Book and review 3,719 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Woodview Campsite

8.9

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Riverside camping near Bude
  • Woodland and wildlife walks, hammocks and free wifi and firepit use
  • Newly refurbished and heated shower block; disabled shower and loo

‘Campfires are allowed by the riverside,’ say the owners of Woodview Campsite near Bude in Cornwall, which is symbolic of such splendid pitching we’ll have to say it again. Campfires allowed. By a riverside. In Cornwall. Oh, and the firepits are free to use, and by the river there are also hammocks. And swings. Yes we certainly wood.

Woodview Campsite is in north Cornwall on the Cornwall/Devon border (nifty for both Dartmoor and Exmoor National Park; we also wood) and six or seven miles from Sandymouth, Crooklets and the other beaches at Bude.

The many many activities and things to see are covered in the Local attractions section, but if you’re all of a flutter trying to decide what to do, just have a word with the Woodview team, a local family who knows the ins and outs and the upside downs of all to see and do in Cornwall. And there’s free wifi on site if you want to have a look at the Local attractions again or nearby walking routes, likely bike rides or pubs.

On site, all is topping: Woodview is an elevated position and sheltered by trees (clue in the name there), with pitches coming in hardstanding or grass with a choice of electric hook-up. Wander south for the stream on the edge of the campsite that flows into the River Tamar, or branch out into the beech woodland a short stroll away for wildlife walks among the wildflowers.

Facilities – all free – include a games room with table tennis, air hockey, Freeview TV, indoor football and snooker, and a newly refurbished shower and loo block with underfloor heating, baby changing and a disabled shower and loo. Laundry facilities are also available.

If you’re not using one of the seven riverside firepits, barbecues can be used (sensibly please) in the main pitching area, with a side helping of views towards Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 100 reviews

 

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

  75% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Good Facilities03/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSophie D.Confirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities were clean, and their were private family rooms which was good. There were lots of camp fires you could use which looked nice but unfortunately the site was too busy so we didn't get to use them.

    Disliked: 

    campsite was very busy, the pitch next to me had about a 10cm gap from their tent touching mine which wasn't ideal as it was full of noisy kids at 5:30am.

    also bought logs to use from the camping shop for on their fire pits that they provide, as the site was too busy we weren't able to use them and the store took the logs back but wouldn't give us a full refund.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback.
You were here bank holiday weekend and it was very busy. I'm sorry you weren't able to use a fire pit. I will look into why you were not given a full refund.
There is a 2m gap between pitches , I can only think some one put a gazebo in the space which is against our policy.
We'll make sure you get a fire pit and give you a free bag of logs if you come again .

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Disappointed and not as advertised.02/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBecca R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The stream and fires by it were a nice touch. Our kids enjoyed playing together there.

    Disliked: 

    I was surprised by all the glowing reviews of this campsite as when arriving at the site it felt like we had turned up at the wrong place. We were ‘greeted’ by a lady who was clearly having a bad day. Walked us down to our pitch and barely said a word. To say I was disappointed when seeing our pitch is an understatement. It was tiny and on an awful slope. I do have photos of how awful the slope is but it doesn’t have enough pixels unfortunately for Pitchup’s requirements. It looked like a grass verge. We were camping with friends and had requested when booking to be together as we had young children. We were pitched at opposite ends of the park (their pitch was worse than ours and they had to borrow hookups to even be able to reach the electric point as it was so far away) and the reason was a large group had asked to be put together. What made it even more annoying was the fact the people that pitched next to us were there one night as were the people arriving there the following night and the night after that. They could have easily accommodated our request if they chose to.
    There were no poo bins in the park.
    The general waste bins were overflowing.
    The toilet down by the stream was filthy.
    The first night we were there on the way up to the games room someone had thrown a pot noodle on the floor. It was still there three days later when we left.
    The games room is in need of updating.
    There was no security at night and it was very noisy with groups being loud until gone 12 on two nights.
    The anti bac by the downstairs toilet ran out and was not checked and replaced.
    One of the family showers had no anti bac spray.
    How the electric hookups are set up means that there are wires trailing everywhere which is a health and safety hazard with kids running up and down all the time and no lights at night to be able to see them.
    There were a large group whose children were vile and terrorising all the other children on the site. I did complain about this but they didn’t do anything.
    *we had booked to come at the end of August but having been at the start of the month chose not to return.

From the manager...

I am sorry you felt disappointed in your visit.
We were very busy in August with people wanting to get away after the lockdown.
We always walk guests to their pitch and usually chat on the way . Social distancing and masks has made that difficult this year, but I believe we are friendly and helpful at all times.
The pitch sizes are as advertised, larger pitches are available to book.
The whole site is gently sloping which proved to be an asset in the storms.
There was a student litter picking every morning.
We had 3 cleaners cleaning and checking at least 6 times a day.
The toilet by the stream gets a lots of use and is cleaned /checked at least 6 times a day . Sanitisers are replaced whenever required , even when the dispensers are removed by guests.
Dog waste is put in the general waste. The bins are emptied twice a week by the commercial operators and extra bins were put out when necessary.
The games room had all contact items removed this year due to covid security.
There is a TV provided free of charge, basket ball hoop, badminton net , Table tennis table, Air hockey.
This year we have ultra fast wifi, lots to keep the children occupied in bad weather.
The warden patrolled every night and responded to any reports of noise. Any one not complying will be asked to leave the site.
There was large group of children who were causing problems , they and the parents were spoken to .
We will not be taking groups in future.
There are lights on all the hookup posts and around the exterior of the games room and reception buildings .
We cant please all the people all the time ,but we do our best, and appreciate the good reviews

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Really clean and well kept. With covid restrictions in place, …01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCatherine W.Confirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really clean and well kept. With covid restrictions in place, there was plenty of hand sanitiser and instructions for showers, washing up to maintain social distancing etc. The lady who owns/runs the campsite was very nice and helpful. Very relaxed stay. Campfires and hammocks are available and look really nice. Big area for games too and kept the kids happy with Wifi. The weather wasn't the best when we stayed so it had taken its toll on the pitches, but they made sure that everything they could keep clean and tidy was done, and offered decking boards where the mud was an issue. Lovely place. It is a bit off the beaten track, but easy to drive to get into Bude.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you
be good to see you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great location. Excellent site& helpful staff. Would definitely return01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChrissie M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Campfires
    Location

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Regularly cleaned facilities, friendly staff, hammocks and camp fire areas …31/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Regularly cleaned facilities, friendly staff, hammocks and camp fire areas are a great feature, children loved the sports barn and kept them occupied when the weather turned.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for leaving us such a positive review.
We've worked very hard this year to keep everything clean and safe for our guests.
The huge games room certainly comes into its own in bad weather !

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A lovely small, family friendly site, we loved the firepits.30/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomShelagh C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitches well laid out, firepits, hammocks, family showers lovely and clean and warm. Owners very friendly and helpful. My boys loved the sports/games room which was a lifesaver with the rain!

    Disliked: 

    Tumble drier very expensive and not very good - cost the same as you’d pay for a launderette standard machine.

From the manager...

Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay.
The huge games room is great when the weathers not so good..
The tumble drier works best if you do the final fast spin on the washing machine.
Apart from the laundry everything else is included in the price . No metered showers, free hair driers, and free ultra fast wifi .
Hope to see you again some time

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A lovely Woodside stay24/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAmy B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    From the start we recieved a very friendly welcome and shown our pitch, we were on a slight slope but it wasn't an issue just a little quirky. Fire pits and Hammocks were great and the local walks were a nice delve into the countryside. We were down the bottom and loved the outdoor shower as the weather was kind to us and it wasn't too chilly. The facilities were kept clean and all the Covid19 measures put in place. Tried local takeaways Ape pizza and Wayside chinese and I'd highly recommend both. No complaints and a much needed chilled out week was had.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
very pleased to see full marks for the wifi , which is ultra fast this year!
Be nice to see you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely warm welcome, great pitch and good facilities..excellent!24/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSuzannah J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitch size, facilities really good, electric and water right next to each pitch, 2 lots of washing up areas, lovely camp fire area... Plenty of areas for everyone, shop very good and very reasonable!

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately whilst parking our car up in the parking area another car hit the door, unfortunately not caught on camera as didn't cover the area.. Not the sites fault but did put a dampener on the weekend 😢

From the manager...

So sorry to hear about the damage to your car, thank you for not letting it affect your lovely review. Hope to see you again .

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The owners were polite and welcoming, they had endeavoured to …23/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional mixed tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners were polite and welcoming, they had endeavoured to make the campsite safe from Covid 19 with signage/hand sanitiser available.

    Disliked: 

    The slope of our pitch (and the site in general) unfortunately it made our stay challenging as the children slept in a steeply positioned awning, we couldn’t even have a table and chairs in the awning because of the slope. There was no possibility to move even when we explained the challenges.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback.
This has been a very busy year ,and there has been very little scope for changing pitches.
The whole site is gently sloping in a sheltered valley, which meant we didnt suffer from the worst of the winds during during your stay.
our plans for landscaping , and leveling were brought to a halt when we had lockdown .
We hope to be able to do some work this winter .

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Superb cabins, very well equipped, excellent play barn for the kids23/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJonathan B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Swallows cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Superb cabin, brilliant play barn, hammocks & fire pits, small shop, never too busy, would definitely return.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. So nice to hear you made full use of the games room, fire pits, and hammocks.
Love to see you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Distance markers in shared facilities

Extra toilet/shower facilities available

Hand sanitising stations

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Shop nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Woodview Farm, Little Youlstone, Morwenstowe, Bude, Cornwall, England, EX23 9PU
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.9089°N 4.4449°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bude: Strand Coach Stop — 7.1 miles
Westward Ho!: Nelson Rd Coach Stop — 12.8 miles
Bideford: Quay Coach Stop — 12.9 miles
Train stations
Chapelton (Devon) Rail Station — 19.8 miles
Barnstaple Rail Station — 20.2 miles
Umberleigh Rail Station — 21.1 miles
Ferry ports
Bideford Ferry Landing — 13.0 miles
Appledore Ferry Landing — 14.9 miles
Instow Ferry Landing — 15.1 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 40.3 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Within 20 minutes of Woodview Campsite, holidaymakers of all flavours will find beaut beaches, old seaside villages, family days out, coastal walks, sporty days and King Arthur legends at nearby Tintagel.

On days when not cooking over a campsite firepit or barbecue – because even with riverside firepits available one should sample quite a bit of Cornwall and Devon produce – pubs serving food and many tiptop restaurants are close by in the area of Bude, Hartland and Bideford (hang around in summer for carnivals and family events).

Bude’s three beaches, Sandymouth, Summerleaze and Crooklets, are popular with families and those dipping into watersports; surf schools and surf gear hire shops are aplenty on this part of coast.

Tamar Lake is also nearby to try sailing, fishing and canoeing, and the Bude Tourist Information & Canal Visitor Centre has info on navigating Bude Canal by kayak or rowing boat.

On land, Bude is on the National Cycle Network NCN3 linking to the Camel Trail; both have gentle rides suitable for families. The South West Coast Path can be picked up at Bude tourist information centre and covers superbly scenic walks from Bude to Boscastle, Marsland Mouth and Crackington Haven.

Also within 20 minutes, land fans have tenpin bowling and six levels of play at Harlequinns Leisure, and to rock climbing, tennis, squash, horse riding and golf: ask the Woodview team for their recommendations.

To the south, Tintagel and its castle are among the most visited places in Britain: stop at Boscastle on the way for one of our fave UK museums the Museum of Witchcraft, and carry on down the coast to Newquay for Newquay Zoo or a day at the Crealy Great Adventure Park in Wadebridge.

Cobbled Clovelly is to the north: clop around here for the day to see the town’s renowned steep street and have an astronomical day out at The Milky Way Adventure Park.

Bodmin Moor, Exmoor and Dartmoor are all within an hour’s drive, and an abundance of other family days out are easy to get to from Woodview, such as the Eden Project at St Austell, Launceston’s Tamar Otter Sanctuary and Trethorne Leisure Park, and famed The Big Sheep at Abbotsham.

Must see

  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (13.6 miles)
  • Tintagel Castle (21.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Lawrence House (19.1 miles)
  • Lundy (20.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  10:30 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  7 p.m.
Depart by:  10:30 a.m.

Woodview Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £15.00 fee.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Woodview Campsite will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Woodview Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Woodview Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Woodview Campsite? Within 20 minutes of Woodview Campsite, holidaymakers of all flavours will find beaut beaches, old seaside villages, family days out, coastal walks, sporty days and King Arthur legends at nearby Tintagel. On … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Woodview Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  10:30 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2:30 p.m. –  7 p.m.
    Depart by:  10:30 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact woodview-campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.
Unsupervised minors must have a letter of authorisation from their parents or legal guardian.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Modifications are subject to a £15.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

When making your booking you must let the campsite know your unit type and the size as the staff cannot process the booking without this information.

Groups of more than 3 couples or 4 families are not permitted.

Campsite entry tickets and vehicle tickets must be displayed clearly at all times.

Open fires to be made in firepits provided at the riverside. All fires must be extinguished by 11.30pm.

All taps on the field are drinking water. Please do not use the tap in the chemical loo station for drinking.

Close