, divided into secluded grass paddocks. A big highlight is Sam's Bar, open from April to September (mainly at weekends), selling a range of draft beers and ciders, soft drinks, hot drinks, ice creams and pizzas. The team has also opened a well-stocked and licensed shop, selling essentials, drinks, ice cream and camping basics like tent pegs. Within the shop is a small tourist info section with leaflets on local attractions, events and details of local pubs, restaurants, and takeaways that can deliver your dinner straight to the site. Blackland is at just outside the village of Calne, at the foot of the North Wessex Downs. The closest pub serving food is about 10 minutes' walk away.

Site type

Tent pitches 65
Touring caravan pitches 65
Motorhome pitches 65
Open all year
Please note
  • Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.
  • Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • The grocery shop is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
  • Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.
  • The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Languages spoken

English

Polish

Silver David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 3 pennants

Pitch types & availability

Reviews

93%

would recommend this site to a friend

89%

would stay here again

  • 67%
    10
  • 0%
    9
  • 24%
    8
  • 0%
    7
  • 5%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 1%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 1%
    2
  • 0%
    1

Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

👍🏻

Overall 10/10
Location 8
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 8
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 8
Wifi No rating
David Q. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch (large)

Liked: Very much liked the laid back feel of the camp site. Massive pitch, loads of room around us. Toilets and showers were all working and clean. Nice little bar up by the ponds that serves food. Would definitely visit again if we are in the area.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Nice site but mind where you’re walking.

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 6
Customer service 8
Child friendliness 8
Cleanliness 8
Wifi 8
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch

Liked: Friendly welcome, nice sized pitch with hard standing and grass area. Tidy and well kept. Useful to have the hot ash bin for bbqs. Useful little shop with essentials. Peaceful and quiet site.

Disliked: Fishing was a little disappointing. The pegs are sunken down and hard to fish from with little space and many overhanging trees not cut back made it difficult to cast out. Lots of goose poo everywhere around the lake and pitches make it difficult to walk anywhere without stepping in it.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Fantastic time Took Grandchildren away over night & it was just wonderfull.…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Jan C. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch

Liked: Fantastic time Took Grandchildren away over night & it was just wonderfull. We Love Blackland Lakes

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

The sun and the red kites in the sky…

Overall 6/10
Location 6
Value for money 4
Accommodation 2
Facilities / Activities 2
Customer service 6
Child friendliness 6
Cleanliness 2
Wifi 2
Sean S. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch (small)

Liked: The sun and the red kites in the sky

Disliked: Revolting toilets. Given a poor pitch, very shaded, right by the entrance to another field so constant flow of cars/people.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Fab site, clean, tidy and very nice stay

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 8
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 6
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass pitch (large)

Liked: Nice amount of space, well set out, good amenities, overall good place

Recommend to friends Visit again

A great campsite for an enjoyable family camping experience

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Aaron J. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass pitch (medium)

Liked: A great campsite for families and children. Well kept facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Pizzas made on site including an outside bar (Sam's Bar), a shop with ideal supplies, a decent little play park, goats to feed and stroke, fishing lakes for pleasant walking, dog friendly and plenty of space for children to run around and enjoy. I sensed a lot of community spirit between campers as everyone enjoyed each others company and the children made lots of friends. :-)

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your lovely comments! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a sense of community between everyone. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, The Blacklands Team

Friendly staff level pitches facilities are excellent always made welcome…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 8
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch (small)

Liked: Friendly staff level pitches facilities are excellent always made welcome

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

Great sized pitches. Very clean and spacious site. Handy shop.…

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Wendy B. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch (large)

Liked: Great sized pitches. Very clean and spacious site. Handy shop. Great little bar selling beer and pizzas. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Went specifically for the fishing but only 1 lake open and fishing was poor.

Recommend to friends Visit again

No staff to answer questions. Dirty facilities.

Overall 2/10
Location 8
Value for money 2
Accommodation 2
Facilities / Activities 2
Customer service 2
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 2
Wifi 2
Michelle G. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch (large)

Liked: Beautiful surroundings. Loved the goats.

Disliked: The grounds keeper was a very rude nasty little man. Not helpful at all.when I asked him how to pay.as couldn't find anyone. Toilets and showers could do with cleaning. I'm glad we had our own on board.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your feedback. We have looked into your booking, throughout your time on site we had two manned receptions with at least 4 members of staff around. Our groundsman was asking you to report to a member of staff to pay and to obtain the barrier code but when you and your partner became abusive he was intimidated and allowed the barrier to open. You left the site without paying. We have tried to contact you about this with no response. We are happy to discuss if you'd like to get in touch. Kind regards The Blacklands Team

Friendly site, brilliant staff, lovely surrounding clean facilities…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass pitch (large)

Liked: Friendly site, brilliant staff, lovely surrounding clean facilities

Recommend to friends Visit again


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available Car parking by pitch/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Rallies welcome Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities Chemical disposal Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Accessibility

Disabled facilities

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Motorhome service point Seasonal pitches Tourer storage facilities

Location

Blackland Lakes

Stockley Lane

Calne

Wiltshire

England

SN11 0NQ

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)

GPS

51.4191°N
-1.9942°W

Nearest transport

Coach
1.4 mi Town Hall
4.5 mi NX Coach Stop
4.5 mi NX Coach Stop
Rail
6 mi Chippenham Rail Station
7 mi Melksham Rail Station
11 mi Pewsey Rail Station
Ferry
25.5 mi Temple Meads Station Ferry Landing
25.6 mi Temple Bridge (Bristol) Ferry Landing
25.8 mi Castle Park Ferry Landing

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The Westbury White Horse – Wiltshire's famed giant chalk horse carved into the slope of Salisbury Plain – is a 35-minute drive from Blackland Lakes, on the edge of Bratton Downs. Standing 80 feet tall and 170 feet wide, it's viewable for 16 or 17 miles around its setting; from the horse itself, you'll be able to see Bratton Castle and the white horses of Devizes and Alton Barnes. This is most certainly a land of archaeological and world-famed historical highlights: reach the pretty village of Avebury and its three prehistoric stone circles within 10 minutes' drive and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Stonehenge within 40. If your tastes are more modern, a vintage motor museum is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Take a trip out to any of the area's market towns such as Calne, Devizes, Chippenham, Corsham, Royal Wootton Bassett and Marlborough, all within 25 minutes' drive. Bath is about 35 minutes away. For peaceful sightseeing within a short drive, try Bowood House and its landscaped gardens, five miles away, and the National Trust village of Lacock eight miles from the site, a magical place that's had screen appearances in the likes of Downton Abbey and Harry Potter.

Must see

Wadworth Visitor Centre 4.5 mi

Lacock Abbey, Grounds and Cloisters 5.4 mi

Silbury Hill 5.9 mi

Avebury Stone Circle 6 mi

West Kennet Long Barrow 6.2 mi

National Trust

Lacock Abbey, Fox Talbot Museum and Village 5.5 mi

Avebury 5.9 mi

Avebury Manor and Garden 5.9 mi

Great Chalfield Manor and Garden 9.7 mi

The Courts Garden 10 mi

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

BOWOOD 2.1 mi

Battle of Roundway Down, 1643 2.7 mi

SPYE PARK 3.3 mi

LACOCK ABBEY 5.3 mi

Lacock Village and Abbey 5.4 mi

Local events

  • Bristol International Balloon Fiesta (Thursday 8 August 2024 – Thursday 8 August 2024)

    Bristol, Greater Bristol 29.2 mi

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Nearest sites

Unfortunately, we have no nearby bookable sites.

Want to know more about camping in Wiltshire?

  • Does Blackland Lakes have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Blackland Lakes dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Blackland Lakes? The Westbury White Horse – Wiltshire's famed giant chalk horse carved into the slope of Salisbury Plain – is a 35-minute drive from Blackland Lakes, on the edge of Bratton Downs. Standing … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Blackland Lakes?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Blackland Lakes? From £19.50 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.