Book and review 3,270 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Buckland Campsite

9.3
View prices & book
From £19/€21.34/A$38.46/US$23.53/CA$33.26/CHF22.61/SEK233.40/DKK159.33/NOK244.14/ISK3,336/ARS1,513.56/CLP20,191/PEN80.24/NZ$39.59/ZAR422.08/PLN97.37/R$122.49/CZK585.81/RSD2,508/HUF7,715.89/RUB1,848.57/CN¥166.92 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Views of the Dorset countryside all around

General

  • Quiet and simple family-run site a 15-minute drive from Weymouth
  • A 15-minute drive from Chesil beach and 20 from Dorchester
  • Half an hour's drive from Lulworth Cove and Monkey World

Busy days out and peaceful times back at Buckland Campsite: that’s the order of the day at this rural Dorset spot, a 15-minute drive from the seaside harbour town of Weymouth. You'll stay on the kind of field you want to run through, arms outstretched, pretending to be an aeroplane. And why not... you’re on holiday...

It's all nicely simple here, with basic but spick and span washrooms with hot showers, and a washing-up area for pots and pans. Barbecues and fires are fine, but so not to harm the lush wide field, the owners ask that you borrow some bricks from the fire points before you start sizzling your sausages.

It’s a five-minute drive to a pub with food; for supermarkets, Weymouth is your closet bet. Not that shopping’s the only thing going on here...Weymouth's a grand town with a posh Georgian seafront, a sandy bay and a fine spread of stuff to see and do: you could meet the stingrays, turtles and sharks at the SEA Life Adventure Park, explore the Victorian fort in the harbour and spot rare birds at the RSPB reserves at Radipole Lake and Lodmoor.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 36 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

  82% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Wouldn't stay again :(02/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKody L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location is great and shower facilities were brilliant nice and hot, staff friendly

    Disliked: 

    This is a very noisy campsite, quiet time is between 10pm and 8am but people were still screaming, playing music and singing up to midnight, as friendly as the staff are it took too long from when a complaint was made about noise for them to address it. Toilet facilities are small and very dirty, grass everywhere and water pressure was minimal. I wouldn't stay again and i wouldn't suggest it to family or friends.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that there was noise on the busy hot bank holiday weekend. Just to let other readers know as soon as we were made aware our wardens asked the noisy campers to calm down, they were very hard to manage. We are so sorry you were caught in the middle of this, unfortunately we never know who is going to turn up when they have a made a booking. But we did all we could to quieten things down

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely campsite clean tidy great atmosphere going back next year01/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMelanin B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely camp site clean tidy and very friendly atmosphere half the field was a child’s play area with cricket sets goal posts etc provided close to local shops/ supermarkets and beaches
    staff very attentive looking forward to going back next year

    Disliked: 

    Honestly!!!! There’s nothing I didn’t like

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice little site with friendly staff.31/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff, large games area, handy shop stocking the essentials.

    Disliked: 

    Ablutions sometimes dirty. There was a problem with the ablution drains which caused a bit of a pong for some of the pitches.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great campsite.30/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The quiet campsite with the kids play area and the little shop in the horse box. Great toilet and shower facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Water for washing up dishes ran very slowly.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site with modern,clean facilities and friendly,helpful owners.30/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnna R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely peaceful site and very friendly, helpful owners. The showers and toilets are modern and clean. Great play area set aside for the kids. Very well located, just a short drive to Weymouth and plenty of supermarkets and not too far from lots of other places to visit. The 10pm-8am quiet time is a great idea although not always adhered to by a few people! We had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back.

    Disliked: 

    Hand driers are very loud at night

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great site new ablutions would recommend29/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichael O.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site clean facility’s very fresnel staff at site would recommend to any one.

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes of the site just don’t like the rain but that’s not the camps fault

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us. Loving the photos, thank you

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

All in all a very clean, tidy and friendly camp site.29/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly from the very second we arrived. Greeted by a lovely husband and wife who were the most friendly couple i have ever met at a campsite. The site is extremely friendly and even has a perfectly fine play area for the young ones. Considering we arrived on the 26th August (Bank Holiday) it wasn't too busy either so everyone that was staying there had enough space.
    A more modern style of toilets and shower block gave a really clean look and made it pleasant for personal use.
    Highly recommend.

    Disliked: 

    WiFi signal wasn't the greatest but when camping you should be embracing the outdoors not technology!
    Roads leading to the campsite are narrow country lanes so be careful when driving their however this isn't the camp sites fault I am just adding this for a heads up.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Pitches massive, owners very helpful, good facilities and relaxed atmos.28/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames Q.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitches massive, owners very helpful, good facilities and relaxed atmos.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great little campsite, with plenty to do in the area. ...27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMaria H.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great little campsite, with plenty to do in the area. Lots of space to pitch our large tent. Clean toilets and good showers with plenty of hot water. No problem getting a signal for phones. Great views around the site. Between 10 PM and 8 AM, everyone is asked to be quiet so people can sleep.

    Disliked: 

    Not everybody adheres to the quiet time between 10 PM and 8 AM, which isn't the fault of the campsite itself. The group of young couples near us were very talking noisily until gone midnight one night and were not asked to be quiet, though the following night the staff were around from 10 PM onwards asking people to quieten down and turn music off, so would liked it to have been more consistent.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with clean facilities and lots of space.27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMaria H.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful campsite, with views across the hills. There was loads of space between tents and we managed to get 3 pitches together with our friends. It's a nice small site. The showers were very powerful and I felt there were enough for the site. The toilets were clean. There was a little shop on site to buy a few things like sweets, drinks, biscuits, essentials. There was also a separate field for people to play ball games on and a small play area for the smaller children. The staff were very friendly. I would certainly recommend this site and would return.

    Disliked: 

    It would have been useful to have some cloths or paper towels in the toilet blocks, so that you could wipe the surface is dry, as the area around the sinks got very wet.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Watersports nearby

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Themes

Peaceful

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Buckland Ripers, Weymouth, Dorset, England, DT3 4BT
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.6445°N 2.4970°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Weymouth: Town Centre Coach Stops — 2.9 miles
Dorchester: South Rail Station Coach Stop — 5.2 miles
Bridport: Coach Park West Street — 13.2 miles
Train stations
Upwey Rail Station — 1.4 miles
Weymouth Rail Station — 2.8 miles
Dorchester West Rail Station — 5.2 miles
Ferry ports
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 3.3 miles
Poole Ferry Terminal — 22.6 miles
Poole Quay Ferry Landing — 22.9 miles
Airports
Bournemouth International Airport — 30.6 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

After a wander round Weymouth, make for Chesil beach (20 minutes' drive), a narrow and wild spit of land that’s more like an airstrip. From here, hike the South West Coast Path down to Portland Bill and its lighthouse; you’ll bag sights of half a dozen castles and forts along the way.

Alternatively, go east around the coast for about half an hour, taking in Lulworth Castle then dipping down to the blue waters, white pebble beach and wacky rock formations of Lulworth Cove, a prime spot for rockpooling as well as filling up the photo album.

If it’s windsurfing, kayaking round the cliffs of the Jurassic Coast or standup paddleboarding you're seeking, Weymouth has a good handful of hire shops and schools, with more round the coast at Charmouth (40 minutes). The beach there is a brill spot to get the kids fossil hunting; head into nearby Lyme Regis (45 minutes) to learn about the billion years of history that created the coast and to see some fab fossil treasures.

There’s more history to be had at Dorchester a 20-minute drive away, from a Roman amphitheatre to a Neolithic henge and an Iron Age fort. To meet your ancestors (in a manner of speaking) go see the antics at Monkey World, half an hour from the site, or monkey about yourself on the slides, flumes and chutes of Splashdown Waterpark, an hour away in Poole.

Must see

  • Weymouth Sea Life Park and Marine Sanctuary (2.6 miles)
  • Radipole Lake Nature Reserve (2.6 miles)
  • Abbotsbury Swannery (4.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Max Gate (5.5 miles)
  • Hardy's Cottage (7.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6:30 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.

Buckland Campsite cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Buckland Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Buckland Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Buckland Campsite? After a wander round Weymouth, make for Chesil beach (20 minutes' drive), a narrow and wild spit of land that’s more like an airstrip. From here, hike the South West Coast Path ... Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Buckland Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Buckland Campsite? From £19 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Buckland Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.
Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..

Close