Book and review 8,714 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Shaw Hall

7.5
View prices & book
From £25/€28.19/A$42.28/US$33.80/CA$41.59/CHF32.57/kr269.69/kr210.62/kr263.99/kr3,571/$585.48/$20,833/PEN109.89/NZ$46.24/R450.45/zł121.01/R$106.07/Kč737.46/RSD3,333 (for 1 night, 8 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful and remote park 15 minutes' drive from the coast at Southport
  • Under 10 minutes' drive from the market town of Ormskirk
  • Adventure play park, bar, restaurant and bowling

Secluded, well set up for kids and only a 15-minute drive from the fine sands and seaside town of Southport – sounds like a sure thing for a tiptop family holiday in England's north west.

Under 10 minutes' drive from the market town of Ormskirk, Shaw Hall is a family-oriented site among acres of countryside near the small west Lancashire village of Scarisbrick. It's within easy driving distance of the Martin Mere wetland centre for nature spotting, birdwatching, and canal boat tours, and a few miles from more of the same via canal rides (and cream teas) on the Leeds and Liverpool Canal.

As a family site, Shaw Hall is well set up for kids, with an adventure playground, a bowling green, pitch and putt, plenty of room to play, and air hockey and pool tables in the bar. A restaurant with beer garden and takeaway around for food and drink, kids' activities and evening entertainment a couple of times a week for grownups.

Among the amenities are an accessible sanitary block with toilets, hot showers and a parent and baby bathroom; a washing-up area and a launderette with washing machines and tumble dryers.

Bronze David Bellamy Conservation Award

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.5

Overall rating based on 182 reviews

 

70% would recommend this site to a friend.

70% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

resonable site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 19/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sandra b. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    having all the connection near the caravan and not having to go for water and empty waist , very quite , clean ,

    Disliked: 

    the front path when you enter of the road is very narrow we found has we have a big caravan and when their was other traffic on the road it was tight getting through

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

On the whole it was clean and friendly and the pitches sorting out 12/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Margaret C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It is a nice clean site it is not to far away from Southport

    Disliked: 

    The site could do with some improvement the shower block is in need of a bit of doing up the pitches need to have a revamped and need a make over

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic stay didn't want to go home will definitely be returning 05/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kim_b203863 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stayed Thursday to Monday on arrival was told we were in the smaller field but it was great still loads of space for the children to play and they made some lovely friends we all loved it the grounds are really well maintained the staff were friendly and helpful

    Disliked: 

    The toilet area was at times very dirty but I can't blame the staff for this as I saw them on numerous occasions cleaning and they were lovely but within an hour or so they were a mess again so can only be blamed on the people who think it's acceptable to throw things on the floor and smear things over the seats and walls I really felt sorry for the cleaners

From the manager...

Many thanks for your review and your understanding over the cleaning problems we have at Shaw Hall. Our cleaners do try and keep a good standard
Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site, good facilities, helpful and friendly staff. 05/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lisa Marie C. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I brought my kids for their first 'proper' camping experience, ages 9, 10 and 13. We had a great weekend and had all the amenities we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at 9am and all was ready for us to just check in and pitch up. There is indoor toilet blocks which we used, but also portaloos within the camping field. We made use of the showers also, which were surprisingly clean as far as public showers go. The site is just 20mins from Southport so we made the most of the beach one afternoon. There's skips for all your rubbish to go in which is collected regularly. All in all we had a great weekend and would definitely return in future.

    Disliked: 

    I think the loos could do with a bit of an upgrade and more regular cleanliness checks. And a little more security of an evening wouldn't go amiss, as we were subjected to drunken fools once or twice messing around the tent. And the field did have an alarming amount of nettles growing and longer grass the further down you pitch, we dug out most we could fairly easily but still got a few stings over the weekend, not good for younger children who may not be as calm in such a situation, a more thorough upkeep of the field would be ideal.

From the manager...

Many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again next season

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Rude reception staff. Disgusting toilets. Gardens maintained well. 03/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shannon H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Looks well presented

    Disliked: 

    On arrival we was informed they had overused their days for the camping fields so we would have to pitch up on the 'dog walking field’ but don't worry we have cleaned it up! obviously annoyed as we had paid for the pitch we couldn't receive. We pitched up and there was three other people already pitched, the following day 7 more tents pitched on this small field we could practically took each others tents!! It was that cramped. We complained to reception who was less than helpful and told us they couldn't do anything and they knew the week before they had overbooked but didn't bother to let us know as why would she? She then told us that more people was due to come and we would just have to move so they could fit in! Shocking service considering we had paid for a pitch with 2 parking spaces and we didn't even have room for the 1 as it had to be moved for another tent. The toilets were absolutely disgusting. Sanitary towels and toilet roll with feces on all over the floor, feces smeared over the toilet seats and walls? And blood smeared on the wall!!! These was not once cleaned during our stay and I doubt these have been cleaned all season. Kids running around playing football at stupid o clock at night and cars driving into the 'field’ at all hours, no staff on at night, the shameless bunch run wild. Stay away! Totally unacceptable. Very disappointed and definitely won't be returning or recommending. Needs massive improvement.

From the manager...

Many thanks for your review.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay
We do try and keep a good cleaning standard within our shower blocks but unfortunately we cannot control the way some people treat our premises. We do have a 24 hour warden call out service - phone number is clearly displayed in the office window. Any problems reported to him would have been dealt with.
Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Play area fantastic, location lovely, but otherwise not as expected. 31/08/2017

cheryl_l377927 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - The play area. This was the big selling point when booking Shaw Hall, and we certainly weren't disappointed with it. Amongst the best play areas I've ever seen.

    - Lovely location. Peaceful area, but with easy access to attractions and eateries locally. Canal walks and sheep fields nearby, for strolls.

    - On arrival we were told that the tent pitches weren't available and that we would need to pitch on the dog walking area. Not the best first impression, but not an issue on its own. Just something worth noting. As it was, there were only three tents on this field and we picked our own spot, so had plenty of space around the tent.

    - We spoke to a young boy a few times on site. I may be wrong about this, but his knowledge of the park and willingness to speak to us gave the impression that he may be the son of the owners. If he was, it deserves a mention that he is a very polite, friendly and helpful young man. Thank you to him for his great customer service!

    Disliked: 

    - The toilet and shower facilities were very badly maintained. I checked these on arrival at lunchtime and found them to be dirty with old plasters, mud, clumps of hair and empty shower gel bottles strewn about. Not pleasant at all. When I went to shower the next morning, the same mess remained in the same places and made for an uncomfortable shower experience. The shower cubicles are also very cramped - the shower is open and leads out to the tiny changing area. As soon as I started using the shower, the entire changing area was soaked which left my clothes wet and gave me no dry floor on which to stand and change. In the end, my only option was to wrap a towel around myself and run to another empty cubicle that hadn't been used and was still dry. Only one cubicle had a working light, so the others were using residual light from the outside space and were very dull. Half-way through changing, all lights switched off and left us in complete darkness which made putting clothes on almost impossible. Turns out that the movement sensor is located by the door, so we had to continue without light.

    - The on-site shop closed at 1pm, and also did not take cards.

    - There was mention of on-site food at the bar, and entertainment. I knew that entertainment wouldn't be available every night, so there was a chance we'd miss this, but after skipping lunch due to the shop issues I then had to disappoint my daughter again when we turned up to the bar for opening at 5pm and were told they weren't serving any food. Had to travel elsewhere for dinner.

    - Listing mentions free WiFi. If it was available anywhere, my phone certainly didn't find it at any point during my stay. Could get nothing at all on the field our tent was on, and only BT Open WiFi at £5 for 24 hours elsewhere. Also had no phone signal for the duration, so my husband was worried about our lack of contact.

    - Other campsites have accessible drinking water taps for tent owners. I found none on site during our visit, so couldn't conveniently top up drinking water for my daughter and had to give her soft drinks which she's never had before. If these were available, they weren't marked on the map.

From the manager...

Many thanks for your review
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
I am also sorry to hear of the problems you have but if you had called into reception we could have helped you locate both the wi-fi (available at the bar area) and also the drinking water (available from the dish wash room and taps within the beer garden)
With regard to the shower block we do try and maintain a good standard of cleaning but unfortunately at you time of stay we were waiting for an electrician to repair the lighting
Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely grounds Great park 31/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Melanie M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely grounds
    Great park

    Disliked: 

    Unclean toilets
    My prescription sunglasses were stolen out of the men's toilets - looked like they had never been cleaned
    I felt the receptionist was rude and arrogant and appeared to be not bothered by my issues.
    Camping went off with a big bang due to children lighting fires which became uncontrollable and dangerous
    Grass wasn't cut short - full of nettles
    Rats running around the place behind my tents.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

entertainment for children 30/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom keith_c339930 Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    entertainment for children

    Disliked: 

    toilet and shower block dirty and no hot water

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The space between each pitch. 30/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Vickie P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space between each pitch.

    Disliked: 

    No hot water to wash pots and the grass was a little long!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

I found it to be a friendly place and plenty ... 30/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Donna B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I found it to be a friendly place and plenty to do if you have children

    Disliked: 

    I found the shower block to be dirty at the time I used it

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Very large (over 200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • 155 Smithy Lane Ormskirk, Lancashire, England, L40 8HJ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.5967°N 2.9107°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Ormskirk Bus Station — 2.3 miles
Southport: Pontins Holiday Centre Coach Stop — 4.7 miles
Southport: Eastbank Street Coach Stop — 5.3 miles
Train stations
Bescar Lane Rail Station — 1.9 miles
New Lane Rail Station — 2.0 miles
Ormskirk Rail Station — 2.3 miles
Ferry ports
Liverpool Belfast Ferry Terminal Bootle — 11.3 miles
Seacombe Ferry Terminal — 13.6 miles
Liverpool Isle of Man & Dublin Terminal — 13.7 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 18.1 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

You might want to get straight to the sands first from Shaw Hall, so pile the kids into the car and drive along to the seaside town of Southport, 10 to 15 minutes away, for its beach, botanic gardens and the famed (in some circles) lawnmower museum, the only such establishment in the country. You can also whirl around the fairground rides and attractions of Southport's amusement park, or have a promenade along the town's pier, where views stretch along the coast to Blackpool and north Wales.

Elsewhere around the region, have afternoon tea on a scenic 90-minute canal boat tour along the Leeds and Liverpool Canal, departing three miles from the site in Halsall, or drift around Marine Lake via pedalo or motorboat rides, seven miles away next to the coast in Southport.

Four miles away is the Wetland and Wildlife Trust's Martin Mere reserve for birdwatching, wildlife spotting, boat rides and regular events including toddler days and nature ranger experiences. At nearby Ruff Wood, you can take the circular walk through 19 acres of mixed woodland filled with oak and silver birch trees.

A little further afield are the salt marshes and sandflats of the Ribble Estuary National Nature Reserve, home to more than 250,000 ducks, geese, swans and wading birds; redshanks, skylarks, meadow pipits and linnets during summer; and 16 species of wintering birds.

Climbing, abseiling, canoeing, kayaking, archery, rifle shooting, raft building and high ropes are all available within about half an hour's drive, at the big outdoor pursuits centre in Mawdesley.

Must see

  • WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre (2.5 miles)
  • Beacon Country Park (7.3 miles)
  • Camelot Theme Park (9.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Rufford Old Hall (4.9 miles)
  • Formby (7.4 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  9 a.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  9 a.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Shaw Hall cancellation policy

No penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Pitches: a £20.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Shaw Hall


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Pitches
Pitches: a £20.00 deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. between 01/10 and 31/03.
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 01/04 and 30/09.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Close