Braidhaugh Holiday Park

View prices & book 8.8 101 reviews
XL Hideout (added by manager 16 Nov 2020)
One of the pods (added by manager 16 sep 2020)
Xl hideout (added by manager 16 nov 2020)
Xl hideout with hot tub (added by manager 16 nov 2020)

  • Touring park with river and mountain views
  • Fish for salmon and trout on a private stretch of the river
  • Heated amenities block with free hot showers
Might you want a stay in a riverbank location in pretty Perthshire, with striking mountain views and a scenic section of bank from which to cast off for salmon and trout? Go on, you’ve Earned it. Find this – and a fair bit more – at Braidhaugh Holiday Park on the banks of the River Earn, 10 minutes’ walk from Perthshire’s market town of Crieff and listed as a spectacular scenery site for its mountain and river views. You can pick up a permit at reception to fish on Braidhaugh’s own part of the Earn, or use the park as a base for touring Perthshire and other top Scottish sites. Gentle canters on horseback or foot are nearby too: walks of all levels are all around the Crieff area and horse riding is available at Braidhaugh’s sister site in the area, Loch Tay Highland Lodges. Facilities on site include a heated and clean amenities block with free power showers, toilets, a wash area, shaver points and hairdryers. Facilities for disabled guests are in the main shower block. Clothes can be washed, dried and pristinely pressed in the launderette (get the other half to do it, you’re on holiday), and the games room with table football, dartboard, air hockey and TV should keep the kids occupied on rainy days. Top up essentials and toiletries at the onsite shop, or head into Crieff for more substantial supplies, restaurants, pubs and hotels.

Site type

Touring caravan pitches 8
Motorhome pitches 7
Lodges, cabins, pods or huts 14
Open all year

Tourist board rating

Please note
  • Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.
  • The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
  • Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
  • Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
  • Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.
  • Tents are not accepted at this park.

Languages spoken

English

Pitch types & availability

Reviews

86%

would recommend this site to a friend

80%

would stay here again

  • 61%
    10
  • 0%
    9
  • 23%
    8
  • 0%
    7
  • 10%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 0%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 3%
    2
  • 0%
    1

Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Bad communication, rude management

Overall 2/10
Location 2
Value for money 2
Accommodation No rating
Facilities / Activities No rating
Customer service 2
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness No rating
Wifi No rating
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch (hot tub)

Liked: Nothing, except for receiving a refund.

Disliked: One and only site in the whole of Scotland that doesn’t consider rooftop tents as motorhomes (despite the law does). Wasted a whole day driving and £100+ on gas on getting there as their apparently automated booking system kept sending us very reassuring confirmations. We left a clear note on our pitchup booking that we are coming by rooftop tent. We didn’t even receive an apology or explanation from the owner to our repeated question why they don’t accept rooftop tents while there are vans with their tents set up out on top. Reception staff gave us a key to drive up to our pitch and go find the owner who was “too busy” to walk up the (literally) 10 steps to the reception. The pitch was the smallest we have ever seen during our entire holiday and located right next to the restrooms. After driving in and out, we still received the same flat rude and non-explanatory answer “we don’t do tents, it says that on our website”. We had to find a different place very late in the day. Never again!

Recommend to friends Visit again

My favourite site out of three of them during my trip though.

Overall 8/10
Location 10
Value for money 8
Accommodation 8
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Louise F. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch (hot tub)

Liked: How quiet it was. How clean the toilets and showers were. The staff. The hot tub.

Disliked: The C buttons didn’t always work on the locking mechanism on doors. No grey water disposal. No food available onsite. Couldn’t get the wifi network.

Recommend to friends Visit again

Rude and not worth the money!

Overall 2/10
Location 10
Value for money 2
Accommodation 4
Facilities / Activities 4
Customer service 2
Child friendliness 2
Cleanliness 4
Wifi 2
kelly r. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: The toilet and shower area is clean. It was a peaceful night. Electric hook up good.

Disliked: I had a very unwelcoming greeting. I arrived at 6.30pm, the emails that I had received from pitch up said that arrivals were between 1pm and 8pm. There was a guy around reception and when I pulled up he just stared at me making me feel uncomfortable. I said hi and explained that I had a pitch and he just stared at me. He was were rude and seems very argumentative and when I asked for help he seemed a little sarcastic and rude. When I retrieved my key for the gate he was still watching me, made me feel like an imposter! I asked if he was staff and he said he was the manager. I thought he was very unprofessional and very rude. I later found out he was the maintenance manager, still no need to be rude. I tried to forget about it though! I had paid £52 for one night stay, I just wanted a peaceful night's sleep. I own a micro camper van. When I then parked into my pitch, a gentlemen in a caravan opposite me started shouting questions at me. 'do you have a tent? Are you sleeping in your car? You can't sleep in your car here' omg! I didn't know what I had driven into! Again no introduction to who this random fella was. I asked did he work here and he said he was the site warden. He then continued to ask me questions and asking multiple times if I was staying in a tent even though I said no and I had the door open to my microcamper so he could see my bed in the back. I have been travelling around Scotland for nearly 2 weeks now and this is the most unwelcoming and intimidating arrival I have had. And to have paid £52 what is a lot more than other campsites. I am a young solo female traveller and for anyone, this kind of welcome is not what you want on you holidays and paying £52 for one night! I was so shook up by this and shaking, even crying to my mum and dad on the phone about this experience and felt that I didn't get anything back from them. I got a sorry and I'm just doing my job. I asked for a refund and got told no one was trained on how to give refunds. I was told have a beer and relax. The site warden had called their manager and got confirmation I could stay. Especially when someone is paying £52 for one night, in a small van and not going to use a lot of electricity. The site was also empty! If this is an occuring problem the site needs to sort it out with the booking forums and even maybe send an email to booked guests or even phoning the guests to ensure they are following the site rules and regulations on who can stay here. And this can be done! so many other sites have contacted me with more welcoming information. for this site i didn't receive anything else apart from the information from pitch up. Would not recommend. I think it's for more luxurious stay, even though you are getting a standard hard standing pitch with electricity. Bathrooms are very standard too and I couldn't find the waste bins, and didn't feel comfortable to ask or even go looking further around the site for them. Not worth the money. Oh and no WiFi. Omg why did I stay here! Don't do the same mistake as me!

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Good morning Kelly I am so sorry about the issues you had faced during your stay. We are currently looking in to this matter, and we will make direct contact back once we have reviewed this issue. Kindest regards, Joe.

Will not use again.

Overall 6/10
Location 10
Value for money 6
Accommodation No rating
Facilities / Activities 6
Customer service 8
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 2
Neal H. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Proximity to Crieff. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Small toilet and shower cubicles. Petty rules that mean you can’t use a standalone awning, put up a windbreak or use a rotary dryer or washing line. Shop and cafe that was closed on the day we needed it for “staff training “.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Good morning Neal Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the issues during your stay such as not being able to use the awning, and the fact that the shop was closed as well. Kind regards, Joe.

lovely site, showers were great ,very clean toilets and great pitch…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 8
sheila s. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: lovely site, showers were great ,very clean toilets and great pitch

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Sheila Many thanks for your kind feedback, and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon, Joe.

Lovely well situated site on the river

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 8
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 10
Sam M. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Lovely site next to the river and well kept. Good pitch, clean toilets. Lovely setting.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi there Sam Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again, Joe

Nice site, clean. Good value…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 8
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Nice site, clean. Good value

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi there, thank you for your kind review, hope to see you soon in the near future. Kind Regards Carole.

Sehr schön sauber - gemütlich und top organisiert ! Jederzeit wieder…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 10
Customer service 10
Child friendliness 10
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 6
Tanja S. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Sehr schön sauber - gemütlich und top organisiert ! Jederzeit wieder

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi there - thank you for your kind feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Joe.

Handy for Crieff

Overall 6/10
Location No rating
Value for money No rating
Accommodation No rating
Facilities / Activities No rating
Customer service No rating
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness No rating
Wifi No rating
Anonymous The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch

Liked: Nice shower block, near town.

Disliked: Pitches close together. Over priced.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi there - Many thanks for your feedback, and hopefully we will see you again soon. Joe.

Friendly helpful staff, great pitch and facilities…

Overall 10/10
Location 10
Value for money 10
Accommodation 10
Facilities / Activities 8
Customer service 10
Child friendliness No rating
Cleanliness 10
Wifi 8
Neil S. The reviewer booked through Pitchup.com

Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch (hot tub)

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, great pitch and facilities

Disliked: Nothing

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Neil S Many thanks for your kind feedback. Hope to see you again soon, Joe.


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available Car parking by pitch/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities Chemical disposal Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Nearby farmers' market Public transport nearby Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Accessibility

Disabled facilities

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Leisure/theme park nearby Mountain biking nearby Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

Braidhaugh Holiday Park

South Bridgend

Crieff

Perthshire

Scotland

PH7 4DH

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)

GPS

56.36613°N
-3.85298°W

Nearest transport

Coach
7.7 mi Gleneagles Station Road End
15.1 mi Royal Hotel
15.5 mi Northbound Bus Bay
Rail
7.9 mi Gleneagles Rail Station
13.2 mi Dunblane Rail Station
15 mi Bridge of Allan Rail Station
Ferry
20.6 mi Kinross Ferry Landing
21.1 mi Lochleven Castle Ferry Landing
28.6 mi Rosyth Ferry Terminal

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Ah, Perthshire…you could spend weeks here and still have to go back for more. More fishing, great golfing, red squirrels, country parks and historical highlights including Scotland’s oldest library and Iron Age hill forts – all here, along with the essentials of whisky trailing and big city shopping. Nearby Crieff was a wild-west style cattle rustling town in times of yore; it’s tamer these days but thrillseekers can check out the Crieff Hydro Outdoor Activity Centre to whirl around an aerial adventure course on tightropes, ziplines and cargo nets, or get sporty at some of the dozens of indoor and outdoor pursuits here including golf, riding, swimming and football. The centre has a reputation for being particularly sprog-friendly, as does the popular MacRosty Park: there’s a good-sized children’s playground here for all ages, beside a café for tired parents. From MacRosty, set off along the River Earn to see the trees on Lady Mary’s Walk, one of Perthshire’s most popular strolls for its wealth of wildlife and autumnal blaze. Another top tree-based walk – Perthshire is known as Big Tree Country, after all – is around the oldest managed forest in Scotland, Craigvinean, or the Atholl Estate and its wild tree garden, with possibly the biggest Douglas fir you’ll ever see.

Must see

Gleneagles, PGA Centenary 6.9 mi

Huntingtower Castle 13.9 mi

Caithness Glass Factory and Visitor Centre 15.3 mi

The Perth Mart Visitor Centre 15.6 mi

National Wallace Monument 15.9 mi

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

Auchnafree Hill and Glen Turret 4.1 mi

Ben Chonzie from Glen Turret 4.1 mi

Wee Sma Glen 6.9 mi

Craig Rossie (Ochil Hills) 8.9 mi

Ben Vorlich and Stuc a' Chroin 13.9 mi

Local events

  • Rewind Scotland (Friday 19 July 2024 – Friday 19 July 2024)

    Perth, Perthshire 16.3 mi

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Nearest sites

Unfortunately, we have no nearby bookable sites.

Want to know more about camping in Perthshire?

  • Does Braidhaugh Holiday Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Braidhaugh Holiday Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Braidhaugh Holiday Park? Ah, Perthshire…you could spend weeks here and still have to go back for more. More fishing, great golfing, red squirrels, country parks and historical highlights including Scotland’s oldest library and Iron Age … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Braidhaugh Holiday Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4:30 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  9:30 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Braidhaugh Holiday Park? From £18 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.