Book and review 8,739 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Highlands End Holiday Park

9.0
View prices & book
From £18/€20.16/A$30.34/US$23.79/CA$29.68/CHF23.34/kr193.97/kr150.63/kr189.27/kr2,500/$416.67/$15,000/PEN77.15/NZ$33.25/R323.16/zł85.55/R$75.50/Kč518.73/RSD2,400/Ft6,206.90/₽1,363.64/CN¥157.62 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family park overlooking Lyme Bay
  • Indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym
  • Café, bar and restaurant - with fire engine

Bridport’s Highlands End Holiday Park is certainly on high land, all the way up at clifftop level on Dorset’s Jurassic Coast, overlooking the spectacular blue waters of Lyme Bay and with bridleway access to the walks of the World Heritage Coast. Most uplifting.

Highlands End was the first park in the West Dorset Leisure group and the team has learnt a thing or three about family hols in the 30 or so years since: the first-class facilities here include a generously-sized heated indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam room, and there are active options on site for all ages such as tennis, two play areas and even a duck pond to feed the natives (pick up duck food at the park shop). (If you’re all of a conundrum about what to do in Dorset, make for the on-site tourist information office which has leaflets and videos on local attractions.)

Eats are covered by the exceedingly smart Cowshed Café, again with views across the coastline, and at the park bar and restaurant dishing up all sorts of homemade meals using fresh local produce (probably the only restaurant you’ll ever go to with a 1936 Leyland Fire Engine and 1902 Merryweather Steam fire engine). Too nice a day to sit inside? There’s a beer garden – and play area – out the back.

From Highlands End it’s a 500-metre coastal walk to the sand and shingle beach at Eypemouth and the village of Eype, in many people's humble opinion one of the prettiest villages in Dorset (a beach hut here was listed at the sky high price of £200,000 in 2011). The bridleway near the park will also take you to Symondsbury, West Bay, and over acres of countryside and farmland, much of it maintained by the National Trust.

Launderette facilities are available including washing machines, tumble dryers, deep sinks and ironing boards. Please note there's an additional charge to use the tennis courts.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Please note

The indoor swimming pool is open between 05/02 and 30/11.

Facilities/activities including tennis courts, swimming pool, sauna and steam room are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

All: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £3.50 per adult and £2.00 per child per session.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.0

Overall rating based on 123 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

location, location, location. nice pool/sauna and pitch-n-put course. 11/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Karl N. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    location, location, location.

    nice pool/sauna and pitch-n-put course.

    Disliked: 

    hot water in toilet blocks not hot, warmish at best, sometime cold!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities onsite and have noted your comments.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site & location, just shame no hot water 09/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julie D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Restaurant
    Location
    Shop
    Leisure centre

    Disliked: 

    No hot water in shower Sunday am

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautiful site 06/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alex H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • South Rye Acres electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent sea views and the park is maintained to a high standard. The toilet and shower blocks are kept very clean. Receptionists were very friendly and helped us when we had to spend the night in our car because the high winds broke our tent.

    Disliked: 

    Martin's restaurant. Took an hour and 10 minutes to get our meals, wasn't that busy with only 6 tables getting their food before us, service wasn't great from the restaurant staff members.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic views and found everything to such a high standard.
Such a shame the weather was not on your side.
Apologies that you had a long wait for your meals at Martins and our staff were not up to their usual high standard, I have passed on your comments to management.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Location of park, park facilities, courteous and friendly staff, cleanliness ... 27/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nigel A. Confirmed

  • South Rye Acres electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location of park, park facilities, courteous and friendly staff, cleanliness of facilities, spaciousness of pitches. Restaurant menu and bar. Leisure centre.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Our 2018 brochure is out now if you would like to visit us next year.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great location but dont bother paying for wifi as it doesn't work. 26/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom peter_m125301 Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was good and in a great position and the pitches and facilities were excellent.

    Disliked: 

    the wife paid for 4 days wifi but it only worked for one day. Told reception but still didn't work so they owe her for 3 days.

    Peter Mason

From the manager...

Dear Peter,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the site and found the facilities excellent.
We are sorry that you had issues with our Wi-Fi, we are in a rural location so it will not be the same speed as you have at home.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Facilities and very laid back site and not too busy. 25/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ruth L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities and very laid back site and not too busy.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you from all of the team at WDLH for the 10 out of 10 rating.
Our new 2018 brochure is out now.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful location, great facilities, but very windy! 19/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Rebecca C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • South Rye Acres electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The Campsite is surrounded by beautiful scenery and just minutes walk from the beach. Toilets were always spotless and the staff were helpful and friendly. The site has an onsite bar/restaurant which served a great affordable breakfast, for when we got sick of using our camping stove!
    A great location if you have come to fossil hunt at the Jurassic Coast and a 25 min drive to Lyme Regis.
    Will definitely be returning next time we visit the area.

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately we had some very rough weather 'September', though this no fault of the campsite. I think due to being above a cliff the wind can become extremely strong.
    Kindly the staff put our tent in the touring area which was more sheltered from the wind.
    We have a strong canvas bell tent that has seen us through some pretty bad storms.
    I would not recommend this site to any inexperienced campers with small nylon tents.

From the manager...

Thank you for the 10 out of 10 rating.
If you found South Rye acres a bit too windy you can always request North Rye which is a bit more sheltered.
Hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

excellent site with clean facilities and beautiful views 07/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Joshua H. Confirmed

  • South Rye Acres electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome
    plenty of information
    clean toilets and shower facilities
    large pool and spa area
    welcoming clubhouse

    Disliked: 

    indoor pool was too cold
    the clubhouse needed more deep sofas and a darker area without very bright lights
    On arrival I was incorrectly charged for a second time for the pitch, though they did refund me in full on the following morning

From the manager...

Thank you for the 10 out of 10 rating.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

nice site with good views and close to lots of ... 05/09/2017

james_r314658 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    nice site with good views and close to lots of towns

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your 10/10 review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our park and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Gutted - we had been looking forward to coming to this site SO much. 05/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kirsty B. Confirmed

  • South Rye Acres electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Well organized site, didn't get chance to try any of the facilities though (see below)

    Disliked: 

    We arrived 5pm on a Saturday and set up tent in South Rye area, as booked. Winds were light, but I still had quite a job putting the tent up with my husband. Woken at 2am by howling wind and driving rain, decided to pack up and leave, as the children were scared. Left site 4.30am. I understand that the site cannot control the weather, but I think it's irresponsible to have exposed pitches close to a cliff edge. We suffered three broken tent poles, and five neighbouring camping families also left in the early hours of the morning. Please ensure pitches are more sheltered!!! Maybe plant trees as windbreaks or something. I read reviews about strong winds but didn't think it would be so bad. If your tent doesn't have steel tent poles, PLEASE be warned that you may suffer breakages, even from relatively light winds.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. The weather which we have experience during August and into the start of September is not what we expect for this time of year. We are sorry to hear you left early due to the weather, we wish we could control the weather to make everyone's stay more enjoyable.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Eype Bridport, Dorset, England, DT6 6AR
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.7172°N 2.7774°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bridport: Coach Park West Street — 1.3 miles
Seaton (Devon): Sea Front Bus Stop — 12.9 miles
Dorchester: South Rail Station Coach Stop — 14.9 miles
Train stations
Maiden Newton Rail Station — 10.1 miles
Crewkerne Rail Station — 10.8 miles
Axminster Rail Station — 10.9 miles
Ferry ports
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 16.3 miles
Exmouth Ferry Landing — 29.2 miles
Starcross Ferry Landing — 30.0 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 28.1 miles

Directions


Take the turning for Eype signposted from the A35, follow the road round and take the fourth exit.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

From beaut beaches to historic towns, fossil hunting to wholesome hikes, the Dorset coast has a colossal amount of activities and attractions whatever floats your boat. Cast off for some sea fishing, take a boat trip or scuba dive to the depths from local beaches, or tee off instead with a course around the clifftop 18 holes of the Bridport and West Dorset Golf Club.

West Bay and Bridport are both about a mile from Highlands End (just the right distance to walk for an ice cream on a sunny day), and at least a day is recommended in each: the miles of West Bay for sunbathing, watersports and landing mackerel from a boat; and the market town of Bridport for its 17th-century museum and the market, going strong since Elizabethan times and the place to pick up everyday items like local food and more outlandish bits and bobs like clothes and antiques.

Beachcombers and fossil finders will probably find themselves at Lyme Regis at some point, one of the most famed stretches on the Jurassic Coast and along with Bridport one of its gateway towns – it was here that famous geologist Mary Anning made her first finds in the 19th century and the town holds an annual Mary Anning Day as well as the Lyme Regis Fossil Festival. Visitor centres and museums are dotted all around the coast; if you’re not sure where to start, most have guided tours available.

Hikers will be happy too with the wealth of paths and bridleways snaking around coast and countryside from Highlands and beyond – the South West Coast Path follows the entire 95-mile Jurassic coastline and Dorset has around 300 miles of waymarked paths and trails. Buses stop at many coastal spots, or hire a minibus to spectate the scenery in style.

Must see

  • Mapperton House & Gardens (6.1 miles)
  • Abbotsbury Swannery (8.7 miles)
  • Radipole Lake Nature Reserve (15.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Shute Barton (13.0 miles)
  • Loughwood Meeting House (13.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.

Highlands End Holiday Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 3 weeks of arrival date.

Cancellations are subject to a £25 fee.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Modifications are subject to a £25.00 fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 21 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Highlands End Holiday Park will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Highlands End Holiday Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 21 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £25.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
All: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £3.50 per adult and £2.00 per child per session.
Facilities/activities including tennis courts, swimming pool, sauna and steam room are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 05/02 and 30/11.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The sauna (and/or hammam) is open between 05/02 and 30/11.

Pitches
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Pool
The indoor swimming pool is open between 05/02 and 30/11.

Reception
Reception is open from 8:30 a.m. to 9 p.m. between 01/03 and 31/10.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

Please note that the site bar is closed from November to March. The courts and the children’s play areas are open all year round.

Children under 15 must be supervised by an adult swimmer. There is no spectator area in the Leisure Club.

The use of drones on the park is not permitted in accordance with the Drone Code issued by the Civil Aviation Authority.

Gazebos are not permitted.

Close