Book and review 5,344 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm

8.6
View prices & book
From £30/€35.54/A$55.70/US$41.16/CA$51.05/CHF38.13/SEK356.32/DKK264.43/NOK347.99/ISK5,309/ARS4,080.73/CLP33,905/PEN161.71/NZ$58.34/ZAR606.70/PLN162.41/R$224.76/CZK904.39/RSD4,178/HUF12,823.47/RUB2,932.42/CN¥264.78 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm: Sunset

General

  • Semi-wild site on an eco fruit farm covering 62 acres of countryside
  • Rural setting 25 minutes’ drive to Exeter and 20 to the Jurassic Coast
  • Wildlife haven next to Woodbury Common for walks and birdwatching

Deeply chilled Devon days are all but guaranteed at Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm. Settle in at this scenic spot for a simple, semi-wild camping experience in 62 acres of countryside on the edges of the excellent East Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

As it’s in a wildlife haven, the park's guests share the space with roe deer, badgers, rabbits and field voles. Keep your eyes peeled for birds along with those four-legged critters – buzzards, pheasants, house martins, swifts and swallows have all been spotted here too.

While you could spend lazy mornings and afternoons lying in the field or wandering on Woodbury Common nearby, there’s much to do further afield as well. The site is 25 minutes’ drive from Exeter and its impressive cathedral, plus three excellent beaches – the sandy Exmouth and the pebbly Budleigh Salterton and Sidmouth – are accessible in around 20 minutes.

For more wildlife spotting, drive to Dawlish Warren National Nature Reserve (35 minutes) or make tracks for the Wildwood Escot animal centre and Sidmouth Donkey sanctuary (15 and 20 minutes). Whatever you get up to, aim to get back in time for sunset: as you’ll see in the pics, the sky often puts on a mesmerising show just before dusk.

A toilet block and fresh drinking water are available on site.

Please note

Units heavier than 7500 Kilograms are not allowed.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.

Group bookings of 3 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 3 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 25 or over.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 18 reviews

 

67% would recommend this site to a friend.

72% would stay here again.

  80% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

I traveled up with my friend from cornwall to attend …12/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSue E.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I traveled up with my friend from cornwall to attend the Bicton 5 star eventing and this was a fantastic location not far from the Bicton Arena. The people were very friendly and the camp site was really nice. The facilities ie Toilet / shower block ( just completed) was clean and tidy. The site was quite and we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Peaceful and friendly.27/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDarryl S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful and friendly.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Overpriced but clean toilets.01/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean toilets, friendly owner.

    Disliked: 

    No showers. Very very expensive (£40 for 4 people) with no hook up or showers. Field grass was overgrown and as it was raining it was very wet. Disappointed with our stay.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, we don't advertise that we have showers or electric hookup, The new toilet block when finished will have hot showers,
We do state that it's a grass field & wild camping. Sorry It rained when you visited, but I have no contol over the weather. Regards Peter

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great place off the beaten track, helpful staff, amazing views.14/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful setting, friendly people, and music around the fire after sunset. We loved it!

    Disliked: 

    No showers (or at least I didn’t see any)

From the manager...

Hi Thank you for the comments, The new Toilet block is nearing completion & will contain a shower, Further to some previous comments the wash hand basin is now enormous!
Hope to see you soon & I'll show you the basin & shower,
Regards Peter

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautiful, quiet, peaceful spot.12/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSoesen E.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful, quiet, peaceful spot.

    Disliked: 

    Cost and lack of facilities.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Quiet and basic but that's what we wanted.04/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMatt W.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Basic and secluded. Lovely location surrounded by orchards. Peter friendly and helpful

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, Keep Safe, Regards Peter

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Tranquil and spacious pitch. Lucky to have witnessed a beautiful …02/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmerson M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Tranquil and spacious pitch. Lucky to have witnessed a beautiful sunset and very peaceful surroundings. Site was not packed which was great as kids could enjoy playing around. Only stayed for one night so did not get the opportunity to explore but seems to be a great base for going around the area. Clean toilets, though no showers.

    Disliked: 

    Slightly pricy considering lacked facilities like chemical disposal, litter, showers.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comment's
We are listed as a grass site with minimal facilities, We are not on the Main's ie: water or sewage & so we are unable to cater for chemical toilet or waste

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A rural site in beautiful countryside, with basic facilities.07/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen H.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location is fantastic, quiet and relaxing. The site owner was helpful.

    Disliked: 

    The lack of refuse facilities.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments.
the Farm is not connected to the main's services, ie water/sewage we have a Biodisc Klargerster for sewage & bore hole water for drinking
Regards Peter

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely small rural site with basic facilities, expensive02/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStuart F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely location, very peaceful, small site, plenty of space and orchards to explore, back to basics experience, wildlife in abundance

    Disliked: 

    Facilities are very limited and whilst this doesn't bother me, the price is too high. For that reason I wouldn't go back.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments,
Keep Safe, Regards Peter

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

nice sunset!01/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    nice sunset!

    Disliked: 

    Those planning to camp here should be aware that the facilities are minimal. There is a hose providing cold water.
    Due to the current COVID situation there is only one toilet available at any one time for the entire campsite which can be tricky particularly in the mornings and involved long waits to use it. There is a male and female cubicle in the same small building with a one in one out policy for that building . There is a hand sanitiser dispenser outside the building but this was not refilled promptly when it ran out despite the manager being aware that is was empty .I felt that the facilities provided were inadequate for the numbers of people staying on the site

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, in responce I feel you were a little harsh.
1, It's a grass pitch I;e minimal facilities however we do offer two types of water dependant where you stay.
2. We opperate the toilet in line with the governments guide lines.
3. When you booked in & entered the Track & Trace book, by the front door, the three sanitizer area's were pointed out.
A. at the track & trace station
B. outside the toilet block
C. inside the toilet block along with soap & hot water with paper towels
4. I was made aware late in the evening the sanitizer by the toilet block had run out, I felt that due to their being two further sanitation points close by (IE less than 10ft,) it could be delt with on my morning inspection, which it was done promptly.
5.On Tuesday 8.06.2021 seven days after your visit I had a visit from the local Covid Officer for East Devon District Council who checked all my procedures & facilities, He comented he wished everyone followed the rules as I do.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: one group at a time

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Masks/gloves available

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Jumbo tent pitches

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Themes

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Sanctuary Lane, Woodbury, Devon, England, EX5 1EX
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.6944°N 3.3636°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Honiton Road Park and Ride — 5.2 miles
The Barn Owl — 5.2 miles
Rail Station — 5.9 miles
Train stations
Exton Rail Station — 4.0 miles
Lympstone Commando Rail Station — 4.1 miles
Lympstone Village Rail Station — 4.3 miles
Ferry ports
Topsham (Turf Lock Ferry) Ferry Landing — 4.6 miles
Topsham Ferry Landing — 4.6 miles
Topsham Lock Ferry Landing — 4.7 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 3.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Folk fond of a busier break are well served by activities near the site, from the course at Woodbury Golf Club (five minutes’ drive) to the equestrian facility in Bicton Arena (10 minutes).

Got the kids with you? Crack on towards Crealy Theme Park & Resort (10 minutes) to let them loose on the rides. The local beaches are also brill for families, so make your way to Exmouth (20 minutes) for sandcastle building sessions or to watch the kitesurfers soar through the sky during windier days.

Combine coastal trips with jaunts around the Georgian architecture in Sidmouth (20 minutes) before cooing over the donkeys in the town’s animal sanctuary. Alternatively, for a beach with less bustle, look to the red-rock-lined Ladram bay (20 minutes).

Pretty villages like Topsham (15 minutes) on the River Exe estuary are also worth a look. Paddleboard across the water – or wait for the local boat – and you’ll reach a pub on an island with a beer garden overlooking the bobbing boats in the village harbour.

Must see

  • Crealy Great Adventure Park (2.4 miles)
  • Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site (5.3 miles)
  • Exeter Cathedral - Church of Saint Peter (7.5 miles)

National Trust

  • A la Ronde (4.0 miles)
  • Killerton: Marker's Cottage (6.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  8 a.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  12 p.m.

Please close the farm gate after you enter. Reception is on the right in the courtyard.

Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable direct to Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

American Express
Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm? Folk fond of a busier break are well served by activities near the site, from the course at Woodbury Golf Club (five minutes’ drive) to the equestrian facility in Bicton Arena (10 … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  8 a.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  12 p.m.

    Please close the farm gate after you enter. Reception is on the right in the courtyard.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Sunnyhaye Fruit Farm? From £30 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact sunnyhaye-fruit-farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
At least one of the party members must be aged 25 or over.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Coronavirus
Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.
Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.
This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 3 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
Group bookings of 3 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.
If making a fire, the fuel, logs and coal have to be purchased on site.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.
Units heavier than 7500 Kilograms are not allowed.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close