Book and review 10,304 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Brick Kiln Campsite

9.8
View prices & book
From £18/€20.04/A$31.96/US$22.50/CA$29.39/CHF22.09/SEK211.15/DKK149.74/NOK192.92/ISK2,812/ARS953.79/CLP15,489/PEN73.91/NZ$33.27/ZAR313.64/PLN85.25/R$84.36/CZK511.96/RSD2,359/HUF6,510.80/RUB1,418.30/CN¥154.87 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Brick Kiln

General

  • Peaceful adults-only site with log fires; dogs welcome
  • Ideal for families but also offering Adult Only space
  • Guest kitchen and undercover seating area; firepit on each pitch

Brick Kiln is based on the outskirts of the village of Campsea Ashe. It is in a quiet and peaceful location, surrounded by fields and birdsong.

The one-acre grass hedged campsite may be off the beaten track, but it's centrally situated and within easy reach of the A12 taking you to famous Suffolk places: Woodbridge, Framlingham, Snape, Aldeburgh and Southwold to name but a few.

All pitches are 10 meters x 8 metres and include a firepit. Each pitch is in sight of the play area .

Camping wouldn't be camping without a campfire where you can toast your marshmallows and share tall tales. Wood and kindling is for sale on site for your convenience and for health and safety reasons.

The converted stable block has a small kitchen area where you can wash up and have access to a fridge/freezer, kettle, microwave and toaster. Off the kitchen is a seating area for wet days or colder nights.

The block also houses the campsite showers and toilets, with a family shower room.

There is no electrical hook-up here, just some plugs to charge your phones (if you need them).

The site has an adult-only area.

Dogs are welcome but must be kept on a lead at all times.

Please note this is a NO MUSIC site. This is a quiet site and guests are expected to respect this.

The team looks forward to welcoming you and hope you have a happy and comfortable stay at Brick Kiln.

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

This is an adults-only site. Children under the age of 18 are not allowed on site.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Although Brick Kiln is adults-only for the majority of the year, on the 26, 27, 28 July, and 23, 24, 25 August, Brick Kiln will be permitting some families on site. There will be separate fields for adults and families, and very minimal disruption for those guests expecting an adults-only site.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 18+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.8

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  100% described Brick Kiln Campsite as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

This was my partners first night under the stars and ... 16/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jonathan S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was my partners first night under the stars and mine since the disaster of the Stormy Isle of White Festival many years ago. She loved it so we will make it a regular weekend get away and Brick Kilns will be on that list. Check In was so easy and it was nice that you could select your own pitch on arrival. The showers and toilets were top notch and the kitchen facilities adequate for what we needed, not much other than washing up, We also liked the policy of no music, nothing more annoying than listening to that when trying to relax.
    Well Done Tina x

    Disliked: 

    Nothing..... other than the toaster didn't work ;)

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to your return. I am glad you like the no music policy - the quietness here is amazing and very peaceful. And there is nothing more annoying than listening to someone else's music - especially if you don't like their taste! I am so sorry about the toaster! No one had told me and I will be replacing it today. Thank you for letting me know. Do come back soon. T.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Beautiful location for a wildlife fan 13/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Wulf F. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Luxurious facilities and an abundance of wildlife onsite and in the lane outside.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your kind words. I do so appreciate this. I remember watching you a couple of times as you watched the wildlife and I was so filled with happiness that you were enjoying your surrounds here. I would like to have asked what you had seen! I am reasonably good at knowing who also 'lives' here but sometimes I see a bird that I am not so sure of. I do hope you will be able to return and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you. T.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

This site cannot be beaten. It is perfect. 11/07/2019

sarah_k260635 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This campsite is simply perfect. "Simply" because it is simple, a lovely flat site, lush grass neatly managed and tidy and surrounded with low trees and wildlife. "Perfect" because there is nothing to find fault with.
    Lovely clean toilets and showers, Loo paper and hand soap and paper towels provided, sweet smelling and immaculately maintained.
    There is a kitchen area with two sinks and drainers for your washing up, a kettle, a microwave, a fridge and freezer. There is a comprehensive range of crockery, cutlery and utensils in case you left something behind. I borrowed a wine glass so I didn't have to drink out of a tin cup.
    Next to the kitchen is a sitting area with a dining table and comfortable seating if you have bad weather. There are books maps and board games.

    The owners operate an 'honesty' system for purchases, such as wood, kindling, toiletry kits, etc. You take what you need and leave the money in an envelope in the post box.

    Each pitch has a fire pit so you can toast your marshmallows (if you forgot to bring them, yes, they sell these too! and sticks to toast them on).

    The site is quiet, no music or radios allowed, dogs must be kept on leads, and no children running about. While this may lose them some customers, it will certainly gain them some others, like me who wanted a quiet time.

    I saw lots of wildlife, including my first glimpse of a hare which bounced past my tent early in the morning.

    All in all, I have no fault to find, and I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, and certainly will go there again. Five stars, and no complaints.

    Disliked: 

    Wi-fi had no signal for me, but this in a way was a plus. It was great to get away from all that for a while.

From the manager...

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write. I truly appreciate this. I just want my campers to be happy and to enjoy their holiday. If there is anything I can do to enhance your stay, I am pleased to do this. It was an enormously difficult decision to turn my family run campsite into an adult only site (although I have offered a couple of weekends for this season to families in order to honour bookings from last year) but I am SO pleased I did it because it everyone who has stayed here has appreciated their surrounds and the peace and quiet. If I had only received one review this year, and it had been yours, it would have confirmed that I had made the right decision. Sorry about the wi-fi. I know its patchy but as you say - sometimes it can be a plus to get away from the phones etc. I wake ridiculously early and often see the hares leaping and bounding around the tents in the early morning. I always think 'I hope everyone's dog is on a lead!!' Thank you again for your kindness. Do come back if you kind. T.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Wonderful site with lots of thoughtful extras. Highly recommended. 09/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Marilyn H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything ! Clean, welcoming , good pitches, reasonable rates, helpful owner but not intrusive.

    Disliked: 

    Slight traffic noise.

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your kind review. I really appreciate this. I am glad you consider be a helpful owner but certainly I don't want to be intrusive. I live on site and any problems or queries can always be directed at me here - but it is your holiday and I'm sure you don't want someone doing daily rounds to check up on you! I do hope you will return and I look forward to that. Thank you. T.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great overnight spot 08/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was very quiet, and other campers were very friendly.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review. I agree! Campers are all very friendly. In fact, Campers are a wonderful group of people! And I do enjoy meeting you all. Do come back if you can! T.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Simple but very nice site 07/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Terry C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good clean and quirky facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic campsite, happy to come back 01/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Petra V. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet and rural location, about 30 minutes drive to the seaside. The campsite has good layout and large pitches with a firepit each. Good standard showers & toilets, great little kitchenette with kettle, fridge and microwave. You can borrow crockery and utensils which is a really good idea as we usually forget something:-) There are plenty of little personal touches around the place, which made us feel extra welcomed and made our stay pleasant and relaxed - exactly what we needed. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to come back.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Superb site. (see liked ) 30/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely flat field with short grass and trees and hedges for protection. Great range of equipment provided including microwave toaster and a fridge freezer for food and ice packs. Also charging point for phones etc. The most comprehensive set of facilities I have experienced on a campsite. Fire pits for each tent. Good showers included in price. Shower block kept clean and fresh. Quiet and peaceful with varied birdlife. Finally, very friendly and helpful owners.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

We had a fantastic stay at a simply lovely campsite. 05/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The super clean facilities, the friendly owner Tina, how dog friendly it was and the super honesty box system for buying goodies and useful items like toiletries, bbq equipment etc.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with lovely shower facilities, and friendly staff 03/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jenny C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely Shower block, logs, marshmallows, friendless of owners and fellow dog owners

    Disliked: 

    Music ban, but understandable

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Adults only

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Station Road, Campsea Ashe, Woodbridge, Suffolk, England, IP13 0QL
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.1586°N 1.3942°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Trimley St Martin (Suffolk): Coach Stop — 12.1 miles
Ipswich: Old Cattle Market Bus Station — 12.4 miles
Trimley St Mary (Suffolk): Coach Stop — 12.8 miles
Train stations
Wickham Market Rail Station — 0.6 miles
Melton (Suffolk) Rail Station — 4.4 miles
Saxmundham Rail Station — 5.6 miles
Ferry ports
Bawdsey Ferry Landing — 11.6 miles
Felixstowe for Bawdsey Ferry Landing — 11.7 miles
Shotley Point Marina Ferry Landing — 14.8 miles
Airports
Norwich International Airport — 35.7 miles

Directions


Brick Kiln Farm is situated in a peaceful location on the edge of the village of Campsea Ashe, near Wickham Market, in Suffolk. We are one mile from the train station (named Wickham Market although it is in the centre of the village of Campsea Ashe). Daily trains run hourly to and from London. Tina would be delighted to organise collection/drop off to the station!

From the A12 south
Take the exit for B1078, then turn right at the top of the slip road. Take the immediate second left after the flyover. We are directly opposite the slip road on to the A12 south.

From the A12 north
Come off the A12 just after the Marlesford Farm Café. At the crossroads turn right and follow the lane to Brick Kiln. Or take the exit for the B1078, and turn right onto the lane next to the slip road, almost like a u-turn. Follow the lane to Brick Kiln.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

A 10-minute walk across the fields from Brick Kiln Farm will bring you to The Duck, the local pub.

Campsea Ashe is also home to Wickham Market Railway station, about a 15 to 20 minute walk from Brick Kiln or a three-minute taxi ride.

Snape Maltings, Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, Woodbridge, cafés, antique centres, Jimmy's Farm, Easton Farm Park, cinema, pubs, restaurants, and Walberswick for crabbing are also all within a short distance.

Must see

  • Framlingham Castle (4.9 miles)
  • Sutton Hoo Anglo-Saxon Burial Mounds (5.1 miles)
  • Orford Castle (7.4 miles)

National Trust

  • Sutton Hoo (5.1 miles)
  • Orford Ness National Nature Reserve (7.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1:30 p.m. –  8:30 p.m.
Depart by:  1 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1:30 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  1 p.m.

As Tina and Sophie are self-employed and can not always be on site, there is a self check-in system. If you arrive and no one is about, don't panic: park up in the field near the stables. There will be a pitch plan in the kitchen area: look for your name/group name and pitch up!

Brick Kiln Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Brick Kiln Campsite will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Brick Kiln Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
This is an adults-only site. Children under the age of 18 are not allowed on site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet (afternoon) hours must be respected between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Quiet hours must be respected between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m..
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.
No vehicle movement between 9:30 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 9:30 p.m..
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close