Book and review 3,362 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Wrekin Forest Events Camping

9.6
View prices & book
From £25/€29.06/A$45.44/$35.27/CA$42.70/CHF31.80/SEK294.08/DKK216.07/NOK290.45/ISK4,390/ARS3,314.25/CLP24,681/PEN128.85/NZ$48.82/ZAR498.37/PLN131.40/R$186/CZK740.08/RSD3,418/HUF10,285.27/RUB2,606.15/CN¥227.07 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Wrekin Forest Events Camping: Great space for pitching your own tent as well as hiring a pitched tent from us!

General

  • Off-grid, peaceful Shropshire woodland site within a Forest School
  • A 20-minute drive to Telford and 30 minutes away from Shrewsbury
  • Fully equipped kitchen, eco-friendly amenities, firepits and barbecues

Fancy swapping the sound of your smartphone pinging for the noise of birdsong? Then book in a trip at Wrekin Forest Events Camping, an off-grid site with a back to basics feel in lush Shropshire surrounds. This peaceful place also comes with handy essentials to help amp up a weekend in the woods, from fairy lights and festoon lamps to a fully-equipped kitchen, barbecue and firepits.

While a stay at this park’s all about getting lost in the forest (bring your pup along to help you sniff your way back...) or letting the kids loose on the large playing field (with swings, sandpit, football net, badminton and table tennis), ace activities and attractions are all around too. It’s a 20-minute drive to Telford from here for the landmark Iron Bridge as well as a kids’ park with heritage trails and an aerial rope course.

If educational times for the small fry are what you’re after, the site is set in a Forest School with outdoorsy courses available for primary school pupils. It's 25 minutes from the Museum of the Gorge as well, one of 10 around town giving a glimpse at the history of the Industrial Revolution in this area where it all began. (If even more poking into the past appeals, Blists Hill Victorian Town is around the same distance with its recreated 19th-century village and staff dressed up in fancy period clothes… and should be a hit with those primary-aged pupils too.)

To nosey in nature instead, The Wrekin is a 25-minute drive from the park: putter to the hillfort’s 1,335-foot top and check out views over 17 of England’s counties or have picnics at the peak. And if you’d prefer to just hang out at your new home from home, plenty of space is available for outdoor games like croquet, swing ball and Jenga (all available to hire from the owners).

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Facilities/activities including Forest School are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

The toilet facilities are closed until May 17, 2021. Guests will need to use their own facilities.

The shower facilities are closed until May 17, 2021. Guests will need to use their own facilities.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.6

Overall rating based on 77 reviews

 

97% would recommend this park to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

  91% described as Bush ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

-Very well equipped (cooking utensils, camping gear, BBQ, stoves, chairs, …05/11/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCHRIS E.Confirmed

  • Squirrel's Hideaway primitive grass and earth tent site (secluded, adults only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    -Very well equipped (cooking utensils, camping gear, BBQ, stoves, chairs, firepit, bedding, airbeds)
    -Cosy environment
    -Lots of firewood (use the honesty box!)
    -No check in (very trusting)
    -Friendly owner/manager
    -Check up text

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We value our feedback and hope you will stay with us again. We continue to make alterations plans for Squirrels hideaway so that it can become more secluded, so hopefully if you come again you will find it more tucked away than currently.

Judie & Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fantastic site, owners really helpful, lots of wonderful memories.05/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed 'everything' and disliked 'nothing'. It really is encouraging when our guests are pleased with their stay. Thank you for your personal feedback too. This was a real boost. We really hope to see you again soon.

Very best wishes,
Judei & Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely location, lovely staff, very clean.05/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDonna G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed our site.

We really hope you will stay with us again.

Best wishes,
Judie & Team.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A lovely location, extremely friendly staff.05/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDonna G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, amenities for the children etc. Lovely walks and lots of things to borrow as their is always something you forget.

    Disliked: 

    Very cold overnight but its May and I've learnt that airbeds are essential from now on!

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are really grateful for your positivity.

So sorry it was cold! May should be warmer...I am with you on the need for an airbed. Please do ask us next time..we do have some spares.

We really hope you will stay again.

Best wishes,
Judie & Team.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Squirrels Hideaway - Good site but just needs some more improvements05/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNick B.Confirmed

  • Squirrel's Hideaway primitive grass and earth tent site (secluded, adults only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice rustic, back to basics campsite. Toilets very good with individual units rather than shared block to allow for them to be used during covid restrictions. Great scenery and remote location while still being close enough to drive to amenities in Telford. Stayed in Squirrel Hideaway 2 which was a nice big pitch away from others with plenty of space for a tent and seating area with included fire pit, logs and a BBQ.

    Disliked: 

    Unmanned site meant people were still noisy after the 10pm curfew which we could hear from our spot, would not have wanted to be in the main field pitches. It also meant people parked inconsiderately blocking the access road meaning we couldn't get the car closer to load up the kit and even making it difficult to carry the kit past the car. It would be nice to have seen the site staff or owners for even a short time on site when we arrived. Shower was OK but the floor need to be made of something easier to clean and would be better to have a shower head mounted higher up (as a 6'2" person it was mid chest height).

    There need to be more toilets than the 2 cubicles as we had to queue a few times. There is only one shower which may be too few at busy times although we were fine as early risers showering around 7am.

    The site is mainly peaceful apart from on Sunday afternoon where there was a horrendous amount of noise from the Grasstrack circuit which I found on the map to be only around 500m away. This completely destroyed the tranquil atmosphere we went for.

    There is the kids play area quite nearby to the pitch which meant there was a lot of noise until almost 10pm so it wasn't easy to sit back and relax. This could do with being relocated away from the "secluded" pitches

    The pitch was quite well secluded but not completely hidden away like other forest sites I have been to. There needs to be some more signage that the track to the pitch is not a footpath for people to explore the site as we had, on two occasions while we were there, groups walk straight in to our pitch.

    There are no facilities to carry kit from the car to the pitch. Most other sites where you are unable to park next to the pitch have trolleys or wheelbarrows available.

    If a some of the concerns were corrected then I would stay again but wouldn't as it currently is. I would suggest it to others to experience though

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that overall you had a good time.
Let me go through your points... some of which are absolutely valid.

We are an unmanned site as you stated, generally I am at the site on and off, on this occasion I was away visiting my daughter for the first time in a year, so I apologise for not being around, however Aime, my site assistant visited daily and my sister visited Sunday morning.

Curfew is 11pm, there was a couple who decided to behave in a very inconsiderate way and caused disruption to many.. this is not acceptable, but as nobody called me until almost 12.30am and I had already gone to sleep I was unable to rectify the problem..we have a very clear notice regarding noise and two phone numbers are given out that can be used for this very purpose. Please always contact us sooner rather than later. We will ALWAYS come down.

I have just order two luggage trolleys for use on the site. We have a problem of theft we have this type of thing on site, so I am hoping this will not occur.

The grasstrack is indeed annoying..not something we can control!

We had already decided we needed to alter the location of the hideaways slightly and take them further back. The kids area is brand new and does slightly impact the privacy of Squirrels Hideaway.

We have two cubicle flush toilets, but in addition we have two compost toilets and one urinal compost toilet! The flush toilets are actually a new addition this year. The compost toilets could have been used rather than queuing.

The shower will be raised this week!

Selfish parking is annoying... I apologise for the inconvenience of this. The huts are the only people permitted to keep their cars near their accomodation. You may notice that we have had a complaint about asking people to park in the car park... we can't win on this one sadly!

We hope you will think that we have considered your points as valid and solved those we can.

Many thanks, Judie & Team

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great site!05/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All was lovely and well equipped so you could lend things and plenty of wood for fire well kept and a lovely spot

    Disliked: 

    I couldn’t park near tent so was a bit of a struggle as I’m a single parent with a seven year old if I had have been prewarned I would’ve bought a trolley but I managed and had a lovely time

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that overall you had a lovely time.

I have ordered two luggage trolleys that will be available as soon as they arrive.

Overall
10
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely back to basics woodland pitch with relatively basic amenities.05/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Dove primitive grass and earth tent site (family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious pitch, plenty of fire wood to forage and a lovely hot shower

    Disliked: 

    N/A

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you had a good stay. I am pleased that you found your pitch to be of a good standard.

I was disappointed to see a low score on facilities... We have a shower, toilets, a fully equipped kitchen with pots and pans, cutlery and crockery, hot washing up water, a playing field as well as forest school, table tennis & badminton.

We provide a BBQ & firepit at each pitch.

We advertise as a back to basics site. If you are able to expand on facilities that you felt were missing we would be grateful.

Many thanks,
Judie & Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Facilities and pitch segregation05/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLee M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities and pitch segregation

    Disliked: 

    The water for washing up was cold

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the pitch space good. I hope you enjoyed your stay.

We provide a site with extensive facilities for children from a huge playing field to den building and a table tennis area, I understand you were travelling without children so it maybe possible that you did not find all of our child friendly provision. Our forest school is also a wonderful space.

Just to let you know.. we don't have wifi! We can't provide this I am afraid. We are almost off-grid in terms of getting a phone signal.

We hope will come again.
Judie & Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything! There's so much wonderful to report. We had such …05/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomVictoria B.Confirmed

  • Squirrel's Hideaway primitive grass and earth tent site (secluded, adults only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything! There's so much wonderful to report. We had such a comfortable 5 night stay. I want to highlight how great the new toilet facilities are, they've been constructed to comply with covid restrictions, there is one unit installed with two separate entrances to individual bathrooms, not cubicles. So, despite what it says on the website, there ARE fully functional flushing toilets open and a hot shower!
    This was our second visit and we will be back.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay. It was wonderful to have you visit us again. We truly hope to see you soon.

Judie & Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Clean and well kept site04/26/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Owls Nest shepherd's hut (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very peaceful lovely place for a quiet relaxing weekend away

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

So glad that you had a peaceful stay and I hope that you visit again soon. :) judie

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Hand sanitizing stations

Individual rooms in toilet/shower/basin facilities

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Tents for hire

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Pre-erected tents

Shepherd's huts

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Bush

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Small (11-25 sites)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Crudgington Moor Lane, Kynnersley, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, TF6 6JX
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.7535°N 2.5150°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Telford: Town Centre Bus Station — 6.0 miles
Shrewsbury: Bus Station Raven Meadows — 10.4 miles
Ford (Shrops): A458 Coach Stop — 15.0 miles
Train stations
Wellington (Shropshire) Rail Station — 3.6 miles
Oakengates Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Telford Central Rail Station — 5.9 miles
Ferry ports
Woodside Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 48.9 miles
Airports
Birmingham International Airport — 39.0 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

In Shropshire with the intent of shuffling about in the lush landscape? Drive to Ironbridge first off (half an hour away) and steel yourself for a 139-mile stroll on the Shropshire Way.

Alternatively, if that sounds a little lengthy for your liking, Much Wenlock is around the same distance and leads to the 19-mile limestone ridge of Wenlock Edge (and fun fact: it was formerly a tropical coral reef aeons ago when this area was under the sea).

If this gets you craving some water-based whiling, take a stroll over to a Much Wenlock activity centre for canoeing, kayaking and rafting on the River Severn, plus quad biking and clay pigeon shooting on land. Boldings Pools (30 minutes) meanwhile is your go-to if angling for carp, bream and roach sounds like a grand day out...

Must see

  • Darby Houses (Ironbridge) (7.8 miles)
  • Blists Hill Victorian Town (8.0 miles)
  • Ironbridge Gorge Museums (8.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Sunnycroft (4.1 miles)
  • Attingham Park (8.0 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
On-park accommodation
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11:30 a.m.

Wrekin Forest Events Camping cancelation policy

No refunds within 2 days of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Wrekin Forest Events Camping will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £25.00 ($34.33) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • Does Wrekin Forest Events Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Wrekin Forest Events Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Wrekin Forest Events Camping? In Shropshire with the intent of shuffling about in the lush landscape? Drive to Ironbridge first off (half an hour away) and steel yourself for a 139-mile stroll on the Shropshire Way. … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Wrekin Forest Events Camping?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
    On-park accommodation
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Wrekin Forest Events Camping? From $35.27 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact wrekin_forest_events_camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

Coronavirus
The shower facilities are closed until May 17, 2021. Guests will need to use their own facilities.
The toilet facilities are closed until May 17, 2021. Guests will need to use their own facilities.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
A valid vaccination certificate must accompany your dog.
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Extras
Facilities/activities including Forest School are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11:30 p.m. and 7 a.m..
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £25.00 ($34.33) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.
Your unit must be left clean and tidy; a fine of £25.00 ($34.33) will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Close