Book and review 8,828 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Ingledene Beckside Campsite

8.8
View prices & book
From £18/€20.42/A$31.69/US$23.98/CA$30.85/CHF23.76/kr201.87/kr151.94/kr199.92/kr2,519/$416.01/$15,687/PEN77.57/NZ$34.51/R327.94/zł85.91/R$79.30/Kč523.21/RSD2,440/Ft6,409.63/₽1,421.08/CN¥158.81 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Quiet family-run site less than three miles from Flamingo Land
  • Fishing available in the bordering river
  • Fifteen minutes' walk from Pickering

Sssh… Ingledene Beckside Campsite is a gloriously quiet site. Which is just as well considering that it's only a few miles from Flamingo Land, as you might need a peaceful place to pitch up afterwards…

Ingledene is set down a quiet lane and surrounded by fields on the bank of Pickering Beck, but is also in an excellent locale for conveniences and to see some of the best spots of North Yorkshire: Dalby Forest is nearby, Scarborough is about 15 miles away and trips on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway are within half a mile. Restaurants, pubs and the wine bar of old market town Pickering are 15 minutes' walk away.

Ingledene Beckside's camping area is in a grassed paddock with good parking space, next to a river that guests can fish in (you'll need to bring your rod licence). The site now has a new toilet and shower block with water and chemical disposal.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.8

Overall rating based on 92 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

lovely clean site with everything you need and friendly helpful staff. 30/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Patricia H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Being able to check in at any time.

    Closeness to the town centre very convenient. Quiet on a night so able to sleep well.

    Hot showers very welcoming.

    Lovely weather to top it all. What more can you ask for!

    Disliked: 

    Not a dislike really just a comment about muddy field in parts which can’t be helped due to weather.

From the manager...

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. We have had a lot of rain this year and are looking at putting in more hard standing for next year as we have been very popular with motorhomes . Thank you Sandra

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Location 30/10/2017

charlotte_d164853 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location

    Disliked: 

    We were a group of respectful young couples aged 24-28 years of age. We picked your site as it had everything we were looking for (dogs allowed, fire pits and BBQ, same sex or student groups as most sites won't accept groups of friends)
    We arrived no problem set our tents up and settled down approx 7.30pm. First complaint was to be told not to swear which i find very patronising since we were all adults of age. However we were respectful of this.
    Secondly we were sitting talking around the fire not making too much noise to be then told at 8pm to keep the noise down and abide by the site policy. Which can I add states no noise after 11pm not 8pm.
    Thirdly we had music playing very low to be then told no music at all on the campsite, however policy states no amplified music but nothing about no music at all. Very misleading.
    There were camper vans on the site that were making more noise than we were but because we were a group of young adults we were judged very unfairly. We were woke up very early that morning 7am by children playing around the tent (where's the early morning noise policy!)
    I feel you need to update your site as it's more family orientated however it states that student and same sex groups welcome which is not the case.
    I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone and I certainly won't be going back any time soon
    Very disappointing

From the manager...

I appreciate your comments and am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Campsite policy was made clear at the time of booking when your friend arranged this and he assured us that it would be adhered to. We will be making changes and not accepting groups in the future for the reasons you have stated. We have tried to welcome groups but now understand why other sites do not accept them. We want everyone to enjoy their stay with us.. Thank you Sandra

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The campsite was really close to the town which meant ... 30/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Keegan M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was really close to the town which meant there were several shops and cafes close by, within walking distance. The shower blocks and toilets were kept very clean and tidy, as was the sink where pots could be washed. Owners were very welcoming and helpful. Campsite noise kept to a minimum! Really liked that we could have a campfire, as it would have been really cold to sit out on a night without one.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, you were very brave to withstand the cold October weather and glad you enjoyed your stay. Sandra

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

great quiet site with clean facilities 29/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom amy_m222352 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    beautiful place.quiet spot for camping and lovely warm welcome everyone was very friendly.clesn tidy facilities.will deffinatly be booking again soon.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you next year, Sandra

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Recommend to anyone 23/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cosy comfortable site. Very welcoming, staff very helpful

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Facilities are very clean, just not enough of them. 09/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom shaun_h128718 Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level ish field. good location

    Disliked: 

    massive dints in the ground
    Noise from group on Friday night. Despite being asked to quieten down twice by the owner, did not shut up until we shouted to them later, and this was after midnight.

    only 2 loos and 1 sink in the gents, (same in ladies) had to wait for man to clean his teeth to wash hands after using loo. (2 loos so 2 sinks maybe?)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly helpful staff and lovely area 04/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom steph_r257881 Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a lovely small site in a beautiful area. Only a short walk into Pickering from the site. Owner was so friendly and helpful and we would recommend this site.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice cosy small site with clean facilities ideal for couple ... 03/09/2017

carl_h192752 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice cosy small site with clean facilities ideal for couple off days but I couldn't do anymore than that.
    Lovely area and some nice local walks but won't be staying here again.

    Disliked: 

    The electric system the site runs is a joke there was one electric unit between 5 off us which ment everytime I put my second heater on it blew the electric so to warm my tent up for the night I left it on the whole time I was there.
    I felt the lady who runs the site was helpful but gave off a attitude as like she didn't want us there as we are a young mature couple.
    All pitches are to close together.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had issues with your electric,however it does state on the booking information that the supply for each pitch is 6 amp , this will not be sufficient to power 2 electric heaters and only low wattage camping equipment is suitable for use on the campsite. It is also dangerous to leave heaters unattended in tents which is something you need to be aware of for yours and others safety.

If you had told us of the problems you were having while you were here we could have explained and rectified them for you.

Our staff aim to be pleasant and courteous to all customers and if you are a young mature couple as stated, this would not affect our service in any way.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The small quiet site friendly family run. 24/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United States Jill O. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The small quiet site friendly family run.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

It was in a lovely country area , very safe ... 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom carole_f250704 Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was in a lovely country area , very safe . No traffic so young children could play safely. Within walking distance to Pickering town and North Yorks steam railway. Lovely pubs nearby. Pitches were of a good distance away from each other and no noise after 11pm. Very nice site.

    Disliked: 

    Not really enough showers although what there was was clean, needed a shelf to put toiletries on .

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Jumbo tent pitches

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Ingledene, Mill Lane Pickering, North Yorkshire, England, YO18 8DJ
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.2397°N 0.7812°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Pickering: Eastgate Coach Stop — 0.4 miles
Thornton le Dale (N Yorks): Bus Stop — 2.4 miles
Eden Camp (N Yorks): Bus Stop — 6.0 miles
Train stations
Malton Rail Station — 7.5 miles
Egton Rail Station — 13.7 miles
Grosmont Rail Station — 13.8 miles
Ferry ports
Transporter Bridge South Side — 29.9 miles
Transporter Bridge North Side — 29.9 miles
Airports
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 32.3 miles

Directions


When entering Pickering from the York/Malton direction, turn left at the BP petrol station and enter Mill Lane. Carry on down the lane to a sharp right-hand bend. When Vivers Mill is on your right, go round the corner and Ingledene is the second property on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Pick some time in Pickering to kick off your holiday activities or to potter round its popular attractions like Pickering Castle, social history showcase Beck Isle Museum and the town's twelfth century parish church. Its swimming pool is five minutes' walk from Ingledene Beckside Campsite.

Pickering is also the terminus for the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, which steams through 18 miles of moorland on its route to Whitby (we'd recommend at least an afternoon in Whitby too).

Lots of walking and biking trails start close to the campsite, including loads in Dalby Forest where there's also a Go Ape! for tree swingers, and in the North York Moors National Park immediately to the north.

Other popular places to see nearby are Eden Camp, recreating the sights and sounds of World War II; seaside town Scarborough and its surrounds of Filey and Bridlington; and a day in grand old York.

Must see

  • North Yorkshire Moors Railway (0.5 miles)
  • Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo (2.6 miles)
  • Dalby Forest Visitor Centre (4.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Bridestones, Crosscliff and Blakey Topping (7.0 miles)
  • Nunnington Hall (8.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  10 a.m.

Ingledene Beckside Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Ingledene Beckside Campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Close