Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Rashfield Sheilings

9.4
View prices & book
From £99/€114.97/A$174.70/US$120.05/CA$154.79/CHF114.60/SEK1,228.91/DKK855.40/NOK1,187.73/ISK16,039/ARS15,010.60/CLP111,267/PEN454.79/NZ$193.21/ZAR1,949.95/PLN536.81/R$622.15/CZK2,843.95/RSD13,506/HUF45,310.66/RUB6,242.85/CN¥804.51 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Rashfield Sheilings: Hawthorn Lodge

General

  • Luxury ensuite lodges on the Eachaig river in Argyll Forest Park
  • A few minutes on foot to Pucks Glen and 10 minutes’ drive to Dunoon
  • Egyptian cotton linens, wifi, kitchen, woodburner, private deck and TV

Ramp up the luxury during a stay on the edges of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs at Rashfield Sheilings – this park’s slick ensuite lodges are double glazed and come with refined Egyptian cotton linens for comfy and cosy nights.

As well as being well-equipped, the site is also excellently placed: it’s on the Eachaig river within the Argyll Forest Park, and set among spectacular scenery in a Highlands landscape made up of lochs and streams. Getting out to see some of it is pretty straightforward, as the forest walk of Pucks Glen is a few minutes away on foot.

When you’re not off on wanders over yonder, make eyes at the watery views from your private deck, then mooch back through the French doors once dusk appears to flick through the satellite channels on the flatscreen TV and connect to the wifi in your comfy lounge-dining area.

Switch on the full electric heating if it’s a tad nippy (or fire up the woodburner – a starter pack of fuel is provided between October and May) and warm yourself up even more by getting grub ready in the handy kitchen set up with a fridge, four-burner electric hob, an oven and a microwave.

If the only way you plan to feed yourself on this break is by getting others to cook for you, take a look at several country inns, cafés, restaurants and pubs within a six-mile radius, including in the town of Dunoon. Other amenities like a cinema, swimming pool, tennis courts and supermarkets are also here.

Please note

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Tents are not accepted at this park.

Guests under the age of 21 are not allowed on site.

Bookings must not be for more than 7 consecutive nights.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 21+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

beautiful lodge, very clean & comfortable in gorgeous surroundings.08/03/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomgary f.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    everything.

    Disliked: 

    leaving.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great stay, modest but lovely accomodation09/11/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah C.Confirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean, comfortable and great location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent01/11/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomThomas E.Confirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely everything -
    communication was great before arriving.
    Everything was perfect inside the cabin
    Great Location
    Cannot wait to book again!!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Beautiful cabin very clean stunning location !29/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful cabin very clean stunning location !

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Overall area was very nice and facilities at Dunoon were …26/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKaren G.Confirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Overall area was very nice and facilities at Dunoon were good.

    Disliked: 

    Very close to main road. Lack of contact from anyone on takeover and when we raised issue about oven there was not helpful response. Shower never reached a satisfactory temperature, lukewarm at best. Cabin very small for 2 adults and for a 2 week stay. Only suitable for short stay as there is a lack of storage, cooking equipment and very small fridge. No room in bedroom to walk around, poorly laid out, no hanging space. Very squeaky floor too.

From the manager...

We are naturally disappointed you did not enjoy your experience at Rashfield Sheilings. Guests sometimes complain of too much contact on Arrival - did you not receive our welcoming text with additional information? We hold our hands up in regard to being unable to resolve your issue with the oven, however we have since checked and this was perhaps more due to your own misunderstanding of how to operate it. (The same might be said for the shower temperature). You seemed content to use the microwave oven facility instead. The other issues you mention arise, it seems, from your own dissatisfaction through having chosen the wrong style of accommodation for your needs. We do try to give accurate descriptions and images in our advertising but it’s impossible to cover everything. We are always willing to improve, as guest satisfaction and enjoyment are our chief aims, so we would be very happy to hear from you directly with guidance on how we might improve, for example do you have specific additional cooking utensils you think we should provide? Did you not see our Arrival Message directing you to cooking pots etc, contained in the under-cooker compartment? We, like many other guests reviewing their stay, consider the lodge to be a delightful, unique place to spend a few nights - this has been our intention since it’s conception. We are pleased the surrounding area was to your liking.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Almost everything, lovely clean cosy lodge with great view of …24/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCheri M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hawthorn 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Almost everything, lovely clean cosy lodge with great view of the hills tops, very peaceful.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to do with the owners or the site, just when walking out of grounds there’s no paths just road side to walk places.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fantastic stay in beautiful surroundings!02/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomIain M.Confirmed

  • Hawthorn 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The setting is fantastic - just off the main road but felt very secluded. Very quiet and right next to the river Eachaig so walked out to the patio each morning to the sound of the running river.

    Owners were lovely and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Also hired electric bikes from them and they advised us on cycle routes to try.

    The lodge was fantastic and had everything we needed. Sleeps 2 very comfortably and has kettle, toaster, microwave, 4 ring hob, oven, fridge, digital TV, shower. Very clean and spacious.

    Disliked: 

    WiFi worked only occasionally, but for us we were out exploring most of the time so it wasn't an issue, and we used our phones if we needed the internet (the cabin had a fairly good signal on the Three network).

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent choice for a couples getaway, clean lodge, beautiful views24/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKevin B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hawthorn 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, perfect size for couples, fantastic view, very clean and tidy

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely furnished cabin in immaculate condition, beautiful views of riv14/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGrace W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hawthorn 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely furnished cabin in immaculate condition, beautiful views of river.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Private, very clean and relaxing27/02/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bramble 1 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Private, very clean and relaxing

    Disliked: 

    WiFi was a bit temperamental

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Adults only

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Rashfield Farm Lane, Rashfield, Dunoon, Argyll, Scotland, PA23 8QT
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 56.0099°N 4.9740°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
McInroys Point — 6.2 miles
Wemyss Bay Station — 9.8 miles
Coronation Park — 12.3 miles
Train stations
Gourock Rail Station — 6.9 miles
Garelochhead Rail Station — 7.5 miles
Fort Matilda Rail Station — 7.8 miles
Ferry ports
Blairmore Pier Ferry Terminal — 3.2 miles
Dunoon Hunters Quay Ferry Terminal — 3.7 miles
Dunoon Ferry Terminal — 4.8 miles
Airports
Glasgow International Airport — 23.3 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

There’s no need to jump in the car for ace attractions in the Argyll area: get your jollies on a visit to the giant redwoods of Benmore Botanical Garden (a 25-minute walk away) or take your binoculars to the Holy Loch Local Nature Reserve (40 minutes on foot) for a bit birding.

Keep your field glasses out when you’re back at the lodge to watch the wildlife on the banks of the river too: red squirrels are regular visitors to the site, red deer are frequently seen in the valley, and the shy pine marten has also been spotted nearby.

Back out exploring, Loch Eck – a five-minute drive away – is worth visiting to glimpse signs of the ancient crannog dwellings visible when the water is low. Walk the medieval path close to the site in search of Iron Age remnants and a historical Christian chapel as well.

If you’re venturing to other parts of the region, Loch Lomond is an hour away by car and the Isle of Bute takes an hour and a quarter to reach.

Must see

  • Loch Lomond Park Centre (16.5 miles)
  • Paisley Abbey (24.3 miles)
  • Clydebuilt (Scottish Maritime Museum Braehead) (25.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Rashfield Sheilings cancellation policy

No refunds within 60 days of arrival date.

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Rashfield Sheilings will debit the balance from your card 60 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 60 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Rashfield Sheilings have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Rashfield Sheilings dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Rashfield Sheilings? There’s no need to jump in the car for ace attractions in the Argyll area: get your jollies on a visit to the giant redwoods of Benmore Botanical Garden (a 25-minute walk … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Rashfield Sheilings?
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Rashfield Sheilings? From £99 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact rashfield-sheilings


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Guests under the age of 21 are not allowed on site.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Changes to your holiday
Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

Coronavirus
Tents are not accepted at this park.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 7 consecutive nights.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 8 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..

Additional terms

From October to May, the first bag of wood is provided for guests.

Close