Book and review 8,825 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Brynhyfryd Camping and Caravanning

7.2
View prices & book
From £11/€12.48/A$19.37/US$14.66/CA$18.85/CHF14.52/kr123.37/kr92.85/kr122.17/kr1,540/$254.23/$9,587/PEN47.41/NZ$21.09/R200.41/zł52.50/R$48.46/Kč319.74/RSD1,491/Ft3,916.99/₽868.44/CN¥97.05 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Small peaceful countryside site a short drive from Cardiff and Swansea
  • Campers' kitchen and sweet shop
  • Buy vintage Welsh wool blankets and handmade crafts on site

Brynhyfryd Camping and Caravanning is a small, peaceful, family-owned rural site, welcoming families and couples looking for a relaxing break. Although in a rural area, Junction 36 of the M4 is only 10 minutes away.

The farm has a popular campers' kitchen with fridge, microwave and kettle, and a small shop selling basics, cold drinks, ice and some camping necessities along with shabby chic items, vintage Welsh wool blankets and handmade crafts produced by the family.

The amenities building has free hot showers, toilets and privacy cubicles.

The site is still evolving, and work is ongoing to some areas in the form of landscaping and improvements. Please note that as a small site, there is no play area.

Please note

Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.2

Overall rating based on 53 reviews

 

70% would recommend this site to a friend.

68% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Good for a stop over and together out and about visiting the area 25/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kristin R. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet,friendly,lovely area.

    Disliked: 

    Quite wet and bumpy pitches.Scruffy campsite BUT it was cheap and had good looks etc so for a stop over its great!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Site was wet and bogged down, pitches very small. Facilities ... 11/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom SUSAN T. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site was wet and bogged down, pitches very small. Facilities rudimentary (to say the least) and the site had a generally scruffy appearance, particularly the entrance. I could not even get my 'van into position after getting bogged down. Fortunately another caravanner helped me get out. I ended up not staying here and moved onto another site and have not yet received a refund.

    Disliked: 

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Pitches on a slight slope didn't matter. Very clean and friendly 04/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nia D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilets clean
    Lovely quiet site
    Friendly
    Kids loved the chickens
    Good location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly staff, suitable site for motorhome, caravan & tents. 31/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark B. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly owners who tried to make the campsite as hospitable as possible which was proving to be difficult considering the amount of rainfall over the last 6 weeks. However, we didn't have any problems, our pitch did the job and the kitchen and shower rooms were kept clean. Fantastic area for dog walking as its a 5 minute walk to the Nature Reserve. Short drive to Bridgend and Porth Cawl.

    Disliked: 

    Bins were overflowing but it was the end of the bank holiday weekend and were due to be emptied the following day.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Not the best of sites, certainly overpriced. 24/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom John W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pleasant owners, site quite water logged due to the weather and was being returffed on a daily basis.

    Disliked: 

    Entrance was not good, a number of scrap vehicles and a caravan was not a welcoming sight. More offputting was a few motor homes and vehicles that looked abandoned.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Nothing 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom ann p. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    It was a horrific site the picture you shoe and there web site is so misleading I thought I was driving into a gypsies sight the state it was in there were dumped wrecked vans and cars everywhere there were no actual marked pitches it was a free for all the static caravans that are there are over grown and run down there were open sheds that the young kids were getting into and taking things and running around the camp site the extra parking I got charged 8 pound for was a mound of gravel which i wasnt happy leaving my car in because of the kids the ground was wet and never dried out in the sun and in patched you could see the mud bubbling there is obv a drainage problem we saw a van was stuck so we managed to get boards under our wheels so we would not get stuck the toilets were disgusting no doors on them and never cleaned toilet seat broken of the step up to the waste poiny was obv damaged and they used grow bags to make new steps there were big dogs running free from the caravans and there house and 3 times I stepped in dog shit on arrival I had to phone the owner as there are no signs showing you where to go he told us where to pitch and them dissaperad never to be seen again for the whole week I was there he also allowed two tents to pitch end to end 3 inches from our caravan with 18 people in it 10 adults and 8 kids under 8 whilst I love kids I object to screaming kids and swearing adults till 1 am in the morning I tried to go to the house to complain but no answer there was no room for them to park there 4 cars so they parked in the middle of the road and refused to move making us try to turn on mud desperately trying not to get stuck whilst I understand he can't be held responsible for them he never armttemped to sort them out yo make everyone else happy and his site is disgusting

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Terrible 17/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Susan N. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    As entering site derelict cars rubbish bins full and pieces of building materials scattered, nothing like photos or reviews. Although it had been raining for a time pitches were herendous, not maintained at all , toilets kept having water puddles in and no renewal of paper. I could go on definitely would not recommend to anyone.
    This site needs to be reviewed as a campsite.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly staff and understand its an on going project but not for us x 14/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom peter_d115998 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Meeting a nice welsh couple at the ebd of our stay

    Disliked: 

    This campsite had no noise control,no distance between tents/caravan which is a fire hazard and no chance or a little privacy and it has no drainage so the campsite is thickly bogged and soggy,the first 2 nights party's stopped at 12:30am

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however, there are a few things which we strongly dispute. Firstly, all units are pitched at the recommended distance as stated by the Camping & Caravanning Club. Six meters between units EXCLUDING guy ropes. Some recommendations are 3 meters between tents and 4 meters between mixed units. Fire safety regulations do NOT consider these distances to be a fire hazard. Regarding the 'lack of privacy', if you want to camp in splendid isolation, do NOT camp in the school holidays. Secondly, we are more than a bit fed up with people complaining that the ground is wet. Are you, or indeed any of the previous complainants, qualified groundworks engineers? We had a qualified groundwork engineer on site several years ago and he advised us on what to do regarding improving the drainage, which we carried out faithfully. So to all you people who think you have x-ray vision, there IS DEFINITELY DRAINAGE on the field. However, as I have previously and repeatedly said, we are at the foot of a mountain on a peat topsoil with a clay subsoil. It is NEVER going to be as dry as a sandy soil. Furthermore, it has rained EVERY DAY at some point for the last five weeks. We were informed that as of last week, some campsites in Porthcawl were flooded and not able to accept ANY bookings, so we feel our little field is holding its own. And finally the 'lack of noise control'. We do NOT sleep on site. If no one reports any noise, we are not aware of it and NO ONE reported any noise during this campers stay. Why didn't you report it? We have reached the end of our tether with poor reviews generated simply because of bad weather. We do not control the weather, if we did, it would be wall to wall sunshine! If you cannot cope with camping in the British weather, camp in Spain, or better yet, stay in a hotel.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Poor facilities 10/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul H. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was mostly quiet and not near busy roads.

    Disliked: 

    The first impression was not good with abandoned vehicles and delapilated outbuildings on the site. The drainage was awful and the pitches were water logged on arrival. There was not enough space for a tent or caravan as well as a car per pitch. The owners were not readily available without phoning them and the toilet block was not well cleaned or re-stocked sufficiently. The showers went cold after several uses and there was no doors on the entrances of the toilet / shower block to allow private washing or a mirror in the ladies.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however, we really have to strongly dispute some of your comments. Firstly, you do not spell dilapidated as you have, the correct spelling is the one I have given. Secondly, the pitch that we allocated to you was amply big enough to accommodate your large tent plus your vehicle, however, you didn't wish to camp there and so chose your own pitch, with which we were happy to accommodate you. Thirdly, we are more than a bit fed up with people complaining that the ground is wet. Are you, or indeed any of the previous complainants, qualified groundworks engineers? We had a qualified groundwork engineer on site several years ago and he advised us on what to do regarding improving the drainage, which we carried out faithfully. So to all you people who think you have x-ray vision, there IS DEFINITELY DRAINAGE on the field. However, as I have previously and repeatedly said, we are at the foot of a mountain on a peat topsoil with a clay subsoil. It is NEVER going to be as dry as a sandy soil. Furthermore, it has rained EVERY DAY at some point for the last five weeks. We were informed that as of last week, some campsites in Porthcawl were flooded and not able to accept ANY bookings, so we feel our little field is holding its own. And finally the toilet and shower block. Prior to the renovation work, when there were external doors, they were ALWAYS left open! NO ONE closed it behind them! The toilets ARE well cleaned, however, the floor does get dirty in wet weather. On leaving, you complained that there wasn't a toilet roll in one toilet, why not A) go into another one or B) why didn't you report it to us at the time? Your rude and hurtful comments on leaving upset Paul yet when he mentioned that to you and informed you of the thousands of pounds we have ploughed into the upgrade of facilities, never mind the many more thousands over all, you simply ignored him. Oh and finally, you stated that you were leaving a day early because of what you perceived as our site's inadequacies, however, your little boy piped up with the truth and said you were leaving early 'because it's muddy'! AGAIN, we are not responsible for the weather! I don't think UK camping suited you. Oh, and another last point regarding your comment that we weren't 'readily available', admittedly, we didn't stand out in the field in the pouring rain awaiting interaction with yourselves, which incidentally would have been completely one sided as your husband totally ignored Paul every time he spoke to him. However, you didn't have to phone to reach us if you didn't want to, you could simply have knocked on the farmhouse door! It's easy, you just make a fist and tap!

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Needs better drainage and a door on the entrance to the showers. 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lesley R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cosy family run campsite. Helpful management who tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    Disliked: 

    Facilities and pitch conditions did not warrant the amount charged per night. This is no more than a £10 per night campsite. Not the £19 a night we were charged for one adult and one child. All the pitches were severely waterlogged which is obviously a weather issue but I think better drainage would prevent it happening again. The showers were hot but with the door missing off the entrance, it wasn't very private. There could have been more waste bins in the wash rooms and washing up area. There were no recycling facilities that I could find.

From the manager...

Pitches were wet and muddy owing to 3 weeks of rain. I won't repeat myself explaining our soil and substrate and the fact that there is extensive drainage on site which is why the ground is dry in two days of no rain (one if it's really sunny). The waste is recycled by the commercial waste collector. See my previous reply regarding exterior doors. However, the remark that really intrigues me is the £10 per night. Please, please let us know where you can camp in August with electric hook up and free showers/ hot water for £10 per night! We will be rushing to stay there ourselves!!
This lady was part of a large party, but had booked on her own and so was not initially sited with her friends. She was quite rude about this so, although it was 7pm at night when she arrived , we re jigged the pitching which enabled her to camp with her friends. I wish now we hadn't bothered as this is the thanks you get.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Gastronomic delight

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Ffordd Y Gyfraith, Cefn Cribwr Bridgend, Glamorgan, Wales, CF32 0BS
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.5468°N 3.6333°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bridgend Sarn Coach Stop — 2.8 miles
Port Talbot Bus Station — 7.4 miles
Neath: Rail Station Coach Stop — 10.9 miles
Train stations
Tondu Rail Station — 1.6 miles
Sarn Rail Station — 2.0 miles
Wildmill Rail Station — 2.9 miles
Ferry ports
Swansea Queens Dock Ferry Terminal — 13.4 miles
Barry Waterfront Ferry Terminal — 18.5 miles
Cardiff Castle Waterbus Stop — 19.8 miles
Airports
Cardiff International Airport — 16.3 miles
Swansea Airport — 19.1 miles

Directions


Leave the M4 at junction 36, take the A4063 down the dual carriageway, go past Sarn Park Services and continue up to the roundabout. Go straight on onto the B4281 for approximately one mile to the Fountain pub (on your left-hand side). Turn left at the pub, go over the level crossing and up a straight road (approximately half a mile long) to the T-junction. Take the left and carry on for another half a mile until you reach the Ffordd-y-Gyfraith crossroads. Look out for our sign at the crossroads and turn right. You will find the campsite after approximately 70 yards on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The site is well placed for visiting lots of attractions whatever your interests. There are two nature reserves within five miles (one half a mile away); just nine miles away are several beaches including Porthcawl, Ogmore by Se, and Aberafon. The Gower Penisular beaches are a 40-minute drive away.

Many ruined castles are around the area and there's plenty of industrial heritage such as the renowned Rhondda Heritage Park.

Or go shopping for the day: the site is 30 minutes' drive from Cardiff and slightly closer to Swansea with its new marina. A McArthurGlen Designer Outlet is ten minutes away, just off Junction 36.

Other notable attractions include St Fagans National History Museum (free entry), the Big Pit National Coal Museum (free entry), Margam Country Park and Go Ape Adventure, Afan Forest Park and offroad cycling, and the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

The site is next door to Wiggleys Fun Farm.

Must see

  • Aberdulais Falls (11.1 miles)
  • National Waterfront Museum (14.0 miles)
  • Penderyn Distillery Visitor Centre (15.8 miles)

National Trust

  • Aberdulais Falls (11.1 miles)
  • Watersmeet (23.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Brynhyfryd Camping and Caravanning cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Brynhyfryd Camping and Caravanning will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
PayPal
Postal order

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Brynhyfryd Camping and Caravanning


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

Maximum tent size: 5m x 7m.

This is a small site and as such does not have a play area.

Close