Book and review 8,828 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Batch Campsite

9.4
View prices & book
From £16/€18.15/A$28.17/US$21.32/CA$27.42/CHF21.12/kr179.44/kr135.06/kr177.70/kr2,240/$369.79/$13,944/PEN68.95/NZ$30.68/R291.50/zł76.37/R$70.49/Kč465.08/RSD2,169/Ft5,697.45/₽1,263.18/CN¥141.16 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Small and friendly wild camping site at the top of the Mendips
  • Three miles from Cheddar
  • Surrounded by woodland: look out for deer, badgers, foxes and buzzards

Small, basic, in a wildlife haven, welcoming families and well-behaved dogs, surrounded by all sorts of activities for all sizes, and on the Mendip Pub Trail – how many hurrahs could you give The Batch Campsite? (Quite a few more, it turns out – it's only three miles from splendid Cheddar.)

The Batch is rightly popular with wild camping and quiet holiday types, who come for its smashingly scenic location (watch out for the sunsets), its closeness to Cheddar and the piles of things to do nearby such as hiking, cycling, mountain biking, climbing and caving... It's surrounded by woodland, so also watch out for deer, badgers, foxes and buzzards all around.

The site is on the end of a private road at the top of the Mendips and has been deliberately set up as basic so that guests can experience proper wild camping in a safe space. Campfires are allowed – naturally – and Tim and team can help you fire one up for cooking if you need a bit of a hand. The team can also provide a range of local (within a three-mile radius) produce to cook up your own barbecue including trout, burgers, sausages, bacon, eggs, ribs, cheese and cider: let them know when you arrive or drop them a note in the Special requests box after booking.

And yet more hurrahs: The Batch is within easy walking distance of several Somerset pubs, all pulling gallons of local beers and ciders alongside some dishing up some right good pub food. Most of the neighbouring farms make their own cider, but you can also walk down to the world famous Thatchers cider farm.

The Batch facilities include a toilet block and a washing-up area; please note that showers aren't currently available.

Please note

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 42 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Fantastic basic campsite with the friendliest of hosts 30/08/2017

chris_j920392 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Such a great little place to pitch a tent - as close to wild camping as you can get on a site with facilities (albeit basic ones, which just adds to the charm).
    Tim was an incredibly friendly host and went out of his way to make us feel welcome, despite not having booked. The views across to Wales made a fantastic backdrop to our sundowners and we were able to have a fire and enjoy a wonderful evening there.
    Very much recommend this place if you're looking for something basic, as we were.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing at all.

From the manager...

Thank you for the great review. Love the photos. That's a very honest toilet shot.
Tim

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Fantastic find already rebooked 27/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Bev S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Does exactly what it says on the tin. Tim was friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Very knowledgeable of area. Great dog walks. A real jem of a find.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly owner and good view 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Luke C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    View was lovly
    Spacious
    Freindly owner
    Good walking routes

    Disliked: 

    No bins
    Bumpy entrance road

From the manager...

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Not somewhere I would stay again unless the road up was resurfaced 17/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom debbie c. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The views were spectacular and the pitch site was clean and plenty of space with a fire pit, definite must.

    Disliked: 

    The fact you need a 4x4 to get up the hill to the site, we have had to replace the exhaust as it got damaged on the way up. Had we known access was as bad we would have chosen somewhere else as we only have a very small car. Although there are toilets they are chemical ones in a stable.

From the manager...

Hi,
We were so sorry to hear this. If you had let us know we could have arranged repairs.
Whilst the road is only a track as stated in our info it is easily accessible with a bit of care.
We only have a couple of old, two wheel drive, Fords and have not had a problem with the road in the three years we have lived here.
Again we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Might suit a young family w/ dog but not for us. 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom nina_w128821 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The view! Can see all the way to Cardiff and the pitch faces just the right direction to catch the sun set in summer. Great fish and chippy just around the corner).

    Disliked: 

    Didn't have designated pitches, which meant children/people were free to roam around our tent (extreme example of why that's not good - someone tripped over our guy ropes, flinging the peg and put a hole in our tent). Toilets were eco toilets in a barn, which might appeal to some but not great for us in combo with the lack of showers (as advertised to be fair). It wasn't clear where we should've gone when we arrived, only saw the owner after we set up shop and had dinner.

From the manager...

Thank you for the photo.
We can only apologise for the damage to your tent and offer recompense. Do contact us.
We were clearly not the camp site for you, as we do emphasise we provide a wild camping experience.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Will def visit this little gem again. Very basic but that's it's charm 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anne N. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Laid back site very friendly wonderful views space for kids to roam great pubs at end of the lane

    Disliked: 

    Would have stayed longer if there had been showers.

From the manager...

Thank you, looking forward to your return.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Looking forward to go back - thank you . 12/08/2017

rosemarie_g827520 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Size of pitch and high level of customer service ! The owner was more than helpful . This site was exactly as explained on the information given .

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed your stay.
It's good to know we are getting our advertising right. Thank you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent value site worth the trip kids loved the place 09/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Stacey H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything nelson arms carvery was lovley sunday roast stunning views lovley walks and very helpfull site owner would stay again

    Disliked: 

    Bad pothole gravle rd up to the stunning views but that was it worth it may even come bk this month

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Small campsite, beautiful spot, friendly people 😊 07/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Linda C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small campsite, beautiful spot, friendly people 😊

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

If you want a small, friendly quiet site then you'll love it here 06/08/2017

jennie_j185522 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely small site, very friendly and helpful owner. Great pub down the road and walks on the Mendips. We are coming back in a couple of weeks

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Gastronomic delight

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Wood View, Churchill Cheddar, Somerset, England, BS25 5PP
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.3284°N 2.7993°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Worle: New Bristol Rd Coach Stop — 5.4 miles
Bristol Airport Coach Stop — 5.6 miles
Weston-super-Mare Coach Terminal — 7.5 miles
Train stations
Yatton Rail Station — 4.5 miles
Worle Rail Station — 5.2 miles
Weston Milton Rail Station — 6.3 miles
Ferry ports
Weston-super-Mare Knightstone Harbour — 8.4 miles
Clevedon Pier — 8.5 miles
Nova Scotia Ferry Landing — 11.4 miles
Airports
Bristol International Airport — 5.6 miles
Cardiff International Airport — 23.8 miles

Directions


From Bristol and Bristol airport take the A38 heading south up to a crossroads with A368 in Churchill (Murphy's chip shop). Turn right on to the A368 and drive for approximately 400m. Take the left at Nelson's Arms pub onto Skinners Lane. Drive for 400m and then take the right hand fork by the Crown pub onto The Batch. Continue up this steep unmade road until you come to the top of the hill. Wood View and The Batch Campsite is on the right.

From M5, take the junction for Weston Super Mare and turn onto the A370 towards Congresbury and Bristol. After 4 miles, in Congresbury, turn right onto the B3133 signposted Langford. Follow this road until you come to a junction with the A38 in Langford. Turn right onto the A38 and continue as indicated above.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The small farm of The Batch Campsite is between a National Trust woodland and a Bronze Age settlement: you might already have heard that this part of Somerset is fairly historic. Cheese, gorge, caves and climbing is three miles away over the campsite hill at Cheddar and Tim and co can provide instruction if you want to tackle any Cheddar or Mendip caving or climbing.

It's full-on walking and hiking land here too, around the gorge and hills, the area's cider farms or the Mendip Way's 50 miles over the Mendip Hills from Weston-super-Mare to Frome. The Mendip Pub or Butcombe Trail is an agreeably scenic totter along 45 miles connecting six pubs owned by Butcombe Brewery and through Priddy, Axbridge, Bleadon, Rowberrow, and Compton Martin.

Yet more attraction and activity hurrahs are in the area, like seaside days at Weston-super-Mare; heritage at Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury Tor and medieval Axbridge, or a shoot down the slopes at the Avon Ski Centre.

Must see

  • Cheddar Caves & Gorge (3.5 miles)
  • Wookey Hole Caves & Papermill (8.9 miles)
  • Ebbor Gorge National Nature Reserve (9.6 miles)

National Trust

  • King John's Hunting Lodge (3.0 miles)
  • Clevedon Court (7.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  Anytime

The Batch Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

The balance is due 30 days after booking, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days after booking the balance should be paid as soon as possible.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque
PayPal

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Batch Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close