Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Coxhill Camping

9.7
View prices & book
From £24/€28.20/A$42.62/US$30.23/CA$38.60/CHF29/SEK298.22/DKK209.78/NOK288.64/ISK3,895/ARS3,609.61/CLP24,921/PEN110.80/NZ$46.70/ZAR475.30/PLN129.72/R$143.65/CZK696.74/RSD3,313/HUF11,103.92/RUB1,838.50/CN¥203.69 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Coxhill Camping: The sign

General

  • Scenic site on a working farm on the edge of the Kent Downs
  • A 20-minute drive to Canterbury and 15 minutes to Dover
  • Dogs, campfires and barbecues welcome; walks straight from the site

Put down roots in a large wild meadow close to the edge of the Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty… encircled by countryside and an easy 15-minute drive from the south coast, Coxhill Camping is an excellent pick for folk looking to relax and kick back surrounded by wildlife and nature. In fact, there's a rather fine seven acres of woodland just next door, with direct access making it easy to explore.

This scenic spot is set on a working farm, and it’s totally friendly too: families, couples and solo travellers are all welcome. There’s plenty of space for you all, as the pitching area is in a spacious meadow space. It's a pick-your-own-pitch setup at Coxhill so feel free to choose the spot you most like the look of and get cosy.

Firepits are available to hire here (subject to availability – drop the site a line in advance if you'd like to reserve one), with log baskets and kindling for sale, so you should find ways of keeping toasty on cooler evenings.

As for other facilities, these include well-maintained flushing toilets, a cold water washing-up station, grey waste and chemical disposal points, and several taps with drinking water. The site is also within easy walking distance (under a mile) from the quiet village of Shepherdswell, where there is a local pub, a shop, a playground, a train station and the East Kent Railway and Café.

Handily, the village is a stop on the North Downs Way and about 15 minutes' drive from Dover, making this simple farm site a great stopover option for backpackers taking on the trail or folk heading to ferries at the port.

Please note

Minimum spacing of 6 metres between pitches.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

There is no reception on-site: on arrival please contact the number provided on your booking confirmation.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.7

Overall rating based on 47 reviews

 

98% would recommend this site to a friend.

98% would stay here again.

  90% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Great location, lovely walk to the village pub, toilets very …14/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, lovely walk to the village pub, toilets very new and clean, fire pits excellent, good washing up facilities, had a great time will definitely visit again! Very helpful owners who lent us a camping chair when ours broke, thank you again!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! And you're so welcome with the chair lend! Hope to see you again, Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean and tidy campsite. Thanks for a lovely stay.12/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLaura S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely clean loos, pretty surroundings

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for coming & your kind review! Hope to see you again this season, Mark & Emily

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very pleasant views11/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lots of space, good phone reception, nice and peaceful, toilets, washing up and chemical waste facilities. All round a good no frills campsite, would stay again

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review - we're very lucky with the surrounding countryside & views! Hope to see you again this summer. Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

If you want to get away from it all then consider this06/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBarbara V.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space as it was quiet but spacious. There were 4 proper toilets with washbasins and were gender specific. We didn’t need to use washing up facilities but did use the chemical station and drinking water tap. I really liked the signs indicating how to get to local shops and pubs. Great for walkers and taking your dogs.
    Liked the fire pit option.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your lovely review & coming to stay with us. Our site is a great choice for walkers with public footpaths direct from site - surrounded by beautiful countryside! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Well maintained pitches, very clean toilet facilities26/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMaria P.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We camped here over the August Bank holiday weekend. The grass pitches are well maintained and really thick, which was ideal for the tent and just walking around barefoot.
    There are two male and two female toilets which were kept immaculately clean and well-stocked with toilet paper, even over the busy bank holiday weekend.
    Washing up basins and water taps are also available, although the water pressure is reduced to a trickle at busy times.
    Mark and Emily worked very hard to keep everything clean and in order. We purchased a bucket of firewood and this was delivered to our tent.
    Dogs need to be kept on leads, but are allowed off-lead walks in the nearby woods and farmland.

    Disliked: 

    We had booked three nights over the bank holiday weekend. It got extremely busy and crowded. Unfortunately, a couple in a campervan put up camp mere yards from our tent and made a huge fire. The wind was blowing 20 miles an hour and blew smoke, ash and sparks all over our tent. Not wanting to cause a fuss, we tried to put up with this for several hours, but then went to have a quiet word with the couple, only to realise they had gone to bed, leaving the fire burning outside their campervan!
    Of course, inconsiderate campers are not the fault of Coxhill (yes, "Weekend Warrior" man, you were inconsiderate!), but the fact that it was quite full, contributed to the lack of space between pitches.
    Not wanting to risk losing our tent (or lives) to another night of smoke and sparks, we ended up leaving one night earlier than planned.

From the manager...

Thank you for leaving a review! At busier times last year we did find the water pressure to our sinks was unfortunately reduced. However to combat this, we’ve installed a freshwater tank to the site, so water pressure will no longer be an issue even at busier times!
We’re sad to hear you left a day earlier than planned, we really wish you’d aired the issues you had with your neighbour directly to us at the time. We would’ve been very happy to resolve these for you. As with most campsites, bank holiday weekends are some of our busiest. Although we were busy, we always choose to cap our bookings (even by half the amount of pitches we could accept) to make sure our campers have plenty of space to enjoy their break. We hope to welcome you back another time, Mark & Emily

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Clean toilets and washing up facilities. Friendliness of Emily and …13/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean toilets and washing up facilities.
    Friendliness of Emily and Mark the owners.
    Size of the site and the option to pitch anywhere.

    Disliked: 

    British weather!

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, we're so pleased you enjoyed our site! Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Certainly stay again wishing them all the best for their future plans.10/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was a new site and the toilet block was very clean due to this,the pot wash was also new and showers are planned for next year,it was relatively flat and a large ground where our pitches were big.There is a nice country walk across the fields to the village and the local pub nice to walk in good weather,but if you want to go further you will need your car.There is a big woodland area where the kids love to play,the intention is to put more thing's in it for the kids by next year but they seemed to enjoy it.
    We had a pleasant stay,there is a noise curfew for certain times as most camping places have but it is the people staying there that have to adhere to this!!!!

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately we pitched near the entrance to the woods which was a mistake as the children were constantly running in and out at all times of the day and night,there should be a time set to go in and out and then the parents should stick to it,I know it is camping but you need to have consideration to others,also for the safety of the kids.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review & coming to stay with us! Thanks for your comments on the woods. We welcome Campers to explore & enjoy the beauty of the woods - this season we will be asking guests not to enter the woods after 8pm, giving plenty of time to enjoy them through the day. Mark & Emily

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great location with a nice walk in the woods and …07/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhil M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location with a nice walk in the woods and across the fields to the local village. Proper toilet and washing facilities.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for leaving a kind review & booking with us! Were so pleased you had a nice stay. Hope to see you again this summer, Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The space, the hosts, the location07/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space, the hosts, the location

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for staying with us! Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Nice loos. Lovely walk to the village. Quiet respectful, friendly …06/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPeter S.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice loos. Lovely walk to the village. Quiet respectful, friendly vibe despite getting quite busy at the BH weekend.

    Disliked: 

    No showers and perhaps needs a couple of extra loos

From the manager...

Thanks for stopping with us on the Bank Holiday! We're glad you had a nice time. We plan to add extra toilets for this coming season. Mark & Emily

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Hand sanitising stations

Individual rooms in toilet/shower/basin facilities

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Large (51-200 pitches)

Pop-up campsite

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Cox Hill, Shepherdswell, Kent, England, CT15 7ND
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.1804°N 1.2199°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Old Park Barracks — 3.6 miles
Pencester Road — 5.4 miles
Bus Station — 7.2 miles
Train stations
Shepherds Well Rail Station — 0.7 miles
Snowdown Rail Station — 2.4 miles
Kearsney Rail Station — 3.1 miles
Ferry ports
Dover Eastern Docks Ferry Terminal — 6.0 miles
Dover Western Docks Ferry Terminal — 6.0 miles
Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal — 7.3 miles
Airports
Kent International Airport — 12.9 miles
Lydd London Ashford Airport — 20.0 miles

Directions


Take the Shepherdswell turning off the A2, straight onto Coxhill. The campsite is approximately half a mile down this road on the right-hand side. Look out for signposts.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Getting out into Kent is easy, beginning with a rather historical sort of trip from Shepherdswell station 10 minutes' walk away. This is a stop on the East Kent Railway, a heritage railway which will shuttle you through the Golgotha Tunnel and Kent countryside.

Of course, it’s likely you’ll want to see Dover Castle and the White Cliffs (15 minutes' drive), a very iconic Kent site. Margate (35 minutes) is another popular pit stop, and there are vintage rides at Dreamland there, or the buzzy beachfront. St Margarets Bay (15 minutes) is quieter, but just as splendid.

Those of you familiar with the Canterbury Tales or in fact, anyone wanting to do a bit of sightseeing, should head to Canterbury (20 minutes) too.

Other cool spots? Driving diggers at Diggerland Kent (45 minutes) is high up there. Wingham Wildlife Park (20 minutes) too, especially if you’re an animal fan. A once-favourite for smugglers, and now well-suited to those who like the smaller seaside resort vibes, is Deal (20 minutes).

Must see

  • Roman Painted House (5.5 miles)
  • Dover Castle (5.6 miles)
  • White Cliffs of Dover (6.1 miles)

National Trust

  • The White Cliffs of Dover (6.2 miles)
  • South Foreland Lighthouse (7.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Please contact the manager on the number provided when you arrive.

Coxhill Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 3 weeks of arrival date.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Coxhill Camping will debit the balance from your card 3 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 3 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Coxhill Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Coxhill Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Coxhill Camping? Getting out into Kent is easy, beginning with a rather historical sort of trip from Shepherdswell station 10 minutes' walk away. This is a stop on the East Kent Railway, a heritage … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Coxhill Camping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  11 a.m.

    Please contact the manager on the number provided when you arrive.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Coxhill Camping? From £24 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact coxhill-camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Coronavirus
Minimum spacing of 6 metres between pitches.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.
This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches
Please note, pup tents are to be used for storage purposes only. Guests may not use them for sleeping.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
There is no reception on-site: on arrival please contact the number provided on your booking confirmation.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.
Visitors must leave the premises by 8 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

There is no entry allowed in the woods after 8pm.

Close