Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Venn Down Lakes

9.5
View prices & book
From £20/€23.21/A$35.52/US$24.21/CA$31.20/CHF23.22/SEK249.44/DKK172.71/NOK240.52/ISK3,234/ARS3,038.53/CLP22,578/PEN92.66/NZ$39/ZAR398.24/PLN109.03/R$129.10/CZK574.65/RSD2,726/HUF9,287.92/RUB1,375.13/CN¥162.23 (for 1 night, 5 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Venn Down Lakes: Pitches

General

  • Family-run Cornish site with fishing and sea views
  • Two miles from Boscastle; Camelford five minutes' drive
  • Day tickets available for well-stocked carp lakes

Help yourself to a generous serving of fresh Cornish air at Venn Down Lakes, a 50-acre working farm roughly three miles from the north coast of Cornwall. This tents-only site gets extra marks for its sea views, with vistas that sweep all the way over the water to far-off Lundy Island on clear days.

The site has two coarse fishing lakes that are kept well-stocked throughout the camping season, so bring your rod, tackle and some bait along if you fancy buying a day ticket for a few hours of blissful peace and quiet.

You can hire a firepit on a nightly or weekly basis too, making it all the easier to enjoy the stars at night in this designated dark sky zone. Kindling and logs are sold on site and can be delivered to your pitch upon request. Please help look after the farm and its grass by not lighting any fires on the ground.

This is a simple site, but Venn Down Lakes does have basic services like well-maintained showers, portaloo toilets and picnic benches for eating in the open air.

For local amenities like pubs, cafés and shops, your best bet is to head to Boscastle or Camelford (both five minutes' drive).

Please note

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 37 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

  82% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Lovely friendly owners, quiet site when we went so perfect …05/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEllen T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely friendly owners, quiet site when we went so perfect for our rescue dog's first camping experience. Clean facilities and really nice that you can hire a fire pit and buy firewood for the evenings. This was our second stay and we'll definitely be returning next year!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great views, clean facilities and friendly welcoming owners06/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStewart C.Confirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a great stay. Composting toilets were kept clean and were more pleasant to use than many conventional toilets experienced on campsites over the years. There were two showers with warm water which were also spotlessly clean. The owners who were lovely came round daily to check everyone was ok (and to hire fire pits and sell logs). They also filled water containers for us as there is currently no drinking water on site. A peaceful site with great views and a nice walk round the two small lakes - might be a bit exposed if windy but we were lucky with the weather.
    I am sure we'll be back if we can.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely popup site with friendly owners, compost toilets & warm showers05/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful sweeping views in a peaceful spot a few miles from the coast. Firepits were available with logs from the friendly owners & the facilities were well maintained & regularly cleaned. Washing-up facilities, compost toilets and a pair of quirky warm showers completed the setup. Extra hooks would've been helpful in the shower as being shorter I struggled to put my clothes & towel over the door. Nearest beach at Trebarwith Strand was about 10min drive with a pub set above it and two smallish carparks .

    Disliked: 

    Tiny inconvenience of no drinking water but the owners did offer to fill our container for us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent place to stay in North Cornwall.04/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris I.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The best composting toilets ever, super clean, with solar lights for night. Warm water for dishwashing and shower. Easy to find, great location, and run by a lovely couple who couldn't be more helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site - views, facilities and the owners were great.01/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomElizabeth W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely site - views, facilities and the owners were great.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing, great spot

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing views, spacious pitches, quiet01/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBeata T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing views, spacious pitches, quiet

    Disliked: 

    It was very windy as it's an uncovered space with no trees to give shelter and unfortunately could not really enjoy the outside space as had to stay in the tent most of the time.
    I thought I mention this to others as we were unaware of this

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately we cannot control the weather and there are plenty of spaces next to high hedges which are more sheltered, as we don’t allocate pitches it is the guests choice as to where they pitch there tent. Unfortunately it sounds as though you chose one of the more exposed pitches.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nice field for a near-off grid experience. Very basic camp …31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice field for a near-off grid experience. Very basic camp with good and clean shower and toilets.
    Staff is friendly and very kind and the area is very close to nice hiking and cycling routes.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent site, camp just as described30/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views, sheep, friendly farmer

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very relaxed, would definitely return28/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLisa N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location was amazing, a short distance drive to Boscastle and Tintagel and other attractions and a lovely little beach not far. The site was lovely, you could walk down to the lakes and there were sheep nearby.

    You could hire a fire pit which was great and we spent nights round the fire. The owners came round every night to check you were ok and we’re very friendly.

    Toilets and showers were available but basic.

    Disliked: 

    Though there were showers it was a bit basic.

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback, we are a pop up campsite so we cannot build shower blocks for campers, our showers are warm and clean and unlike many pop up sites we do have showers.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

This is the first year of what I am sure will be a popular pop up site26/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomP F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Top Field non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic picturesque spot. Views to die for and a lovely couple running it.

    Disliked: 

    No drinking water but they are fixing that for next year.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Pop-up campsite

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Horse riding nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Minster, Boscastle, Cornwall, England, PL35 0EG
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.6603°N 4.6843°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Lidl Superstore — 12.0 miles
Lidl Superstore — 12.0 miles
Car Park — 13.1 miles
Train stations
Bodmin Parkway Rail Station — 14.9 miles
Coombe Junction Halt (Rail Station) — 17.3 miles
Lostwithiel Rail Station — 17.5 miles
Ferry ports
Rock Padstow Ferry Landing — 13.3 miles
Padstow Ferry Landing — 13.8 miles
Fowey Custom House Quay Ferry Landing — 22.2 miles
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 20.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The pretty village of Boscastle (five minutes' drive) should be on the itinerary of anyone coming to stay at Venn Down Lakes. Much of the land around the village is owned by the National Trust, who maintain a range of footpaths in the local area and much of Boscastle's historic harbour area.

More heritage is on display at Tintagel (10 minutes), where the well-preserved medieval castle, beaches, caves and curiosities such as St Nectan's Glen will keep visitors entertained for many an hour. For more seaside spots, pack a picnic and head to Trebarwith beach, a long stretch of sand backed by impressive rock formations, or lace up your hiking boots for a jaunt around Pentire Point (25 minutes), a rugged headland that juts out into the North Atlantic.

If you're accompanied by kids whose little legs aren't yet up to such excursions, take them to see the animals at Newquay Zoo (45 minutes) or, if they're on their very best behaviour, treat them to a trip to Hidden Valley (20 minutes), an adventure park with puzzle trails, a forbidden mansion, a mind-boggling maze and a narrow-gauge railway.

Must see

  • Tintagel Castle (3.5 miles)
  • Rock Beach (13.1 miles)
  • Cornwall's Crealy Great Adventure Park (16.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Tintagel Old Post Office (3.0 miles)
  • Lawrence House (14.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Venn Down Lakes cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Venn Down Lakes will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
PayPal

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Venn Down Lakes have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Venn Down Lakes dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Venn Down Lakes? The pretty village of Boscastle (five minutes' drive) should be on the itinerary of anyone coming to stay at Venn Down Lakes. Much of the land around the village is owned by … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Venn Down Lakes?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Venn Down Lakes? From £20 (for 1 night, 5 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact venn-down-lakes


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Please pick any available pitch on arrival.
There is no reception at this site. Please check in at the farm house instead.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The fishing lakes are stocked with carp.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.
This site does have a catch-and-return fishing policy in place.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 6 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
Please note, pup tents are to be used for storage purposes only. Guests may not use them for sleeping.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.
Open fires are prohibited.
Please do not touch or feed the animals.
Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 11 p.m..

Close