Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Camp Kovva

7

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Simple and scenic site with a family-friendly summer camp vibe
  • A 35-minute walk to Portreath beach and the South West Coast Path
  • Kiosk selling supplies and a pub down the road; firepits permitted

This Cornish site might be no frills, but it’s got tons of character. Simple and scenic is how Camp Kovva likes it – and they’ve got you covered with shower blocks, earth-friendly composting toilets and a kiosk that sells essential supplies. Think wild summer camp vibes combined with grounded, off-grid living…

It’s a chilled-out base here, tucked away in the Cornish countryside but just 35 minutes’ walk from the closest stretch of sand. Portreath beach is a popular one for families, as well as those looking to catch some sweet swells (there’s a surf school that’ll teach any beginners the basics or let you out surfboards).

Firepits are permitted on site for those wanting to warm their brews (and if you’ve forgotten tea bags, just head to the site’s kiosk). The site is very much a wildlife haven, and a relaxing one at that, but if you fancy a little pampering session or a swim, there’s an indoor pool half an hour’s walk away and a spa a short drive away. If you’ve got any kids to think of, there’s also a huge soft play area at Base Camp, five minutes’ drive away.

Where else might a walk take you? Well, there’s a pub just five minutes’ walk down the road and if it’s Cornish pasties you’re looking for, you’re bound to find some in Portreath (half an hour’s walk), where there are bakeries, more pubs, cafés and restaurants. This is a good spot to stroll right onto the South West Coast Path, which heads over the St Agnes Heritage Coast.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7

Overall rating based on 16 reviews

 

63% would recommend this site to a friend.

56% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Nothing15/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJenny T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    The campsite messaged on the morning of our stay to say they had closed the site

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

WARNING DO NOT BOOK THIS CAMPSITE – SCAM22/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLewis C.Confirmed

  • Canvas cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely nothing.

    Disliked: 

    WARNING DO NOT BOOK!!! Camp Kovva cancelled our reservation the day before our stay and promised a full refund. On 26 August, the campsite confirmed all refunds had been processed, I'm still yet to receive my money. I tried numerous times to contact them direct, but they never answered the phone. Pitchup.com offered no help and just kept confirming that Camp Kovva had to issue the refund, so I don't se the point of why they exist. I personally will never book through Pitchup.com again and will do my best to warn other people of the poor service they provide. All and all, a horrendous experience with Camp Kovva and Pitchup.com, do yourself a favour snd book through Hipcamp or Booking.com.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Unable to comment06/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    That they cancelled my booking for the bank holiday weekend, due to “water” issues. I appreciate that things happen and luckily found somewhere else to stay. I was promised a refund & still have not received it…
    It’s frustrating, to say the least and the correspondence has not been good.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi

Charming small campsite with with warm eco shower and kitchenette.09/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomhannah e.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small intimate campsite, beautiful scenery, warm shower

    Disliked: 

    Close to road so you hear a little traffic at night but not too bad.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great little site very nice and quiet. Great communal camp …09/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNathan C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great little site very nice and quiet. Great communal camp fire in middle of field and probably no more than 15 pitches maximum so never going to be too busy. Facilities all nice and clean Great washing up area with some tea and coffee available too.

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately no water left in the morning for drinking/washing up

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Gorgeous location, small site and clean facilities.07/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location, short walk to portreath on a lovely wooded path. The off grid nature of the site. The cleanliness of the facilities.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Would advise wild camping rather than stay here save £2026/07/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    No staff on site no answer to phone calls or text message no drinking water on site shower was small wood cubicle with cold water pumped by car battery from plastic container very expensive at £20 for nothing but a over flowing compost toilet the 2 pubs they refer to one was shut the other doesn’t do food on a Sunday night there is a Morrisons so had to haul water and food well over 2 miles there and back also no electricity on site so no recharge for phones

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we're really sorry to hear you were so disappointed.

Our site is completely off-grid, which is detailed in the description, so I apologise if you were expecting something different. Like the rest of our site, our showers are off-grid however they are lovely and warm, I apologise if this was not the case when you used it, but I will look into this for you and for future guests. This also explains why you were unable to charge your phone - It sounds like you may have been expecting a typical campsite with electric hookup and flushing toilets, so we're sorry that this isn't something we provide.

We are really disheartened that you have given such a negative review, as we received a glowing review below from guests who were on site at the same time as you, and particularly mentioned that everything ran smoothly and they loved that our camp manager was so present on site.

I am really sorry to hear that you couldn't get food at the pub on a Sunday night, and that you had trouble getting shopping from Morrisons, however I'm afraid this is out of our control.

We'd be happy to welcome you back to camp in the future, but please be advised that we are completely off-grid and we sadly have no control over opening times or offerings of local businesses.

Team Kovva

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site, clean quiet and everyone is very friendly.26/07/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomlizzie m.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The camp is amazing. It is set in a wonderfully quiet area of cornwall with fantastic views of the stars at night. We stayed in our own tent for two weeks, Rob (the camp manager) was fantastic. As it is an off grid camping site, he was on site in the mornings and evenings making sure everything was running smoothly, greet guests and trouble shoot anything. This campsite is fantastic for anyone who wants a break with minimal environmental impact, and minimal people (very small site but perfect for peace and quiet). Also great fun to watch the bats fly around the trees at dusk.

    The site is close to local shops etc.

    We have already started to plan our next weekend away to come back but to stay i their fixed canvas tents.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Teething problems as they are newly opened25/07/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level pitches and they are trying to be eco friendly

    Disliked: 

    Ran out of water every day and toilet roll and toilets needed emptying more often

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very relaxed atmosphere, very quiet. Good location.04/07/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRoss G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very relaxed atmosphere, very quiet. Good location.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Camping 2.0

Pre-erected tents

Themes

Forest

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Pop-up campsite

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Bridge Hill, Portreath, Cornwall, England, TR16 4QP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.2550°N 5.2627°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Cornwall College — 2.0 miles
Cornwall College — 2.0 miles
Alma Place — 2.2 miles
Train stations
Redruth Rail Station — 2.2 miles
Camborne Rail Station — 3.4 miles
Perranwell Rail Station — 7.2 miles
Ferry ports
Ponsharden Ferry Landing — 10.0 miles
Flushing Falmouth Ferry Landing — 10.6 miles
Trelisick Ferry Landing — 10.7 miles
Airports
Penzance Airport — 14.3 miles
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 17.5 miles
Land's End St Just Airport — 20.9 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Where to set down on the Cornwall coast, aside from pretty Portreath beach? Perhaps Chapel Porth Beach (15 minutes’ drive), a small but sweet sandy beach at the bottom of a valley with caves, rockpools and splendid surf. The Towans (20 minutes) beaches are a well-known surfing hotspot, but non-surfers will also like the fine, white sand and dunes. Perran Sands beach (25 minutes) has more dunes and great swells.

Those of you looking for some scenic stretches along the South West Coast Path will be set with the gorse and World War II lookouts along St Agnes Head (20 minutes). Further afield, lively St Ives (25 minutes) is a destination for all things art galleries, fishing trips and beach days.

As for spectacular spots on the south Cornwall coast, which is also within driving distance, St Michael's Mount (half an hour) has to be high up there. You’ll cross the causeway to this castle island when the tide’s right, so bring a picnic and prepare for an insight into older times.

Must see

  • Cornwall Industrial Discovery Centre (1.9 miles)
  • Truro Cathedral (9.4 miles)
  • Tate St Ives (10.1 miles)

National Trust

  • Cornish Mines and Engines (1.9 miles)
  • Godrevy (5.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

  • Does Camp Kovva have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Camp Kovva dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Camp Kovva? Where to set down on the Cornwall coast, aside from pretty Portreath beach? Perhaps Chapel Porth Beach (15 minutes’ drive), a small but sweet sandy beach at the bottom of a valley … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Camp Kovva?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact camp-kovva


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

General

Hired accommodation

Occupancy

Reception

Safety

Vehicles

Visitors

Close