Book and review 9,577 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Camping La Motte

8.9
View prices & book
From £10.79/€12.25/A$19.86/US$14.09/CA$18.47/CHF14.05/SEK126.76/DKK91.39/NOK115.98/ISK1,651/ARS514.32/CLP9,581/PEN46.79/NZ$21.40/ZAR203.22/PLN52.65/R$52.31/CZK316.96/RSD1,449/HUF3,956.91/RUB925.45/CN¥97.65 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful haven surrounded by vineyards near Montguyon village
  • Hot air balloon flights, horse riding, walking and bike trails nearby
  • Fishing, birdwatching and wildlife spotting around the lake

Hot air balloon flights, horse rides, scenic cycles and natural lake swims are all around this spectacular back to nature site in the south of the Charente-Maritime region.

Camping La Motte places a big emphasis on its guests being able to relax among properly peaceful surroundings, so there's no disco to distract you from the job at hand – just a few early evening games of pétanque and plenty of space for peaceful strolls and bike rides around the site's shaded avenues and neighbouring vineyards.

The fishing lake is a pleasant place to cast your line into or relax alongside, and if you're an ardent ornithologist or wildlife watcher then the likes of osprey, European bee eaters and roe deer can all be spotted on walks around the lake's edge and the surrounding countryside.

For times in between your nature walks, boules games and ticking off Charente-Maritime critters, the snack bar terrace is a splendid spot to sit around and socialise in while you keep an eye on the littlies in the playground next door – or peruse the leaflets and books you can pick up from reception to plan your upcoming days of Charente-Maritime adventures.

Camping La Motte doesn't have a shop, but it doesn't really need one: it's close enough to the town of Montguyon, where you can pick up your morning baguettes and other groceries or treat yourself to the local cuisine in one of its restaurants.

Please note

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 14 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

91% described Camping La Motte as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Access is a bit tight. Facilities are good but it ... 17/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David N. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Access is a bit tight. Facilities are good but it is a sloping site which takes some manoeuvring. In fairness we have quite a big set up [Navara and Coachman Laser 650] so we are 14M long overall. Very quite and peaceful site. Very good for a one or two night stay.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

The access may indeed look a bit tight when you have a right hand drive vehicle. But then again we had a couple from Finland arriving with a VW-van + 9,5mtr twin-axle caravan yesterday. He told us to be happy since not all campsites have such a wide entrance and spacious pitches.
Anyhow you got your twin-axle caravan on the pitch you had chosen without a problem using the mover. On your next visit to us it will even be easier.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent location, nice and quiet...Impolite staff!!! 16/10/2018

Anonymous Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really liked the location. I would rated the whole stay 4 unfortunately situation at the departure changed everything.

    Disliked: 

    The cabin we have stayed in requires renovation. The old bags with rice in shower and toilet a bit off-putting.
    The owner inspected cabin we have stayed in (for one night only) at the departure and requested us to clean it using mop and cleaning products explaining that this is not a hotel. We asked what sort of cleaning standards she meant and politely requested to provide us with what's required to use for the standards she had in mind. We didn't mind to do so. She replied that we should have our own mop and cleaning products and demanded 15 euro for cleaning at the same time. She was really unpleasant to us.
    The terms and condition requires an update as at the moment it states that: "Your unit must be left clean and tidy" - we have left it in similar condition we got it at the beginning, used what was provided to tidy it up.
    And if owner is unhappy with something there are different/better ways/words that could have been used making sure that no one if offended by it.
    Are you taking cleaning products and mop with you when on holiday!!!!???? We where told that everyone is....

From the manager...

Sorry to hear you were not very satisfied. When you booked the day before your arrival we could only give you one of the mobil-homes we rent out to workers during weekdays and yes they are not as recent as the others.
The person who checked you out told me you said you had done nothing at all to leave the mobil-home "as clean as you found it on arrival". She tried to explain in her best english that a mobil-home is not like a hotelroom which somehow started the misunderstanding. Anyhow I was told she proposed you to take care of it yourself (like most people do) or pay the minimum of € 15,00 for her to take care of it (standard is € 47,50) since it was basicly just cleaning the floor, bathroom and toilet.
Again we regret what happened and will take it as a lesson.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Happily stay again. 12/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Cliff M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean, very friendly.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Quiet well maintained place, tent pitches big enough for a ... 02/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet well maintained place, tent pitches big enough for a family tent, clean toilets

    Disliked: 

    some of the tent pitches are too close to a septic tank and the smell blows over sometimes

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Perfect for us. Great cycling routes. 14/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very quiet relaxed site. Large pitches, very friendly and helpful host/owner. Ample clean facilities. Recommended if you like it quiet and rural.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Peaceful and very clean,friendly staff 07/07/2018

Reviewer's country: Jersey Derek M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful and very clean,friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautiful peaceful location, 15 minute bike ride to local town, ... 22/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Katie H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful peaceful location, 15 minute bike ride to local town, Montguyon. Nicely kept site with clean facilities

    Disliked: 

    Shame snack bar was not open

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good stop over 27/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave L. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Considering it was well out of season and poor weather, we found nothing to complain about at this stop over site. Friendly greeting. English spoken.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very friendly helpful owner. As it is winter site very ... 09/02/2018

sheila_m276484 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly helpful owner. As it is winter site very quiet which we prefer. Lovely location with huge lake. Probably busy in summer but spacious pitches and lovely lay out. Would def stay here again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

spacious pitches, quiet site, exceptionally cleaan 21/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Fiona B. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    spacious pitches, quiet site, exceptionally cleaan

    Disliked: 

    limited hot water

From the manager...

Thank you and we intend to keep our campsite this way. Hope to see you back soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Pétanque

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Motorhome service point

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Forest

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Horse riding nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Lieu-dit La Motte, Le Fouilloux, Charente-Maritime, France, 17270
  • Timezone Europe/Paris CEST (GMT+02:00)   GPS 45.2121°N 0.1365°W

Directions


Local attractions

Vineyards and wine tasting tours are all around in this area, including one in nearby Montguyon – ask the friendly La Motte team for their fave vineyards or to point you in the direction of something to suit your palette.

Between April and October, book to go up in a hot air balloon after sunrise or a good hour before sunset; depending on the direction of the wind, there are more than 30 places for flight departures, including one around a kilometre from Camping La Motte, and another couple further afield in the Safari Parc de Haute-Saintonge and the Chalais airfield, both 15 kilometres away.

Over in Bordeaux, an hour's drive away, visit La Cité du Vin on the banks of the Garonne to learn about the world of wine/ Several good museums are here too, including the Musée d'Aquitaine, Musée des Beaux-Arts and the Musée d'Art Contemporain, all presided over by the UNESCO-listed 11th-century Cathédrale St-André.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  9 a.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Camping La Motte cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Camping La Motte will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: €300.00 (£267.73) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Tax

Local city tax of €0.20 (£0.18) per person per night at least age 16 is not included and must be paid on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Camping La Motte


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
A valid vaccination certificate must accompany your dog.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: €300.00 (£267.73) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.
Your unit must be left clean and tidy, a fine of €47.00 (£41.94) will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and from 1:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. between 02/01 - 30/06 and 01/09 - 15/12.
Reception is open from 8:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. between 01/07 and 31/08.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close