Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Barle Brook Retreat

9.4
Barle Brook Retreat: Visitor image of the dressing the picnic area (photo added by manager on 14/10/2022)

General

  • Secluded exclusive-use site in scenic Exmoor National Park
  • A 5-minute drive from Exmoor Zoo; 20 from Lynmouth; 25 from Barnstaple
  • Barbecues and campfires allowed; charcoal and free-range eggs for sale

If you're in need of a getaway, head to Barle Brook Retreat, a family-friendly back-to-basics site 20 minutes’ drive from Lynmouth and 25 minutes from Barnstaple in Devon. And when they say getaway around here, they really mean it: there's only one party on site at any moment, so you'll have the entire place to yourselves – how very fab.

The site’s in Exmoor National Park, so it should come as no surprise that it’s particularly scenic, with a small brook passing through, plenty of trees giving shelter (and a touch of seclusion), and the sounds of birdsong soothing guests.

This is a spot for hardier souls, as there are no toilets or shower blocks (just chemical disposal), so fending for oneself is a big part of hols here.

Speaking of the outside world, it’s an easy five-minute stroll (or a minute’s drive) into the tiny village of Challacombe, where there’s an inn serving lunches and evening meals. Prefer to keep it self sufficient? Barbecues and campfires are allowed, and charcoal can be bought on site. Breakfast is handily sorted too, as the free-range chickens roaming around provide eggs for the guests every day.

Please note

This site has no on-site toilet and shower facilities.

Dogs are not allowed if you are staying in the accommodation units.

Discount cards and gift vouchers cannot be applied to bookings made via Pitchup.com.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

No electric heating is permitted in awnings and tents.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Peaceful surroundings, brilliant local pub for a meal. Friendly host. …21/09/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful surroundings, brilliant local pub for a meal. Friendly host. Best night sky we've ever seen.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Really lovely remote spot close to a lot of good things. Lovely host!14/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWilliam G.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, Stream, Host, Firepit, Welcome pack, Wood

    Disliked: 

    Toilet ( but this was super clear in the booking details so we were prepared. Its totally fine if you are a family / very comfortable with eachother! )

    Little difficult to get in and out during the wet due to the muddy hill up but managed!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Good for multi-generational family groups just lacks a few comforts.12/08/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location superb. As grandparents with children and grandchildren in the party we found things to do both on the door step and within a short car ride. Exmoor is a beautiful place to holiday with many things to see and do around the area.
    The site was just about accessible with our twin axle horsebox motorhome although the drive in is steep so caution is recommended to survey the access before driving in. Tent pitches were really good. Hosts could not be more accommodating and were very helpful with local advice. Small shop in the village and a lovely pub but we advise booking early, I would think the hosts would be happy to sort this when booking. Walks from the site are on a fairly busy B-road but footpaths and grassy bridleways are only a short distance away.
    Facilities at the site include electric hookup and drinking water tap, both next to the gravelled area for motorhome parking, and a rudimentary but functional outside open air toilet, with another tap and a bin. As the site is booked only for one party at a time then for us the outside facilities and slight lack of privacy were not an issue. Groups of friends might find this a problem but the site itself might be enough of a bonus to outweigh this issue. A small fire pit and logs are available and the grassy area around this is provided with wooden seating. The stream is accessible and our small children played and paddled safely. Very poor mobile signal which might be considered a good or a bad thing but the hosts do offer a Wi-Fi connection near the house.
    A great family holiday location and would happily recommend.

    Disliked: 

    Having to leave.
    Perhaps a slightly higher fence around the toilet might be nice but it wasn’t really a problem for us. A recycling bin would be a good addition.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Totally enjoyed the stay.23/05/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMarvin P.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was brilliant. We enjoyed the extras such as the fire pit, the brook, and the free range chickens. Also received some very nice welcome gifts as well which were much appreciated. The view was amazing as well. The only downside was that we did not have a radio/tv/or phone/4G signal whilst staying. There is WiFi available at the B+B up the road. Would suggest that a WiFi repeater be installed to at least give the pitch basic WiFi, even if it is at an extra cost. Other than this, no issues at all. Many thanks to the very nice and friendly owners for a great time.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Wonderful site, will definitely stay again16/05/2023

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJason C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The extremely friendly owners, the peace and quiet, lovely firepit by the stream, welcome pack from owners is a really nice touch too :) - water point and electric hook up great too.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing - qas great site, as a suggestion maybe make the fence around the loo slightly higher, maybe even put a tarp style covering over it

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The host was fantastic, nice welcome pack, nice location.21/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWill P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Privacy and friendliness of host. Beautiful location with stream and WiFi supplied. Electric hookup and drinking water.

    Disliked: 

    Open air toilet. Expensive for what was offered.

From the manager...

Thanks for your feedback Mr Young, I'm sorry you couldn't have arrived earlier to fully be able to enjoy Barle Brook Retreat. Our nightly rate includes 6 guests and multiple units, so I appreciate we are probably not the kind of stop of site for only two guests arriving late in the day, staying only one night. Apologies you didn't like our toilet facilities, I have tried to make this very clear in our description and I think Pitchup also highlight it in red. I hope you had a good journey home 🙂

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything!19/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSam K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A slice of seclusion27/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomVictoria W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A slice of paradise in privacy in the North Devon countryside, walk to the Pub which is relaxed and characterful. Sit listening to the Brook in front of a camp fire; feed the resident Cock and Hens.
    Sunbathe in privacy. Grateful of the alfresco WC, fresh water & a lovely welcome and welcome pack from Jess.
    Did not rate child friendliness or WiFi as I don’t have children or didn’t use the WiFi it came as a refreshing change not to use. But WiFi was available. No phone reception on Tesco mobile.

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes however the addition of an outside shower would have been perfect.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great setup at Barle Brook. Having the place to ourselves …15/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great setup at Barle Brook. Having the place to ourselves was great and Jess couldn’t have been a more helpful and accommodating host.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Jess was very welcoming and personable. We were pleasantly surprized …22/02/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEdward H.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Jess was very welcoming and personable. We were pleasantly surprized and delighted with the welcome pack, we have not encountered this at other sites before. The setting was idyllic, next to a babbling brook, which in the spring and summer would be fantastic. Unfortunately we encountered Storms Eunice and then Franklin, which foreshortened our stay at Barle Brook Retreat. We shall return when inclement weather is behind us.
    Edward & Jane

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Check-in: self check-in (unattended)

Hand sanitising stations

More frequent emptying of bins

No cash accepted on site

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Challacombe, Devon, England, EX31 4TU
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.1548°N 3.8762°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 9.4 miles
The Square — 9.6 miles
The Square — 9.7 miles
Train stations
Barnstaple Rail Station — 9.9 miles
Chapelton (Devon) Rail Station — 11.5 miles
Umberleigh Rail Station — 11.9 miles
Ferry ports
Ilfracombe Ferry Landing — 10.9 miles
Instow Ferry Landing — 15.1 miles
Appledore Ferry Landing — 15.4 miles
Airports
Cardiff International Airport — 28.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Want to hang 10 with the dawn patrol, dude? This part of Devon is an absolute surfing hotspot. Famed wave-catching beaches Saunton Sands and Croyde are within 35 minutes’ drive, and it’s half an hour to the Museum of British Surfing in Braunton.

More sedate beaches are within easy reach too: the closest sandy stretch is at Combe Martin, 15 minutes away, where kayaks can be hired, guided tours can be taken and dolphins can be spotted. A little further afield is the quiet Woolacombe (half an hour), and the lengthy and wide Westward Ho! beach is under an hour away.

Kids can be entertained close at hand – particularly the animal fans – as it’s a mere five minutes to Exmoor Zoo and 10 minutes to Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, and those that need something a little more energetic can make tracks for the Big Sheep or the Milky Way Adventure Park (both within 50 minutes) instead.

Drawn to historical sites? Chug right into the past at Lynton and Barnstaple Steam Railway, 10 minutes from base, sweep along from there to Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum (15 minutes), then settle in for a longer jaunt to Dunster Castle, 40 minutes away. Those who are quite happy on lengthy journeys (like, an hour and 20 minutes kind of lengthy) can add impressive Castle Drogo to the list too.

Must see

  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (18.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum (4.7 miles)
  • Heddon Valley (4.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11:30 a.m.

Barle Brook Retreat cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 30/12/2022.

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Barle Brook Retreat will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Barle Brook Retreat have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Barle Brook Retreat dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Barle Brook Retreat? Want to hang 10 with the dawn patrol, dude? This part of Devon is an absolute surfing hotspot. Famed wave-catching beaches Saunton Sands and Croyde are within 35 minutes’ drive, and it’s … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Barle Brook Retreat?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  12 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact barle_brook_retreat


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Coronavirus

Dogs

General

Vehicles

Additional terms

No electric heating is permitted in awnings and tents.

Close