Book and review 2,556 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village

8.9
View prices & book
From £44/€50.93/A$78.78/US$61.29/CA$77.56/CHF56.57/SEK517.95/DKK378.75/NOK522.48/ISK7,779/ARS5,529.65/CLP44,592/PEN224.72/NZ$84.57/ZAR925.77/PLN231.94/R$344.43/CZK1,333.92/RSD5,975/HUF18,570.35/RUB4,527.04/CN¥396.52 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Family and friends having fun

General

  • Pods with sea views and trout fishing, a short walk from the beach
  • Within half an hour's drive of Alnwick Castle and Berwick-upon-Tweed
  • Café, arts centre and shop selling Lindisfarne mead and local honey

Picture the scene: sea views, the salt breeze and a freshly caught trout sizzling on the barbecue… pick yourself a pod at Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village and all this can be yours with utter ease.

This little Northumberland nirvana has cosy and heated pods insulated against the most bracing of breezes, and is set a short stroll from Cocklawburn beach for days of seaside wanders and rockpooling. But you don't even have to leave the site to go a-fishing, as there's a two-acre lake on the Pot-a-Doodle Do grounds stuffed to the gills with rainbow trout. (The friendly site owners will hire you a rod if you haven't brought your own.)

And when you’ve landed your whopper? There’s no finer treatment for fresh trout than a quick sizzle on a barbecue or campfire, or indoors in the fully-equipped kitchen that comes with each pod. Guests are also welcome to hire a barbecue hut with a charcoal pit and indoor seating.

And if you don't land your whopper? Despair not, for the café dishes up breakfasts, lunches and snacks, and the on-site shop stocks groceries as well as specialities like Lindisfarne mead, local honey and apples from the orchard.

Elsewhere around the site, there’s plenty of room to run around; those with extra energy to expend can hurtle around the securely-fenced playground, and creative small sorts can squirrel themselves away at the interactive arts centre making pottery, figurines and glass.

Please note

The restaurant is open between 01/01 and 31/12.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Facilities/activities including fishing rod hire and BBQ huts are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Please note that from 1 October to 28 December the restaurant and arts centre will be closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

£1 electric cards are obtained from the dispenser in the communal kitchen.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 20 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

  60% described as Spectacular scenery ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Lovely facilities and lots for children to Do01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomkatie c.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the wigwams and facilities For the children I. E pottery, playpark, go karts, boulder wall on toilet block and quick Walk or drive to beach.

    Disliked: 

    The check out time is a bit Early for This Type of holiday. With two kids to wash and feed and a dog to Walk and pack the car we were very rushed. Paying for The electricity is also a bit of a low blow considering we paid 150 per night. It's only £ 1/2 but so not Cool.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

We enjoyed our stay at Pot a Doodle and would go again.31/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location is great on the Northumbrian coast with easy access to a lot of the bigger tourist attractions for the area and only a half hour from the Scottish Borders.

    The pottery painting studio is a great option to while away a few hours and take home a little something both personal and special for a holiday memory.

    Fantastic beach just a short walk away as well as the Northumbrian coastal walking path with some awesome scenery and routes.

    Disliked: 

    The WigWams are not as big as you may imagine - we were four but our kids are adult sized and it was a bit of a squash with everybody’s luggage and activity equipment. Had I known this in advance I would likely have booked 2 huts rather than one.

From the manager...

Thanks for your kind review and it was lovely to meet you. You certainly had a mixed bag of weather for the time you were here.
We are ghlad that you enjoyed our beautiful coastline. We are so lucky to live in such a lovely area.
We cannot judge if your children are adult sized or not so its very difficult for us to recommend whether to have a second wigwam or not. We were fully booked anyway so this would not be an option. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Huts were great, facilities and ablutions were brilliant.28/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClaire T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The accommodation, facilities, ablutions and pre stay Service.

    Disliked: 

    Service at the site was quite rude and abrupt.
    We hired a bbq hut but it wasn’t working dispute following the instructions to the letter. Filled with smoke. No one on site to assist and when checking out we were told that we just did it wrong! The extract fan wasn’t working could have been fatal!!

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I am sorry that you felt the service was rude-it certainly was not intentional. The BBQ Hut has been working all summer so I was surprised when you complained in the morning. Sadly we could have come round to help you if you had rung the 24 hour number in the wigwam. However when I walked the site in the evening you were still enjoying yourselves in the BBQ hut after 10.15 pm so at least the situation was rectified as far as smoke was concerned.
We hope to see you again in the future

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Like the style of the wigwam/huts had lots of room …21/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjulia S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Like the style of the wigwam/huts had lots of room with some basic faccilities like a fridge and kettle. Spaced out well with privacy. Great location to get to main town or a walk.

    Disliked: 

    Not very clean facilities,

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

efficient set up, easy check in, good breakfast05/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSue C.Confirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    efficient set up, easy check in, good breakfast

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely clean site wigwams well spaced out. Friendly staff and …23/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely clean site wigwams well spaced out. Friendly staff and breakfasts very nice in the restaurant. We'll situated for easy access to A1 and Berwick Town.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent15/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely brilliant would definitely be booking back up , pods very clean and comfortable even took the dog 🐕 lovely place

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your kind review, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay on our site.
We pride ourselves on cleanliness and are delighted to learn that you found your wigwam clean and comfortable. Hopefully you will revisit again in the near future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great site for short or longer seaside break.11/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    More a glamping site than camping site. But none the worse for that. Staff helpful, everything maintained to a clean, high standard. Use of a full kitchen cooking, crockery and washing facilities. Restaurant on site as well (not used). Good access to the beach (5 mins in the car). Berwick close and others attractions a further drive away. No real wifi access to speak of.

    Disliked: 

    Pods fairly close together but not an issue.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The Kitchen was really good nice and clean lots of …09/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The Kitchen was really good nice and clean lots of utensils' to use, The pod was comfortable and really clean, it was a good size.
    We opted for a fire pit this came with a large bag of logs that was plenty to keep us going for the 2 nights we stayed.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site with lovely owner/staff06/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnn W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wigwam
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Borewell Farm, Scremerston, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England, TD15 2RJ
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 55.7387°N 1.9796°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Berwick-upon-Tweed: Golden Square Coach Stop — 2.4 miles
Beal (Northumberland): West Mains Bus Stop — 5.3 miles
Belford (Northumberland): Market Cross Bus Stop — 11.3 miles
Train stations
Berwick-upon-Tweed Rail Station — 2.8 miles
Chathill Rail Station — 17.6 miles
Alnmouth Rail Station — 27.4 miles
Ferry ports
Belvedere Ferry Landing — 43.1 miles
Airports
Newcastle International Airport — 49.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

A short walk away, Cocklawburn beach has to be an early port of call for walks, dips and rockpooling. If you’re up for a hike with views, it’s about an hour to Berwick-upon-Tweed (or 10 minutes by car) where there’s a pair of castles and a military museum, an old jail to get locked up in and a walking trail in the footsteps of famed northern painter LS Lowry.

If you’re up for moats and ramparts, the castles of Alnwick, Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh are around half an hour’s drive away, the first of the trio being particularly popular with fans of a certain H Potter…

Lindisfarne has a fine castle too: at certain times of day you can drive or walk across the causeway to the island; otherwise head to Seahouses (half an hour) and catch a boat to the ancient sanctuary, spotting seals and puffins enroute.

Have tea among the bees at Chain Bridge Honey Farm 15 minutes away: tours teach visitors about the industrious insects while the shop and café do a nice line in sweet treats. If mammals and reptiles are more your thing, around 50 species await at Northumberland Country Zoo (45 minutes), from pattable Shetland ponies to somewhat stinky skunks.

Must see

  • Berwick-upon-Tweed Castle & Ramparts (2.1 miles)
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed Museum and Art Gallery (2.4 miles)
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed Barracks & Main Guard (2.4 miles)

National Trust

  • Lindisfarne Castle (9.0 miles)
  • Dunstanburgh Castle (23.7 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 days of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village? A short walk away, Cocklawburn beach has to be an early port of call for walks, dips and rockpooling. If you’re up for a hike with views, it’s about an hour to … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village?
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  7 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Pot-a-Doodle Do Wigwam Village? From £44 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact pot-a-doodle-do-wigwam-village


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Extras
Facilities/activities including fishing rod hire and BBQ huts are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Disposable barbecues are not permitted.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The restaurant is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Hired accommodation
Electricity not included in the rate and payable on site (meter in place).
Your unit must be left clean and tidy; a fine of £25.00 will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

Please note that from 1 October to 28 December the restaurant and arts centre will be closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

£1 electric cards are obtained from the dispenser in the communal kitchen.

Close