Carvynick Holiday Park

View prices & book 8.1 110 reviews
Sunset view toward the coast (added by visitor 06 Jun 2021)
Views from the pitches (added by manager 21 aug 2016)
Top touring pitches (added by manager 21 aug 2016)
Road leading to the cottages and the pub (added by manager 09 sep 2017)

  • Family park with easy access to main Cornish attractions
  • A 10-minute drive to the world-famed surf of Newquay
  • Bar and restaurant with beer garden
Surf! And a bar, and a beer garden – and easy access to Cornwall's famed attractions like the Eden Project 14 miles away: you might want to stay at Carvynick Holiday Park for quite some time. A 10-minute drive from the world-famed surf and the surf schools of Newquay, Carvynick is set in Cornish countryside among spectacular scenery, and centrally located for easy-drive day trips to the likes of St Austell, the Eden Project, Newquay Zoo, Bodmin Moor and the Clay Trails. In between days out exploring the local land, have an afternoon or evening in the Fox's Revenge, the Carvynick bar and restaurant dating back to the 17th century (as this establishment is separate from the holiday park, you'll need to check directly with them for opening times and availability; it's a popular spot so booking ahead is strongly advised). Carvynick is pet friendly.

Site type

Motorhome pitches 20
Touring caravan pitches 16
Tent pitches 50
Lodges, cabins, pods or huts 3
Open all year

Tourist board rating

Please note
  • Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.
  • Reception is unmanned after 4 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.
  • Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.
  • Fires, barbecues and/or firepits will not be permitted in dry, windy and/or hot weather conditions.
  • For group bookings (more than 1 pitch) of same sex or mixed groups under the age of 21, the site ask for a £50 bond per person upon arrival which will be refunded upon departure.

Languages spoken

English

Pitch types & availability

Reviews

79%

would recommend this site to a friend

75%

would stay here again

  • 50%
    10
  • 0%
    9
  • 26%
    8
  • 0%
    7
  • 11%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 0%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 10%
    2
  • 0%
    1

Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Peaceful clean facilities

Overall 6/10
Location 8
Value for money 2
Accommodation 4
Facilities / Activities 4
Customer service 6
Child friendliness 2
Cleanliness 6
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass tent pitch

Liked: Very peaceful and just what we was after for our time in Cornwall. Wanted a site where we could pitch up the tent and spend all day out/evening out, and then pack up to explore more. We normally tour our caravan but for this kind of weekend we took the tent, so we didn’t have to head back home on the Sunday towing. Great site for the peace and quiet but no atmosphere. Great welcome from the owner so I can’t knock him at all.

Disliked: We wouldn’t return to the site, I feel this site is mainly aimed at the holiday homes even though I’m not sure if these are rented out for people to live in. Seen people standing in the doorways of these homes smoking, so I doubt very much these are holiday homes. Tents - not many flat pitches and we wouldn’t come in our caravan. Very open with no barriers so anyone can freely walk in and out.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Excellent site with great facilities

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 8
Wifi 4
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass tent pitch

Liked: Great facilities and parking, lovely pub/restaurant onsite. Pretty views from the campsite as well as the scenery within the site. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Beautiful location. Washing up, tumble dryer and washing machine all included too.

Disliked: No hairdryers

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, we do not supply hairdryers, but there is access to electric on-site to plug in your own hairdryer.

Super friendly, plenty to do and friendly staff.

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Excellent and clean facilities. Pool is warm and inviting. Friendly staff. Great area with nice walk to the mill.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Nice location but no help from staff when dealing with noise or toilet

Overall 2/10
Location 6
Value for money 4
Accommodation 2
Facilities / Activities 2
Customer service 2
Child friendliness 6
Cleanliness 6
Wifi 6
William G. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass tent pitch

Liked: Price, views, relative closeness to nequay ( if you drive )

Disliked: We were not told you needed a key for the toilets which we found out late at night. We had a group of lads partying next to us till 3am and no one from the campsite responded We ended up leaving a day early because it wasn’t worth staying

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Clean facilties Close to amenities Good location Friendly staff Very good value for…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 6
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 6
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass tent pitch

Liked: Clean facilties Close to amenities Good location Friendly staff Very good value for money

Disliked: 0

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Great location and great views

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
David H. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: The location is convenient for St Austell, Truro and Newquay, the view from the site was great and the site itself was well kept and peaceful.

Disliked: Could do with more recycling points and places to potwash.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review. With regards to washing up facilities, there are various points around the holiday park, all of which are indicated on the site map. We will take on-board the suggest regarding recycling.

Nice and quiet. Reception staff very nice and friendly. Shower and toilet…

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 6
Accommodation No rating
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 8
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Non-electric grass tent pitch

Liked: Nice and quiet. Reception staff very nice and friendly. Shower and toilet block is of a good standard and cleaned on a regular basis.

Disliked: The only dislike was the pub on site is closed due to the management leaving. I only book sites with a pub, so finding the pub permanently shut was a let down. I know the pub is a seperate enterty to the camp site, but they are still advertising that the pub is open. In my opinion and talking to others on the site , this is wrong and should be removed from the sites website.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were happy with the staff and our facilities. With regards to the pub, as you have said, we did explain that the pub is onsite, but it is run separately. The reason the Pub is advertised and will remain advertised is because it will be reopening imminently.

Lovely quiet site with level pitches. Fully serviced pitch at a…

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
russell d. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Lovely quiet site with level pitches. Fully serviced pitch at a reasonable price. Showers were great.

Disliked: Emptying of black waste at pitch. Seemed odd that black could be disposed directly while using same fresh water tap for rinsing as filling tank. I feel black should always be disposed of away from fresh water filling.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review. Regardless of the fact you paid for a fully serviced pitch, which provided waste, water and electric. We would have informed you that there is a separate chemical waste disposal area, by the reception, should you have wished to dispose of this away from fresh water filling.

Excellent site pitches are brilliant Staff friendly and helpful

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Bethan J. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Pitch was superb Big pitch everything on own pitch water electric and toilet emptying Site and facilities excellent Shower clean and warm Will definitely return again

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Lovely quiet site with views over the countryside and very little light…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Carol J. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Lovely quiet site with views over the countryside and very little light pollution. Friendly and helpful staff. Toilet and shower block spotlessly clean and were checked and cleaned (if needed) twice a day. Easy access to site just off the A30. The first turning takes you to the office and there is a road from there down to the hard standing pitches through the cottages.

Disliked: It’s not a dislike but a disappointment. The on site pub (nothing to do with Carvynic site ) Foxes Revenge closed the Sunday prior to us arriving. The managers left and told no-one. The site or the owners had no idea this was happening. We were really looking forward to just walking 2 minutes to eat and drink.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the Foxes Revenge, this was run by a third party and we were unaware of the closure. We do have some lovely pubs nearby, which serve fantastic meals including roasts on Sundays. We look forward to seeing you again.


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available Car parking by pitch/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Rallies welcome Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Gastronomic delight Peaceful Spectacular scenery Wild camping Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities Chemical disposal Communal fridge Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Nearby farmers' market Public transport nearby Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches) Pub campsite

Accessibility

Disabled facilities

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Leisure/theme park nearby Mountain biking nearby Restaurant nearby Surf school nearby Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers Seasonal pitches Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

Carvynick Holiday Park

Summercourt

Newquay

Cornwall

England

TR8 5AF

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)

GPS

50.36865°N
-4.98295°W

Nearest transport

Coach
4.3 mi Shop Corner
4.8 mi Porth Four Turns
5.4 mi The Square
Rail
2.8 mi St Columb Road Rail Station
3.2 mi Quintrell Downs Rail Station
5.2 mi Newquay Rail Station
Ferry
10.2 mi Tolverne Ferry Landing
10.7 mi Philleigh King Harry Ferry Landing
10.7 mi Trelisick Ferry Landing
Airport
5.5 mi Newquay St Mawgan Airport
28.9 mi Penzance Airport

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The surf, sands, harbour, shops, restaurants and nightclubs of Newquay are a 10-minute drive from Carvynick Holiday Park, along with many surfing professionals in the town's surf schools to give lessons if you want to give it a go. A more relaxed vibe can be had in Cornwall's other fishing towns and villages like Padstow, Mevagissey, Fowey and St Ives, all with smart shops, arts and craft outlets, restaurants and cobbled streets. From any town, the spectacularly scenic walks of the South West Coast Path are easily reached, while if you want a more challenging hike the moorlands of Bodmin are an easy drive away. If you're cycling, pedal the Camel Trail from Bodmin to Padstow or along St Austell's clay trails a few miles from the site; bike hire for all sizes is available at both. The famed Eden Project is 14 miles away, and it's also easy to get to a wide range of family attractions like The Flambards Experience, Dairyland, Crealy Great Adventure Park, the Blue Reef Aqarium and Waterworld.

Water quality at nearby bathing waters

Name Distance Type 2020 2019 2018 2017
Porth 5.1 mi Sea Good N/A N/A N/A
Lusty Glaze 5.2 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Tolcarne 5.2 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Great Western 5.3 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Towan 5.6 mi Sea N/A Good Good Good

Data source: European Environment Agency

Must see

Lappa Valley Steam Railway 2.8 mi

Newquay Zoo 4.9 mi

Blue Reef Aquarium 5.4 mi

Fistral Beach 6.1 mi

Truro Cathedral 7.8 mi

National Trust

Trerice 2.8 mi

Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps 8 mi

Trelissick Garden 10.7 mi

St Anthony Head 15 mi

Cornish Mines and Engines 15.8 mi

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

Newquay - River Gannel - Crantock - Polly Joke - Newquay 4.8 mi

CHYVERTON PARK 5.8 mi

TREWITHEN 5.9 mi

Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape 6.4 mi

Holywell Bay to Penhale Sands and the Lost Church 7.1 mi

Local events

  • Boardmasters (Wednesday 7 August 2024 – Wednesday 7 August 2024)

    Newquay, Cornwall 5.2 mi

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Nearest sites

Unfortunately, we have no nearby bookable sites.

Want to know more about camping in Cornwall?

  • Does Carvynick Holiday Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Carvynick Holiday Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Carvynick Holiday Park? The surf, sands, harbour, shops, restaurants and nightclubs of Newquay are a 10-minute drive from Carvynick Holiday Park, along with many surfing professionals in the town's surf schools to give lessons if … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Carvynick Holiday Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Carvynick Holiday Park? From £20 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.