Book and review 3,264 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Orchard Springs Campsite

9.8
View prices & book
From £12/€13.44/A$23.86/US$14.81/CA$21/CHF14.22/SEK148.94/DKK100.38/NOK154.91/ISK2,087/ARS953.45/CLP12,754/PEN50.89/NZ$24.55/ZAR266.11/PLN61.16/R$76.93/CZK366.98/RSD1,579/HUF4,823.93/RUB1,176.87/CN¥105.06 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Lots of room

General

  • A country escape 30 minutes’ walk from the centre of Bodmin
  • A 20-minute drive from the Eden Project; 35 mins from Truro
  • Individual luxury shower rooms; on-site shop and bakery

Cornwall may be famed for its savoury pasties, but you can expect an altogether sweeter treat when you stay at Orchard Springs Campsite. The two-acre site is on the outskirts of the town of Bodmin, but green fields and an orchard and stream give it a country escape feel.

The centre of Bodmin is less than two miles from Orchard Springs, and Bodmin Jail, Cornwall’s Regimental Museum, the Bodmin Town Museum and Bodmin’s Obelisk are all within 35 minutes’ walk of the site. Bodmin also has plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants where you can pick up souvenirs and supplies, scull some local brews or have a taste of Cornish cuisine.

If you’re not feeling up to the trip into Bodmin, an on-site shop in the reception hut has the basics you’ll need, as well as some Orchard Springs home-baked bread and pastries. A campers’ kitchen with microwave, fridge freezer and ice blocks is also available for guests’ use.

A toilet block built by local craftspeople rounds out facilities, with individual shower rooms giving you a little extra privacy during your stay.

Orchard Springs Campsite opened in 2018: its owners spent the 10 years before that running another successful site in the region.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.8

Overall rating based on 84 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  96% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Location peaceful yet near to Bodmin and well placed to ...03/10/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGeoff H.Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom static caravan (no pets)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location peaceful yet near to Bodmin and well placed to travel to north or south coast of Cornwall.
    Quality and cleanliness of the caravan

    Disliked: 

    Unable to contact proprietors when leaving.
    We left a phone message, thanking them for our enjoyable stay. We also reported a fault and potential hazard with the oven.
    Disappointingly we have not received an acknowledgment from them.

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review, I’m sorry you could not contact us when leaving, we were in, but I think you only telephoned my mobile number which doesn’t always get a signal, and you did not phone the home number which we would have answered as we were in. As far as a hazard is concerned you told us the oven door was not closing properly, it did not present a hazard but as soon as you made us aware we resolved the problem, unfortunately you only made us aware of this issue as you were leaving in you message on my mobile. Hope to see you again, best wishes, David and Emma

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice and quiet when we were there. Only a half ...10/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlex B.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and quiet when we were there. Only a half hour walk/10 minute cycle to Bodmin centre and the pubs. Excellent toilets and showers.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

our second visit to this campsite it is a very ...08/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPeter A.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    our second visit to this campsite it is a very nice site showers toilets immaculate condition nothing is to much trouble it was a bit quiet so was told we could pitch up were we liked. pitches are even and spacious nice quiet site not far to all the places we want to go and visit will definitely be back next year

    Disliked: 

    nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great site with good showers & toilets07/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site with good showers & toilets

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, good facilities and really well run03/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners were friendly and helpful, site was well managed with really nice facilities and always clean.

    The woodfired pizza cooked on site on the Friday evening was great.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Amazing site with great clean facilities02/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHayley M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great campsite. Showers lovely. Great toilets. Helpful owners with lovely fresh croissants

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Will definitely visit again!!02/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious pitches, clean and well sized facilities, lovely campers kitchen. Quiet and small site.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

David and Emma are wonderful hosts, will definitely be going back.01/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris P.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly family atmosphere.
    Clean, modern facilities.
    Good location, easy access to local attractions and shops.
    Freshly baked croissants, and Great Pizza!!

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site and great base for exploring Cornwall31/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKate R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small campsite with Large pitches with electric hook up, clean modern toilet/shower facilities and amazing wood fired pizzas!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great site - would stay there again. Good shower facilities.30/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities, friendly owners, well-maintained pitches, close to main roads for exploring Cornwall. Nice atmosphere, peaceful. Our pitch backed on to a little stream - lovely to hear at night. Relaxing stay.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Camping 2.0

Shepherd's huts

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Themes

Peaceful

Wildlife haven

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Kymsland, Blowinghouse Lane, Bodmin, Cornwall, England, PL30 5BN
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.4584°N 4.7420°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bodmin Coach Stop — 1.4 miles
Bodmin Parkway: Rail Station Bus Stop — 3.6 miles
Lostwithiel: Royal Talbot Coach Stop — 4.7 miles
Train stations
Bodmin Parkway Rail Station — 3.6 miles
Bugle Rail Station — 4.6 miles
Luxulyan Rail Station — 4.7 miles
Ferry ports
Fowey Custom House Quay Ferry Landing — 9.4 miles
Bodinnick Ferry Landing — 9.6 miles
Fowey Town Quay Ferry Landing — 9.8 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 11.6 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Fans of the BBC’s Poldark will recognise some of the place names in the area around Orchard Springs: the towns of Bodmin and Truro are close by, with Bodmin a short walk from the site and Truro a 35-minute drive. Poldark is synonymous with lingering shots of the Cornish moors, and tours can take you to some of the coves and mines that bring the show to life.

This area of Cornwall has a lot more to it than filming locations. The Eden Project, a 20-minute drive away, is a top spot to get up close with nature in the outdoor gardens and tropical and Mediterranean biomes or, if you’re feeling brave, have a go on England’s longest zipwire.

The Eden Project looks to the future, but if you’d prefer to dig around in the past there are plenty of historic sites close by. Get a feel for Victorian life at Lanhydrock House and Gardens, a 15-minute drive from Orchard Springs; a look at the Elizabethan era at Prideaux Place, 30 minutes away, or head back to Georgian times at Pencarrow, 10 minutes from the site.

If the zip wire at the Eden Project got you geared up for a more active break, you can cycle or walk the Camel Trail – which passes through Bodmin on its way towards the fishing port of Padstow on the northern Cornish coast – or take to the seas at one of the highly-rated surfing beaches nearby.

Must see

  • Eden Project (6.2 miles)
  • Cornwall's Crealy Great Adventure Park (8.5 miles)
  • Rock Beach (10.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps (12.7 miles)
  • Trerice (14.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Orchard Springs Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Orchard Springs Campsite will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £100.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Orchard Springs Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Orchard Springs Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Orchard Springs Campsite? Fans of the BBC’s Poldark will recognise some of the place names in the area around Orchard Springs: the towns of Bodmin and Truro are close by, with Bodmin a short walk ... Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Orchard Springs Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Orchard Springs Campsite? From £12 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Orchard Springs Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 8:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £100.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Close