Book 5,344 campground, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout Australia, Europe, the UK and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Hop Farm

8.7
View prices & book
From £22.50/€26.58/A$39.79/US$28.10/CA$36.08/CHF27.37/SEK279.34/DKK197.82/NOK273.86/ISK3,690/ARS3,328.16/CLP23,505/PEN104.60/$43.93/ZAR446.74/PLN123.15/R$137.17/CZK653.85/RSD3,125/HUF10,208.45/RUB1,742.15/CN¥188.07 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

The Hop Farm: Looking across part of the hardstanding area and some of the grass optional electric pitches

General

  • Next door to popular family attraction The Hop Farm family park
  • Five minutes' drive from Paddock Wood station and trains to London
  • Access to the River Medway for canoeing and fishing

The Hop Farm is a huge camping and touring park in 500 acres of open fields and woodland, next door to popular family attraction the Hop Farm Family Park.

The River Medway flows through the park – so arrive by canoe if you like, or stick around on site for fishing and kayaking. The farm also has the Oast Village, the biggest collection of oast (old hop kilning) houses in the world.

Facilities include a modern shower and toilet block. Local shops and amenities are five minutes away.

Please note

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the campground while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Units longer than 10 metres are not allowed.

Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

A cable measuring at least 5 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the campground/park are unlit.

Groups where half or more members are aged between 17-25 are not accepted via Pitchup.com.

Throughout the year large events take place and the site is open to the public.

Shower/toilet facilities are currently available but limited due to current social distancing rules

Guests get 50% off the entry fee to the Hop Farm Family Park & Animal Farm.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.7

Overall rating based on 1180 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

  64% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Good facilities, pain to keep entering a code to go to the loo!!!05/25/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKarl P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peace

    Disliked: 

    Staff rude.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We will be back. Thank you.05/24/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered concrete and grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy to find on a main road.
    Very friendly greeting at reception by Sue.
    Great facilities including separate ladies and gents toilet & shower blocks, Hard standing and grass, electric and water hookup pitches available.
    Pub & fish and chip bar a short stroll away.
    There was a wedding at the Hop Farm on the Saturday but you are far enough away to not hear it.
    Saturday and Sunday there was a boot fair in the field opposite (not sure if this is every week)
    Venture across the camping fields and through the woods and you end up on a lovely walk along the River Medway. Head towards East Peckham and you will find www.paddlecabin.co.uk for a spot of canoeing or a cafe. Also there a Co-op a bit further along if you need anything
    We went on a quiet weekend and ended up having the field to ourselves on the Sunday evening.
    All in all a good experience for our second trip out in our new motorhome.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing, it was just perfect for us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wonderful site with clean facilities, lovely staff and great pitches05/23/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJane B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered concrete and grass caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location, the staff, the facilities and the grounds themselves were beautiful

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great site, basic facilities but all very clean and tidy05/23/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and easy booking system with friendly staff on check in.
    We stayed on the basic non-electric tent pitches as we were a large group there for a weekend of paddle boarding. Great site, situated directly on the river. Toilet/shower block clean and tidy, washing up facilities and toilets all together for convenience. Lovely quiet, basic camping - exactly what we wanted.

    Disliked: 

    My only complaint would be that there were no hooks or anywhere to place belongings/clothing/towels etc in the shower cubicles - other than that minor issue, we had a fantastic time and loved the campsite

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very clean facilities cleaned daily and very friendly staff05/23/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNatasha T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean! Amenities close by. 50% off hop farm! Kids had fun

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, perfect location and clean facilities.05/23/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We stayed at The Hop Farm for one night and loved every minute of it! It was very quiet and the field we stayed in was empty but this was more than likely due to time of year. The site was clean and well kept. The site sits on the River Medway which was perfect for paddle boarding. The shower block and toilets were clean and easily accessible.

    Disliked: 

    Due to the time of year not all the toilets are open so if you’re in a field towards the back you have to walk quite a way.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Disappointing05/19/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good for visiting the area.

    Disliked: 

    Lots.

From the manager...

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As you did not contact us at all whilst you were here with any issues I can only presume that this is not the sort of camping for you, perhaps too quiet with no facilities i.e. club house, swimming pool etc...

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly reception, lovely pitch with electricity and water. Lovely walks …05/19/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly reception, lovely pitch with electricity and water. Lovely walks too and along the river.

    Disliked: 

    Although we had the code for the shower/toilets that operated the security latch they had all been deadlocked on a key, fortunately our motorhome is well equipped, glad we weren't camping though. Also no sink plugs for the dish washing facilities, I had to treck back and get my own.

From the manager...

Thank you for staying and your review.
Apologies for the miscommunication regarding the shower and toilet block, we only had the brick block open whilst you were staying.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Facilities clean and staff helpful and friendly, I will be returning05/17/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space, helpful staff , relaxed atmosphere,

    Disliked: 

    No where to hang stuff in the shower so everything gets wet on the floor, simple addition that would make so much difference.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments and that you will visit again.
The cubicles are not compatible with having permanent hooks, as seen by the patch work in a couple of them where they did not stay in place. My solution so far has been to purchase over the door hooks available for 50p in the Touring office/shop, not ideal but better than having to use the floor.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lots of space to pitch up, very peaceful, great location, …05/16/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKate C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lots of space to pitch up, very peaceful, great location, clean facilities.

    Disliked: 

    The shower cubicles are too small, there isn’t anywhere to hang your towels or clothes and anything you take in with you will get wet.
    We come here for paddle boarding as it is a great location however it would be great if the site could invest in a small jetty to make launching easier. Unfortunately each time we have been someone has damaged their boards getting in or out at this location.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, do feel free to give any suggestions when staying. As I do not have time to walk all of the paths on a regular basis to see what needs attention or improving it would be great to have ideas, comments and suggestions brought to my notice when discovered by guests.
Even though the shower cubicles are a standard size they do feel a little on the small size. I have some over the door hooks in the Touring reception/shop for 50p each to hang clothes/towels on and then you can take them home for future use.
There are a couple of launch sites which are in the process of being cleared up and will look at other options.
See you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: one group at a time

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundry

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump point

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Type

Farm

Very large (over 200 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Caravan storage facilities

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This campground/park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Maidstone Road, Paddock Wood, Tonbridge, Kent, England, TN12 6PY
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.1998°N 0.3933°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Victoria Hall — 10.5 kilometres
Victoria Hall — 10.5 kilometres
The Chequers — 11.0 kilometres
Train stations
Beltring Rail Station — 0.9 kilometres
Paddock Wood Rail Station — 2.0 kilometres
Yalding Rail Station — 3.2 kilometres
Ferry ports
Gravesend Pier — 27.4 kilometres
Tilbury Ferry Terminal — 28.0 kilometres
Woolwich Arsenal Pier — 39.8 kilometres
Airports
Biggin Hill Airport — 29.1 kilometres
London Gatwick Airport — 39.2 kilometres
London Gatwick Airport South Terminal — 39.3 kilometres

Directions


Follow the brown tourist signs from junction 4 of the M20 or junction 5 of the M25 onto the A21 south then onto A228 towards east Peckham. Go through a cross roads with traffic lights, over one roundabout and The Hop Farm is the first exit off the next roundabout. You will spot the iconic Kentish oasts as the family park comes in to view.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Once the kids let you off site, Garden of England Kent has beaches, historic towns, forests and more castles, stately homes (and gardens) open to the public than anywhere else in the country. If this isn't enough, Paddock Wood railway station is five minutes’ drive from The Hop Farm for a train to London, less than an hour away. Dover is within 60 miles for a day trip to France.

Kent has 350 miles of coastline, with Blue Flag beaches, watersports and those famous white cliffs at Dover. Eight of the 11 Blue Flaggers are in Ramsgate, Margate and Broadstairs; Whitstable and Herne Bay are also popular with oyster eaters, anglers and jetskiers.

There are umpteen options for families in the area including play centres, farms, horse riding and days out. Howletts Wild Animal Park at Canterbury has the biggest group of looked-after gorillas in the world and experiences for visitors such as junior ranger days. Penshurst Place and Gardens has historical re-enactments, children’s trails, an adventure playground and special events during the school holidays.

Both Leeds Castle at Maidstone and Hever Castle near Edenbridge are family-friendly and packed with activities and events. There’s a Go Ape! at Leeds Castle as well as two mazes, boat trips, falconry displays, underground grotto and the Knights' Realm Playground, a scale model of the castle (and a golf course and golf instruction for the grownups). Hever, the childhood home of Anne Boleyn, has a yew maze and water maze, award-winning gardens and a topiary.

Back with the big folk, the old market towns of Tonbridge, Maidstone, Sevenoaks and Tonbridge Wells are close by for shopping and sightseeing. Bluewater shopping centre is in Greenhithe (rival Lakewater is just over the Essex border at West Thurrock).

Must see

  • Ightham Mote (10.8 kilometres)
  • Scotney Castle (11.9 kilometres)
  • Bedgebury National Pinetum & Forest (14.8 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Sprivers Garden (7.9 kilometres)
  • Old Soar Manor (8.4 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and caravan
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

The Hop Farm cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

31 or more days before arrival : a £10 campsite administration fee applies.

30 days or less before arrival : the site may be able to postpone your stay subject to dates.

The campground/park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Hop Farm will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

  • Does The Hop Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Hop Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near The Hop Farm? Once the kids let you off site, Garden of England Kent has beaches, historic towns, forests and more castles, stately homes (and gardens) open to the public than anywhere else in the … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Hop Farm?
    Camping and caravan
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Hop Farm? From $43.93 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-hop-farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Pitches
A cable measuring at least 5 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Drones, model aircraft, trucks, fireworks, open fires, cutting down or damaging trees, quads, go-peds, go-karts or other non-road legal forms of transport are not permitted.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Safety
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the campground/park are unlit.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.
Please do not touch or feed the animals.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is closed from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.. No arrivals are permitted between these times.
Reception is open from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. and from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. between 15/03 and 31/10.
Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the campground while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

General
The campground/park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This campground/park Does have a catch-and-return fishing policy in place.

Vehicles
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Vehicles
Units longer than 10 metres are not allowed.

Pitches
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.

Visitors
Visitors are not permitted on site.

General
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Dogs
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Additional terms

Groups where half or more members are aged between 17-25 are not accepted via Pitchup.com.

If you wish to make an alteration to your booking the Hop Farm will use reasonable endeavours to accommodate your request but no guarantee can be given.

Please note throughout the year large events take place and the site is open to the public.

Shower/toilet facilities are currently available but limited due to current social distancing rules

Guests are asked to keep noise levels to a minimum including music.

Close