Book and review 8,740 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Loughcrew Megalithic Centre

7.5
View prices & book
From £17.86/€20/A$30.10/US$23.61/CA$29.44/CHF23.16/kr192.44/kr149.44/kr187.78/kr2,480/$413.38/$14,882/PEN76.55/NZ$32.98/R320.61/zł84.88/R$74.91/Kč514.64/RSD2,381/Ft6,157.93/₽1,352.88/CN¥156.37 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • In the Loughcrew hills 45 minutes from Dublin
  • Peaceful surroundings with mature trees, museum and events hall
  • Close to the ancient Loughcrew complex

A lot of – OK, most of – Ireland is properly ancient. But one of the ancientest areas in all the land is the Loughcrew complex, a collection of megalithic burial grounds dating back to around 3500—3300BC and the biggest mass of passage graves in Ireland. Cor.

And near all this ancientness is warm and friendly Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, set in the Loughcrew Hills 45 minutes from Dublin and two hours from Galway. It has quite a bit more than you'd expect from a standard campsite: a traditional Irish courtyard, a 'Hag's Chair' for the kids to sit on, a top quality playground and, our favourite, Benny's Workshop, an events hall where guests can have their own function or go along to one of the many trad music sessions.

Among the other well-kept facilities at Loughcrew are its on-site café, TV and games room, and spankingly clean loos and showers. And, another thing you wouldn't expect at a standard campsite, a heritage museum on seventeenth century Ireland is in its courtyard too.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.5

Overall rating based on 45 reviews

 

78% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Such a friendly welcome from Sarah and Niall. I loved ... 06/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Andi A. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Such a friendly welcome from Sarah and Niall. I loved the quiet pitch and the most fantastic shower. I was there to see the wonderful incised symbols on the cairn rocks. Fantastic. And the cafe was great too. The best homemade soup and lemon cake. Excellent. And incredibly a wonderful room to cook and wash up in too. Draught free!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good site. 25/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Margaret L. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely situation near amazing cairns. Nice site with cafe and gallery.

    Disliked: 

    Needs more loos and showers.

From the manager...

Thanks for staying.

Will work on it.

Niall

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The worst holiday I have endured in 60 years camping. 19/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom keith_b104814 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site's saving grace was the television access to Northern Irelands TV stations that unlike the Irish RTE network supports the PAL vision protocol.

    Disliked: 

    As we drove into the site, it created a feeling of poor organisation and my heart just sank. Nobody was available to check us in / greet us. The two staff on duty were working hand-over fist in the cafe to accommodate a coach party. They did a splendid job of ignoring us. We just went and pitched up on one of the 13 out of 15 vacant pitches.

    The male toilet and shower, yes I use the singular in both cases, were not up to standard. The toilet was also shared with coach-trippers and other day-visitors resulting in queuing on occasions. When is a laundry not a laundry? Answer: When it's a domestic washing machine stored in a corner of the men’s toilet area with a domestic dryer perched on top of it. It should be noted that from the washing machine a woman could see right into the male toilet.

    The ladies toilets were little better. In addition, there was a disabled toilet but that too was none to salubrious.

    Having set up we went across to the cafe at about 2pm to see the site manager. He was polite, checked us in and gave us background info and examples of activities. Disappointingly, it turned out that the nearest pub was nearly five miles away in Oldcastle and certainly not in walking distance. The shop was non-existent. The site literature claims that Cycling is an activity but we didn't see any cyclists on the local roads which were quite hilly and not suited to people of advancing years.

    As respects road access to the site: It is essential to use the access via Oldcastle although that too has one tight turn close to the site entrance. The direct route via the R163 has a steep hill with a very muddy road and a tight turn. I stalled on the turn and had to back the motorhome down the hill and take a run at it with front tyres and clutch smoking.

    Over the three days we stayed there, the rubbish (largely unsegregated) piled up to an unacceptable level with bags having been ripped open by wildlife and possibly vermin.

    We were told that we could have a free tour of the cottage but it was never open. Literature indicated that there were guided tours of that and the cairns from the site staff. This was not the case.

    The Games room was a shambles with furniture in poor condition, the pool table had been ripped and there was only one cue, the other having been broken. A mouse trap had been placed in the corner. The camper’s kitchen although tidy was not clean.

    The site literature and the entrance board show a "Quality Assured Site Approval". From what I have seen and as a retired but nonetheless qualified (ISO9001) auditor myself, I can only draw the conclusion that the management's audit function is in gross dereliction of its duty.

    By 5pm on Wednesday 16th we were all thoroughly fed-up and decided to abandon the camp next day and to try and get on to the Camac Valley site at Dublin. We didn’t raise the issues with the site manager, as he was never there after about 4:30. We were away next morning before he got there. We feel that the site literature misrepresented the site and represents poor value for money.

From the manager...

Hi there,

Where to begin here?

Thanks for the review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience here at Loughcrew.

You are completely entitled to your opinion but I just cant agree with everything you have said.

It sounds like you arrived at a busy lunch time in our café. We definitely do not go out of our way to ignore anyone so if you felt that way we are sorry.

Yes we are a small site with just 15 bays we also have 3 showers and 4 toilets. It is something we hope to improve going forward but this takes time. I find it hard to see how this was a problem with just two other campervans on site?

The washing machine washes clothes and the dryer dries clothes we have never had a problem with these. There are 2 doors separating the hallway where they are located and the gents toilet and/or shower.

I'm glad the manager was polite when you returned and gave you info on the local area. Unfortunately we can't do anything about where the local pub was located but we could have organised a taxi or dropped you in on our way into town. People cycle to and from the site all the time. They're great county roads for it with some lovely views. As with all country roads they are surrounded by farms. They can get dirty but that's part of country life. The people who built the Loughcrew Cairns were Ireland's first farmers. Its great that this continues 5,000 years later.

Yes we would have gave you a free tour of the cottage if you had have just asked seeing as you were told you could have a free tour. We do run group tours from the site but in June July and August the monuments are staffed by free full time tour guides?

We have bought 4 pool cues for that games room and got the pool table resurfaced at the beginning of the summer for the 2nd season in a row. Its also free to play pool. As the door is left open by children often we thought it was a good idea as a precaution to put a mouse bait box down? No harm in that?

God yes the bins were absolutely terrible!! We had an extremely busy week beforehand. It was recycling week so the bin company could not pick them up. We have since sat down with them to discuss a better system for next year. They were just terrible so I do apologise for that.

There are 2 managers on site most of the time whilst the owner visits the site numerous times throughout the evening had you asked to speak to one you would have been seen to immediately.

Its a shame your concerns and issues were not discussed at the time rather than online.

Thanks,

Niall

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Location, this site has the potential to be fantastic. 04/09/2017

Reviewer's country: Ireland Gillian B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, this site has the potential to be fantastic.

    Disliked: 

    The facilities were not adequate for the number of people staying on the site. There is only one shower and only two toilets for ladies. Only one shower and one toilet for men. The site was very busy the night we stayed and the toilets were very very dirty, the hand soap ran out in the late evening and was not replaced until the next morning. The condition of the toilets resulted in us not using the showers. The water for dishwashing was cold in the campers kitchen.

From the manager...

Hi there,

Thanks for the review.

We are working towards more showers and toilets and until then will work on the other points you made.

Thanks for visiting us here at Loughcrew.

Niall

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

The guys who run the site are great very helpful ... 28/08/2017

amoy_m

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The guys who run the site are great very helpful and friendly, found it very easy to book. We forgot our pump and they let us borrow theirs. They gave us a camp fire, free of charge, we just had to buy the wood (€9) as we didn't have our own. They also gave us a map and gave us a few tips on where to go.

    Location-there is a lovely walk to Loughcrew Cairns, takes about 15 mins to reach the top and the views are fab, you can also go into the tomb. Would also recommend a drive to Fore, lovely place with ruins, and a stop off at lough lene, you can also swim here! Also a short distance away there is Oldcastle, a lovely little town, with shops, pubs, and a cafe.

    Campsite-We arrived on a Friday and the site wasn't overly busy, on the saturday the campsite was much fuller, but still enough room around your tent. We got lovely weather so the sky was clear and even seen a few Shooting Starts :) There is a cafe on the site which is nice too and the facilities are clean. There is a kitchen area with Gas hobs, a couple of sinks too, no fridge though. There is also a games room with a pool table and some board games, and also a play area, lots of kids on the site so was great for them.

    Disliked: 

    On the Friday night there was some sort of festival on close by so music was loud from about 10 pm -4 am so we woke a few times. There is also a road close by so you can hear the cars at night, but nothing too loud!

    You can't park your car on the grass.

    There is only one shower for Women and one for men, so when it was busy on the Saturday we got up early to get a shower before the Que!

From the manager...

Hi,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like you had a nice time visiting places in and around Loughcrew.

Hopefully see you some time soon.

Niall

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very friendly welcome and information about site and local interests; ... 24/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul S. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly welcome and information about site and local interests; Camping Kitchen; location close to the Megalithic tombs (with guide at site).

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi,

Thanks for your review.

Hope to see you at Loughcrew some time soon.

Niall

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good site for familes. 17/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Zanib K. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is well located with beautiful views. The facilities were good and the host was very helpful and friendly. Plenty of room to pitch. Fun looking play area for children.

    Disliked: 

    Site was packed with large extended families which made the site noisy. As a result, the car parking was difficult. Not really suitable for people who want a quieter stay.

From the manager...

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Loughcrew is indeed a wonderful place to visit with brilliant views of the ancient passage tombs.

August is peak time for camping season so the site probably was at its nosiest. Hopefully you can visit again off season to experience the peace and tranquillity of Loughcrew.

Kind regards,

Sarah.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very recommended site in a historic location 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom shaun_c133429 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Well-kept pitches, brilliant friendly owners, excellent showers and washing facilities, location and walk up to the megalithic cairns + guide there who explained the history (for free!)

    Disliked: 

    ...having to leave!

From the manager...

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you got to experience all Loughcrew has to offer. Sounds like you just have to come back to us again!

Hopefully see you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Sarah.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Family friendly site with clean facilities, helpful staff. 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: Ireland Deirdre M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Wonderful field location, not over commercial so no marked out pitches. A real back to nature site.

    Disliked: 

    Very full bins looked untidy and attracted wasps. Popularity meant queues for toilets and showers.

From the manager...

Hi there,

Thank You for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you seem to have enjoyed our site.
We did have a problem with our bins during the peak season and they were not up to a standard we would have liked. We have since sat down with the bin company and came up with a better system to ensure this doesn't happen again. With regards the toilets and showers we do hope to add more in the future.

Hopefully you can visit us again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Sarah.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great location, nice amenities and friendly staff. 11/08/2017

Reviewer's country: Ireland Ana B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, nice amenities and friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review,

Hopefully see you in Loughcrew again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Sarah.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Hard standings

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Summerbank Oldcastle, Co. Meath, Republic of Ireland, 0
  • Timezone Europe/Dublin +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.7455°N 7.1213°W

Directions


Local attractions

The Loughcrew complex has about 23 passage tombs, spread across three hilltops and etched with ancient carvings. Like the other ancient site in Co Meath, Newgrange, Loughcrew's Cairn T was designed to catch the rays of the rising sun on the spring and autumnal equinox: if you're around the area in May or September, Loughcrew Megalithic Centre organises events in Benny's Workshop to mark the occasions.

The 20-minute walk and climb to the top of Carnbane East, one of the Loughcrew hills, will have you at the highest point in Meath to see smashing views of 18 Irish counties: it's at this point that we'd pretend to be an ancient king or queen.

More walking can be had among the many routes of Mullaghmeen Forest, the biggest planted beech forest in Ireland, and more activity at Loughcrew Adventure Centre 3km away.

You could also spend hours at Cavan County Museum, or at Tayto Park theme park and zoo: for those not in the know, Tayto is a bit of an Irish Thing and no trip to the land is complete without a bag of their cheese and onion crisps pressed between two thick slices of buttered white bread.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Reception is unmanned after 5pm. Please call the site/park using the contact details provided in the booking confirmation email if you are arriving after this time.

Loughcrew Megalithic Centre cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Loughcrew Megalithic Centre will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Tax

This area is not subject to city tax.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Loughcrew Megalithic Centre


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 01/02 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Reception
Reception is open from 10am to 5pm between 01/01 and 31/12.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

Close