Book and review 2,230 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

6.9
View prices & book
From £19.99/€22.23/A$36.02/US$26.60/CA$34.56/CHF24.07/SEK225.95/DKK165.47/NOK234.76/ISK3,535/ARS2,154.45/CLP20,447/PEN95.84/NZ$37.87/ZAR406.08/PLN99.69/R$142.15/CZK582.46/RSD2,614/HUF8,041.35/RUB2,023.67/CN¥174.95 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Grass pitches

General

  • Family-run site just off the M74, for handy stopovers or longer breaks
  • Within 15 minutes' drive of Gretna Green, Annan and Lockerbie
  • Almost four acres of grounds with gardens, play area and lawn areas

Stop off on journeys south – or further north – at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, a family-run business in a 15th-century Dumfries and Galloway house with gorgeous grounds stretching out to almost four acres and made up of gardens, lawn areas, a play area and mature trees and shrubs.

This south-west Scotland site (and its mass of greenery) is easily spotted from Junction 19 of the M74 on the edge of the country village of Ecclefechan. With access being so simple, it’s a popular place for short breaks and stopovers on longer journeys but is also ace for a longer hol exploring the Solway Firth surrounds.

Coming from the south, Kirkconnel is half an hour from the city of Carlisle and, once in Scotland, Dumfries is 30 minutes west of the hotel; use the place as a base for checking out sights like the Famous Blacksmiths Shop of Gretna Green (where clandestine nuptials used to take place) 15 minutes' drive away.

Got your own wedding to plan? This site hosts all sorts of events, from parties to business conferences, in a fancy building where Napoleon’s physician used to reside back in the 18th century (bet you didn't expect that one…).

If you’re not putting on a party, sip beers at the bar, laze in the lounge or dine in the restaurant; alternatively, get food over in Lockerbie, 10 minutes’ drive away, the closest big town for restaurants and supplies.

Other facilities on site include a wifi, a toilet block and a TV room. Pick-up from public transport’s available too – just get in touch on the booking form in advance.

Please note

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

The café is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

This site has no on-site toilet and shower facilities.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

6.9

Overall rating based on 11 reviews

 

64% would recommend this site to a friend.

64% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

It was lovely all around. The people were kind and …06/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCharlotte L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was lovely all around. The people were kind and the area and location was great.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for the kind words and we hope you will visit us again.

Thank you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Won't use pitchup or that hole ever again .01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNoel B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was quoted £54 total and the owner charged us another £45 on arrival, making £99 for 2nights , 2 tents and 3 people. There were no showers and the owner locked the toilets overnight, how bloody ridiculous. Seemed happy when bugging the holiday makers though .

    Disliked: 

    It was awful and a complete rip off , keep away . The toilets weren't cleaned in the two days we were there .

From the manager...

Thank you for the review.

This issue was all discussed with the guest in person upon arrival, and from our perspective at the hotel we charged accordingly due to the guest reserving one pitch online and then requesting two pitches on arrival at the property.

We thank the guest for his stay, however if he does feel so strongly about the matter then he is very welcome to call us and discuss this further.

Thank you.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Perfect stop off. Very friendly owner.28/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Big space, friendly owner, pleasant toilets. Would stay again no problem

    Disliked: 

    Some road noise and train noise but I used earplugs and had a great nights sleep

From the manager...

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent stopover site25/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peacocks and flat ground and friendly host!

    Disliked: 

    Noisy road in morning

From the manager...

Thanks so much for staying with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you will call again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Grounds looked lovely.24/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Grounds looked lovely.

    Disliked: 

    Owner or personnel trying to overcharge us to £60 instead of the pitchup.com £27.

From the manager...

Firstly thank you for your comments.

Can I start by stating that upon arrival the guest was asked how many pitches they required & we were told 3 tents. The booking was made for one tent only and therefore if three pitches was required then the charge multiplies by three.

If there was a misunderstanding on this point then clearly we wish to pass on our apologies, however we were informed three pitches would be needed by the response we received from the guest.

We are happy to communicate with the guest should they wish to contact us directly regarding the resolution of this matter.

Kindest Regards

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Warm welcome, location, facilities and good base for exploring other …16/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristine C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Warm welcome, location, facilities and good base for exploring other areas.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the excellent review.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly, stress free stay, basic but clean facilities, other campers …04/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEdward W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly, stress free stay, basic but clean facilities, other campers were friendly and considerate, good value pitch fees

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the feedback, we are pleased you found the site friendly, clean & stress free.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything31/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Location25/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location

    Disliked: 

    Noise from road/trains

From the manager...

Thank you for the review,.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Clean facilities owner and staff freindly11/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Convenient place just of m74 was traveling on motorbike perfect staging place for rest of trip .

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Hand sanitising stations

Masks/gloves available

More frequent emptying of bins

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ecclefechan, Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland, DG11 3JH
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 55.0724°N 3.2650°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Lockerbie Coach Stop — 4.9 miles
Annan: Market Square Coach Stop — 5.9 miles
Langholm Coach Stop — 11.9 miles
Train stations
Lockerbie Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Annan Rail Station — 6.1 miles
Gretna Green Rail Station — 9.3 miles
Ferry ports
Leaplish Ferry Landing — 29.9 miles
Airports
Edinburgh Airport — 60.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Seeing as you're staying in Scotland, you might want to wander around a whisky distillery while on your trip – and you should do so in Annan (15 minutes' drive), where you can have a little look round a museum documenting the town's past while you’re in the area.

For more history in this region that’s rich with it, travel to Carlyle's Birthplace (five minutes) to peer at the childhood home of the writer, or hike up to Repentance Tower at Hoddom Castle (10 minutes) – a nine-hole golf course is here as well, if you just so happen to have the clubs in the boot…

The ruins of another castle are in Lochmaben (15 minutes) and there’s yet another old building – the 16th-century Gilnockie Tower house – in Langholm (half an hour) if you’ve still more appetite for admiring age-old architecture.

Must see

  • World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop Centre (9.3 miles)
  • Robert Burns Centre (13.9 miles)
  • Carlisle Castle (17.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Wordsworth House and Garden (28.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Kirkconnel Hall Hotel have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Kirkconnel Hall Hotel dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Seeing as you're staying in Scotland, you might want to wander around a whisky distillery while on your trip – and you should do so in Annan (15 minutes' drive), where you … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Kirkconnel Hall Hotel?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? From £19.99 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact kirkconnel-hall-hotel


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Coronavirus
The café is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This site has no on-site toilet and shower facilities.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Close