Book and review 3,516 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Top of the Woods

9.8
View prices & book
From £19.50/€21.87/A$35.46/US$24.39/CA$32.41/CHF24.14/SEK234.34/DKK164.44/NOK219.15/ISK3,034/ARS1,364.88/CLP17,254/PEN80.99/NZ$38.25/ZAR355.51/PLN95.23/R$99.62/CZK569.26/RSD2,596/HUF7,296.27/RUB1,569.29/CN¥172.64 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Welcome to the safari lodges

General

  • Camping meadows edged by hundreds of acres of ancient woodland
  • Eco-friendly site in a wildlife haven
  • Breakfast and weekend stew and barbecue nights available

Batty about wildlife? Wishing for a walk in ancient Welsh woodland amid a wide expanse of sky and Pembrokeshire views?

Then retreat to peaceful and friendly Top of the Woods, four pretty meadows edged by the Pembrokeshire National Park and hundreds of acres of woodland. It's all in the grounds of 18th-century Penrallt Farm, and overlooks the Preseli Hills with views of the barrow cemetery and sacred site of Frenni Fawr.

The Teifi valley is also easily accessible, but stick around on site for a while to meet the local inhabitants: Top of the Woods has its own woodlands bordered by another 300 acres of wooded and wildflower wilderness, where you’re likely to meet birds of prey, badgers, foxes, otters, local and migrant birds, and five of the UK’s 17 protected species of bats which roost here and in the farm buildings.

Owners Soo and John are keen to give guests the greenest and most nature-filled camping hol possible (the site has solar showers, for example), and are passionate about inspiring guests to get into the outdoors.

But they’ve been careful to add comfort and good food to their overall menu too: for a small extra charge, guests can have breakfast (of top quality locally sourced food) in the Dutch barn picnic area, or hang around on weekends for stew and barbecue nights around the communal firepit. Just be sure and bring the guitar to warble along to The Carpenters's Top of the World…

Please note

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

This site is part of the Greener Camping Club Association: customers who are currently non-members will be signed up to the club at no extra cost.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.8

Overall rating based on 25 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

  95% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Spaciousness of each pitch. Extremely clean facilities. Laundry drying area. ...15/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma O.Confirmed

  • Meadow non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spaciousness of each pitch. Extremely clean facilities. Laundry drying area. Fire bowls and wood. Environmentally friendly measures.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Hospitality, quietness, tents, the barn, pizza night, basically all.06/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWouter d.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Nature Dome geodesic dome
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hospitality, quietness, tents, the barn, pizza night, basically all.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words & your stay have a wonderful summer & we would lovew to see you guys again! xxx

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

a truly wonderful place. a haven for wildlife and a chance to unwind.19/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdommichelle S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Pioneer Lodge 2 bedroom lodge
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    everything especially the beautiful location and the warm welcome.

    Disliked: 

    leaving...

From the manager...

Thanks for your stay with us & for you loely review. Hope to see you guys again once you move back to the UK!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Amazing facilities, super friendly staff and a beautiful location15/07/2019

neil_b102839Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything! The site is incredible! The staff are super friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and I was instantly made to feel at home. The field i stayed in was beautiful, the evening light in the meadow was amazing. There was a composting toilet in the field with me which was exceptionally clean, but the main showers and toilets were immaculate and there was always plenty of hot water. I also took part in the communal stew night on the Friday which was a great was to meet fellow travelers as well as being delicious! I honestly can't rate this site enough, I will 100% be returning and would urge anyone considering it to do the same!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your lovely stay with us & hope to meet your other half next time round , dont forget to bring your super cute dog back too with us :-) xxx

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly & warm welcome from Soo & Jon who take real pride in the site04/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLynsey J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely open fields in the midst if nature with plenty of space and facilities nearby. Also access from the site to local walks including the 'secret waterfall'.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your stay guys ! come and visit again :-) xxx

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent facilities, hot water - really great showers, clean loos.10/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGrace N.Confirmed

  • Pioneer Lodge 2 bedroom lodge
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    5* Now the Owners have installed Wood burners in each Dome, before that less.
    Owners John and Sue could not have been more helpful as they changed our accommodation when we mentioned that I had trouble sleeping on the floor beds in the Pioneer Lodge because of my broken arm.
    The weekend package for 2 Breakfasts and 2 Dinners was well worth doing! The porridge is amazing as was the stew night.
    They even gave us some sausages when we were totally disorganised and drove around looking for a shop open to use our outdoor BBQ pit.
    So, recommended for the up market camping experience - still need toilets for night time use a bit closer.

    Disliked: 

    No private toilet.

From the manager...

Thank you for your stay & lovely review ladies. I hope your arm heals soon & we would love to see you back again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Best campsite. Great setup without losing the freedom / wildness!21/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJosh B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities, setting, hosts, nearby amenities etc

    Disliked: 

    Weather!

From the manager...

Thanks for your stay & review - unfortunately the weather wasn't at its best the days you stayed with us. However, you did look like you were a seasoned camper so would love to see you again !

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Liked the location and facilities. Owners were very friendly and ...03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Meadow non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Liked the location and facilities. Owners were very friendly and BBQ and breakfast were lovely. Great local woodland, walks and wildlife.

    Disliked: 

    Very family orientated campsite so lots of kids. Perhaps not suitable for couples getaway or quite retreat for experienced campers.

From the manager...

Hi Guys - thank you for your stay & i am glad you lovely break. I am sorry your stay in August impacted your enjoyments, as we do have a lot of families stay with us at that time of year However outside of the school holidays we have lots of couples camping & glamping with us as its a quieter time of year & is usually a beautiful weather i.e June/July coming and I do hope you come and stay with us again, but do try us outside the school holidays. We would love to see you again!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A wonderful family site, amazingly clean facilities. Very relaxing.01/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNicola G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A wonderfully clean site, very safe for the family and very relaxing. We will definitely visit again. Loved the bell tent and the facilities. It had everything we needed.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks you for your stay guys, see you again for another glamping adventure !

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Bell tent was lovely, really cosy and comfortable beds. Everything ...26/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Bell tent was lovely, really cosy and comfortable beds. Everything provided.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks you for your stay with us, we would love to see you all again!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Forest

Gastronomic delight

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Geodesic domes

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Penrallt Farm, Newchapel, Boncath, Pembrokeshire, Wales, SA37 0EP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.0113°N 4.5920°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
St Clears (Carmarthenshire) Coach Stop — 13.9 miles
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 14.0 miles
Carmarthen: Blue Street o/s Bus Station — 16.2 miles
Train stations
Clunderwen Rail Station — 13.2 miles
Whitland Rail Station — 13.4 miles
Narberth Rail Station — 15.7 miles
Ferry ports
Fishguard Ferry Terminal — 17.1 miles
Tenby Ferry Landing — 23.8 miles
Caldey Island Ferry Landing — 26.0 miles
Airports
Swansea Airport — 36.1 miles

Directions


Navigate to SA37 0EP, which will take you to Capel Colman Road. Follow the road past the houses and turn left, continuing until you go past a church on your left. Take the left-hand fork and continue all the way down to the bottom of the track, where you will see a sign for parking.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The Pembrokeshire Coast Path, said to be one of the best long distance trails in the world, runs for 186 miles from Dogmael to Amroth and can be accessed a few miles from Top of the Woods.

Tackle the path in as long or short a stretch as long or short legs wish: the nine miles from nearby Fishguard to Pwll Deri and the 14 miles from Newport to St Dogmaels are two localish treks to tackle; stop off at Cemaes Head on the Newport walk to see seals pup in autumn. (A bus service runs along the full length of the path if you’d rather see things from up on high.)

Or simply hit the sands and surf instead at several spots around the first-class Pembrokeshire coast, take a boat out on a sea fishing trip or dolphin watch around glorious Cardigan Bay via a boat trip from the Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre.

Just outside Cardigan on the banks of the River Teifi, the Welsh Wildlife Centre in the Teifi Marsh Nature Reserve is teeming with wetland wildlife like otters and dragonflies, springtime bluebells around its wooded paths and heaps of activities including pond dipping, guided tours and trail maps.

Must see

  • National Wool Museum (8.3 miles)
  • Llanerchaeron - National Trust (21.0 miles)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (22.3 miles)

National Trust

  • Tudor Merchant's House (23.9 miles)
  • Aberdeunant (26.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  8:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  8:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Top of the Woods cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Cancellation more than 14 days before arrival: 50% of the balance is non refundable.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Top of the Woods will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Top of the Woods


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Disposable barbecues and amplified music are not permitted.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

There is a communal firepit area to be enjoyed by all. Fires in the camping fields are only allowed in suitable firepits.

The site provides wild meadow camping and a back to nature experience: there is no electricity in the fields.

Barrows are provided to transport your luggage to your pitch.

This site is part of the Greener Camping Club Association - customers that are currently non-members will be signed up to the club at no extra cost.

Bell tent : please note, dogs are not permitted inside and are only allowed if staying in a pup tent.

Close