Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Shepherds Views Holidays

9
View prices & book
From £23/€27.16/A$39.63/US$27.38/CA$35.51/CHF26.24/SEK288.05/DKK202.04/NOK267.19/ISK3,817/ARS3,718.48/CLP25,456/PEN106.16/NZ$43.93/ZAR463.20/PLN128.64/R$141.53/CZK668.95/RSD3,187/HUF11,066.53/RUB1,635.35/CN¥186.41 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Shepherds Views Holidays: Beautiful views

General

  • Family-friendly, family-run site on a working farm in Cumbria
  • Less than five minutes’ drive from Lake District National Park
  • Top spot for walking, cycling and watersports

Fresh air, wind in your hair and the sounds of nature… Rural holiday dreams, right? Get a good dose of all the above at Shepherds Views Holidays, a small, family-run site on a working farm a few minutes’ drive from the village of Holmrook in Cumbria, North West England.

Shepherds Views, less than five minutes from the edge of the Lake District National Park, is a top spot for an outdoor getaway. There are hundreds of walking routes throughout the park for all levels of difficulty – keep your eyes peeled for otters, deer, eagles and the elusive red squirrel as you go.

If you’re more comfortable on two wheels than two legs, hire a bike on site and head off on one of the many cycle and mountain biking trails that crisscross the park, or follow Hadrian’s cycleway, which passes the Shepherds View entrance.

You can also take to the water an hour away with boat hire, steamer and launch trips, and rafting and canoeing, or venture out of the Lake District National Park and head over to the coast, less than five minutes away, for swimming or exploring the beaches.

Once you’ve worked up an appetite, make your way back to site where you can fire up the barbecue, pile it high with all your faves, then chow down with Rex stretched out next to you beside the campfire – if you’d prefer a break from cooking, there are plenty of restaurants within half an hour of Shepherds View.

Silver David Bellamy Conservation Award

Please note

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Group bookings of 4 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Touring caravans, motorhomes and campervans with the door built on the left-hand side are not permitted.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Guests must not bring their own firepits or wood onto site. Firepits are provided free of charge and large sacks of wood provided on site.

Campfires are not allowed on the hardstanding pitches.

Electric/hybrid vehicle must not be charged using any of the electrical points on site.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9

Overall rating based on 455 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

84% would stay here again.

  79% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Our family really enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff. Clean facilities. …18/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlesja J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Our family really enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff. Clean facilities. Beautiful benches 4 min drive

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Loved it. facilities 5/5 staff 5/518/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNeill J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was our first camping trip and we were really happy with our stay. We were welcomed and shown to our pitch which was huge. We had a pitch next to the huge field where the kids could play. We had our own fire pit and purchased wood which the owners dropped off in the afternoon to everyone. The showers and toilet block was brilliant and immaculate. Not everyone mopped after themselves but that’s down to individuals, not the owners.
    Our children loved it and we ventured out to the beach which was so quiet and stunning.
    We walked down the beach to seascale to the play area and for ice cream.
    There isn’t much locally to venture to without driving but we stayed for 3 nights and mainly chilled out.
    Phone signals were poor but we personally didn’t mind as we were enjoying the break.
    The immediate area was quiet and we were shocked there was no close by pubs or restaurants but we enjoyed it.
    Would definitely stay again!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really sorry you weren't aware of our local pub The Victoria Hotel, it is just under a mile from us and serves excellent food and drink. Hopefully you will be able to try it out next time you stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A friendly site with security and safetly of campers a priority17/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen B.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a tent pitch with electricity.
    As a family new to camping we don't have much to compare this site to.
    On arrival we were greeted by staff who escorted us to our pitch and explained rules about spacing between plots, car parking etc. But we were asked to pay a small surcharge as our tent was over the size booked on Pitchup.
    Plot was ample with lots of room for tent, gazebo, BBQ, and any other ancillary equipment.
    There are 2 shower/toilet blocks. 1 is much newer and more comfortable.
    There are a lot of rules some seem a little draconian, but they are there for the comfort and safety of paying customers.
    Location is very handy for Seascale beach, Muncaster Castle, Eskdale, Wasdale and the Lakes in general.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets and showers were quite a walk from our pitch. Centrally located facilities would have made the stay the bit more comfortable.
    The toilet/shower cubicles are slightly small and lack a bench, which would be a good improvement.
    Not all users clean the cubicles after use.
    There are only 3 wash basins to clean your dishes so pick your times. We never had to wait long.
    The timer on the shower and hand drier were set on the shortest setting so this did make using them a bit frustrating but there was no limit to how many times you could restart.
    No wifi. Wifi would be an advantage, even as an add-on as service from telecoms is patchy. On occasion the strongest signal I picked up was a very weak one from the Isle of Man.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Overall this is an excellent site!17/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChelsea M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We were placed in plot 65 and 66 which was perfectly tucked away in its own little corner. We liked this as it had a very private feel to it!

    The dog meadow was right behind us which was perfect as our family dog came camping with us.

    The toilet and shower block were pristine and very well looked after.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful!

    This campsite is in a perfect location with the beach just a 5 minute drive away. We got so lucky with the weather and we really did feel like we were on holiday abroad!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review. It is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and fab views!!16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHannah L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a fantastic week at Shepherds View! The wardens and owners were extremely helpful with tips on places to go with our boys, and always chatted to all four of us. We have all said our week here in the lakes is by far one of our best camping trips thus far!!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your very kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are really looking forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Site was clean at camp. Peaceful site in beautiful surroundings, …16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site was clean at camp. Peaceful site in beautiful surroundings, close to the beach.

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately we felt the site owners/wardens were very strict, to the degree of making us turn the car around to face the opposite way. You really do have to be out by 11am as she sits by the window taking registration plates from 11:01 in order to charge the late stay fee. The toilets didn’t seem to be maintained, not once during our 3 night stay was hand soap available in the toilets. We witnessed the staff arguing with visitors over minuscule issues. Personally we have decided we would not visit again due to not being able to relax incase we disobeyed the rules slightly.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. Regarding the parking of your car, we have a one way system on site, as you were made aware of on checking in, your car was facing the wrong way because on your husbands own admission he had driven against the one way system, so he could not drive off site without continuing to drive the wrong way around site. We also had a complaint from a couple on site having a BBQ, they were sited by the entry gate and were disgusted at the fact your husband had revved his engine whilst awaiting the gate opening and then wheel spun whilst setting off causing a cloud of dust over their pitch. In the mornings either we, the owners or Wardens go around site to mark off pitches which will become clear at 11am so that we can prepare them for the next guests arrival, I am sure that if your pitch was not maintained prior to your arrival, you would not have been happy. The soap is replenished, as and when necessary, it is obviously used more than regularly and can run out, at any time, had you informed a member of staff of this, then it would have been replenishe immediately. As for Staff 'arguing' with other guests on site this is not the case, it was a health & safety issue which was sorted out and a conversation you were not party to.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Plenty of freezer space for cool blocks and also a fridge for campers16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMorag O.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful new shower block

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly staff. Clean showers and toilets. Lovely site. Kids loved …15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff. Clean showers and toilets. Lovely site. Kids loved toasting marshmallows on the camp fire. The sunset and moonrise was amazing. To top it of we saw a shooting star!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look foward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very good site with great cleaning facilities. Pitches soft and level15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristopher C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice big tent pitch that was level and clean. Nice and quiet site close to the beach. Co-op a 5 minute drive away and some basic amenities available in the shop in reception. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Toilet block was very nice, one of the nicest I've seen on a camp site.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review. it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly atmosphere, clean and decent facilities, enjoyed use of boule …15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCatherine S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly atmosphere, clean and decent facilities, enjoyed use of boule pitch

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: one group at a time

Hand sanitising stations

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Holmrook, Cumbria, England, CA19 1XU
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.3844°N 3.4562°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Tangier Street — 12.7 miles
Queens Head — 15.1 miles
The Queens Head — 15.1 miles
Train stations
Drigg Rail Station — 0.7 miles
Seascale Rail Station — 1.4 miles
Ravenglass Rail Station — 2.8 miles
Ferry ports
Sunny Bank (Coniston) Ferry Landing — 15.4 miles
Torver (Coniston) Ferry Landing — 15.6 miles
Lake Bank (Coniston) Ferry Landing — 15.8 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 76.4 miles

Directions


If you are travelling with a caravan or a motorhome, approach B5344 from Holmrook.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Clamber aboard the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway (10 minutes’ drive from Shepherds Views Holidays) for a trip through the Lake District under someone else’s steam, then venture to Horse and Husky for horse riding and dog sledding. Making your way to Wast Water lake, 25 minutes from site, is a must too, even if you just stop and soak up the absolutely stunning views – you’ll feel your stress melt away.

Active sorts will want to swim on over to West Lakes Adventure, 25 minutes from the site, where they can try canyoning, canoeing, rock climbing, archery, abseiling, raft building, mountain biking and paddleboarding.

For a feel of what it must have been like to live that Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey type of life, take a trot around the gardens at the spectacular Muncaster Castle, 10 minutes from Shepherds Views, or trip along to the stately home of Wordsworth House (the childhood home of poet William Wordsworth) where you can poke around the rooms, root around in the gardens and let the kids go wild.

Kids still chafing at the bit? Get in the car for an excursion to Jump Mania trampoline park, Lake District Coast Aquarium or Lake District Wildlife Park, all within an hour of site.

Must see

  • Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway (2.7 miles)
  • Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum (18.3 miles)
  • Beatrix Potter Gallery (18.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Wasdale, Eskdale and Duddon (5.1 miles)
  • Buttermere and Ennerdale (10.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Shepherds Views Holidays cancellation policy

No refunds within 8 days of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Shepherds Views Holidays will debit the balance from your card 8 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 8 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Shepherds Views Holidays have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Shepherds Views Holidays dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Shepherds Views Holidays? Clamber aboard the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway (10 minutes’ drive from Shepherds Views Holidays) for a trip through the Lake District under someone else’s steam, then venture to Horse and Husky for … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Shepherds Views Holidays?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Shepherds Views Holidays? From £23 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact shepherds-views-holidays


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Dogs

Extras

General

Occupancy

Pitches

Safety

Vehicles

Visitors

Additional terms

Guests must not bring their own firepits or wood onto site. Firepits are provided free of charge and large sacks of wood provided on site.

Campfires are not allowed on the hardstanding pitches.

Electric/hybrid vehicle must not be charged using any of the electrical points on site.

Close