Book and review 8,691 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Castlefields

9.4
View prices & book
From £20/€21.84/A$32.50/US$25.79/CA$32.42/CHF24.84/kr208.77/kr163.13/kr203.87/kr2,740/$450.45/$16,667/PEN83.72/NZ$35.24/R339.56/zł93.63/R$81.73/Kč571.43/RSD2,597 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Traditional country pub and restaurant near Hay-on-Wye
  • Open fireplace, gardens and beer garden with spectacular views
  • Set in the Golden Valley surrounded by the Merbach Hills

If you were staying at country pub site The Castlefields, in the village of Clifford in Herefordshire, you'd very likely want to wander the four miles to Hay-on-Wye on your first morn and then return, book-laden, to this traditional pub and restaurant to set up camp for several hours...?

And you might want to occasionally wander outside to drink in the views too: The Castlefields is in a sightly setting in the Black Mountains's Golden Valley and surrounded by the Merbach Hills.

The pub and restaurant is a family-run independent freehouse in a sixteenth-century former coach house, fully renovated and updated by owners Carol and Ian to include a comfy and welcoming restaurant with an open fire, an adjacent and also-cosy bar, environmentally friendly lighting and a 38-foot well unearthed during the refurbishment. Extensive gardens, a beer garden, parking facilities and a rain water harvester are outside.

But let's talk vittles and tipples. The Castlefield's restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday inclusive and serves eminently good home-cooked food made fresh using fine local produce, from a seasonal menu, daily specials board, snack menu and children’s menu. An eminently good selection of fine beers, real ales, wines and spirits is also on tap.

Amenities are sorted in the modern shower block, which also has washing machines, dryers and a washing-up area.

Please note

Please note that the pub and the restaurant are not open on Mondays.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 58 reviews

 

98% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Size of site Good pub Clean facilities Nice area 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Andrew W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Size of site
    Good pub
    Clean facilities
    Nice area

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing we will be back 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sophie h. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful facilities, lovely pub serving great food. Pitches were spacious so children had room to play. Friendly staff. 😁

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

This place is fantastic great cosy site around 6 hard ... 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David C. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This place is fantastic great cosy site around 6 hard standing and 6 grass pitch. The pub is so friendly and welcoming and the restaurant was delicious the home cooked food amazing and the home made chips yummy. They looked after us so well they moved me into a better spot so I could get the caravan out and catered for us even though they was full in the pub.

    Toilets everything was so clean.

    We will be back.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to Dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site, clean facilities, friendly staff. Really enjoyed our week 14/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom victoria_t121518 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

perfect for an overnight stay if driving on to further destination. 13/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom derek_b235161 Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet location, pub/restaurant on site serving good food.

    Disliked: 

    Not really a dislike but when we stayed, there were only two other pitches occupied. I think if the site was full with there being only one gents toilet & one shower it might struggle. Same in the ladies but it did have one other separate unisex shower.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly site. Well located. Good pub kn site 13/08/2017

wayne_h189412 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly laid back site. Clean, quiet and well located. Pub serves great food

    Disliked: 

    Nothin

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Peaceful site with great scenery, friendly staff perfect relaxing week 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shane P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely large pitch with plenty of room. Beautiful views and scenery. Pub food was great big meals. Play area for children.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing but more or bigger bins would help as the 3 that they have where full all weekend.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Overall we all thought this was a lovely site, staff very friendly 06/08/2017

paul_m262827

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a small site but was clean and tidy, the meals in the restaurant were large and very good, very reasonably priced.

    Disliked: 

    Lack of soap in the men's toilets for washing hands,the wastewater sink seemed to be blocked

From the manager...

Dear Paul

Thank you for your review, our facilities are cleaned on a daily basis but sometimes things happen either before they have been cleaned or after. We have staff on duty between 7am and approx 11pm there is also contact details in the facilities for you to notify us if there are any problems. I have asked all my staff and you had not them know of these issues. Sometimes we do have to rely on peoples communication with us to let us know, had you have done this we would have sorted this out straight away for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant.

Manager

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great site 02/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Michelle K. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely small site with stunning views and nice pitches very friendly owners the dog was allowed in the bar and the food was both beautifully presented and yummy good location for walking

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

great based for touring Brecon and surrounding area 01/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The small site with pub

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Gastronomic delight

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Pub campsite

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Clifford, Herefordshire, England, HR3 5HB
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.1009°N 3.0347°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Hay on Wye: Castle Bus Stop — 4.3 miles
Pontrilas: Telephone Exchange Coach Stop — 12.7 miles
Hereford: Country Bus Station Commercial Rd — 14.2 miles
Train stations
Hereford Rail Station — 14.2 miles
Leominster Rail Station — 15.5 miles
Dolau Rail Station — 16.6 miles
Ferry ports
Sharpness Old Docks — 35.1 miles
Airports
Gloucestershire Airport — 40.1 miles

Directions


The site is situated 4 miles outside of Hay-on-Wye and around 15 miles from Hereford city centre.

From the A438: half way between Hereford and Brecon you will come to the village of Hay-on-Wye, from here take the B4350 and the site will be on your right.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The Castlefields is niftily set for well-known walks in its surrounding countryside, like the Wye Valley Walk running 136 miles along the river and through the Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It's also local to Wye fishing and to Offa's Dyke for another hike, all in highly scenic surrounds.

Hay-on-Wye's many bookshops are four miles from base; if you're in town on a Thursday check out the farmer's market and if you're in there in early June trot along to the world famed Hay Festival.

Very active types – you might want to exercise off all the Castlefields tipples and vittles – can wend their way to the Brecon Beacons about 20 miles away and have a go at climbing Pen-Y-Fan, the highest peak in south Wales, or, somewhat less actively, take in some local horse riding, canoeing or cycling.

Must see

  • Blaenavon Ironworks (22.5 miles)
  • Ludlow Castle (22.7 miles)
  • Blaenavon World Heritage Centre & Tourist Information Centre (22.8 miles)

National Trust

  • Cwmmau Farmhouse (3.9 miles)
  • The Weir (9.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

The Castlefields cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Castlefields will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Castlefields


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

General
Campfires are not permitted.

Additional terms

The launderette takes £1 coins per cycle for both washers and dryers. Holidaymakers must bring their own powder and conditioner for the washing machines.

Please note that the pub and the restaurant are not open on Mondays.

Close