Book and review 3,286 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Masons Arms

9.5
View prices & book
From £19/€21.13/A$35.18/US$23.46/CA$32.31/CHF22.56/SEK221.65/DKK157.60/NOK228/ISK3,190/ARS1,605.56/CLP18,745/PEN80.50/NZ$37.82/ZAR411.77/PLN93.98/R$125.16/CZK568.65/RSD2,485/HUF7,321.16/RUB1,645.82/CN¥167.45 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Looking down across the camping field

General

  • Peaceful camping field with year-round facilities
  • National Trust and English Heritage properties close by
  • Hike the 20 minutes up Ham Hill from the site

Check out this well-connected Somerset pub site... The Masons Arms is in the good-looking hamstone village of Odcombe near Yeovil, surrounded by topping walking trails – the 20-minute hike up Ham Hill is thoroughly recommended just to start strolls off.

The Arms is close to many Somerset attractions including National Trust and English Heritage properties, but is set peacefully well away from the main road. And as it's a pub site, dinner and drinks in the Arms each evening are also thoroughly recommended – no fights needed about who's going to drive home... The site has a woodfired pizza oven and takeaway service open too, on Thursdays and Fridays from 5pm to 9pm and Saturday and Sunday from 12pm to 9pm.

Facilities at the Masons Arms include a modern unisex amenities block with two toilets, two showers, three sinks, a washing-up area, a hairdryer, an iron and an ironing board.

Please note

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Unfortunately due to access issues the site no longer accepts caravans. Motorhomes, campervans and trailer tents are welcome and, of course, tents.

The pub is open all day Saturday and Sunday from 8am until midnight, and on Mondays to Fridays from 8am to 3.30pm and 5pm to midnight.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 130 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

  83% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great pub and campsite recommend17/03/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great facilities on the camp site toilets and showers very good food in the pub was proper home made and the breakfast was yummy - would recommend

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review, you were one of the last guests to stay before the pandemic closed us! I hope when we are once again open you will be able to visit us again. Stay safe, stay well.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing site, facilities were perfect and clean09/03/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomsheena c.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Taken down to the site by the manager and was told where everything was

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and given the current pandemic and social distancing restrictions we are currently looking at ways of making check in totally remote so interesting that this personal touch was the thing you liked so much!
I hope you will be able to visit us again when we reopen and we will find a way to give that personal touch but safely.
Stay well, stay safe.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Nice site, great pub01/03/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level pitch
    Friendly welcome
    Great food in the pub
    Easy walk to Montacute

    Disliked: 

    Quite expensive for a small (no room for awning) pitch (£24)
    No option for a cheaper rate if you don’t need hook up
    Facilities were ok but shared and that isn’t ideal for some
    Water wasn’t as hot as we would have liked
    No grey waste area

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I'm pleased you loved the pub and the welcome! To address the points you raised the winter pitches are slightly more restricted than in the summer when we have the whole field to use but there is room for an awning on 4 out of the 5 pitches, I'm sorry if you had the one without but if you request a bigger pitch we can ensure you have one!

As you say shared facilities are not to everyone's taste but is clearly stated in the descriptions so I hope never catches anyone unawares and really seems to suit the majority of our guests. The water temperature is pre set and has not ever attracted any negative comments so I will investigate tomorrow to ensure everything is working ok. The grey waste can be emptied in the chemical disposal area, due to planning restrictions we are not allowed any drainage in the actual field as this a restricted conservation area and there is a stream close by. I hope that you realised you could use this for water disposal?
I hope you will visit us again when the field is open, April 1st to October 1st and enjoy the site at its best!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great site with great facilities and hot showers. Ate in …24/02/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site with great facilities and hot showers. Ate in the pub one night and had takeaway fish and chips on our second night! Both were excellent.
    Would definitely stay again.

    Disliked: 

    None

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay! Hope you will be back again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very nice setting, quiet and peaceful, and the pub had …15/02/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid S.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very nice setting, quiet and peaceful, and the pub had excellent staff and food, top marks

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are pleased we came top of the class for you! Hope to see you back again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site book early was almost full in February11/02/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMarcia H.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was a brilliant Pitch up. We used this to hid from Storm Ciara.
    The pubs lovely inside with great food. Limited menu but what was on offer was really good.
    Micro brewery fun to try and enjoy.
    The Motorhome pitch was fine, surrounded by grass lawns and tidy.
    There's lots to do in the area especially if your a National Trust member.
    Beware its tight turning in the car park not for the faint hearted.
    The landlady said that people are not supposed to park opposite the entrance but do.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm so pleased you stayed snug and safe from the storm! Hopefully you can return in better weather even though it doesn't seem to have affected your enjoyment of your stay in any way, hardy campers!!
Our menu is fresh and therefore not as expansive as places that use prepared meals but with daily specials there is 10-14 main courses plus starters and desserts with vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, fish and meat eaters all catered for so hopefully you can always find something you like!
Parking in Odcombe as many rural villages in the UK is an issue. There is a whole debate as to whether the space opposite our turn is highway or private but we have great relations with our neighbours and they are happy to move their cars when neccessary but we find that's a rare occurrence when people are good drivers like you are!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice site but mind the entrance!21/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJOHN P.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - Pitch was relatively flat.
    - Unisex toilet and shower block clean and warm
    - Excellent food in the Masons Arms

    Disliked: 

    - Slope and 5 steps to shower block can be slippery
    - Very tight entrance to manoeuvre a large motorhome through especially if cars are parked opposite entrance
    - No wifi due to lines brought down
    - When Pub carpark was busy motorists parked anywhere they could, even on my pitch!

From the manager...

Good afternoon,
Our sincere apologies for the issues you have come across during your stay with us.
We tried our best to fix the wifi issue in the short term as it was unsure how long it would take to fix the lines after the tree fell down and caused damage. The landlady went out to purchase mobile dongles to place around the site in order to gain a level of internet access but we too were very frustrated with this also.
The issue in regards to the parking on your pitch was brought up at the managers meeting and a sign in currently being made and should be errected in the very near future so we would like to thank you for making us aware of this issue and hopefully the sign will prevent this occurring again to other guests.
Unforunately, your visit did coincide with a nasty vist from Jack Frost so I will make sure managers grit the premisis more frequently.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your food with us and that you were happy with the cleaniless and warmth of the shower and toilet block.

We hope that you do choose to visit us again so that we can improve on your experience :)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Really good place to stay, recommend19/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    pitch good, needs some van leveling
    Electricity hook up excellent standard C series
    Food and Beer in Pub Excellent
    Loos and Showers fantastically clean

    Disliked: 

    Very sharp turn in from the road take care!
    If you have dogs aboard be aware there may be dog training outside at 10 am!
    no wi-fi in van park

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and liked the food and beer in the pub so much! I am so sorry about the Wifi situation but following the storm recently the whole village has been left without broadband or phone lines. We have managed to put in dongles in the pub but we couldn't get enough coverage for the campsite, ordinarily there is Wifi in all areas of the campsite. I'm also sorry the dog training class was in the camping field for half an hour on Saturday, it was a social walk but due to the icy roads we were unable to venture far so did some training in the field. This is not normally the case and as none of the dogs in the class were barking at all I hoped it would not disturb anyone. My apologies if it disturbed your morning and I hope it won't put you off coming again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

We first camped in our motorhome at the Masons Arms …07/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMike B.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We first camped in our motorhome at the Masons Arms about 10 years ago and returned for one night last weekend as a last-minute post-New Year treat. We were not disappointed!

    The welcome was warm, the service and food excellent and the camping facilities well maintained and scrupulously clean.

    Access to the campsite at the back of the pub is a little tight, particularly for larger units, but the layout of the hard-standings has been well thought out given the limited space available.

    The unisex shower/toilet block was heated, spotless and with unlimited hot water available in the two, well-sized shower cubicles. There is also an area for washing up indoors - very much appreciated in poor weather!

    The flexible food options in the pub suited us perfectly after a hard day's walking, with a takeaway available early evening and breakfast next morning before we set out again.

    We will definitely be back and will definitely be recommending to our family for short breaks, either staying in the pub, camping or in the shepherd's hut!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Wow!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic and bery appreciated review! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your return back to us and that you will recommend us.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again! :o)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Thoroughly recommended03/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhilip D.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely small site we visited in our campervan. Delightfully helpful and friendly landlady who got us sorted out. Lovely location with laminated maps and directions for several walks from the site. Pub looks fabulous but we were there on New Year's Day, one of the two nights a year that it is closed. So we'll just have to go back when it is open.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I hope you will be back soon so you can sample the delights of the pub properly!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Camping 2.0

Shepherd's huts

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Type

Pub campsite

Small (11-25 pitches)

Themes

Gastronomic delight

Peaceful

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • 41 Lower Odcombe, Odcombe, Yeovil, Somerset, England, BA22 8TX
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.9393°N 2.6993°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Yeovil Bus Station — 3.2 miles
Ilchester: Lyster Close Coach Stop — 4.2 miles
Sherborne Coach Stop — 8.0 miles
Train stations
Yeovil Pen Mill Rail Station — 3.8 miles
Yeovil Junction Rail Station — 3.9 miles
Thornford Rail Station — 5.6 miles
Ferry ports
Bridgwater Ferry Terminal — 19.0 miles
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 25.4 miles
Airports
Bristol International Airport — 30.9 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Sunny days, rainy days and everything in between are all covered around The Masons Arms: check out the area's historic houses, its many walks, cider farms, museums...

The pub is surrounded by walking country including many footpaths around the village and the walk to Ham Hill which can be reached with minimal road walking. Also within walking distance is the National Trust's Montacute House, an Elizabethan mansion surrounded by green gardens.

Yeovil town centre is about 10 minutes' drive away and there are plenty of small Somerset villages to delve into too – most with yet more cosy Somerset pubs. Or motor around the local museums like the Fleet Air Arm and Haynes Motor Museum, both under 10 miles away.

If you fancy a beach and heritage day out, the Jurassic Coast is within about 40 minutes' drive.

Must see

  • Montacute House (1.1 miles)
  • Fleet Air Arm Museum (5.9 miles)
  • Haynes International Motor Museum (9.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Montacute House (1.1 miles)
  • Tintinhull Garden (2.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  10 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart by:  10:30 a.m.

Please park in the top car park. If the pub is open come to the bar to check in and if not please walk round to the front door and ring the bell.

Someone is always on site to check you in and show you to your unit and and give you a tour.

The Masons Arms cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 day of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Masons Arms will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

American Express
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Masons Arms have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Masons Arms dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near The Masons Arms? Sunny days, rainy days and everything in between are all covered around The Masons Arms: check out the area's historic houses, its many walks, cider farms, museums... The pub is surrounded by … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Masons Arms?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  10 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11 p.m.
    Depart by:  10:30 a.m.

    Please park in the top car park. If the pub is open come to the bar to check in and if not please walk round to the front door and ring the bell.

    Someone is always on site to check you in and show you to your unit and and give you a tour.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Masons Arms? From £19 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Masons Arms


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Additional terms

Unfortunately due to access issues the site no longer accepts caravans. Motorhomes, campervans and trailer tents are welcome and, of course, tents.

Close