Book and review 9,577 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Cofton Holidays

9.2
View prices & book
From £10.12/€11.49/A$18.63/US$13.22/CA$17.33/CHF13.18/SEK118.92/DKK85.74/NOK108.81/ISK1,549/ARS482.51/CLP8,988/PEN43.90/NZ$20.07/ZAR190.65/PLN49.40/R$49.07/CZK297.36/RSD1,360/HUF3,712.17/RUB868.21/CN¥91.61 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Award-winning site two miles from the beach
  • Pools, pub, fish and chip shop, sauna, steam room and gym
  • Five private fishing lakes: bag a 24-pounder

Anyone who relishes a bit of variety on their holidays should give this award-winning site serious consideration: there are buckets and spades of activities for all ages, both on site and in the immediate vicinity. Tucked into a valley, and only a mile away from swathes of Blue Flag beaches, Cofton Holidays has 80 acres of meadows, orchards and woodland laced with nature trails for visitors to explore.

Cofton's indoor pool has massage jets and hydrotherapy bubble loungers, as well as a sauna, steam room and gym. A splash area with water jets will entertain the kids (a small additional charge applies to the pool, sauna, steam room and gym). With five private fishing lakes to choose from, there are abundant opportunities to bag a monster carp around here too: 24-pounders are not unknown (an EA rod licence is required plus a fishing permit from reception).

After these aquatic exertions, you can retire to the poolside patio of the Swan Inn for a refresher and a snack. The pub opens every night and serves up a good range of grub (breakfast and lunch are also available at weekends), plus regular entertainment including live bands, discos and karaoke in high season. Cofton also has its own fish and chip joint, as well as a shop for any vittles you might need.

Kids can bounce around in the three dedicated play areas or explore the adventure zone in the woods, with activities such as pond dipping and bug hunting laid on in season; if it’s raining, there’s also a games room with amusements and a pool table.

Wifi across the whole site (charges apply) means staying connected is simple, and it’s also worth mentioning that Cofton has excellent facilities for disabled visitors.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 5 pennants

Please note

The outdoor swimming pool is open between 27/05 and 16/09 (subject to weather conditions).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The indoor swimming pool is open between 01/01 and 31/12.

Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

All customers: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child per session.

Facilities/activities including coarse fishing, gym, some on site activities are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The takeaway is open from 30/03 to 29/09, then weekends only in October except for half term week when its open all week. Ashburn Springs Leisure Complex and Amelia's Pantry bar and restaurant will be open all year except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Warren Retreat offers evening entertainment during February half-term and from Easter through October.

Bookings of under-21's are not permitted.

The charge for the indoor pool is £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child, per session.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.2

Overall rating based on 460 reviews

 

94% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

53% described Cofton Holidays as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Great pitch, great surroundings, great facilities & great for the ... 22/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great pitch, great surroundings, great facilities & great for the dogs!!! Already booked another weekend there for November.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend.
We are so pleased that had a great stay and found our site to have great surroundings and facilities and that your dogs had a great stay too.

We look forwards to welcoming you back in November,
Kind Regards
Hazel,
Cofton Holidays

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

excellent huge pitches . spotless clean. lots to do on site A**** 21/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Peter L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    everything

    Disliked: 

    nothing

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for leaving us with a review and such lovely photographs.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our site and that you like everything whilst staying with us.

We look forwards to welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards
Hazel,
Cofton Holidays

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice friendly staff, clean site overall. 16/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom phill b. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    site seemed to be well laid out, toilet/showers were clean, staff always friendly, would hope to visit again in the future. Perhaps a drier weekend? Disabled pitches were good for our daughter to get about.

    Disliked: 

    cofton chippy = chips expensive and not very nice to eat but fish ok

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would like to visit us again.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food from the fish and chip shop. We will pass the feedback onto the owners of the shop.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,
Robyn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Everything, brilliant facilities, well clean and tidy, helpful friendly staff ... 07/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Steven A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, brilliant facilities, well clean and tidy, helpful friendly staff and great pool

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hello,
Thank you for leaving us with such a lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a brilliant stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities such as the pool and you found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cofton again soon.
Kind Regards,
Hazel,
Cofton Holidays

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great site would definitely recommend to people and would visit again 02/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Pamela M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean , very good staff, good amenities and not far from outside activities

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and had the chance to make use of our facilities. We hope to welcome you back to Cofton again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shannon

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great disables site but bring blocks as hilly. 02/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Victoria S. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The disabled facilities were great and the staff were really accommodating in ensuring that we were allocated a pitch that suited my mobility needs.

    Everyone was really kind and we really enjoyed our time at Cofton.

    The food in Amelia's was really good.

    Disliked: 

    Our only gripe was the lack of bar staff in the Swan Inn. Having only one person serving on a friday night or any other night when the place has standing room only is a bit daft. She was also not particularly friendly. This put us off coming for a drink of an evening as waiting 20 minutes to get a drink is crazy.

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and our staff were accommodating to ensure you felt comfortable with your pitch. We are sorry you felt the service was slower than expected of us during your stay, and we will look into staffing and scheduling to maintain the quickest serving speeds that we can.

We hope to welcome you back to Cofton again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cofton Holidays

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Would go again as site is excellent but just a few annoying things 01/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site

    Disliked: 

    Noise
    Unable to go into selected pitch
    Would not refund the difference even when we actually paid for 2 more days than we stayed

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our site and that you would stay with us again.
We are sorry to hear that you experienced an issue regarding your pitch. We allocate grass pitches on arrival so unfortunately they cannot be reserved before you get to us. We hope that this did not impact your stay too considerably.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cofton soon!

Kind regards,
Robyn

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site ,very clean, very nice staff, with nice size pitches 30/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kevin S. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Reception greeting ,clean toilets and showers,very friendly staff at all times ,site was very clean and we enjoyed our stay even though it was a short one we felt very welcome and would return for a longer period next time
    Kind regards
    Kevin

    Disliked: 

    The only thing I can whinge about is no signs for the motor home grey waste trap ,but it was early when we left and it's possible I was blurry eyed at that time of the morning
    Kind regards
    Kevin

From the manager...

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for leaving us with a lovely review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning on visiting us again, hopefully for a longer period.
It's great that you found our staff to be friendly and our site to be clean and tidy throughout your stay.

We do have our waste trap marked on the site map, although if you were unaware what you were looking for, it could be a little hard to find first thing in the morning.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards
Hazel,
Cofton Holidays

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fab 28/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Angela W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice pitch. Lovely toilets and showers and washing up sinks. The sight was clean. Very friendly staff. Liked the shop, the chip shop, the pub. Although we travelled as a couple it would be great for families too. Nice walk to a local pub. Club house too for entertainment, although we didn’t use it there looked like plenty of people were enjoying it. Less than 5 min drive to a supermarket. Bus stop 2 minute walk outside the front of the site. WiFi vouchers available to buy, well worth it, great WiFi. Would definatley recommend if from a camping point of view, and I would like to visit again for longer.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, only other half loosing his wallet, which made us had to leave a day early. No fault of the site.

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with our site and that you found that there is plenty to do whilst staying with us.
We are sorry to hear about your mishap regarding losing your wallet, and we hope that it did not affect your stay with us too much.
It is fantastic that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Robyn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good sized pitches, toilets & showers very clean, swimming pool ... 25/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ian M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good sized pitches, toilets & showers very clean, swimming pool & sauna on site, quiet at night for a large site, bus stop right outside the camp, would stay here again

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic visit to us, and that you enjoyed all of our facilities.
We are also glad to know that you found our site to be clean and quiet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cofton soon!

Kind regards,
Robyn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Gastronomic delight

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Very large (over 200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Starcross, Dawlish, Devon, England, EX6 8RP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.6123°N 3.4614°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Starcross: Rail Station Coach Stop — 1.2 miles
Kenton (Devon): Coach Stop — 2.0 miles
Exmouth Bus Station — 2.1 miles
Train stations
Dawlish Warren Rail Station — 1.2 miles
Starcross Rail Station — 1.2 miles
Exmouth Rail Station — 2.1 miles
Ferry ports
Starcross Ferry Landing — 1.2 miles
Exmouth Ferry Landing — 1.7 miles
Turf Lock Inn Ferry Landing — 3.5 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 8.4 miles

Directions


It's easy to reach Cofton Holidays by car. Leave the M5 motorway at Junction 30. Take the A379 signposted Dawlish and after about 30 minutes, having passed through Kenton, Starcross and the small harbour village of Cockwood, the park is half a mile on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Wandering just outside the site, the nearby clifftops have pretty walks; there are gentle bike rides around and about; plus beaches and waterways offering more sail-, paddle- and wave-powered action than you can shake a stick at.

Take a bus (the stop’s only 100 metres away) to explore a bit further afield. This corner of Devon is jampacked with things to see and do, including castles, botanic gardens, zoos, aquariums, animal farms, model villages and adventure parks.

Whether it’s the beauty of Dartmoor, the splendour of England’s highest waterfall, Canonteign Falls, or the attractive bustle of Exeter and Exmouth, there's something for everyone around here.

Must see

  • Crealy Great Adventure Park (6.9 miles)
  • Exeter Cathedral - Church of Saint Peter (8.2 miles)
  • Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site (10.7 miles)

National Trust

  • A la Ronde (3.2 miles)
  • Killerton: Clyston Mill (10.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.

Arrivals:
01/09 - 01/03: 11am - 5pm
01/04 – 23/07: July 11am - 6pm
24/07 - 31/08: 11am - 8pm
Departures by 11am

Cofton Holidays cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

- 29 to 59 days before arrival = 30% of holiday balance will be retained
- 15 to 28 days before arrival = 50% of holiday balance will be retained

Changing your booking: there will be no charge for minor changes. A change of dates, or any change that affects the price of your holiday, will be treated as a major change. Major changes made at least 28 days prior to the start date of your holiday will incur an administration charge of £20. Major changes made within 28 days of the start date of your holiday will be treated as a cancellation.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Cofton Holidays will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Cofton Holidays


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
All customers: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child per session.
Facilities/activities including coarse fishing, gym, some on site activities are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.
Entertainment and activities are available between 01/04 and 28/10.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 12 a.m. and 7:30 a.m..
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The grocery shop is open between 02/01 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The sauna (and/or hammam) is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The wellness centre is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Pool
The indoor swimming pool is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 27/05 and 16/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 01/01 and 20/07.
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. between 21/07 and 01/09.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

The takeaway is open from 30/03 to 29/09, then weekends only in October except for half term week when its open all week. Ashburn Springs Leisure Complex and Amelia's Pantry bar and restaurant will be open all year except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Warren Retreat offers evening entertainment during February half-term and from Easter through October.

The site cannot guarantee adjoining pitches.

Gazebos on the same pitch are not permitted in peak season via Pitchup.com

A charge is made for returning lost property to cover postage. Lost property is only kept for a short period, after which it is given to charity.

Bookings of under-21's are not permitted.

The charge for the indoor pool is £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child, per session.

Close