Book and review 8,714 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Recreatiepark De Oude Maas

7.3
View prices & book
From £13.20/€15/A$22.63/US$17.91/CA$22.10/CHF17.40/kr143.12/kr112.11/kr139.78/kr1,941/$312.69/$10,996/PEN58.34/NZ$24.60/R238.19/zł64.31/R$56.29/Kč391.56/RSD1,783 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Spacious campsite overlooking the Oude Maas river
  • Next to a marine centre and yacht harbour
  • A short drive to Rotterdam and Kinderdijk

You won't get many of these types of sites on a Netherlands – or anywhere – break. South Holland's Recreation Park De Oude Maas is a modern site with direct access to and rather spesh views over Barendrecht's Oude Maas river – and is right next to a marine centre and yacht harbour to see how the other half live. (Go on, gnash your teeth and wail how one day all these yachts will be yours, all yours.)

It's in splendid locale too for setting off around the area, so use the park as a base for South Holland sightseeing (both Rotterdam and Kinderdijk are a mere short drive away), for fishing or boating on the river, or hiring a bike to cycle along the endless local bike routes; this is the Netherlands after all… Several international events take place nearby: ask the friendly Recreation Park De Oude Maas team for details of anything on when you arrive.

Site facilities include a playground, a reception with information point, and a mini market stocked with daily essentials. There's also a laundry room with coin-operated washing machines and dryers, and a large amenities block with showers, toilets, disabled facilities and baby changing.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 12 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Single-sex bookings of 15 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.3

Overall rating based on 6 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Peaceful, easy to navigate site with nice scenery and clean facilities 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: Netherlands Stephanie B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful scenery camping right by the river.
    Easy and cheap to hire bicycles and take in the local area.
    Basic but clean facilities.
    Good if you want to 'get away from it all' - quiet area with few nearby amenities

    Disliked: 

    Couldn't find anywhere to get drinking water.
    Couldn't access the WiFi.
    No hair dryers in the bathroom - if you are camping without electricity, this is a shame
    We initially picked the wrong spot to camp and were intimidated by an elderly resident of the site. Instead of simply informing us we were in the wrong place, the man stood taking photos of us and only when we asked what he was doing, did he (aggressively) tell us we were in the wrong place. Of course, it was a mistake and we moved immediately. Reception did not seem to mind that we made this mistake but perhaps the residents could be a little more neighbourly...

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great situation very poor toilet block 23/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Phillip S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Watching the boats going buy and cycling tracks. Witching walling distance of a lovely village with a good super market and a fantastic bakery. However. The boats do travel during the night so you will hear as light rumble

    Disliked: 

    Very poor toilet block . Very poor showers. Had to hold a push bottom to use all of the time an was near cold than warm.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with ample space, clean, lovely views and helpful staff 31/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Christine S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site, very clean. No initial reply from site received though. 29/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anna-Liisa D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cleanliness, facilities, peaceful, views over port

    Disliked: 

    Didn't receive instructions from site as informed them via pitchup.com that we'd be arriving after 5pm. So we didn't know what we needed to do as reception closed! Number we needed to call was only answerphone message half the time and difficult to get hold of anyone!!

From the manager...

Dear mr Drury,
Unfortunately there was some miscommunication. My collegue who confirmed your reservation did not see that you would arrive after closing of our reception. We had some trouble with our phone connection for which we apologize.
The next morning we spoke at the reception and for the inconvience we offered you the night at our camping free of charge.

We hope to welcome you again in the future on our parc and thank you for your review.

Kind regards
RECREATIEPARK DE OUDE MAAS
Minette Hooymeijer

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Perfect place to stay!!! 28/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom irena_v161558 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced hardstanding motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Like it VERY MUCH!!!!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Dear mrs Irena

Thank you very much for your review and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
RECREATIEPARK DE OUDE MAAS
Minette Hooymeijer

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly staff good for young children 20/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Emad N. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan, trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Near town

    Disliked: 

    Toilet & showers facilitys needs updating

From the manager...

Dear mr and mrs,

Thank you for your review on our campsite.
Indeed, our shower and toilet facilities need reconstruction and we hope to do this in the near future. My staff cleans the building twice a day so it is clean but we hope to have modern facilities in the future

thank you very much and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
RECREATIEPARK DE OUDE MAAS

Minette Hooymeijer

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Achterzeedijk 1A Barendrecht, South Holland, The Netherlands, 2991sb
  • Timezone Europe/Amsterdam CEST (GMT+02:00)   GPS 51.8325°N 4.5538°E

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Recreation Park De Oude Maas has direct access to the Oude Maas river, a tidal distributary of the Rhine with recreation and nature spotting opps along its banks. There's direct access to the harbour next door: as suggested, do go and gnash your teeth about how the other half live...

Have a bike ride to nearby Kinderdijk: it might be a mere village, but it has a mighty 19 windmills (the biggest group of old windmills in all the Netherlands) and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1997. You might recognise them when you see them: the windmill cluster is one of the best-known sights in the country.

Also famed in the local area are the town of Gouda (yes, the cheesy place), the old city of Dordrecht, dating back to the 13th century, and the excellent city of Rotterdam, one of the biggest port cities in the world.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Reception is unmanned after 5pm. Please call the site/park using the contact details provided in the booking confirmation email if you are arriving after this time. The team will then provide you with the relevant information about your unit/pitch.

Recreatiepark De Oude Maas cancellation policy

No penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Tax

Local eco/city tax of €1 per person per night is not included and must be paid on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Recreatiepark De Oude Maas


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10pm and 7am.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 12 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 15 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Reception
Reception is open from 9am to 5pm between 01/01 and 31/12.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Taxes
Local eco/city tax of €1 per person per night is not included and must be paid on arrival.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close