Book and review 8,694 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Hopleys Family Camping

8.6
View prices & book
From £18/€19.63/A$29.27/US$23.07/CA$29.06/CHF22.37/kr187.50/kr146.58/kr182.74/kr2,432/$400.89/$15,000/PEN74.78/NZ$31.84/R305.60/zł84.07/R$73.02/Kč512.82/RSD2,338 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family farm site in the Severn Valley
  • Just down the road from West Midlands Safari Park
  • Café, farm shop and summer pizzeria

Summertime pizza ‘to die for’, scrumptious views, a café dishing up reasonably priced nosh and a farm shop selling ice-cream you'd happily travel to Worcestershire for are but a few tasty treats at Hopley’s Family Camping in the Severn Valley – also a hop, skip and jump from some of Worcestershire’s and Central England’s most topping attractions.

The kids will roar with delight on discovering West Midlands Safari Park and the only pride of white lions in the country just down the road, while bordering the town of Bewdley 20 minutes’ walk away is the ancient expanse of Wyre Forest, one of the biggest areas of semi-wild woodland in the UK and teeming with wildlife such as long-eared owls, fallow deer and adders: there’s even a Gruffalo Trail for tiny tots…

Back at base after a strenuous day on safari among the lions, cheetahs and hippos (oh my), hire a fire basket and buy firewood from the Hopleys team to fry up a panful of sausages from the farm shop, where you can also pick up newspapers, grownup drinks (wine), sweets and the kids’ favourite, fresh veg.

If you’re on site from Easter to September, the Hopleys specially built pizzeria opens a couple of times a week to serve pizzas from its wood-fired oven, real ales and wine, again all at soundly sensible prices. And if you’re up for a dander before your dinner to feel all the more virtuous during it, three pubs serving decent food are within a mile.

Amenities on site include a new shower and loo block with laundry room; a picnic area; small play area, chemical disposal and wifi. Make room in the morning for a budget-friendly bacon sarnie or other brekkie in the courtyard café: possibly with some farm shop ice-cream afterwards too...?

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No single-sex group bookings.

All under-18s must be accompanied by an adult.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 95 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

More for young families than for a quiet couple. Very good facilities 23/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Darren C. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The facilities are very good on site, Bar, live music, which was very good. The toilets are clean and ample of them. The pizza is very good. The area is very nice too.

    Overall an enjoyable stay.

    Disliked: 

    This is not a quiet site. Choose where you pitch up wisely. They were playing foot ball by us which hit the tent several times and a guide rope was snapped by being tripped over. The showers are not always on, so sometimes a cold shower is all you can have.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site, fab for children to play and friendly staff. 21/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kelly B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely place with lots of open space.
    Plenty of room for the children to play.
    Toilets and shower block conveniently placed.
    Conveniently placed running water taps and waste disposal area's.
    Lovely pizza place and bar with entertainment.

    Disliked: 

    One of the ladies showers (in the block of two) was unusable due to poor water flow and the showers were far too hot for the children.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent and will definitely return. Brilliant space for young kids 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sara O. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We arrived to a very pleasant lady on reception who advised me very well as it was our first time camping. Area we camped in was very good and site was kept clean. Pizzeria wasn't open as we stayed on a Sunday which was a shame. Colleagues very polite and really looking forward to going again. Lots of space for my two young children to run around and lovely friendly atmosphere for my older daughter to make friends.

    Disliked: 

    Shower blocks were a little dirty when we arrived but this was cleaned quickly by the staff. Toilet smelt in the morning but was very early so understandably no cleaning had been completed. Couldn't link up to the wifi but was only there for one night so didn't bother the reception desk

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

yes very much 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Stephen W. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    yes very much

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Would stay here again but need ear plugs!!! 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom francesca W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Space and area for children to be able to explore was great. Plenty of toilets and showers spread throughout.

    Disliked: 

    So many people with small yappy dogs that barked through the night and early morning. People up and making lots of noise from 6 am every morning. Needs a better noise policy as at night people talking quietly were told off but shouting and barking in the early hours was acceptable.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Site nice enough but toilets/showers are very poor 11/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tracey J. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rope swings for kids

    Disliked: 

    Toilets/showers and pitchup taking the deposit! Hopleys don't take it off the total!!!
    Unlevel pitch

From the manager...

We are very sorry that the toilet and shower facilities were not to a standard that you would have liked. We do have cleaners that go round on site daily. When people are booked in we do ask that if they experience any problems on site to please ring the numbers on the back of the map. If you had said to us that you were unhappy with the pitch we would have given you a different pitch as there was capacity for us to do that on the Sunday. With regards to your payment we did charge you the correct amount. We did take the deposit off as you were charged £68.85 for your stay here. The total cost calculated by Pitchup after you entered all your details was £81.00 exactly, Pitchup deducted the deposit of £12.15 which they keep.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good showers, plenty of space, good facilities on site. 10/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sharon H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Our 3rd time to Hopleys. Lovely site, spacious with rope swings in the woods, good location near Bewdley and handy farm shop on site. Had burgers in the new restaurant / bar area which were excellent.

    Disliked: 

    It rained - but that wasn't Hopley's fault!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely laid out site. Staff friendly great food and 07/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gemma P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the layout plenty of washrooms. Reception area clean with plenty of "what to do" in the area. Cafe did an excellent full English and the bar was friendly and relaxed.
    The farm shop was extensive and very well laid out. Lovely produce.

    Disliked: 

    Bit of rain however this is to be expected in this country!!
    Electric hook up located at other end of the shared pitch that was empty, had to hire an extension lead hook up from the site.
    No dislikes for us at Hopleys !!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, with a few minor annoyances. 05/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lucas D. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - Good facilities
    - Space on site
    - Staff helpful/friendly
    - Town is a short walk away
    - Lots of extra facilities; shops, cafe, etc

    Disliked: 

    - The toilet block found next to the tent pitch was a little troublesome. The door on the male toilet was broken, and the urinals seemed to be higher than they should be.
    - If you expect WiFi on the tent pitch, you'll be disappointed. I had trouble connecting to it from anywhere, let alone the tent pitch. They do apparently offer it though, as they gave us the password. We just couldn't log in :P

    That being said... it was nothing to hinder our experience. It was enjoyable, even with the two single issues listed above. Our group intends on staying again shortly in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very clean place, nice friendly staff pizza and waffle from ... 05/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Charlie D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean place, nice friendly staff pizza and waffle from the club house lovely will definitely stay again thank you

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Jumbo tent pitches

Shepherd's huts

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Cleobury Road Bewdley, Worcestershire, England, DY12 2QL
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.3702°N 2.3380°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Droitwich Spa: Raven Bus Stop — 10.7 miles
Warndon (Worcester): Three Pears Coach Stop — 13.0 miles
Worcester: Crown Gate Bus Station — 13.2 miles
Train stations
Kidderminster Rail Station — 4.3 miles
Hartlebury Rail Station — 5.5 miles
Blakedown Rail Station — 7.3 miles
Ferry ports
Sharpness Old Docks — 45.0 miles
Airports
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 2 — 26.2 miles
Birmingham International Airport — 26.3 miles
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 1 — 26.3 miles

Directions


Follow the signs for West Midlands Safari Park travelling through Kidderminster. After the safari park, take the first exit for Bewdley By-pass B4296 at the first roundabout. At the second roundabout, turn right at the second exit. Take the third exit at the third roundabout signposted Bewdley town centre on the B4190. The site is 100 yards on the left signposted Hopleys.

From Leominster on A456, at the roundabout with the B4190 take the first exit, signposted Bewdley Town Centre. The site 100 yards on left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The attractions within walking or a few minutes’ driving distance of Hopleys Family Camping will entertain even the most energetic offspring for days: there are animals of all species foreign and domestic to see, a steam railway to sightsee from, woodland trails, tree swinging, mountain biking, canoeing…

Start off by taking your little creatures to the West Midlands Safari Park a scanty drive away: as well as the big cats, hippos, meerkats and other members of the menagerie, your wild things can let loose on the rides suitable for all ages (parents too), the Cubs Kingdom for smaller sorts, and thrill rides for white knucklers.

If this sounds a little too beastly, the agreeable shops, pubs, cafés, Jubilee Gardens and free museum of Georgian town Bewdley are only a mile from the campsite (the safari park is on its outskirts); you might even see Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant at the tennis or rowing clubs if you put down roots for long enough.

Bewdley is surrounded by the Wyre Forest, one of the most ancient woodlands in Britain and also within walking distance of Hopleys. Its three woodland trails – Buzzard, Woodpecker and Wren (with added Gruffalo) – range from a mile long to just over three miles and cover coniferous and deciduous forest, ancient oaks and varying habitats.

The Wren/Gruffalo Trail is suitable for buggies and prams. If you’ve got other wheels (or hire them at nearby Bewdley Outdoor Centre), take the blue cycle trail at Wyre through forest tracks and past the old railway line. Swinging and zipwiring among the trees is also available at Wyre Forest via Go Ape!

Back at Bewdley, the Severn Valley Railway has its HQ here: hop on to head to Bridgnorth with a stop at Arley and Arley Arboretum’s fairy and dinosaur trails, Italian garden and maze, or go in the other direction to Bodenham Arboretum at Kidderminster, 156 acres of woodland with pools, lakes and an award-winning farm.

The line’s Engine House Visitor Centre, and the walks and countryside of the Severn Valley Country Park, can be accessed from Highley station.

To explore the Severn Valley by boat (we say aye aye to that), cruise along the Severn in a canoe from Bridgnorth to Bewdley, hire a nearby narrowboat at Stourport-on-Severn, or sail along in style on a riverboat cruise from Upton, Tewskesbury or Worcester.

Must see

  • Witley Court & Gardens (English Heritage) (5.9 miles)
  • Avoncroft Museum of Historic Buildings (11.9 miles)
  • Hanbury Hall (National Trust) (12.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Kinver Edge and the Rock Houses (6.9 miles)
  • Dudmaston Estate (8.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

From 1pm

Hopleys Family Camping cancellation policy

No penalties

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Hopleys Family Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Additional terms

No single-sex group bookings.

All under-18s must be accompanied by an adult.

Close