Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Greenacres Campsite

8.9
View prices & book
From £10/€11.67/A$19.27/US$12.64/CA$17.04/CHF11.10/SEK130.78/DKK87.01/NOK132.38/ISK1,738/ARS10,594.55/CLP12,261/PEN47.74/NZ$20.41/ZAR239.10/PLN50.41/R$62.42/CZK295.47/RSD1,368/HUF4,520.70/RUB1,167.57/CN¥90.93 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Greenacres Campsite: View of the site (photo added by manager on 02/08/2023)

General

  • Peaceful Oxfordshire site with direct access to Shotover Country Park
  • Harcourt Arboretum 20 minutes’ drive; Blenheim Palace 35 minutes
  • Communal firepit and barbecue station; bus to Oxford a short walk away

Part of a working farm, Greenacres Campsite is a peaceful place surrounded by spectacular countryside. It has a remarkably secluded vibe, though position yourself in the right spot, and you might just be able to make out the occasional rooftop and the sails of 18th-century Wheatley Windmill (five minutes’ drive away). Not only that: as remote as it feels, Greenacres is only about half an hour from Oxford. (Useful tip: the number 46 bus to Oxford city centre stops a short walk from the site.)

The site has direct access to Shotover Country Park, a former royal hunting ground with a vast network of woodland hiking and mountain-biking trails leading to hilltop viewpoints looking out across south Oxfordshire. The park’s varied landscape (which includes heathland, marshes and hay meadows) is a riot of colour in season, with bluebells and wild orchids attracting butterflies and bees, plus songbirds and deer. The best part? Dogs are welcome – both at Shotover and at Greenacres.

If you feel sociable, the communal firepit area is a great spot to mingle with other guests, perhaps swapping cooking tips at the barbecue station; there might be more banter after dinner, at the washing-up area. (Other amenities include a toilet block and hot-water showers, plus recycling points.)

The nearest supermarket is about a mile away, in the village of Horspath (five minutes). If you’d rather someone else did the cooking, there are several pubs serving food within a five-minute drive (or a 20-minute walk).

AA Holiday Centre

Please note

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 14 reviews

 

86% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

A good, well cared for site. Well located for Oxford.17/02/2024

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    very friendly and helpful worker. Beautiful views.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

friendly and helpful staff member Very clean toilets and showers …16/02/2024

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid G.Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    friendly and helpful staff member
    Very clean toilets and showers - well maintained
    coded and secure entry gate
    easy access to elec power supply and chemical dump
    short walk to 46 bus stop to go into Oxford town centre

    Disliked: 

    Sandy Lane access road
    No hard standing pitches - could get stuck on grass pitches in wet weather
    No playground for children

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

- The view - Friendly staff26/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - The view
    - Friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    - Lack of signage leading in
    - Massively potholed entrance
    - Ground uneven
    - Somewhat of a delay being greeted on arrival

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great little site, basic facilities but a very friendly welcome.19/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great little site, basic facilities but a very friendly welcome.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent site12/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a lovely time at Greenacres Campsite Campsite over the weekend with our young boys and dog.

    The site is easy-going with good amenities and set against a beautiful country backdrop.

    Special mention should be made for Peter who was clearly concerned to ensure that everything was just right and remained friendly and informative throughout our stay.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Pretty site. Plumbed in toilets despite looking like portaloos. Adequate …09/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pretty site.
    Plumbed in toilets despite looking like portaloos.
    Adequate facilities
    Very close to Oxford yet felt right in the country

    Disliked: 

    Awful track up to site. So potholed and rutted.
    Masses of space yet put us very close together

From the manager...

Hi . I am sorry that you felt you were very close together , the pitch you had was roomy , I was onsite all weekend and if there was any issues reported to me I could have dealt with them

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful views, spacious level pitch, clean toilets04/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful views, spacious level pitch, clean toilets

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Really lovely little campsite with amazing views of the countryside. …07/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really lovely little campsite with amazing views of the countryside. Very friendly and helpful staff on hand. Particularly liked that the number of pitches was limited so that tents were well spaced out and it was quiet.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site with an excellent position for exploring the area. …31/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site with an excellent position for exploring the area. Peter was great, friendly and approachable (kids liked him to). Large communal fire pit or smaller fire pits to borrow were available to. Facilities were different to the usual, but were great and cleaned regularly. Plenty of space for the kids to play and explore to.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Cosy bell tent- so nice!31/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristie L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was conveniently located for Oxford and the surrounding area, so convenient that we could even get food deliveries to the camp! Even with the convenience of access, it was really peaceful, quiet and friendly. Each night we heard the deer calling- beautiful. It's also very well managed and maintained, the site manager is really helpful and personable.
    The Belle we stayed in was so lovely: the stove especially made it so cosy and comfortable- whatever the weather.
    The site is really dog friendly but respectfully so; there are beautiful walks nearby and on site.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Themes

Forest

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Motorhome service point

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Sandy Lane, Horspath, Oxfordshire, England, OX33 1TF
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.7429°N 1.1603°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Thornhill Park and Ride — 1.6 miles
Thornhill Park and Ride — 1.7 miles
Headington Shops — 2.4 miles
Train stations
Oxford Rail Station — 4.8 miles
Radley Rail Station — 5.2 miles
Oxford Parkway Rail Station — 6.5 miles
Ferry ports
Shepperton Ferry Landing — 39.2 miles
Airports
London Oxford Airport — 9.0 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Part of the University of Oxford, Harcourt Arboretum (20 minutes’ drive) started life in the 1830s as a pinetum, but it has since grown to include California redwoods, maples and magnolias, among other plants. Seasonal spectacles include wildflower meadows and an area of woodland carpeted with bluebells.

The exhibits at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford (half an hour) range from Egyptian mummies to a samurai suit of armour, as well as paintings by Renaissance and Impressionist artists. While in the university city, you might also want to check out the ornate ceiling of the Divinity School and the elegant Radcliffe Camera, with its circular reading room, both part of the Bodleian Library.

The birthplace of Winston Churchill, Blenheim Palace (35 minutes) is a vast 18th-century mansion on the banks of the River Glyme. After admiring its richly decorated rooms hung with portraits, head outside to explore its grounds, which include formal gardens, follies and water features.

Must see

  • University of Oxford Botanic Garden (3.8 miles)
  • Christ Church Cathedral (4.2 miles)
  • Modern Art Oxford (4.2 miles)

National Trust

  • Boarstall Duck Decoy (6.3 miles)
  • Boarstall Tower (6.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Greenacres Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Modifications are subject to a £15.00 fee.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Greenacres Campsite will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Apple Pay
Cash
Google Pay
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Greenacres Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Greenacres Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Greenacres Campsite? Part of the University of Oxford, Harcourt Arboretum (20 minutes’ drive) started life in the 1830s as a pinetum, but it has since grown to include California redwoods, maples and magnolias, among … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Greenacres Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Greenacres Campsite? From £10 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact greenacres_campsite_


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Dogs

General

Safety

Visitors

Close