Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Commonwood Leisure

9.2
View prices & book
From £30/€35.01/A$58.11/US$37.97/CA$51.56/CHF33.58/SEK393.37/DKK261.13/NOK399.44/ISK5,244/ARS32,019.05/CLP36,511/PEN143.10/NZ$62.19/ZAR723.80/PLN151.25/R$188.13/CZK888.07/RSD4,106/HUF13,807.01/RUB3,483.58/CN¥273.25 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Commonwood Leisure: Aracdia Camping (photo added by manager on 30/06/2022)

General

  • Lakeside glamping at a 60-acre site 10 minutes' drive from Wrexham
  • Chester, Llangollen and three golf courses within a half-hour drive
  • Café on site; 10 fishing lakes for all levels from kids to pros

Finding a secluded spot surrounded by mature woodlands in north Wales is a fine idea in itself – but it gets even better here if you’re into your fishing. And that’s because Commonwood Leisure has 10 lakes around its 60-acre site, catering for everyone from kids and beginners to pros (who may like to wrestle with the 60-pound whopper that lives in the catfish lake…)

It’s all set up to be as straightforward as possible at this well-maintained park: the glamping tents are set up either by a one-acre lake or in a family area away from the water's edge. Wherever you stay you'll get a private fishing peg for each tent (plus a private toilet and parking space).

Not fussed by fishing? This lakeside setting should be pretty splendid for you too: there’s plenty of space to relax by the water, taking in the views and lighting up a barbecue or firepit for warm evenings. Getting out and about should be straightforward as well: the site is five minutes’ drive from the village of Holt (for pubs, cafés and an excellent farm shop) and 10 minutes from the centre of Wrexham.

A café on site serves up tasty food and cool drinks, and other facilities include a bait shop and bike hire. You can also enlist the skills of a photographer on the staff who’ll happily set up a family shoot to make mementoes while you’re out on a walk through the Welsh countryside.

If walking’s not such a hit with the kids, they can get stuck into rural life by spending some time with the herd of friendly pygmy goats on site (even friendlier, rumour has it, if you grab a pack of ginger biscuits from the café to feed them with…)

AA 4 pennants

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

The bar is open between 25/02 and 01/10.

Guests must bring their own duvets, pillows, sheets and towels when staying in rental accommodation. You will not be allowed to stay if you do not bring these items.

If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.

Please note that the toilet facilities are unisex.

Please note that the shower facilities are unisex.

Fires, barbecues and/or firepits will not be permitted in dry, windy and/or hot weather conditions.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.2

Overall rating based on 48 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

  83% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Fishing nice lakes14/11/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephan D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fishing nice lakes

    Disliked: 

    Bit muddy

From the manager...

Thank you for visiting and for your review. Unfortunately in November the grass will be a bit muddy.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Was an enjoyable Stay,05/11/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent place to go fishing, All amenities are ok,

    Disliked: 

    The only thing that was a Negative was with having a Motorhome I needed to fill the on-board fresh water tank, the Water Tap was approximately 20 feet away from the path, my hose is only 12 foot long, So I had to use the garden hose on Site. Could do with a Tap Near the Side of the Path or near the pitches.

From the manager...

Hi Stephen
Thank you for your comments, most guests have not found the water tap area a problem but for those that need extra hose we have one available, but we will consider your comment about putting one nearer.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the outside bar area …05/11/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the outside bar area is smart

    Disliked: 

    The outside bar area is not suitable for the colder weather, there is no indoor bar, or local pubs, so this is the only choice you have and there are no outdoor heaters. The toilet / shower facilities are really poor. 2 showers and situated at the entrance of the camp so a bit of a walk to them and the portaloos are not the answer. There is no bus stop nearby and the nearest small village is a 2.6 mile walk away

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you would not visit or recommend us especially as what suits one does not suit another. We are in the countryside, we state this on our website. There is a bus stop going into the town 1 mile away. The showers are approx 20 metres from the EHU pitches. As you mentioned the area and surroundings are beautiful, that is what we are proud of, we do not claim to be in a busy area, we find that guests want the simplicity of the surrounding with a bar/food available should they want it..
The outside bar area will have the heaters put inside the stretch tent ready for the winter months, the stretch tent has sides on it and a side of the bar is also covered.
There is a pub/restaurant literally at the end of the road which is a 1/4 mile away.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Water around25/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Water around

    Disliked: 

    Toilets & facilities

From the manager...

Hi
We would appreciate as to why you would not recommend and what facilities did you dislike, the fishing? cafe? bar area?
Thank you

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent four days at commonwood leisure, fishing was really good …10/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGareth R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent four days at commonwood leisure, fishing was really good and the bar was welcoming at night

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you Gareth :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Gorgeous pods, huge site with lovely looking ponds, friendly staff!07/10/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 1 bedroom camping pod (no pets)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The warmth, comfort, nature surrounding us

    Disliked: 

    The cleanliness, the cleaners did a poor job which took away from the comfort. No information, map, wifi details given.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments. There was a mix up with the cleaners who we have spoken to to make sure this does not happen again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

really nice clean and quiet site27/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLorraine B.Confirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    it was a very lovely place, the road noise was minimal and the pitch i stayed on was right next to the lane
    best toilet emptying ever it was a massive great concrete place and easy to keep it and you clean
    festival vibe with the large sail tent and bar area although as Autumn not that inviting

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you Lorraine, hopefully we will see you again soon. The stretch tent now has sides on it and heaters will be added shortly so this will be more welcoming for the winter months.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site clean facilities really helpful and friendly staff01/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent (lake view)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds were fantastic and well kept we stayed in a bell tent fantastic great size lots of room double bed and 2 single beds the pitch we had with a table and bench and a fire pit was great in the evening we had a lake for swimming only and you can use any of your water toys .

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you Andrew, hopefully you will visit again in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great place to take the kids fishing31/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichael G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fishing Canal electric hardstanding and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The ponds outside of the cafe where kids were given poles to fish.
    Food was amazing.
    Fishing directly behind the caravan pitch.

    Disliked: 

    WiFi was too weak at the touring pitches

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Brilliant camp site. We has just the one night at …29/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlex S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Arcadia safari tent (lake view)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Brilliant camp site. We has just the one night at Arcadia but it was just great fun - loved swimming in the pool. Facilities are too notch.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Glad you had a great time in Arcadia :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Dedicated toilet per pitch

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Extra spacing in seated areas

Meal delivery to unit/pitch/outdoor seated area

Removal of soft furnishings (e.g. decorative cushions)

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site cafe

On-site restaurant

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Wild swimming

Amenities on site

Baby-changing facilities

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Off licence

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Picnic table

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Buck Road, Holt, Wrexham, Wales, LL13 9TF
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.0711°N 2.9274°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 3.3 miles
New Inn — 6.4 miles
New Inn — 6.4 miles
Train stations
Wrexham General Rail Station — 3.4 miles
Wrexham Central Rail Station — 3.4 miles
Gwersyllt Rail Station — 3.8 miles
Ferry ports
Woodside Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 22.6 miles
Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 23.2 miles
Liverpool Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 23.3 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 18.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Fancy a different outdoor activity? Head to Farndon (five minutes’ drive) to launch kayaks, take your clubs along to Wrexham’s golf course (five minutes), or head to the eastern side of Snowdonia National Park for watersports and walks around Lake Bala (55 minutes).

If you’re keen to explore historic places on your break, start with a wander around the huge manor and elegant gardens at the National Trust’s Erddig estate (20 minutes), then carry on to Chirk Castle (25 minutes) to see a medieval fort updated with 18th-century features. The area around Llangollen (25 minutes) has plenty to see too, including Castell Dinas Brân and the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct.

Kids after something more geared to their tastes? Try an outing to Chester Zoo (25 minutes) or a tasty trip to The Ice Cream Farm (20 minutes). Wrexham also has a swimming pool, bowling and the Xplore science museum for damp days.

Must see

  • Chester Castle (8.1 miles)
  • Cheshire Military Museum (8.1 miles)
  • Chester Cathedral (8.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Chirk Castle (11.6 miles)
  • Speke Hall, Garden and Estate (18.4 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Commonwood Leisure cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Refunds within the indicated cancellation period are only possible if the site is able to relet your unit/pitch.

Bookings cannot be amended within 5 day(s) of arrival.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Commonwood Leisure will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £50.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Commonwood Leisure have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Commonwood Leisure dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Commonwood Leisure? Fancy a different outdoor activity? Head to Farndon (five minutes’ drive) to launch kayaks, take your clubs along to Wrexham’s golf course (five minutes), or head to the eastern side of Snowdonia … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Commonwood Leisure?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Commonwood Leisure? From £30 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact commonwood-fishery


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Dogs

Extras

General

Hired accommodation

Occupancy

Safety

Vehicles

Visitors

Close