Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Bowland Lakes Leisure Village

8
View prices & book
From £46/€53.60/A$82.15/US$55.86/CA$75.01/CHF52.78/SEK585.22/DKK398.63/NOK549.35/ISK7,980/ARS9,344.39/CLP49,739/PEN213.44/NZ$88.06/ZAR968.92/PLN252.02/R$289.62/CZK1,306.06/RSD6,289/HUF22,111.85/RUB3,419.18/CN¥395.85 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Bowland Lakes Leisure Village: The lake

General

  • Dog-friendly site just outside of the Forest of Bowland, in Lancashire
  • A 35-minute drive from the Lake District; 40 minutes from Blackpool
  • Fishing lakes; walking and cycling in the surrounding countryside

Whether you’re after a relaxing fishing trip, long cycle rides in the country or fish and chips at the seaside (or indeed all three), Bowland Lakes Leisure Village could well be the place for you. A five-minute drive from the Lancashire village of Forton, this dog-friendly site is located just outside the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The surrounding countryside is excellent for outdoor pursuits. Within a 25-minute drive, you’ll find scenic hills that you can hike or climb, among them Fair Snape Fell and Parlick, where you can have a picnic while admiring expansive views – and maybe paragliders as they take to the sky.

Keen cyclists will find challenging routes at the scenic Trough of Bowland valley (20 minutes), which is where Sir Bradley Wiggins trained for his Olympic gold. For something less strenuous, in about 40 minutes you could be at the coast, tucking into fish and chips before heading for the rides and roller coasters of Blackpool Pleasure Beach.

On site, you’ll be set to spend peaceful days fishing or picnicking by the lakes, which are particularly gorgeous at sunset and sunrise. In terms of site facilities, there’s a toilet block and washing-up area. There’s also a small food shop half an hour’s walk away for any barbecues you might be plotting.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

This is a quiet site: no music is allowed.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

There is no reception on-site: on arrival please contact the number provided on your booking confirmation.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8

Overall rating based on 6 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

67% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Cosy camping pod, 🏕 peaceful and relaxing.28/10/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJane P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    So peaceful, central to Lancaster and Blackpool, camping pod was clean, warm up great too,kids loved it 👌

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, if you want some peace and quiet this is the place to switch off

From the manager...

Oh wow, a practically perfect 10/10 score! Thank you Jane! It was a pleasure having you join us for a quiet and relaxing little camping trip. We hope to see you again at Bowland Lakes very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Pod clean , clean area , no rubbish , quiet21/10/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pod clean , clean area , no rubbish , quiet

    Disliked: 

    Too close to motorway. Toilets needs a bit more cleaning

From the manager...

Hi there, and thank you for leaving us a review on Pitch Up. Really pleased you'll recommend Bowland to your friends and family, thats so kind. There is always a constant battle with leaves this time of year, they do love to blow in to the toilets area at any given opportunity! We'll make sure the grounds and maintenance team are extra diligent with this pesky natural phenomenon. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we do hope to see you back at our pods at Bowland very soon.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Location was great, clean, toilet facilities were very clean, such …25/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWendy L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location was great, clean, toilet facilities were very clean, such a peaceful place and very reasonably priced.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Oh wow! a 10/10, that makes us so proud, thank you. We are really pleased you had a wonderful time with us here at Bowland and hope to see you all again very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Will come back next year nice get away.02/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTessa S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet and clean spot. Showers and toilets were clean and tissue was always filled. Lovely place for fishing and playing hide and seek with the kids. Also electric and heater provided in the pods which was a pleasant surprise.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi there Tessa - what a BBQ that is! I hope the sausages went on after the flames died down a little. Its great news we managed to get the toilet supply just right this time too! Thanks for letting other visitors know you really enjoyed your stay with us here at Bowland and I hope we get to meet you and your lovely family here again very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Would not stay again30/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pod was in a lovely setting and site was a good location for Morecombe & Lancaster. Had a heater if we needed it and electric sockets. Lovely picnic table overlooking one of the lakes.

    Disliked: 

    Showers/toilets were extremely unpleasant, very damp smelling, dirty and water too hot or too cold, no in-between. Son got scared as light kept going off every 5 seconds whilst taking a shower. No toilet roll for second night of our stay.

From the manager...

Hello Anonymous - Thank you for the feedback - you're right, the site really does have some lovely views, relaxing and surround by woodland and lakes. What a shame you didn't have the greatest experience with our shower block though. We'll raise this urgently with the maintenance team to investigate further. We don't have any record of a request to replace the toilet roll for you - we all know how stressful camping can be without loo roll, so this would have been a top priority to replace, had we known. We'd love to have you back at Bowland Lakes, hopefully putting this unfortunate, isolated incident with the hot water feed behind us.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing place to relax, will definitely be back19/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanna D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bowland camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Tranquility of the place. It’s everything you need to wind down, relax and just soak up the nature. Pods are comfortable, surrounded by woods and lakes, space to park a car next to your pod. Bathrooms are clean and in close proximity

    Disliked: 

    Loved everything

From the manager...

Hello Joanna, thank you for your lovely review of Bowland Lakes. Our first one too! Its such an understated little gem of a park, we love it too.
Some find the woodland fishing lakes and the spacing of the lodges and pods a little too far apart, but for those that want a quiet, relaxing and uninterrupted getaway from it all, we think Bowland is just practically perfect.
We do hope to see you again, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Themes

Lake and/or mountain

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Cleveley Bank Lane, Forton, Lancashire, England, PR3 1BY
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.9484°N 2.7591°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Crossroads — 3.3 miles
University Underpass — 4.4 miles
Bus Station — 7.3 miles
Train stations
Lancaster Rail Station — 7.2 miles
Heysham Port Rail Station — 8.6 miles
Bare Lane Rail Station — 9.3 miles
Ferry ports
Heysham Ferry Terminal — 8.6 miles
Knott End-On-Sea Ferry Landing — 9.8 miles
Fleetwood for Knott End Ferry Landing — 10.2 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 42.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If the weather turns and you don’t fancy sitting in your cagoule under the rain waiting for fish to bite, you can head to the Flower Bowl Entertainment Centre (15 minutes’ drive), where a huge range of indoor entertainment awaits. Options include bowling, curling and miniature golf, plus a cinema and a virtual-reality jungle ride.

Bowland Wild Boar Park (35 minutes) is home to more than wild boar, with ostriches, alpacas and meerkats, among other residents. You can feed the animals, ride a tractor (or drive a tank) through the grounds and let the kids blow off some steam at the playground, which has a climbing wall and a zipline.

It would be a shame to come to this region and not have a good old hike at Lake District National Park (35 minutes). You can explore forested trails, visit National Trust properties like Wray Castle and Hill Top (Beatrix Potter’s cottage) and, of course, have a go at watersports on the lakes.

Must see

  • Beacon Fell Country Park (6.2 miles)
  • Lancaster Castle (7.2 miles)
  • Forest of Bowland (13.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Cartmel Priory Gatehouse (19.1 miles)
  • Gawthorpe Hall (21.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Bowland Lakes Leisure Village cancellation policy

No refunds within 60 days of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 60 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Bowland Lakes Leisure Village will debit the balance from your card 60 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 60 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £45.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

  • Does Bowland Lakes Leisure Village have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Bowland Lakes Leisure Village dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Bowland Lakes Leisure Village? If the weather turns and you don’t fancy sitting in your cagoule under the rain waiting for fish to bite, you can head to the Flower Bowl Entertainment Centre (15 minutes’ drive), … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Bowland Lakes Leisure Village?
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Bowland Lakes Leisure Village? From £46 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact bowland-lakes-leisure-village


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Dogs

Extras

General

Hired accommodation

Occupancy

Pitches

Reception

Safety

Vehicles

Close