Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Birchwood Fishing and Camping

9.5
View prices & book
From £10/€11.68/A$19.43/US$12.66/CA$17.18/CHF11.18/SEK130.70/DKK87.04/NOK133.21/ISK1,746/ARS10,641.36/CLP12,176/PEN47.79/NZ$20.77/ZAR242.09/PLN50.41/R$62.74/CZK296.03/RSD1,369/HUF4,599.44/RUB1,160.89/CN¥91.15 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Birchwood Fishing and Camping: Grass pitches (photo added by manager on 05/08/2022)

General

  • In a countryside setting but only two miles from Skegness
  • Fishing on site: land catches of up to 26lb
  • Walks accessible from the site through countryside to Skegness

Fishing on a large lake in the lovely Lincolnshire countryside and only five minutes' drive to Skegness: how super.

Fishing for whoppers too, as anglers have landed specimens of up to 26lbs at Birchwood Fishing and Camping two miles from Skeggy, so bring your fishing tackle, buy a day ticket from the team and settle down to see what can be landed among the common carp, koi carp, ghost carp, mirror carp, crucian carp, rudd, roach, tench and bream.

Walks are quite super around these surrounds too… and some are accessible straight from the site entrance taking you out through the surrounding fields to Skegness or Winthorpe or wherever else your feet fancy, perhaps after sinking a pint at the latter's Batemans brewery…?

Birchwood is mainly grass and has a modern toilet and shower block with disabled facilities, free hot showers and a washing-up area. Mains sockets for hairdryers and the like are also available in both the ladies' and the gents' loos.

Dogs are welcome on site, but must be kept on leads at all times and cleaned up after.

Please note

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 221 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

  82% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Just like our first visit here this one was spot …31/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMatt C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch (super)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just like our first visit here this one was spot on.
    Nice straight forward site with friendly hosts, showers, toilets, water etc etc... Solid level pitches which is great.
    Not into fishing but there's fish for sure to be caught!
    Just under 10 mins from the beach on push bike with places to eat and food shop, obviously a great plus.
    Well definitely be visiting again.

    Disliked: 

    No complaints, if I had to make any sort of comment it would just be in regards to showering in a non heated building block which doesn't bother me at all but maby not the same for others.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice quiet site lovely clean shower/toilet block friendly people nice …12/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGail M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice quiet site lovely clean shower/toilet block friendly people nice big pitches

    Disliked: 

    Could do with a bit more lighting

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Organised and clean.11/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch (super)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Organised and clean.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

5***09/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United Kingdommartin f.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch (super)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The whole site was spot on , clean and tidy , very friendly staff couldn't ask for any moreb

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Staff was so friendly, great fishing lake, clean all round25/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRoger S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (eight person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff was so friendly, great fishing lake, clean all round

    Disliked: 

    Could do with kids park on there, and bigger fish

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great overnight stay when visiting Skegness for the weekend.10/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (four person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location
    Lake nearby
    Clean facilities
    Great hosts

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Dirty toilets, lots of people breaking rules and nobody to check this.10/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLynn O.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (four person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff were friendly, let us set up a half hour early. Grass cut and reasonably flat pitch.
    Close to coast.

    Disliked: 

    Quite a lot unfortunately. The toilets were quite dirty, the floor was covered in dirt, there was rubbish on the floor including a large clump of hair from a hairbrush, and a pair of pants! I had to clean the toilet before using it. We came for the night to escape the heat but it was the worst night of camping we've ever had. People were not supervising their children properly for a start. I appreciate that this is not the owner's fault, but there was nobody around to address this. The worst thing for us though was a large group of very inconsiderate campers who lit a camp fire (against the rules) and sat up talking and laughing until the early hours preventing us from sleeping. (against the rules). Again, there was nobody doing a walk-round at 11pm to check this. I wish I'd said something to them now, but that's not really my job. I had to get up to go to the loo at 01:30 and on my way back to my tent was chased by a dog! Unleashed dog-against the rules! Obviously, as owners you can't help the fact that these types of people come to your site and break all the rules they can, but you should be doing more to enforce the rules. There's no point in displaying rules and then not enforcing them. Also, you need to clean the toilets more.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not find the facilities up to our normal standards. Whilst we take every care to keep the toilets and showers exceptional we cannot be in after every person. I can confirm that a walk around did take place after 11pm and nothing was loud or noisy at that time. We are always on hand and the telephone number is readily available if there are any problems.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

We loved how peaceful and safe the area was. Two …04/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (two person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved how peaceful and safe the area was. Two beautiful ponds where we could sit and watch the fish. We felt safe enough to leave our belongings and the facilities were nice and clean.

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

we're already planning when to come back02/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatarzyna R.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch (super)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We really enjoyed our stay there, our girls (10 and 12) loved feeding fish but also chickens walking freely, we had some corn for them but for fish you an buy food from the owner for only a pound. Very clean and nicely organised site. Clean bathroom facilities.Great for heatwave as surrounded by tall trees. Close to lovely beaches. We're already planning when to come back.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great for fish and fun08/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomIan H.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (four person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This site is set out really well and has the tents around the fish breeding pond. Whilst it means you have to keep a close eye on the children they love it as they can feed the fish. The fishing pond looks great too although we didn't get a chance to try it. No noise from traffic or anything else to disturb while there so all in all a recommended site to visit and we will be back.

    Disliked: 

    The roads leading to it are not great.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Mill Lane, Skegness, Lincolnshire, England, PE25 1HW
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.1674°N 0.3197°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 1.8 miles
Coach Station — 1.9 miles
Bus Station — 4.0 miles
Train stations
Skegness Rail Station — 1.8 miles
Havenhouse Rail Station — 4.1 miles
Wainfleet Rail Station — 5.6 miles
Ferry ports
West Lynn Ferry Landing — 28.6 miles
King's Lynn Ferry Landing — 28.7 miles
Airports
Humberside Airport — 39.9 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Lincolnshire's seaside capital Skegness is two miles from Birchwood Fishing and Camping, as are Fantasy Island and the indoor market land of Ingoldmells, another popular destination on the Lincs coast.

Skeggy has quite a bit to see after its beach and excellent amusements, such as Natureland Seal Sanctuary on North Parade, where visitors can see the seals being fed and have a look at loads of other animals like penguins, tarantulas and tropical butterflies. (If it's animals, conservation and nature you're after, see also the Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve, the nearby Northcote Heavy Horse Centre and the National Parrot Sanctuary.)

Just up the coast at Ingoldmells, take the kids to the indoor and outdoor big and small rides of Fantasy Island (this should work as a nice bribe to get them to accompany you to the huge market afterwards) and then a short journey further north to more seaside at Mablethorpe and Sutton-on-Sea.

Finally, if you care for a spot of fruit picking, nearby Willow Farm lets you pluck your own among its 10-acre field and has a farm shop selling more goodies for you to take back to base.

Must see

  • Sandringham (25.0 miles)
  • Holkham Hall (25.1 miles)
  • Houghton Hall (27.4 miles)

National Trust

  • Gunby Hall (5.3 miles)
  • Gunby Hall Estate: Monksthorpe Chapel (6.7 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Birchwood Fishing and Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Birchwood Fishing and Camping will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Apple Pay
Cash
Google Pay
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Birchwood Fishing and Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Birchwood Fishing and Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Birchwood Fishing and Camping? Lincolnshire's seaside capital Skegness is two miles from Birchwood Fishing and Camping, as are Fantasy Island and the indoor market land of Ingoldmells, another popular destination on the Lincs coast. Skeggy has … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Birchwood Fishing and Camping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  7 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Birchwood Fishing and Camping? From £10 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact birchwood-fishing-and-camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures

Dogs

Extras

Additional terms

For the adults-only pitches, a good behaviour bond of £10 per person is payable and refunded at the end of your stay, provided that there have been no complaints or problems.

Close