Book and review 8,714 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Castlewigg Caravan Park

8.6
View prices & book
From £12.50/€14.12/A$21.18/US$16.87/CA$20.81/CHF16.36/kr134.99/kr105.49/kr131.72/kr1,812/$294.81/$10,417/PEN54.87/NZ$23.03/R224.01/zł60.42/R$52.79/Kč367.65/RSD1,689 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Small family-run park two miles from Whithorn and five from beaches
  • Walking, cycling, birdwatching and several golf courses in the area
  • Spacious site with plenty of room for children to play

Red kites, red deer, sandy beaches and countryside of the unspoiled variety are the flavour of Scottish county Dumfries and Galloway – and it's all very much the same at family- and dog-friendly Castlewigg Caravan Park.

This is a small but spacious site with plenty of playing room for the sprogs, two miles from the birthplace of Christianity in Scotland, Whithorn, and 16 miles from Newton Stewart. It's a popular park with peeps looking for a rural base to take in the outdoor activities of the region, with quite a few first-rate golf courses on offer in the area too. Loos, showers, a washing-up area and a launderette are all on site.

If you've arrived on foot/by bus or want to leave the car/motorhome behind for a day, a wave-down bus service stops just outside the park for picking up and dropping off.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 14 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Very nice, well kept, quiet campsite. Excellent for trying out ... 24/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kevin d. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very nice, well kept, quiet campsite. Excellent for trying out new tent or motorhome. Lovely hot shower and toilets available 24/7. Location good if wanting to tour around area.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the comments and happy you enjoyed your stay.
The WiFi is a little hit and miss and can vary depending on the time of day, you would probably have seen Openreach (BT) working all over the area, hopefully our internet will improve very soon.
Keith

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The pitches are not level they are on a slope. 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom IAIN G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    ?

    Disliked: 

    Not a good idea to camp here when it rains it floods at the bottom of the site so 4 of the pitches get flooded and they all had hook ups .The site did not have a soak away for standing water So when we got there it was dryish thay had a down pour midday so pitched up and decided to go out to get something to eat we came back to a flooded tent area the rain ran down to where we were and we couldn't get into the trailer tent due to 6 to 8 inches of standing water around and inside my awning this was Monday,So I checked the weather forecast for the next few days NOT GOOD their was a major storm coming in later the next day so packed up On Tuesday morning and came home.....I did manage to get a refund..

From the manager...

Very sorry your holiday was spoilt but the storm was exceptionally bad and we do not normally get that amount of water in summer.
I agree it was very wet but when this Trailer Tent arrived they were offered a pitch higher up the park and told it did get water logged if it rained heavy at the lower part of the park, we knew the forecast but they chose to pitch at the lower pitch away from other campers, unfortunately the heavens opened.
The water had soaked away by midday on the Tuesday and no more problems for the rest of the week so they could have enjoyed there holiday. First rule of camping pick the high ground if rain is likely.
Unfortunately we cannot control the weather.
Keith

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 21/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lorraine R. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a lovely, well maintained site,grass areas and paths are very well kept, cleaning the facilities are excellent. The showers and toilets are clean and there laundry facilities too. The manager was friendly and was available on site if needed.
    Only two miles from the site there are some great historical sites to see and if you travel a few miles further you will reach the sea and a lot of picturesque Scottish villages and harbours.This is an unspoiled part of Scotland with no commercial tourist trappings, lovely walks and places to see.

    Disliked: 

    The site was blustery and getting tent pegs took some effort.

From the manager...

Thank you for the comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also liked the area.
Sorry about the difficulty with the tent pegs, If I remember correctly you were at the top of the park and under the turf in that area is plastic Golpla which stops vehicles sinking and getting stuck, it does have holes in it for the pegs to go through, sorry I should have pointed this out before you pitched.
Wwe can't do anything about the blustery weather I'm afraid, unfortunately the time of your visit we had just had some very wet and windy days.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Keith

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

A great spot, would recommend to others 19/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lee E. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (medium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A lovely small, quiet campsite. Plenty of green space to exercise both children and dogs! The facilities were well maintained and spotlessly clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the kind comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay at Castlewigg Caravan Park, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Keith

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Quite wee site, very well maintained and very clean, friendly owners. 01/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sharon P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (medium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved this wee site. Lots of room for the kids to play and very clean. It's a quiet site with the odd cow 🐮 mooing. There are no shops near so you do need to travel, but that is the fun of camping and being on holiday.

    Disliked: 

    A mop is needed in the shower as the floor got very wet. Apart from that I would change nothing.

From the manager...

Thank you for the kind comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Castlewigg Caravan Park and hope to see you again very soon.
Already got the mops and the buckets are on the way so should be in place when you next visit.
Keith

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We enjoyed our stay it was very quiet which we ... 18/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Emma S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We enjoyed our stay it was very quiet which we liked. Facilities were clean and there was options to use washing machine and dryer

    Disliked: 

    Shower was cold as set at 40C

From the manager...

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and very sorry about the shower, it was less than 40c as the electric had tripped in the laundry so the boiler ignition was not working and it was later in the afternoon when we found there was a problem, wish you had mentioned it at the office we could have rectified it straight away.
We are in a very poor area ref internet it works great at time and other times very poor and slow.
Hope you visit us again, we will make sure the shower is hot.
Keith

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Most enjoyable stay 12/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom richard_l799014 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Wonderful quite peaceful site. Really good clean toilet, shower and launders facilities. Nice friendly welcome and extremely helpful in advice and could not do enough for you.

    Disliked: 

    The Pitch was just too far away from the electric hook up point. But Gris was sorted when the manager offered us a much longer lead.

From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments.
Sorry did not see you before you left but thanks for leaving electric lead at office, we will have to look at putting in individual electric points at each pitch.
Hope to see you again in the near future. Keith

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything, site was very clean and well kept. Staff were ... 19/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom dawn_m305681 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, site was very clean and well kept. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Lovely scenery and very peaceful.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Keith

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice site if remote 31/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom helen_l203716 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Tranquil site, spotlessly clean but dated shower facilities, great info hut and very welcoming wardens.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks very much for your comments, Internet was a problem all weekend kept dropping out. BT inform us it is because of working on line. Toilet/shower block is on our priority list for update. Hope to see you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely peaceful site .Spotlessly clean and lovely warm showers .Beautifuly ... 10/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom ronald_n237499 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely peaceful site .Spotlessly clean and lovely warm showers .Beautifuly kept holiday park .Helpful and friendly welcome on arrival.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments.
Hope you will visit us again very soon.
Keith

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Whithorn Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland, DG8 8DL
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.7553°N 4.4355°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Creetown (Dumfries & Galloway): Coach Stop — 10.3 miles
Gatehouse of Fleet: Fleet Street Bus Stop — 13.2 miles
Newton Stewart: Dashwood Square Coach Stop — 14.0 miles
Train stations
Stranraer Rail Station — 25.8 miles
Barrhill Rail Station — 27.4 miles
Ferry ports
Stranraer Ferry Terminal — 25.7 miles
Cairnryan Ferry Terminal — 27.3 miles
Cairnryan P&O Ferry Terminal — 27.3 miles
Airports
Glasgow Prestwick International Airport — 52.6 miles

Directions


At the Newton Stewart roundabout on the A75, if you are coming from East to West, take the first exit, heading south on the A714 for the Isle of Whithorn. After approximately 8 miles, turn right (150 yards after the sign for Castlewigg) onto the B7005 at the Wigtown bypass and arriving at the Bladnoch bridge. The Bladnoch area is also the home of the Bladnoch Distillery, the lowest working distillery in Scotland.

On crossing the bridge, you are again on the A714 and still heading now for Braehead and then into Kirkinner. As you approach Braehead, the A714 changes to the A746. Carry on through the 2 villages and up the hill and as you turn right, the road has a V in it, so keep right and carry on through Kilsture Forest and then into Sorbie. Continue on the A746 from Sorbie (you are around 3 miles away); there is another signpost 150 yards from the park.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

So so much to do in Dumfries and the area around Castlewigg Caravan Park, from watching red kites feed at the feeding station in Laurieston to hoofing it around the restaurants of Newton Stewart.

Whithorn a couple of miles away is a place of pilgrimage for many as it was the location of Scotland's first recorded Christian church, built by St Ninian around 397AD. Visit the St Ninian's Priory and its visitor centre in Whithorn, or the St Ninian's Cave and the chapel in Isle of Whithorn, both a few miles from town.

Then to Newton Stewart, named as the gateway to the Galloway Hills, where nature types can wander the Red Deer Range in Galloway Forest Park, adjacent to the Galloway Wild Goat Park. Restaurants and a swimming pool are in town.

If you're taking the car out, some spectacular drives can be had through the hills along to Loch Ken and into Castle Douglas, stopping off at the Red Kite Feeding Station along the way.

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  11:30 a.m.

Castlewigg Caravan Park cancellation policy

No penalties

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Castlewigg Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Close