Book and review 3,285 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Riverbend Caravan Park

9.4
View prices & book
From £17/€18.90/A$31.48/US$20.99/CA$28.91/CHF20.18/SEK198.32/DKK141.01/NOK204/ISK2,855/ARS1,436.55/CLP16,772/PEN72.02/NZ$33.84/ZAR368.42/PLN84.08/R$111.99/CZK508.80/RSD2,223/HUF6,550.51/RUB1,472.58/CN¥149.82 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Herons, dippers, otters and kingfishers can be seen on the river banks and fishing is allowed

General

  • Peaceful park with river fishing and access to Glyndwr Way footpath
  • Half an hour from Powis Castle and 50 minutes from Barmouth beach
  • Within an hour's drive of Snowdonia National Park and Shropshire Hills

A river runs through it… That’s the title of a 1994 film starring Brad Pitt, and it’s also one of the many fab things about Riverbend Caravan Park in Powys.

The Banwy, a shallow tributary of the Severn, flows through this peaceful Welsh park just outside the village of Llangadfan. You may not spot Brad Pitt on the riverbanks, but there are far better odds of encountering kingfishers and otters, and of catching grayling, brown trout or salmon… just bring along your fishing rod.

Smaller visitors can splash about in the stream and play Pooh Sticks from the nearby stone bridge; there’s also a playground for them to hurtle around on site, and another one in the garden of the pub a minute’s walk away. If you’re all up for long walks, the 135-mile Glyndwr’s Way passes by the village and links up with the even more mammoth Offa’s Dyke Path in Welshpool, half an hour’s drive away.

Back at base, the facilities are clean and well-maintained, with heated towel rails in the washrooms. Dogs are welcome at Riverbend Caravan Park, and also in the pub, which serves hot food and local ales.

This site is a member of Hillandale Caravans group.

Please note

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

There is no charge for fishing but holidaymakers are required to bring their rod licence and own equipment.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 35 reviews

 

94% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

  93% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Excellent site, lovely location, will definitely go back17/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKathryn N.Confirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A wonderful site, spotlessly clean, peaceful with just the sound of the river and birds (the main road is nearby but never heard it), and very friendly, helpful management and neighbours. Very well located with short distances to many places of interest. Excellent cafe opposite side of the main road for breakfast.

    Disliked: 

    Not a thing....

From the manager...

Thank you so very much for your lovely review, please come and stay again, we really enjoyed your visit with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, with the best facilities I have ever experience.15/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelena R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely, friendly welcome. The site was very well maintained and the toilet block was amazing! The camp had a real home from home feel with a beautiful surrounding.

    Disliked: 

    N/A

From the manager...

Hi Helena,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wonderful facilities09/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichael N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you Mr Noonan for a kind review, we hope to see you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Shower block was outstanding. Like being in a hotel. Very …07/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Shower block was outstanding. Like being in a hotel. Very pretty by the river.

    Disliked: 

    Very noisy by a main A road. Woken by lorries in the middle of the night.
    Had to move pitch as our 15m cable wouldn't reach the power point. We were the only ones there on the touring pitches so it wasn't a problem.
    If more people were there the pitches would be very close together.
    The pitch was not very level in a dip in the ground and tended to be muddy. It was also under a lot of trees which made it very dark.
    From 8am in the morning a diesel forklift was clearing an area of the site and was driving backwards and forwards within a few feet of our pitch. Not what you want when you want a lie in on holiday. This was very inconsiderate of the site owners.
    We will not be going there again.

From the manager...

Thank you for leaving us a review, i am happy that you found our washrooms outstanding, we are very proud of the award we have recently won regarding them. I am sorry you were disturbed during the day, i wish you had come to me , we would have done everything in our power to have made it a better stay for you. I did explain when you rang that we were at the end of a building project and that Plant would be taking tools back and fore, you did say you wouldn't be here throughout the day as you planned to tour. The pitch you got was the one you actually wanted, i gave you a choice as your power lead was quite short. The pitch you chose was not under a tree and it was very light as the weather was lovely. Had any of these issues been brought to my attention i would have been only too happy to have sorted them out for you, as it was, we didn't see much of you as you were out most of the day. Please feel free to return to Riverbend.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Clean, well maintained site02/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean, well maintained site

    Disliked: 

    Requested a riverside pitch, was very busy so not completely deviated that we didn't manage to get one

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we have never advertised riverside pitches so we are unsure where you got the information from . We are happy to know that you will return and that you found our Award winning park clean and well maintained.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Spotless facilities and a very friendly & welcoming site27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The facilities were amazing. The best and cleanest we’ve stayed at. Everyone was so friendly and the warm welcome we got when we arrived set the mood for a wonderful sunny bank holiday weekend. Thank you for a lovely weekend in our “Barney Bus”. The puppies loved it to

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you so very much for your lovely review, we enjoyed your company and look forward to your return.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

It was a perfect location for a long weekend27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent location and facilities

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

We were told that we could not have a gazebo yet there were 3 on site26/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilet facilities - very clean and modern, friendly owner, stream on site and the peacefullness, nice little park

    Disliked: 

    Double standards, noise late at night/early morning, noise by the bank holiday tourers, not enough parking spaces, not being able to control the temperature of the showers.

From the manager...

Hi and thank you for leaving a review, Thank you for mentioning that our park was peaceful, its what bring s a lot of people here . We are unaware of any noise that you encountered, had you come to see us we could have dealt with it straight away but you failed to mention it. The Gazebos you saw were actually Seasonal awnings and they are permitted. The parking spaces were ample around the touring field, however they are not designated to a customer in particular so I'm sorry you couldn't park right by your pitch but after your phone call to us asking where to park i found several no more than a 1 minute walk from your tent. The showers are an awkward one to manage as when we turn them down (customers say too cold) when we turn them up (their too warm) so we have set them in the middle and everybody seems happy with them. You were here a week and seemed very happy even when i gave your daughter cupcakes for her birthday. I am sorry that you didn't come and see us with your concerns.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fantastic site. Manager was very helpful and customer service was fab25/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomchris k.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location. Site was amazing. River. Facilities were luxury.

    Disliked: 

    Spiders. Everywhere spiders. Didn’t bother me but bothered the ladies on the group.

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, please visit us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Pitch,showerblock excellent. Down to waste area with sanitiser.13/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhilip S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitch,showerblock excellent. Down to waste area with sanitiser.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Llangadfan, Welshpool, Powys, Wales, SY21 0PP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.6848°N 3.4644°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Newtown (Powys): Bus Station Back Lane — 13.3 miles
Welshpool: Smithfield Car Park Coach Stop — 13.5 miles
Garthmyl (Powys): Coach Stop — 13.5 miles
Train stations
Caersws Rail Station — 11.7 miles
Newtown (Powys) Rail Station — 13.6 miles
Welshpool Rail Station — 13.8 miles
Ferry ports
Porth Penrhyn Ferry Landing — 24.6 miles
Barmouth Ferry Landing — 24.8 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 51.8 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

One very fine way to visit Welshpool involves steaming in courtesy of the Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, from Llanfair Caereinion (15 minutes’ drive). Once in town, you can continue the historical theme with wanders round the Powysland Museum and tours of Powis Castle, a medieval fortress housing the treasures Robert Clive brought back from India; both are half an hour by car.

Treasures of different kind surround Gregynog Hall, also half an hour away: 750 acres of estate include Grade I-listed formal gardens and a nature reserve of ancient oak woodlands where you might see hares, wood warblers and horseshoe bats.

Mazes, myths, mine descents and craft workshops are on the menu at King Arthur’s Labyrinth in Corris, 45 minutes away, along with transport nostalgia at the steam railway museum.

If it’s a vintage seaside experience you’re seeking, beetle over to Barmouth (50 minutes) for wide sands, safe seas, donkey rides and candy floss, or for something stranger, make the hour and 10-minute trip to Portmeirion, a fantasy Italian fishing village with a scifi past.

Depending on which way you point yourself, an hour’s car journey can take you hiking round Lake Bala and rafting upon it, or rambling the high ridges of the Stiperstones National Nature Reserve in the Shropshire Hills.

Must see

  • Powis Castle & Garden (13.0 miles)
  • MOMA Wales - Y Tabernacl (17.6 miles)
  • Rheilffordd Talyllyn Railway (27.2 miles)

National Trust

  • Chirk Castle (23.3 miles)
  • Carding Mill Valley and the Shropshire Hills (28.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Please call the park on arrival and wait to be shown your unit/pitch.

Riverbend Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Riverbend Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Riverbend Caravan Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Riverbend Caravan Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Riverbend Caravan Park? One very fine way to visit Welshpool involves steaming in courtesy of the Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, from Llanfair Caereinion (15 minutes’ drive). Once in town, you can continue the historical … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Riverbend Caravan Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.

    Please call the park on arrival and wait to be shown your unit/pitch.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Riverbend Caravan Park? From £17 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Riverbend Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

There is no charge for fishing but holidaymakers are required to bring their rod licence and own equipment.

Close