Book and review 8,777 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Woodlands Caravan Park

9.3

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
Find nearby sites with availability…

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Small family-run site in Snowdonia National Park
  • At the foot of Harlech Castle
  • Within walking distance of the beach

Woodlands Park in Harlech is a small, select, carefully developed, family-run park of outstanding quality. There's a sense of peace that you only find at smaller caravan parks, yet it's within walking distance of the beach, town centre and mini supermarket.

It is situated within the Snowdonia National Park directly at the foot of Harlech Castle (built way back in c.1290 AD) and now a designated World Heritage Site. The castle and its beautiful waterfall offer an impressive backdrop to this peaceful little getaway.

Facilities at the touring park include free wifi, heated toilet and shower blocks with shaver points, a laundry room, dishwashing facilities, bottled gas and a small library. Dogs are welcome at no extra charge.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 13 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Great place to be nice and quite had agreat time ... 30/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Colin B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great place to be nice and quite had agreat time no hassle the staff were top notch

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Perfect site 11/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Christopher C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Perfect site

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good clean and tidy site. Warm welcome from Chris. 08/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Carole E. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Close proximity to castle, lovely clean showers and toilets. 10 minute walk from the beautiful beach. Prompt attention from Chris when we had issue with electric hook-up. Free WiFi was a bonus.

    Disliked: 

    Only issue was the closeness of the pitches.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with good clean facilities, owners were friendly and ... 19/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Linda T. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent site with good clean facilities, owners were friendly and visible daily, the site was well kept and maintained. We had a lovely view from our trailer tent of Harlech castle and waterfall. Loads of tourist interests in the area for all ages to enjoy, we went out every day and still have places that we want to visit so will be returning. The walk to the beach took us about 15 minutes and was lovely as was the sandy beach, we walked along the beach for some distance and enjoyed the stunning views of the Snowdonia mountains. A most enjoyable holiday.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site friendly staff 06/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom andrea d. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice clean small site. Was quite and peaceful with lovely views close to the beach and easy to reach places

    Disliked: 

    nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent spotless caravan static and touring Park near beach,rail,pub 28/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom peter f. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The Well mannered family run site. The son of the owner Chris checks your happy and all is well as he goes about the site.So very friendly.very clean toilet and shower rooms.perfect location. Well kept and maintained Lawns and pitches on flat ground.a short walk to the railway station and pubs and Harlechs pretty town .Positioned at the foot of the buttress of HARLECH CASTLE you cannot stop looking up at the majesty of this great place. Amazing clean long and wide beaches with car Park if needed.

    Disliked: 

    During May the Rooks seem to like to Nest under the Castle walls causing a noise in the daylight hours. By June they usually Fledge and all you can hear is the natural waterfall and other wonderful birds.Amazingly you can forgive these temporary visitors being in the Historic company of Harlech Castle .

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We very much enjoyed our stay at woodlands, very clean ... 19/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Vanessa Y. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We very much enjoyed our stay at woodlands, very clean and tidy beautiful setting just below the castle,very helpful staff. A very good base for exploring the wonderful coastline and pubs.i can recommend this site to anyone and I will be coming again as soon as possible

    Thank you

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

excellent facilities clean site, welcoming pets is a bonus. 12/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Graham M. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    excellent facilities clean site, welcoming pets is a bonus.

    Disliked: 

    the rain!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site level gravel pitches 06/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard O. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean toilets and showers very helpful site manager

    Disliked: 

    Push button on shower needs to be longer

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Small, clean tidy site. 24/03/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom mark_b144629 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and tidy, small site.

    Disliked: 

    Electric hook up was damaged but functioned. Plastic was cracked around the connection and able to see wiring.

From the manager...

Dear Mark

Many thanks for your review and for bringing this issue to our attention. Please be advised that our maintenance team have been notified and a new box is being installed today.

I note that you have ticked that you would like to visit us again, along with our apologies for any inconvenience caused we would be happy to offer you a discount against your next booking.

Please call the park if you have any queries or would like to check availability.

Best Wishes

Woodlands Caravan Park, Harlech

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Leave the car at home

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Tan-Y-Coed Harlech, Gwynedd, Wales, LL46 2UE
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 52.8613°N 4.1077°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Porthmadog Coach Stop — 4.8 miles
Tremadoc: The Square Coach Stop — 5.6 miles
Criccieth: Lay by Coach Stop — 6.6 miles
Train stations
Harlech Rail Station — 0.1 miles
Llandanwg Rail Station — 1.9 miles
Pensarn (Gwynedd) Rail Station — 2.1 miles
Ferry ports
Barmouth Ferry Landing — 10.1 miles
Porth Penrhyn Ferry Landing — 10.4 miles
Aberdaron Ferry Landing — 25.6 miles
Airports
Anglesey Airport — 32.5 miles

Directions


From Barmouth
Travel along A496 to Harlech. Do not enter town centre. Follow the signs for A496 downhill past Royal St David's golf course on the left. Fork right at the level crossing, following the signposts for Woodlands. The park is on the right after 200 yards.

From Talsarnau
Travel along A496 towards Harlech for approximately 1 mile from Talsarnau. Turn right at the signpost (A496) for Harlech and Barmouth. This avoids Harlech town centre.

At the Harlech level crossing, at foot of the castle, turn a sharp left back on yourself following the signposts for Woodlands. The park is on the right after 200 yards.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Situated within the Snowdonia National Park the caravan park provides an ideal base to explore the area with its beautiful scenery and local towns and villages.

Harlech's beach, Harlech castle, the town centre and railway station are within walking distance. Porthmadog and Barmouth are both less than nine miles away.

Must see

  • CADW - Harlech Castle (0.2 miles)
  • Portmeirion Gardens (3.6 miles)
  • Ffestiniog Railway (4.4 miles)

National Trust

  • Ty^ Mawr Wybrnant (17.2 miles)
  • Plas yn Rhiw (21.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Woodlands Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 9.30am to 5pm between 01/03 and 31/10.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Close