Book and review 8,833 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Aldenham Country Park

7.6
View prices & book
From £25/€28.36/A$43.59/US$33.32/CA$42.89/CHF33.02/kr283.18/kr211.08/kr279.37/kr3,516/$583.04/$21,215/PEN108.41/NZ$47.58/R436.45/zł119.32/R$109.78/Kč728.16/RSD3,364/Ft8,904.70/₽1,960.22/CN¥220.26 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Large peaceful parkland 12 miles from central London
  • Café, farm shop, barbecue rental and free wifi
  • Lots of activities for kids including pony rides and animal feeding

City slickers! If you yearn for the bright lights of the UK capital but feel slightly faint at London hotel prices, you'll find the setting of Elmstree's Aldenham Country Park magic.

This wild camping and peaceful park is less than a mile from the M1 motorway and 12 miles from central London – and three from Muggle-based antics at The Making of Harry Potter as well as seven from Wembley Stadium. (And another topping aspect of Aldenham's location? It's a tiptop option for Londoners seeking a nearby bolthole too.)

Although it's so close to the city, Aldenham is spellbindingly rural, set on a 175-acre parkland site next to a large lake and maintaining a quiet countryside atmosphere with nature walks, pony rides, egg collecting and animal feeding among the activities for guests.

Kids can join an expert-led survival workshop, learn about life on the farm or search for Winnie in the Pooh in the park's 100 Aker Wood area. Other activities include fishing and cycle rides on woodland trails.

The site's facilities include a café, playgrounds, free wifi, barbecue rental and a shop selling farm produce. The amenities block has toilets, showers and disabled access.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.6

Overall rating based on 44 reviews

 

77% would recommend this site to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Area it is set in 06/11/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Craig A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Area it is set in

    Disliked: 

    Could not contact anyone when arrived after Park had closed to public

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very close to London 16/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Luke M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very close to London

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The only positive thing I can say is we were ... 08/10/2017

sheena_p165515

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The only positive thing I can say is we were glad when we left.

    Disliked: 

    Got completely ripped off at this place. Phoned in advance and was told we could park our Motor home at Aldenham Country Park for about £12.50. When we arrived was told, by a guy who said he was the on site Manager, the field was too muddy but could park in the car park for the extortionate sum of £34.50 per night. The only facilities available to us were the toilets that were open to the public, with cold water only. Also, he said that they would only accept cash. We stayed two nights because we had made plans to meet up with people nearby but would not go back again. Very disappointing. Could park in a car park anywhere.

From the manager...

Dear Camper

Thank you for your review, as explained we do not allow caravans or large motor homes, we simply do not have the facilities to cater for 7.5 tonne large vehicles. Due to you arriving late at night, we decided to assist you and allow you to stay the night.

As you arrived very late we had to have a staff member await your arrival and as such the only option was cash. Should you have arrived when the park was open we would have offered card facilities. Large motor homes take up a lot of space and due to the weight , damage natural surroundings.

I believe you had 3 persons staying and as such the amount charge is on par with every other camp site, although we have 175 acres if land to explore.

In regards to facilities, we have:

- Hot showers
- Large modern toilet blocks
- Disabled facilites
- On site shop
- 2 on site cafes
- 4.2 mile beautiful Lake
- Farm with over 400 animals
- Woodlands with monkey nets
- Trail walks

And much more, we feel £34.50 for 3 persons with such a large vehicle along with the above activities is of great value. Hence our great feedback 10/10 98% of visitors/campers.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

We had a great time, friendly and helpful staff, good ... 06/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sara G. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a great time, friendly and helpful staff, good facilities. Relaxed environment.
    Just perfect.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Relaxing place 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Aneta K. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxing place

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We would definitely recommend and return 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Greg B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very polite and helpful staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely atmosphere and lots to do. Nice open pitches. 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Debbie B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely atmosphere and lots to do. Nice open pitches.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent... a beautiful place staff were lovely. 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kelly A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very lovely surroundings for adults and children enough to do for a wkend of camping with the kiddies

    Disliked: 

    Toilet and shower facilities very basic on the camping field but makes it feel more like camping 😊 There are other toilets etc of the camp field also so it's the best of both.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Exceptional!!! 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Desi S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    What a beautiful camp site!!!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lake walk Toilet block in car park Outdoor shower Can ... 27/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lucy_c279848 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lake walk
    Toilet block in car park
    Outdoor shower
    Can have camp fires

    Disliked: 

    Compost toilets
    Toilet block not cleaned often enough. It went from 3pm till mid next morning very dirty when I contacted management

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Jumbo tent pitches

Shepherd's huts

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Dagger Lane Elstree, Hertfordshire, England, WD6 3BA
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.6490°N 0.3155°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Watford Junction: Rail Station Coach Stop — 3.6 miles
Wembley Stadium: Olympic Way coach stop — 6.5 miles
St Albans: St Peters Street Coach Stop — 7.3 miles
Train stations
Elstree & Borehamwood Rail Station — 1.5 miles
Radlett Rail Station — 2.5 miles
Bushey Rail Station — 3.0 miles
Ferry ports
Kew Pier — 11.3 miles
Savoy Pier — 12.8 miles
Embankment Pier — 12.9 miles
Airports
London Heathrow Airport — 13.4 miles
London Heathrow Airport Terminal 1 — 13.5 miles
London Heathrow Airport Terminal 2 — 13.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

After thoroughly investigating the parkland strolling and cycling trails, drive along to the golf course and driving range within two miles, or test your spellwork among Harry et al with the Warner Bros. Studio Tour London – The Making of Harry Potter three miles away.

Watford's award-winning country house and greenery is four miles away; within five, zip along to the Royal Air Force Museum London, for a day among five huge buildings and hangars including a Battle of Britain Hall, and dozens of retired aircraft including Hawkers and Lancasters.

A 60-acre lake and sandy beach are six miles away at Ruislip Lido, along with a woodland centre, fishing platforms, play areas, a water splash area and a miniature railway. Wembley Stadium and SSE Arena is a seven-mile drive.

And then there's London… its thousands of attractions for all budgets and tastes are a mere 12 miles away: take the train to St Pancras then the Tube to wherever in the city your heart desires.

Must see

  • Royal Air Force Museum Hendon (4.8 miles)
  • Willows Farm Village (5.2 miles)
  • Wembley Stadium Tours (6.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Fenton House (8.6 miles)
  • 2 Willow Road (8.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  8 a.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart:  Anytime

Aldenham Country Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Aldenham Country Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 9 p.m. and 6:30 a.m..
The grocery shop is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Close