Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Trekenning Tourist Park

7.9

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

General

  • Family-run, family-friendly site less than five miles from Newquay
  • Traditional and cosy bar with conservatory and terrace
  • Pool, play area and tourist discount vouchers

To Cornwall! And to the beaches of the north coast, the surf of Newquay and the peaceful pedals of the gentle Camel Trail. And also to family-friendly Trekenning Tourist Park, to settle down for lazy days on site in between all the sightseeing, surfing and Cornish pasty sampling.

Trekenning is just outside the small town of St Columb Major, under five miles from Newquay and a short drive from Padstow, Portreath, Watergate Bay and other beaches and seaside towns of the north Cornwall coast. It covers six and a half acres and has grass pitches in scenic setting with plenty of room around to play. Dogs wanting to play too? There's no dedicated walkies area on site but the recreation field five minutes away is a fine romping spot.

The cosy and friendly traditional pub-style bar, with conservatory, terrace and food menu, is one of the main highlights of this family-friendly site; another is the heated outdoor pool, handsomely set among trees, shrubs and green countryside. Other facilities include a play area and wifi.

For tips on where to start when diving into all the attractions and sights of Cornwall, tourist info and discount vouchers are available in reception.

Also on site are amenity blocks with individual showers and family bathrooms; a launderette and a washing-up area.

Please note that the bar has limited opening hours outside high season.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.9

Overall rating based on 63 reviews

 

73% would recommend this site to a friend.

70% would stay here again.

  63% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

All in all, very good, clean and peaceful site. Very enjoyable.19/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCeri P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pleasant site, nice sized pitches and friendly staff . Good facilities , each pitch is close to a water supply and plenty of shower cubicles.

    Disliked: 

    The only down side is the dog walking field can get very muddy , there is no path around to walk them .

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Gardens lovely, very quiet and peaceful, very clean. Only issue …28/03/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMandy K.Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Gardens lovely, very quiet and peaceful, very clean. Only issue was water temperature of the showers - too hot.

    Disliked: 

    I had an issue with showers in the general shower block. The water was too hot, nearly scalding, we could not shower properly. I had to use the disabled showers as the temperature was at least bearable.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely cute little pod with everything in it :)05/03/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoel B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely cute little pod with everything in it :)

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site that is being updated, it will be a gem.13/02/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLinda A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very welcoming people.
    Open all year round.
    Lovely bar and a nice community.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly site with huge potential14/01/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel ER N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A very lovely young couple who have bought this place to do it up and make it a better place. They have a lovely canvas to work from.

    An onsite outdoor heated pool that I was able to use late in the evening that has lights and a cover to keep the heat in whilst not being used. Lots of other standard facilities. Including an onsite bar.

    Hard standing surfaces and lots to tidy up but this site more than suits it purpose. They even have an area they are working on for dog owners to walk them just outside the entrance.

    Can't wait to see how they clean up the site and bring it up to a five star worthy site. I gave them 5 stars right now because everything we needed was there as expected.

    Good luck and enjoy it.

    Ps Road wasn't that loud at all. 😁

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great little site!03/01/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were so friendly and very helpful. We got stuck on the grass and they got someone to help pull us off. They also loaned us a longer electrical cable as ours wouldn’t reach.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Anon,

Thank you for your kind review and for being so very understanding in reference to the difficulty we were having with the pitches due to the bad weather.

We hope to see you in the future once all our renovations have been finished on site.

All the best for 2022!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great stay,friendly owners,great Pod!03/01/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLonica A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The swift pod! Loved it,very comfortable, would happily stay there again! Very friendly owners too!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hi Lonica,

Thank you for your wonderful review,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you on site and we look forwards to seeing you again in the future!

We hope you have a wonderful 2022!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely people awful facilities04/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    No

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi

Thank you for your review,

We are sad to see you didnt Like the site,

As explained to you on arrival, the site was purchased in June 2021 and we are currently undergoing heavy renovations throughout the site and the facilities.

Hopefully you will return next year once the site renovations have been completed.

We hope you had a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic New Year.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nice pitch, owner was very friendly and helpful, onsite pub, …21/11/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice pitch, owner was very friendly and helpful, onsite pub, easy to find, dog friendly

    Disliked: 

    Ladies shower wasn't working when we were there. Doors and locks on the showers would be nice rather than a curtain. Most occupants seemed to live there permanently, rather than on holiday. Motorway nearby was noisy.

From the manager...

Hi

Thank you for your review.

The site was purchased in June 2021, and as such we are now renovating our entire site.

Our wooden unisex toilet block is currently under heavy renovation, getting ready for next year's season. This shower block has individual cubicals with both doors and locks for privacy. We are also in the process of fitting a disabled access toilet and a baby change facility.

The ladies and gents toilets and showers within the concrete toilet block are and were still fully functional during your visit.

The occupants you refer to are seasonal pitch owners, none of which live on site permanently, but their vans are here 12 months of the year and as such are free to come and go from the site as they please.

The A39 can be noisy, but unfortunately there is very little we can do about road traffic noise. However we apologise that this disrupted your stay.

We hope to see you again next year once the renovations on site are completed.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent location… friendly staff…27/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDARREN O.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The couple that run the site are nice… they only took over the running of the site in early summer so they have got there work cut out to bring it back up to standard as it had been neglected... the pool area and pool are nice, had a great swim first thing. It also has a bar area over looking the pool which we never got to use as we didn’t arrive till late and we’re away again 12hrs later.

    Disliked: 

    Like I said the site has been neglected but the couple that run it are nice and are all over bringing it back up to standard.. the site just looks tired and there are a few sheddy vans that need to be removed

From the manager...

Hi Darren

Thank you for your review, we are currently undergoing heavy renovation on site and look forwards to seeing you again in the future once the renovations have been completed.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Hand sanitising stations

One-way flow for entering/leaving buildings

Removal of soft furnishings (e.g. decorative cushions)

Swimming pool entry quota

We're Good To Go (VisitBritain accreditation)

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Trekenning, Newquay, Cornwall, England, TR8 4JF
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.4216°N 4.9418°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Shop Corner — 4.6 miles
Porth Four Turns — 5.1 miles
Bus Station — 6.4 miles
Train stations
St Columb Road Rail Station — 1.6 miles
Quintrell Downs Rail Station — 4.0 miles
Roche Rail Station — 4.9 miles
Ferry ports
Padstow Ferry Landing — 8.4 miles
Rock Padstow Ferry Landing — 8.5 miles
Mevagissey Ferry Landing — 12.7 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 3.3 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you've come to Cornwall to surf, you're in the right spot. Newquay, less than five miles away, is one of the best-known surf beaches in Britain, home to surf schools and kit hire shops as well as the famed Boardmasters festival, held every year in August.

If you're here with kids, try the Camel Trail, a flat, family-friendly bike and walking path running for 18 miles of mostly traffic-free cycling along an old railway track and the Camel Estuary. Bike hire for all ages, including bike buggies, is along the route.

Also around for kids is Dairyland Farm World, the award-winning park just outside Newquay; Camel Creek Adventure Park, about 10 miles away at Wadebridge, and the Flambards Experience, about an hour's drive down in Cornwall's south near Helston. If you fancy one of Cornwall's biggest and most famed attractions, the Eden Project is about 13 miles away from Trekenning.

Among the many (many many) other things to see and do are having award-winning fish and chips at Padstow, more surfing at Watergate Bay, pondering on the splendours of the Lost Gardens of Heligan, or the tors and hikes of Bodmin Moor.

Must see

  • Cornwall's Crealy Great Adventure Park (4.7 miles)
  • Newquay Zoo (5.7 miles)
  • Lappa Valley Steam Railway (5.9 miles)

National Trust

  • Trerice (5.0 miles)
  • Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps (5.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  9 a.m.

Trekenning Tourist Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £25.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Trekenning Tourist Park will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £500.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Pitches: a £10.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Refunds within the indicated cancellation period are only possible if the site is able to relet your unit/pitch.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

American Express
Apple Pay
Bank transfer
Cash
Diners Club
Discover
Google Pay
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Trekenning Tourist Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
  • Is Trekenning Tourist Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Trekenning Tourist Park? If you've come to Cornwall to surf, you're in the right spot. Newquay, less than five miles away, is one of the best-known surf beaches in Britain, home to surf schools and … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Trekenning Tourist Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  9 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact trekenning-tourist-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £25.00 fee.

Coronavirus
Guests must bring their own duvets, pillows, sheets and towels when staying in rental accommodation. You will not be allowed to stay if you do not bring these items.
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

Dogs
A valid vaccination certificate must accompany your dog.
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.
Quiet hours must be respected between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
Refunds within the indicated cancellation period are only possible if the site is able to relet your unit/pitch.
The bar is open between 01/05 and 01/11.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The restaurant is open between 01/05 and 01/11.
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £500.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.
Your unit must be left clean and tidy; a fine of £50.00 will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
Pitches: a £10.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Pool
Only park guests are authorised to use the pool.
Please note there is no lifeguard on duty.
Swimsuits are obligatory and swimming shorts or Bermuda shorts are not permitted.
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 20/05 and 31/08 (subject to weather conditions).

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.
Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.
Touring caravans, motorhomes and campervans with the door built on the left-hand side are not permitted.

Visitors
Visitors are not permitted on site.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.
Visitors must leave the premises by 9 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

As the site is in close proximity to Newquay Airport and the A39, there can be occasional noise from aircraft and cars.

The bar is open on Friday and Saturday nights in low season (01/09 - 17/07). During the summer the bar is open every day.

Close