Roundoak Farm

From £35 For 1 night, 2 adults 9.7 107 reviews
Grass pitches (added by manager 15 Aug 2022)
Grass pitch (added by manager 15 aug 2022)
Pitches (added by manager 15 aug 2022)
Elevated view towards woods in winter (added by manager 14 dec 2015)

  • A working rare-breed farm in the Kent countryside
  • Highland and Sussex cattle, Hebridean, Ronaldsay and Boreray sheep
  • Buy fresh farm produce for the barbecue
An hour from London but deep in countryside on the southerly slopes of the Greensand Ridge overlooking the Weald of Kent, Roundoak Farm has warm welcomes, its own produce for sale, and lots of farming activity to see throughout the year: arrange a trip here forthwith. Run by Ruth and Norman, Roundoak is mostly grassland with five acres of natural oak woodland at Sutton Valence and a further 50 acres a mile or so away in Ulcombe, and is a working farm breeding Hebridean sheep and Highland cows. Well-behaved dogs are welcome if kept on leads. Guests are welcome to wander the farmyard by arrangement: depending on the time of year, you could see lambs, pigs, piglets, cows and calves as well as the chickens, chicks, turkeys and ducks that wander the farm freely. Home produce is always available and includes eggs as well as meat including pork sausages, bacon, lamb and beef; bed throws, wool and branded Roundoak clothing are also available to buy. The site is clean and level with mowed grass and generously-sized pitches, all facing south, with access to toilets and showers on site (free of charge). There's also a five-acre oak woodland with wooded walk open to guests, which has a large barbecue area available by arrangement. The site has secure coded access gates and security cameras. Please note that this is an adults-only peaceful retreat site, where music and ball games are not allowed. This may not suit everyone, so please consider this before booking. Guests are reminded that at certain times of the year private bookings and events take place here – you will be notified on arrival of any functions taking place.

Site type

Touring caravan pitches 30
Motorhome pitches 30
Tent pitches 30
Open all year

Tourist board rating

Please note
  • The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).
  • Group bookings of 3 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
  • No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • Guests under the age of 18 are not allowed on site.
  • This is a quiet site: no music is allowed.
  • Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Languages spoken

English

German

Pitch types & availability

Reviews

98%

would recommend this site to a friend

96%

would stay here again

  • 87%
    10
  • 0%
    9
  • 10%
    8
  • 0%
    7
  • 1%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 0%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 0%
    2
  • 0%
    1

Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Lovely scenery, the coos😊 and the staff! Unfortunately we didn't get to…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities No rating
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Heather C. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: Lovely scenery, the coos😊 and the staff! Unfortunately we didn't get to stay at Roundoak as it was actually closed for the bank holiday, despite Pitchup letting us book. However, the campsite manager, Guy, phoned me to say they could accommodate us at their sister site, Kings Oak and gave me helpful directions. This was very welcome as we had just come off the ferry at Dover after having travelled from France. We had a lovely evening at Kings Oak and couldn't thank Guy enough for his hospitality. He couldn't have been more helpful and we'd love to return, hopefully to experience Roundoak next time.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Exelent side with clean facilities

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Tony M. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: Nice friendly and helpful

Recommend to friends Visit again

A great little sight with a very friendly welcome and great tour…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: A great little sight with a very friendly welcome and great tour of the working farm.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Fabulous little site. We were on our own being so early in…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money No rating
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities No rating
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Shona W. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: Fabulous little site. We were on our own being so early in season. Owners and manager couldn't have been more lovely. It is a working farm and is perfect without an over abundance of facilities. You have all you need with the tranquility to match. Will be returning

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

Excellent site on an amazing working farm, friendly staff

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 6
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: Beautiful setting, well managed and very friendly staff/management. Couldn't be more welcoming. Had a brilliant tour of the farms rare breeds.

Disliked: Single track access road could be tricky with large vehicles

Recommend to friends Visit again

The site was kept immaculate, the staff were very friendly and helpful,…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Garry M. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: The site was kept immaculate, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the animals were kept to an amazing standard. We especially liked the piglets. We stay a week and could happily of stayed longer will definitely visit again.

Disliked: English weather although I don't hold the site accountable for this. Even so paths were sturdy and site was clean.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Garry Thank you for your kind comments We enjoy sharing this special place and glad you enjoyed it You probably endured the worst weeks weather this year With the storm wind and rain You must be brave See you again soon I hope Norman

Great find Will go back again. A hidden gem!

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation No rating
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
Chris D. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch

Liked: Great welcome on arrival everything clearly explained. Excellent pitch even given extra lead as weather meant we had to pitch up on the hard standing and our lead too short Beautiful grounds with lovely woods and cattle close by. Super clean toilets and showers

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

Contact from administrator.…

Overall 6/10
Location 4
Value for money 4
Accommodation 4
Facilities / Activities 4
Customer service 6
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness No rating
Wifi No rating
Lee P. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch

Liked: Contact from administrator.

Disliked: Water logged grounds.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Der! Maybe you should only come when the sun is shining We are a CL site on a farm! It is October and in October it rains!!!!!! With a review such as this I see you have ticked would visit again. Could not have been that bad. I hate CRAP reviews such as these which affects our overall ratings You had nothing positive to say. Please never and I mean, never, come back to either of my farms. You are not welcome. Again I would reiterate why if you were not happy did you not say to the owner or administrator. You can tell from this review how angry I am. I know who exactly you are. perhaps you should invest in better all round the year weather equipment. This is certainly not a place for you to visit again, and if you intend recommending us to friends it would be best you dont mention that they know you to me. A bit of help maybe you should get yourselves a weather app so yo can determine the weather before you set out, especially in the Autumn, Winter and Spring months. When it is likely to rain and be cold. Norman Coles Roundoak and Kingsoak farms

Lovely site, excellent facilities, friendly staff

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 8
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi No rating
David I. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric gravel and hardstanding pitch

Liked: Email directions The location The farm animals, birds etc The amenities The level pitches The woodland

Disliked: Delay gaining entry through gate Long narrow access road

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: David,Thank you for taking time to place a review. !0 out of 10 is only acceptable We are a farm normally farms are down a lanes We have a road closure through Leeds village at present I rather fear you were taken around a long way to avoid the road closure. Delay at the gate is a bit pathetic. We have a gated entrance for security. That's what people like about Roundoak The security! If you weren't happy why did you not say something during your visit. We are a working farm, my wife and I are in our seventies, we maybe were attending our animals. We are short staff due to holidays and weekends, added to which both my wife and I were very unwell and isolating as we proved positive for covid. I really dislike reviews like this as there was little constructive to say yet it affects our score rating. We work very hard to share this special place. Maybe you need to check your maps on future journeys and stick to motorways and A roads, Norman Coles PS By the way you will be pleased to note we are feeling a little better and may have been able to run faster to the gate if you came today.

Lovely place

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 2
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 6
Christopher B. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Electric grass pitch

Liked: Always an awesome place xx lovely layout very laid back and relaxing place ... clean modern toilet and shower facilities great for peaceful stay .. no kids running about

Disliked: All good

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Good review I could not have written a better review if I did it myself Many thanks we enjoy sharing our special home here in the heart of the garden of England Norman


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Adults only

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

Roundoak Farm

Heniker Lane

Sutton Valence

Maidstone

Kent

England

ME17 3ED

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)

GPS

51.20019°N
0.60763°W

Route directions

It is advisable not to rely on satnavs. Take junction 8 off the M20 Motorway and follow the signs to Leeds Castle. Pass the castle's main entrance and continue through the village of Leeds and through the village of Langley. At the cross roads by the Plough PH and Youngs car sales, turn left towards Sutton Valence and Headcorn. Continue through Sutton Valence down the steep hill. At the bottom of the hill just before the petrol station and car sales, turn left into Heniker Lane. Continue down this winding lane to the T junction. Turn right passing a row of cottages. After a short distance there are a large set of brown gates, this is Roundoak farm. There is a security pad to the left of the gates. If you do not have the code call the farm using the contact details provided in your confirmation email.

Nearest transport

Coach
6.2 mi King Street
6.2 mi King Street
9.8 mi Hempstead Valley Shopping Centre
Rail
2.5 mi Headcorn Rail Station
3.2 mi Staplehurst Rail Station
4.2 mi Harrietsham Rail Station
Ferry
19.9 mi Gravesend Pier
20.2 mi Tilbury Ferry Terminal
23.3 mi Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal
Airport
22.2 mi Lydd London Ashford Airport
25.8 mi London Southend Airport
26.5 mi Biggin Hill Airport

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Stick close to Kent or wander as far as France from Roundoak Farm: the likes of Leeds, Sissinghurst and Hever castles, Whitstable, Tunbridge Wells and Canterbury are all easy to get to, or you could motor along to Dover and get the ferry for a day trip to France. The local station is Headcorn, two miles away; from there, you can be at Charing Cross in central London in about an hour. Kentish vineyards are at Tenterden, Biddenden and Hush Heath – bring a bottle back to have with the barbie later – and another good and green local option is Bedgebury National Pinetum, a recreational and conservational arboretum with tree-lined paths for walking and cycling. The Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch Railway runs for almost 14 miles from Hythe to Dungeness and the Kent & East Sussex Railway can be hailed at Tenterden for the 10-and-a-half-mile journey to Bodiam Castle. For old houses, have a day at Penshurst Place & Gardens, the fortified manor house with adventure playground, summer maze and regular events, and at Ightham Mote, the medieval manor house near Sevenoaks that's now managed by the National Trust. The Chatham Historic Dockyard is also well worth a look, and if you're around the coast you should also see Rye and Hastings: cliff railways at the latter very much a must.

Water quality at nearby bathing waters

Name Distance Type 2020 2019 2018 2017
Sheerness 18 mi Estuary N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Minster Leas 18.2 mi Estuary N/A Excellent Excellent Excellent
Leysdown 19.4 mi Sea N/A Excellent Good Excellent
Camber 20.2 mi Sea N/A Excellent Excellent Good
West Beach, Whitstable 20.5 mi Sea N/A Good Good Good

Data source: European Environment Agency

Must see

Leeds Castle 3.5 mi

Sissinghurst Castle Garden 5.9 mi

Kent & East Sussex Railway 9.6 mi

Bedgebury National Pinetum & Forest 11.3 mi

Scotney Castle 11.4 mi

National Trust

Stoneacre 3.8 mi

Sissinghurst Castle Garden 6.5 mi

Sprivers Garden 9.5 mi

Scotney Castle 11.4 mi

Smallhythe Place 11.8 mi

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

BOUGHTON MONCHELSEA PLACE 3.3 mi

LEEDS CASTLE 3.5 mi

LINTON PARK 4.1 mi

Linton - Boughton Monchelsea - Linton 4.5 mi

Hollingbourne 4.7 mi

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Want to know more about camping in Kent?

  • Does Roundoak Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Roundoak Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Roundoak Farm? Stick close to Kent or wander as far as France from Roundoak Farm: the likes of Leeds, Sissinghurst and Hever castles, Whitstable, Tunbridge Wells and Canterbury are all easy to get to, … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Roundoak Farm?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.

    Please let the site know when you a half-hour away.

    Late arrivals can be accommodated at Kings Oak farm, 3 miles away, until 8 pm. for a fee.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Roundoak Farm? From £35 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.