Trekenning Tourist Park

View prices & book 8.4 50 reviews
Aerial view of the pool (added by manager 18 Jul 2023)
Pod deck with outdoor dining table and chairs (added by manager 08 aug 2018)
Aerial view (added by manager 10 jul 2023)
Woodpecker lodge (added by manager 22 jun 2024)

  • Family-run, family-friendly site less than five miles from Newquay
  • Traditional and cosy bar with conservatory and terrace
  • Heated pool, play area and tourist discount vouchers
To Cornwall! And to the beaches of the north coast, the surf of Newquay and the peaceful pedals of the gentle Camel Trail. And also to family-friendly Trekenning Tourist Park, to settle down for lazy days on site in between all the sightseeing, surfing and Cornish pasty sampling. Trekenning is just outside the small town of St Columb Major, under five miles from Newquay and a short drive from Padstow, Portreath, Watergate Bay and other beaches and seaside towns of the north Cornwall coast. It covers six and a half acres and has grass pitches in scenic setting with plenty of room around to play. Dogs wanting to play too? There's no dedicated walkies area on site but the recreation field five minutes away is a fine romping spot. The cosy and friendly traditional pub-style bar, with conservatory, terrace and food menu, is one of the main highlights of this family-friendly site; another is the heated outdoor pool, handsomely set among trees, shrubs and green countryside. Other facilities include a play area and wifi. For tips on where to start when diving into all the attractions and sights of Cornwall, tourist info and discount vouchers are available in reception. Also on site are amenity blocks with individual showers and family bathrooms; a launderette and a washing-up area. Please note that the bar has limited opening hours outside high season.

Site type

Lodges, cabins, pods or huts 1
Motorhome pitches 80
Touring caravan pitches 80
Open all year

Tourist board rating

Please note
  • Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.
  • The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. XL Bully, Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).
  • Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
  • No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • The outdoor swimming pool is open between 01/04 and 31/08 (subject to weather conditions).
  • The restaurant is open between 01/05 and 01/11.
  • Dogs are not allowed if you are staying in the accommodation units.
  • Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
  • Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.
  • At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
  • The bar is open between 01/05 and 01/11.
  • Guests must bring their own duvets, pillows, sheets and towels when staying in rental accommodation. You will not be allowed to stay if you do not bring these items.
  • Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.
  • No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.
  • Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.
  • As the site is in close proximity to Newquay Airport and the A39, there can be occasional noise from aircraft and cars. The bar is open on Friday and Saturday nights in low season (01/09 - 17/07). During the summer the bar is open every day. Reception will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Languages spoken

English

Pitch types & availability

Reviews

80%

would recommend this site to a friend

78%

would stay here again

  • 58%
    10
  • 0%
    9
  • 20%
    8
  • 0%
    7
  • 12%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 6%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 4%
    2
  • 0%
    1

Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Our pod was brilliant, so clean, tidy and had all the conveniences…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: Our pod was brilliant, so clean, tidy and had all the conveniences we needed- we particularly loved the bbq. The swimming pool was also lovely! The staff were so welcoming and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Did not affect us but there was no wifi on site during our stay.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Great stay with most facilities

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: The modern look, comfortable and nice looking interior, lovely patio, all necessary equipment provided inc a bbq, play area for kids

Disliked: A washing liquid would be a plus or perhaps we should have brought it. No WiFi

Recommend to friends Visit again

Excellent site

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 6
Alison J. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: Was made so welcome by reception can’t remember his name but he wa so helpful amd showed us to the pod and had a chat the pod it’s self was lovely and clean couldn’t. Fault the facilities at all had a great stay and will be back.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Recommend to friends Visit again

Fabulous site, friendly staff, wonderful food, clean accommodation

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Jen M. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: Atmosphere Friendliness Facilities Excellent food Accommodation

Recommend to friends Visit again

Great stay we will definitely be returning!!

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 8
Cleanliness 8
Wifi 8
Thomas M. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: Hospitality Location Facilities

Recommend to friends Visit again

Not much.…

Overall 2/10
Location 4
Value for money 6
Accommodation 6
Facilities / Activities 2
Customer service 4
Child friendliness 2
Cleanliness 2
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Willerby Aspen 2 bedroom static caravan

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Old caravans that look like they been there more than 10 years. Awnings attached to them green with algae. A eye sore to say the least. Outdoor swimming pool not heated as explained on the website tbf. Pub was shut in the day due to short staff. In general could do with all updating or just cleaned.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Adrian, Thank you for your review, The tourer section of the park is for our Seasonal Guests, some of the caravans have been here many years, which is a testament to the park itself. We offer our seasonal guests yearly pitches and therefore they generally speaking, dont tend to move their caravans very often. Whilst we do make every effort to ask owners to keep their pitches and awnings tidy and clean, this is not always possible due to circumstances beyond their control. We do not feel it is right to penalize our owners for having older caravans. Aslong as the Caravans are in good condition and not falling apart, age is irrelevant in our eyes. However as you were down at the Static Riverbank section of the park, we are unsure how the look of a handful of tourer caravans with 'green' awnings would affect your holiday so drastically. As you would only have seen this caravans on entry and exit of the holiday park. The bar was open daily between 9am - 1pm which is when GRIDL was open for food, Danny frequently served alcoholic beverages during this time. The bar then reopened at 3pm until close ( usually closer to 1am but dependent on footfall ) from the 1st of September our bar then goes back to 'Out of Season' hours, where the bar only opens from 7pm. The site is always being updated and tidied. But unfortunately being a year around holiday park, we have no specific 'quiet' period in which we can do the Major renovations. We usually reserve this until September - October onwards so as to disrupt holidaymakers as little as possible. We are dissapointed that none of these issues were brought to our attention during your stay. We do hope you have a wonderful remainder of 2023 and an enjoyable 2024.

The POD was great, very clean and tidy and having your own…

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 6
Customer service 6
Child friendliness 8
Cleanliness 8
Wifi 6
Matthew W. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: The POD was great, very clean and tidy and having your own facilities was a god-send, the inclusion of a gas BBQ was ideal as I can never be bothered to faff around with charcoal. There was wi-fi in the pod. The location of the holiday park was ideal for trips to Newquay and also not too far to travel if going for trips to other towns, we visited St Ives (About an hour journey) and Padstow (about 30 minutes at most). Beer is a good price in the bar. We didn't eat there as they don't cater to vegetarians, but the food looked very nice.

Disliked: The Wi-fi was incredibly slow so ended up finding a spot where I had signal and hot-spotting my phone, but I imagine decent internet is hard to come by in that location in general. The TV didn't get any channels and you couldn't have the signal booser and the router plugged in at the same time, also a small thing, but the DVD player on the TV doesn't work. Pool heater was still broken when we visited so was freezing. Reception etc looks a bit tired.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Matthew, Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure having you and your family on site. There was a couple of vegetarian options available on GRIDLs menu ( Veggi Breakfast Wrap, GRIDL Veggi Breakfast Bagel, GRIDL Veggi Breakfast Brioche) however I will raise this with GRIDL for his consideration to expand the menu. Unfortunately being in a rural area, we are unable to get fibre to the holiday park, we therefore are offering individual WIFI and offer 4g/5g Routers free of charge, however the strength of this does seem to depend on usage in the area, the weather and whether works are being done on the local masts. I can only apologize about the TV signal, we were unaware that you were facing this issue. Thank you for letting us know about the DVD player, we will endeavor to get this repaired as soon as possible. We hope you have a lovely remainder of 2023 and a brilliant 2024. We hope to see you again in the future.

Never again. Il pay an extra few hundred quid and go elsewhere.

Overall 6/10
Location 8
Value for money 8
Accommodation 6
Facilities / Activities 4
Customer service 4
Child friendliness 6
Cleanliness 6
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Willerby Aspen 2 bedroom static caravan

Liked: Easy Access to local area amenities once you’re familiar It has a toilet and shower and sink

Disliked: Pool wasn’t open at the times stated at the time of booking. This was one of the things the kids were looking forward to because last year they went in first thing in a morning, up bright and early excited for the day and went to the pool before breakfast then after a long day out, chill with a beer while kids went in the pool. That doesn’t happen now. :( now the pools opening times are between 11 and 5, which is while you’re out during the day go figure !!when I pointed this out, the owner couldn’t give a … The sofa is STILL manky!!! Nothing for kids to do at night, at all!! Don’t expect Wi-Fi or 4/5 or even 3G not gonna happen

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Mr Drage, Thank you for your constructive critique of the park and its facilities. The Pool is opened on a daily basis, weather dependent. Manual testing of the pool is required every 2 hours and if chemicals are required to be added then the pool has to close for 30 minutes whilst the chemicals disperse in the pool, most days the pool is open from 9am - 7pm, but on days when staff levels are low, or we are inundated with things to do, the pool opens later or closes earlier to ensure the health and safety of all involved. Better a closed pool that someone getting ill from untreated water? We did try to explain this to you when you came to the office but unfortunately you were unprepared to listen to our explanation and instead became quite hostile in tone towards the staff member who was trying to explain this. During check in and throughout your stay, no mention was made to us of you being unhappy with the 'Manky' Sofa. Had this have been brought to our attention, we would have asked our on site cleaner to come and take a look and rectify this issue. The onsite bar and clubhouse was open daily during your visit, with events on at the bar and plenty of kids in attendance. The Children's park was open until 9pm also. We dont advertise that we offer WIFI and unfortunately 3g/4g/5g is out of our control. Most people on site are with EE or 3 and have no issues with signal, so we would suggest you take this up with your telephone provider if you are unhappy with your signal coverage. All the best!

Not much, possibly just the price.…

Overall 6/10
Location 8
Value for money 8
Accommodation 4
Facilities / Activities 4
Customer service 6
Child friendliness 8
Cleanliness 4
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Camping pod

Liked: Not much, possibly just the price.

Disliked: Owner entered our pod without permission when we was out. The pod felt dirty. The pool wasn’t heated. No wi-fi

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi, Thank you for your review, Although we are dissapointed that you have not be honest with your review. On your first day, you complained that there was a shelf missing from the fridge, We apologized and advised you we would immediately purchase a new fridge for you. We spoke with your husband and confirmed with him that when the fridge arrived was he OK with us having access to the POD to fit it for you, he confirmed that this was fine. The Fridge arrived a couple of days into your stay and the fridge was fitted for you, with all your groceries transferred into the new fridge. Granted we missed a couple of small 6inch pizzas which were in the freezer compartment, but once this was brought to our attention we gave you £10.00 Cash towards replacing the pizzas and returned the pizzas which had been missed to you. When we checked you in, you confirmed (other than the fridge shelf) you were happy with the Pod and had no complaints, so unsure how you now feel that the Pod was dirty during your stay ? We did notice that you had spilled something on a couple of the mattresses after your stay, although you didn't report this to us, fortunately our cleaner who is very thorough discovered this and we were able to clean them ready for the next guest. We also didn't charge you for this, which normally would be taken from your damage deposit. The pool not being heated is clearly advertised on both on PitchUp. WIFI hasn't been offered for a few years. However when we spoke to you a few times during your stay, and at your check out, you again reiterated that you had a nice time and had no complaints.

The site was friendly and staff helpful. The caravan was basic but…

Overall 6/10
Location 8
Value for money 8
Accommodation 2
Facilities / Activities 6
Customer service 8
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 8
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Willerby Aspen 2 bedroom static caravan

Liked: The site was friendly and staff helpful. The caravan was basic but good value during peak season. The site staff had cleaned it thoroughly to prepare it for our stay. It just felt a little old, unused and unloved but it worked for us as we were visiting family staying in the area.

Recommend to friends Visit again


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available Car parking by pitch/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities Chemical disposal Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearby Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Accessibility

Disabled facilities

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby Climbing nearby Cycle hire nearby Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Leisure/theme park nearby Mountain biking nearby Outdoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby Sailing nearby Surf school nearby Tennis nearby Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Location

Trekenning Tourist Park

Trekenning

Newquay

Cornwall

England

TR8 4JF

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)

GPS

50.42165°N
-4.94181°W

Nearest transport

Coach
4.6 mi Shop Corner
5.1 mi Porth Four Turns
6.4 mi Bus Station
Rail
1.6 mi St Columb Road Rail Station
4 mi Quintrell Downs Rail Station
4.9 mi Roche Rail Station
Ferry
8.4 mi Padstow Ferry Landing
8.5 mi Rock Padstow Ferry Landing
12.7 mi Mevagissey Ferry Landing
Airport
3.3 mi Newquay St Mawgan Airport

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you've come to Cornwall to surf, you're in the right spot. Newquay, less than five miles away, is one of the best-known surf beaches in Britain, home to surf schools and kit hire shops as well as the famed Boardmasters festival, held every year in August. If you're here with kids, try the Camel Trail, a flat, family-friendly bike and walking path running for 18 miles of mostly traffic-free cycling along an old railway track and the Camel Estuary. Bike hire for all ages, including bike buggies, is along the route. Also around for kids is Dairyland Farm World, the award-winning park just outside Newquay; Camel Creek Adventure Park, about 10 miles away at Wadebridge, and the Flambards Experience, about an hour's drive down in Cornwall's south near Helston. If you fancy one of Cornwall's biggest and most famed attractions, the Eden Project is about 13 miles away from Trekenning. Among the many (many many) other things to see and do are having award-winning fish and chips at Padstow, more surfing at Watergate Bay, pondering on the splendours of the Lost Gardens of Heligan, or the tors and hikes of Bodmin Moor.

Water quality at nearby bathing waters

Name Distance Type 2020 2019 2018 2017
Watergate Bay 4.7 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Porth 5.1 mi Sea Good N/A N/A N/A
Mawgan Porth 5.1 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Lusty Glaze 5.4 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Tolcarne 5.8 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent

Data source: European Environment Agency

Must see

Cornwall's Crealy Great Adventure Park 4.7 mi

Newquay Zoo 5.7 mi

Lappa Valley Steam Railway 5.9 mi

Blue Reef Aquarium 6.2 mi

Fistral Beach 6.8 mi

National Trust

Trerice 5 mi

Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps 5.5 mi

Trelissick Garden 14.7 mi

Tintagel Old Post Office 18.6 mi

St Anthony Head 18.9 mi

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

Bedruthen Steps and Park Head 5.7 mi

Newquay - River Gannel - Crantock - Polly Joke - Newquay 6 mi

Wadebridge Woods and River 8 mi

Padstow and the South-West Coast Path 8.2 mi

PRIDEAUX PLACE 8.3 mi

Local events

  • Boardmasters (Wednesday 7 August 2024 – Wednesday 7 August 2024)

    Newquay, Cornwall 4.3 mi

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Nearest sites

Unfortunately, we have no nearby bookable sites.

Want to know more about camping in Cornwall?

  • Does Trekenning Tourist Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
  • Is Trekenning Tourist Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Trekenning Tourist Park? If you've come to Cornwall to surf, you're in the right spot. Newquay, less than five miles away, is one of the best-known surf beaches in Britain, home to surf schools and … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Trekenning Tourist Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Trekenning Tourist Park? From £30 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.