Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Porthtowan Tourist Park

9.9
View prices & book
From £25.65/€30.32/A$45.52/US$32.03/CA$41.13/CHF31.23/SEK318.45/DKK225.58/NOK312.11/ISK4,206/ARS3,794.10/CLP26,796/PEN119.24/NZ$50/ZAR507.35/PLN140.40/R$156.38/CZK746.96/RSD3,563/HUF11,659.96/RUB1,986.05/CN¥214.40 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Porthtowan Tourist Park: Porthtowan beach

General

  • Flat level grass pitches with easy access from the A30
  • A mile from the surfing beach of Porthtowan
  • Adventure play area, swings, shop and games room

Small and friendly, family run and a mere mile from the first-rate Cornish beach of Porthtowan… this is a peaceful and well located place for Cornwall breaks.

Porthtowan Tourist Park is in a quiet countryside setting, on the edge of Porthtowan village surrounded by fields and country lanes – but is only a couple of miles from the A30 and has easy access to Truro, Portreath, Tehidy Country Park and the South West Coast Path.

This is an award-winning park, with modern facilities maintained to a high standard. There's a games room and adventure play area for leisurely times indoors or out; a tourist information room for plotting your next Cornish stopoff, and a food shop open daily – you'll be chuffed to hear that barbecues are allowed on site too...

Among the well-kept amenities are a launderette, a washing-up area and a disabled-friendly toilet and shower block.

Dogs are welcome on site.

AA 5 pennants

Please note

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Friday 30 September 2022.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

A cable measuring at least 15 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

Units longer than 8.5 metres are not allowed.

Units heavier than 4500 Kgs are not allowed.

Group bookings of more than 4 under-25s are not accepted via Pitchup.com.

Any groundsheets for tents or gazebos apart from those which are sewn-in, must be breathable.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.9

Overall rating based on 249 reviews

 

99% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

  87% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Really lovely site. Immaculately clean20/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean well kept site. Attention to detail very sharp. Friendly welcoming people.
    A must visit.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Well organised and maintained campsite19/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPatthawarin P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hosts were very friendly. The campsite is well organised and has almost every convenient thing you can think of. A shop, a wetsuit washing area, games room with a pool table to keep the little ones and the older ones entertained. They also have a small strip of land for dog walking which was lovely. Toilets, showers, washing up area were very cleaned and greenery well maintained. They had a climbing frame area for kids and an excellent WiFi speed for users to use.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing bad I could really say but when pitching, had difficulty trying to pitch our tent due to pegs getting bent because of the stones. Took us a while to get our tent secured because the pegs keeps bending and we had spares! (Ps they sell tent pegs in their store too). Another thing I’d like to add, which isn’t a down side, but would like to see a good recycling bin to put food waste into.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very friendly owners clean and very tidy site over all …18/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPat J.Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly owners clean and very tidy site over all a excellent and very enjoyable stay, so enjoyable we’ve booked to go bext

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Site clean, recycling bin,s great, friendly staff15/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet

    Disliked: 

    Shower block was cold, no heating in toilet,shower block or washing up area. Shower temperature luke warm but sink taps hot.

From the manager...

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to review our site, we wish you had mentioned to us that you were not happy with the temperature of the showers, as I am sure you can imagine trying to find a temperature that suits everyone is tricky, but we certainly could of adjusted it during your stay if you had just let us know. The shower/toilet blocks do have heaters in them which are switched on when required, but no sorry we do not having heating in the washing up area.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

In a heartbeat12/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGordon E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location excellent, site owners fantastic , amenities and site exceptionally clean.
    Nothing too much trouble for the site owners definitely to be recommended

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice level pitches bordering a field of sheep!11/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjanet h.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a beautiful site which is immaculate; thoughtful touches such as a games room and disabled facilities and dogs also well accommodated for. The proprietors are very friendly and available should you need assistance.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Park was amiculate. Facilities brilliant. Staff lovely. Good 30 mins …10/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMandy N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Park was amiculate. Facilities brilliant. Staff lovely. Good 30 mins walk to beach but what a cracker of a beach

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything. Great location. Clean facilities. Great, friendly staff. F08/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLucy M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about the park, facilties and great staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

The staff were very friendly and helpful the site was …09/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were very friendly and helpful the site was well looked after and kids really enjoyed the park

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again & will happily recommend it.01/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNeil B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great facilities, well kept & very clean site, good location, very friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Tourer storage facilities

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Mile Hill, Porthtowan, Truro, Cornwall, England, TR4 8TY
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.2740°N 5.2379°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Railway Station — 2.9 miles
Alma Place — 2.9 miles
Cornwall College — 3.6 miles
Train stations
Redruth Rail Station — 2.9 miles
Camborne Rail Station — 5.1 miles
Perranwell Rail Station — 6.8 miles
Ferry ports
Ponsharden Ferry Landing — 10.1 miles
Trelisick Ferry Landing — 10.1 miles
Tolverne Ferry Landing — 10.2 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 15.8 miles
Penzance Airport — 16.0 miles
Land's End St Just Airport — 22.5 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Stick to the north coast area, venture inland, or head down to Falmouth and the south coast, all within easy driving distance of here.

Within walking distance, the beach of Porthtowan is a popular spot for surfers and families, with plenty of rockpools and caves to explore around its scenic wide stretch of sand. The site is also a short walk from the South West Coast Path – hike the up and down trail to Portreath four or so miles west – and near the Mineral Tramways trail, 14 mostly traffic-free miles from Portreath to Devoran down on the south coast near Falmouth.

Shops, restaurants, bars and river boat trips are all at Truro a few miles away; also take time to see the museum, and, if you're around on Wednesday or Saturday, to mooch around the Truro farmers' market on Lemon Quay.

Gardens? Several are in the area, with the National Trust's Trerice and Glendurgan the closest to the site. Or gold? Take a trip to Cornwall Gold Centre on the Portreath Road, to pan for gold, have a go at pottery, or just look significantly at your significant other over the gold, silver and pearl jewellery for sale.

For family cycling or walking, Tehidy Country Park just outside Portreath is flat and buggy-friendly, and leads out to spectacular views for smashing picnics. More actively, try SK8 Skate Park and The Track, Sithians Lake for watersports and Camel Creek Adventure Park at Wadebridge.

Must see

  • Cornwall Industrial Discovery Centre (3.4 miles)
  • Truro Cathedral (8.3 miles)
  • Lappa Valley Steam Railway (10.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Cornish Mines and Engines (3.4 miles)
  • Godrevy (7.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart by:  Anytime

Porthtowan Tourist Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £20.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 28 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Friday 30 September 2022.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Porthtowan Tourist Park will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

  • Can bookings for Porthtowan Tourist Park be amended free of charge? Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Friday 30 September 2022. Read more
  • Does Porthtowan Tourist Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Porthtowan Tourist Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Porthtowan Tourist Park? Stick to the north coast area, venture inland, or head down to Falmouth and the south coast, all within easy driving distance of here. Within walking distance, the beach of Porthtowan is … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Porthtowan Tourist Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
    Depart by:  Anytime
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park? From £25.65 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact porthtowan-tourist-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
There is no reception at this site. Please check in at the intercom at the barrier instead.
The site will send you further check-in information 3 day(s) before your arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 28 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £20.00 fee.

Coronavirus
Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Friday 30 September 2022.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
A cable measuring at least 15 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Units heavier than 4500 Kgs are not allowed.
Units longer than 8.5 metres are not allowed.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

Group bookings of more than 4 under-25s are not accepted via Pitchup.com.

Please note a speed limit of 5mph applies on the site.

Mid July to end August - no bikes/scooters/skates/skateboards/etc allowed on the site.

Inner gates are locked between 11pm and 7am.

Any groundsheets for tents or gazebos apart from those which are sewn-in, must be breathable.

Close