Book and review 8,691 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Sun Valley Holiday Park

8.3
View prices & book
From £330/€360.30/A$535.89/US$425.64/CA$535.63/CHF409.63/kr3,441.08/kr2,689.49/kr3,360.49/kr45,205/$7,449.21/$275,000/PEN1,380.75/NZ$580.78/R5,602.72/zł1,542.78/R$1,338.74/Kč9,401.71/RSD42,857 (for 3 nights, 6 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family park just over a mile from the Cornish coast
  • Clubhouse, restaurant, tennis, indoor pool, soft play area, wifi...
  • A mile from the Lost Gardens of Heligan and five from the Eden Project

Envision sunny smiles for all the crew, for St Austell's family-friendly Sun Valley Holiday Park has lots of what you want for a family holiday in Cornwall – all in a clean, green and prettily landscaped site in 20 acres of mature parkland a mile from the coast.

Facilities include a heated indoor pool and soft play area; games room with table tennis; an adventure playground and outdoor hard tennis courts.

The Cedars Clubhouse & Restaurant, refurbished for the 2017 season, serves freshly caught local fish as well as meals, snacks, takeaway, coffee and cakes, and is also the venue for Sun Valley Holiday Park's varied range of family entertainment, picked by the team to suit all tastes.

Amenities include a shower and toilet block, laundry room, wifi and facilities for recycling and waste disposal. An on-site shop sells essential groceries.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.3

Overall rating based on 18 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Excellent site very clean 05/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Patricia B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Liked all the site very clean staff very polite

    Disliked: 

    I did not liked the swimming pool opening hours there should be a time for adults only as I had a ball in my face while swimming and no sorry from any one of the adults there were children in there with no parents there should be some one in there to over see things also no evening entertainment for adults mainly children but besides this we had a good time

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review. We hope you will return.

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

friendly staff good size pitch 05/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom garry_w265193 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    liked the area swimming pool

    Disliked: 

    nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review our park, we look forward every year to people returning hopefully you will be one of those.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Campsite not like the website photos. 31/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Stuart M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Food

    Disliked: 

    Club house entertainment.
    Very dirty showers.
    No warden walking around in evenings and left to sort any problems with noise ect yourself

From the manager...

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your holiday as much as you had anticipated. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a great experience, all of our staff are very approachable and if we had been notified of any problems we would have addressed them immediately. The Warden is on duty all evening but during the opening hours of the Clubhouse this is the first port of call for any problems, this is clearly notified in the reception window.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Good pitch rest was rubbish 31/08/2016

kevin_c250801 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good size pitch

    Disliked: 

    Facilties was bad. Toilets and shower always filthy. Guests was very loud at night. Swimming pool was very gritty. Games room was dirty and needs revamping. Hardly any games and most broke.

From the manager...

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We traditionally clean the showers 3/4 times a day in the height of season and did not receive any other complaints at this time. The games room is equipped with everything our customers have suggested and everything is working..

Again i am only sorry you did not feel you could approach the staff to let them know of your concerns.

Overall
1
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site. The staff couldn't have done more for us. Huge pitches 30/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Amy H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The size of the pitches. The pool. The club house, play room and bar area. The whole place was amazing. Such a clean peaceful site with amazing children's entertainment.

    Disliked: 

    The WiFi was slightly hit and miss but it didn't bother us too much because holidays aren't made for playing on your phone.

From the manager...

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the site. Sun Valley is just the place to unwind and it would appear you did just that. We look forward to seeing you return.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, family friendly, reasonablly quiet. 29/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Duncan S. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just enough facilities to keep our 7 year old amused. kids entertainment most evenings & indoor play area next to bar in club house, nice pool, games room.
    Most of the toilets had own shower, ideal for families.
    Club house bar/restaurant reasonably priced.

    Disliked: 

    Toilet block looks a little dated now, sometimes lacked loo roll, but well laid out and perfectly adequate.

From the manager...

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

level pitches will plenty off space friendly staff 22/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom samantha_c25 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    second time we've visited here lovely friendly site would recommend to people with younger children.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We are glad you enjoyed your stay it is always lovely when people return.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great campsite and staff members were helpful including Martin. 20/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nicholas F. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitches were a very good size. Lovely to have a shower/toilet block that had individual cubicles with all facilities in. The swimming pool was a lovely temperature.
    Great area to stay.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hello, thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about our site. We look forward to seeing you come back.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site with good facilities and friendly staff. Good transport li 16/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alan P. Confirmed

  • 3 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, facilities and friendly staff.
    Bus stopped at site entrance and good pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

    Would be ideal for cycling holiday.

    Disliked: 

    Reported broken fridge door on first day - still not repaired by end of the week.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you did not think we had been in to repair the fridge, the log in our maintenance book shows us going into the van and effecting a repair. We have not had any maintenance issues with this van since.
But I will get the staff to check again.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good family friendly holiday park 15/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sean M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pool,food in clubhouse,good size level pitches and friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

    Games room for kids could do with a bit of updating(but they loved the pool anyway)

From the manager...

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Hard standings

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Pentewan Road St Austell, Cornwall, England, PL26 6DJ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.3017°N 4.8028°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
St Austell Bus Station — 2.7 miles
Holmbush (St Austell) Coach Stop — 3.3 miles
Grampound (Cornwall): Coach Stop — 4.3 miles
Train stations
St Austell Rail Station — 2.7 miles
Par Rail Station — 5.7 miles
Luxulyan Rail Station — 6.6 miles
Ferry ports
Mevagissey Ferry Landing — 2.4 miles
Fowey Ferry Landing — 7.6 miles
Polruan Ferry Landing — 7.7 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 13.5 miles

Directions


Take the M5 to Exeter. At the last junction (J31) turn onto the A30 signposted for Okehampton. Pass Okehampton, Launceston and Bodmin. Once past Bodmin - at the Innis Downs roundabout, turn left on to the A391 (signed St Austell). Continue until you reach the A390, turning right at the traffic lights (signed St.Austell).

Follow the A390 around St Austell, past the Tesco and Asda superstores, until you reach the roundabout by McDonald's. At this roundabout turn left onto the B3273 (signed Mevagissey).

One mile past the village of London Apprentice you'll find the entrance to Sun Valley on your right.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

It's just over a mile from Sun Valley Holiday Park to one of Cornwall's top attractions, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, among the most original green space you'll see anywhere (for example, they have Europe's only pineapple pit...).

Five miles from base is the Eden Project, another top Cornwall attraction and visited by thousands each year for its giant biomes, hair-raising zipwire and live music in its acclaimed August Eden Sessions. From here, have an afternoon in sunny Snozzle/St Austell or potter/pedal along the historic Clay Trail with a stop off at the Wheal Martyn China Clay Country Park.

Sun Valley is so close to the coast that a sunny sandy beach or scenic coastal path can always be found with ease; the nearest beach from Sun Valley is Pentewan, within walking distance and popular with watersporters like surfers, kayakers, waterskiiers and windsurfers. The Pentewan Valley trail follows the old railway line to St Austell and the beach is below the South West Coast Path for intrepid hikers.

Other local highlights within an easy drive are the port, beaches and teeny harbour of Charlestown, beloved of telly companies and home of the Charlestown Shipwreck and Heritage Centre with the biggest collection of shipwreck artefacts in the country; and the old fishing port and narrow streets of Fowey, where ferries leave across the river to historic Polruan (take the car ferry to go towards Polperro or Looe).

Also recommended are Mevagissey – ask the local fishermen for the best angling spots here if you're in Cornwall to catch your own; the cathedral town of Truro at Cornwall's centre, and days out for the kids at the likes of Crealy Great Adventure Park, Flambards theme park and Newquay Zoo.

Must see

  • Lost Gardens of Heligan (1.1 miles)
  • Eden Project (5.0 miles)
  • Truro Cathedral (11.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Trelissick Garden (11.8 miles)
  • Trerice (12.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  10:30 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart:  10:30 a.m.

Reception is unmanned after 9pm. Please call using the number in the confirmation email or check in at the clubhouse if you are arriving later.

Sun Valley Holiday Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 6 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Sun Valley Holiday Park will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Sun Valley Holiday Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Close