Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Efford Down Campsite

8.3
View prices & book
From £24/€27.91/A$42.34/US$28.73/CA$37.33/CHF27.76/SEK301.53/DKK207.67/NOK287.17/ISK3,883/ARS3,616.80/CLP26,977/PEN109.98/NZ$46.75/ZAR473.74/PLN132.45/R$154.29/CZK690.88/RSD3,276/HUF11,390.73/RUB1,709.93/CN¥192.75 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Efford Down Campsite: North boundary of Efford Down Campsite

General

  • Pick your own pitches at this back to basics camping field in Cornwall
  • A five-minute walk from Bude and the South West Coast Path
  • Spacious hilltop pitches; barbecues and dogs permitted

With a splendid clifftop setting on the north Cornwall coast, Efford Down Campsite is a no-frills spot in a farm field that's great for family breaks. Located five minutes' walk from Bude and its independent boutiques, cafés, pubs and arty shops, it's also within easy strolling distance of supermarkets for picking up self-catering supplies.

There’s plenty to do outdoors too: a five-minute walk will see you surfing off Summerleaze beach, or you can potter down to Bude Sea Pool for a swim in less than 10 minutes. There’s also direct access to the South West Coast Path from the campsite, for action-packed days hiking headlands, or gentler ambles along Bude Canal and around the fishing harbour.

But that’s not all – there are canoe and mountain bike rentals, pony trekking and golf courses all within a few minutes' drive, and you can try your hand at coasteering, sea kayaking and surf kayaking from local activity centres too.

There are no designated pitches, so please pick your own camping spot from what’s available when you arrive in the gently sloping field. Simple facilities at the site include running water, toilets, showers and plenty of space to park cars by your pitch.

Please note

Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings must not consist of more than 4 different households.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Anyone bringing a campervan must also have a small tent as well.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.3

Overall rating based on 85 reviews

 

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

84% would stay here again.

  58% described as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Super chilled, back-to-basics site. We were left to our own …27/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Super chilled, back-to-basics site. We were left to our own devices to pick our spot and enjoy the peace and quiet - no 'do this, don't do that' notices everywhere, unlike so many sites! Really convenient to get into town or onto Summerleaze beach as well - just a 10/15 minute walk. As advertised by the owner, the field is on quite a slope so you do have to hunt around for the flat pitches, but they are there!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

It was quiet23/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was quiet

    Disliked: 

    The field is on quite a steep slope

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi

Near to the town, clean and easy !20/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEvelina S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Near to the town, clean and easy !

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fantastic find!20/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLisa S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is lovely and quiet with excellent views of the town. It is steep but that's clearly stated on the website and worth the trudge up the hill for the location. Proximity to town and the beach is fantastic.
    I was wary about the facilities after reading some reviews but the showers were clean and the toilets always had toilet roll in them when I visited.
    Great back to basics find.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Love IT ! Loads of space, clean toilets and showers! …19/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEvelina S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Love IT ! Loads of space, clean toilets and showers! Very near town centre, very convenient! Definitely coming back again when in Bude !!!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing staff and very friendly would definitely come back again13/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGeorgia C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing it was perfect

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Only bonus, close to town07/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Toilet/shower not welcoming and no hot water.

    Felt this was over priced as stayed on a far superior site for £13.50 for the night.

From the manager...

Geddon Mr & Mrs Annonymous,

Thank you for visiting Efford Camping. We hope to see you again next time :)

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Simple pop-up campsite in an excellent location.06/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRowan C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a pop-up campsite. It's quiet, simple, friendly and so close to Bude town centre and beaches.

    Disliked: 

    Super slopey and could do with some cleaning supplies and spare loo roll to keep the toilets cleaner.

From the manager...

Geddon Rowan C!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are very pleased that you had nice time on our quiet, simple and friendly site.

Lots off love xx

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lots of space in the field to choose where to …06/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlicia K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lots of space in the field to choose where to put your tents up.
    Water taps and toilet/shower facilities were good with warm water in the showers.
    Really good location just a few minutes walk away from the beach and town.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets got a bit dirty at times but to be expected with only 4 loos and a big campsite!
    The campsite isn't very clearly marked - needs a bigger sign! We drove past it a few times before finding it.

From the manager...

Geddon Alicia!

Thank you for your review.

We are super pleased you had a nice time. It sounds like you have the right vibe for our relaxed campsite. We would love you to come and stay again.

loads of love xx

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great location, within walking distance to beach and centre of …06/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, within walking distance to beach and centre of Bude

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Geddon Anonymous!

Thank you for your simple review of our simple site x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: self check-in (unattended)

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

More frequent emptying of bins

Staggered showering times

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Pop-up campsite

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Vicarage Road, Bude, Cornwall, England, EX23 8LJ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.8262°N 4.5478°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
The Strand — 0.2 miles
Nelson Road — 20.0 miles
Bideford Quay — 20.0 miles
Train stations
Okehampton Rail Station — 25.0 miles
Gunnislake Rail Station — 25.8 miles
Chapelton (Devon) Rail Station — 26.4 miles
Ferry ports
Bideford Ferry Landing — 20.1 miles
Appledore Ferry Landing — 22.2 miles
Instow Ferry Landing — 22.3 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 33.0 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Around Bude, there are plenty of things to keep you busy. This pleasant resort has half a dozen different beaches to explore, with sandy spots, secluded coves, rockpools and the saltwater Bude Sea Pool to try out. Just out of town, you can escape the hustle and bustle at Widemouth Bay (five minutes' drive), or for a peaceful few hours of sport you could make a day of it at Bude and North Cornwall Golf Club (five minutes), where visitors are welcome.

The South West Coast Path (five minutes' walk from base) has ample hiking opportunities for serious walkers (and less serious ones who fancy a shorter jaunt to some of north Cornwall's less accessible beaches). Good public transport services run along much of the route, making it possible to loop back to base in Bude by bus rather than walking the long way home.

For families, this part of Cornwall has Tintagel Castle (35 minutes) with its connections to King Arthur; the village of Tintagel also has caves and a toy museum to keep the kids occupied. Alternatively, take them for a go on the rides, slides and flumes at Camel Creek Family Theme Park (50 minutes).

Must see

  • Tintagel Castle (14.3 miles)
  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (19.6 miles)
  • Rock Beach (25.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Tintagel Old Post Office (14.4 miles)
  • Lawrence House (15.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.

Efford Down Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 days of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Efford Down Campsite will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Efford Down Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Efford Down Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Efford Down Campsite? Around Bude, there are plenty of things to keep you busy. This pleasant resort has half a dozen different beaches to explore, with sandy spots, secluded coves, rockpools and the saltwater Bude … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Efford Down Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Efford Down Campsite? From £24 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact efford-down-campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Please pick any available pitch on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Coronavirus
Bookings must not consist of more than 4 different households.
Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Public areas are non-smoking.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.
If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

Anyone bringing a campervan must also have a small tent as well.

Close