Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Lagganbeg Caravan Park

9
View prices & book
From £24/€28.47/A$41.25/US$28.85/CA$37.24/CHF27.41/SEK300/DKK211.75/NOK280.78/ISK3,995/ARS3,881.81/CLP25,420/PEN112.47/NZ$45.64/ZAR475.43/PLN133.70/R$147.07/CZK698.60/RSD3,342/HUF11,530.29/RUB1,769.45/CN¥195.81 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Lagganbeg Caravan Park: Osprey Cabins

General

  • Dog-friendly site under a mile from the southern shore of Loch Lomond
  • A five-minute drive to the John Muir Way; 10 minutes from Balloch
  • Restaurants and shops 10 minutes’ drive away; walk to a nature reserve

If Loch Lomond is in your near future, no need to look any further for a relaxing, dog-friendly site on its southern shores. Under a mile from the loch’s shores and 10 minutes’ drive away from Balloch, the well-presented Lagganbeg Caravan Park prides itself on its peaceful vibes and top location in the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park.

Birdwatchers, gather. The site is a short 15 minutes’ walk away from RSPB Scotland Loch Lomond, where you might spot an osprey or white-tailed sea eagle over the water.

Hikers, arm yourself with a trusty pair of walking shoes too. The site is around five minutes’ drive away from the 134-mile John Muir Way from Helensburgh to Dunbar. You’ll have your pick of a host of hiking and cycling trails suitable for all abilities in the local area too, including the likes of the West Loch Lomond Cycle Path and the National Cycle Route 7.

A lighter 20-minute stroll is all it takes to get to the shore of Scotland's largest freshwater loch. Ogle over the surrounding munros for a while or take a gander at nearby Balloch (10 minutes’ drive) or Drymen (10 minutes), where there are restaurants and shops. Cities like Stirling (40 minutes) and Glasgow (50 minutes) are only a day trip away, as is Argyll and Bute. Plus, there are handy bus and train services from Balloch and Stirling.

Lagganbeg Caravan Park is a family-run site, so it’s been very lovingly tended to facilities-wise. The toilet and shower block has rainfall showers and a family wet room, which is accessible for disabled guests. There’s also a laundry room with large-capacity washers, dryers and irons, all coin-operated, and hand-washing sinks and an indoor drying area.

Please note

No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.

Bookings must not be for more than 7 consecutive nights.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

A cable measuring at least 4 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

Minimum spacing of 6 metres between pitches.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Reception is unmanned after 8 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Facilities/activities including washing machine, dryer, iron and hairdryer are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9

Overall rating based on 86 reviews

 

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

  69% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Lovely small site with lovely clean and warm showers friendly staff .16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomann C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Immaculate shower and toilet block , even though site busy. Owners helpful and friendly, lovely quiet site , lovely atmosphere. Lovely short walk to beautiful little beach and lovely woodlands walks.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Not a nice starting point to discover Loch Lomond16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: NetherlandsMarcel T J.Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Kindness lady park manager

    Disliked: 

    Very old-fashioned style
    Very dirty look'n feel
    No wifi
    isolated

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. To address your issue the park is not old fashioned. WiFi is in the process of being installed and we do tell you this is not available. The park/ toilets are not dirty, the floors get dirty from customers feet. If there was an issue with anything you should have reported it to us and we would have sorted it. To tell us now is too late.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Enjoyed our stay, very much.16/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location is good - near to Loch for wild swimming. Nice mountain biking nearby. All facilities easy to access. Nice village shop about 1 mile away. Good showers! Clean and tidy.

    Disliked: 

    No toilet paper in the ladies!

From the manager...

Thank you for review. We do check the toilet rolls regularly and also leave spare rolls on the shelf at the sinks. I am sorry they had run out. We are changing the holders for next yearnto the larger jumbo rolls in the hope that this helps.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Basic facilities, not overcrowded, no extra charge for15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAmber Rose N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Basic facilities, not overcrowded, quiet at night, no extra charge for dogs, access to Loch Lomond.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Location was excellent and a beautiful piece full place,. Cabin …15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Osprey cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location was excellent and a beautiful piece full place,. Cabin was a good size, showers look recently up graded

    Disliked: 

    The attitude of the owners poor,. Very welcoming at the beginning however rude! For this reason we wouldn’t stay here again, shame really lover place

    The bathroom could be cleaned more frequently and the washing sets

    Asp no fridge in the cabin, for the nightly price I would of thought this would of been included

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We do clearly state that no fridge is included and customers should bring a cool box. We do offer to freeze the cool blocks free of charge. The toilet blocks are new and are regularly cleaned and checked. If you had an reported an issue it would have been addressed.
We are never rude to our customers although we do have occassion sometimes to correct behaviour I.e. speeding through the caravan park in their car, or rowdy behaviour.
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great location , quiet site , clean facilities14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    10 minute walk to Loch Lomond. - beautiful views across the lake and a great spot for swimming in the loch. All washing and shower facilities were clean and spacious

    Disliked: 

    . Hook up in one corner of the camping pitches not in centre as advised. I just about got a pitch with 25m lead . position of the hook up restricted. choice of pitch. Would have had no hook up if Ihad taken advice from the website of a 4m lead. May be better if they install another hook up point like they say they have planned . wheelbarrow or trolley would have been good to move things from car to pitch

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities. I would like to address a couple of points you made. We state that the electric is centrally positioned. This means all points are in 1 location. I did offer you the use of an extension to which you said it's fine i have a 25m lead.We realise this is not ideal and as you said we have plans to add more hook-ups around the field for next year. We also clearly state on the pitch description that your car will not be parked at your tent but in the adjacent parking area.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Good site14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBryan D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Stunning Campsite clean and friendly14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomValerie H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is beautiful, very close to the Loch for a private view of Loch Lomond. The location was so central to the surrounding attractions like Luss Balloch etc. We found the owners to be chatty and friendly, happy to accommodate our needs. The facilities like toilets and showers were clean and not over crowded and so we never had to queue or wait for either. Thanks for a great stay we will definitely be back

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with friendly caring staff.14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomToni H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent site with friendly caring staff.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Toilets showers strted off spotless but we're filthy by the …14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKerry G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilets showers strted off spotless but we're filthy by the end of my 2 nights .been close to the camp site

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We did have an issue with the toilet/shower floors getting extremely wet during your stay, then when customers entered with their dusty feet the floors became muddy. We regularly check and clean the toilets and any issues were addressed as soon as they We discovered them. We do also have notices up that ask you to report any issues you have found to the staff, this would have allowed us to sort them for you straight away (to report them now does not allow us that opportunity). Sorry that this spoiled your stay with us.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Hand sanitising stations

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Themes

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Mill Loan, Gartocharn, Alexandria, Dunbartonshire, Scotland, G83 8NQ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 56.0508°N 4.5269°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Lower Stoneymollan Road — 4.5 miles
Barloan Toll — 6.9 miles
Coronation Park — 10.1 miles
Train stations
Balloch Rail Station — 4.0 miles
Alexandria Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Renton Rail Station — 6.0 miles
Ferry ports
Balmaha Pier — 2.4 miles
Balloch Castle Pier — 3.6 miles
Balloch Pier — 3.8 miles
Airports
Glasgow International Airport — 13.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

This is a central base indeed… set your sights on historic Stirling (40 minutes’ drive), a city with historic credentials like a castle, The National Wallace Monument and The Battle of Bannockburn Visitor Centre (45 minutes). The latter is based on a medieval battle location, which some of you might recognise from the film Braveheart.

Of course, Glasgow (50 minutes) has more historic attractions, especially museums and impressive architecture. There are shops and theatres for those seeking a simpler kind of entertainment.

Those who haven’t already tasted enough whisky in the city bars can pay a visit to the Glengoyne Distillery (20 minutes), which runs tours and tastings (including of their tasty single malt whisky).

Perhaps you’re an animal fan too. There are 300-plus creatures at the Blair Drummond Safari Park (35 minutes), including giraffes and lions, and hands-on activities with the farm animals at Briarlands Farm (35 minutes).

Must see

  • Loch Lomond Park Centre (2.2 miles)
  • Clydebuilt (Scottish Maritime Museum Braehead) (13.6 miles)
  • Paisley Abbey (14.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.

Lagganbeg Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 6 days of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Lagganbeg Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 6 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 6 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £50.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Refunds within the indicated cancellation period are only possible if the site is able to relet your unit/pitch.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Apple Pay
Cash
Google Pay
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Lagganbeg Caravan Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Lagganbeg Caravan Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Lagganbeg Caravan Park? This is a central base indeed… set your sights on historic Stirling (40 minutes’ drive), a city with historic credentials like a castle, The National Wallace Monument and The Battle of Bannockburn … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Lagganbeg Caravan Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Lagganbeg Caravan Park? From £24 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact lagganbeg-caravan-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Coronavirus

Dogs

Extras

General

Hired accommodation

Occupancy

Pitches

Reception

Safety

Taxes

Vehicles

Visitors

Close